DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Responsive to Communication filed 05/26/2026
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-17, and 21 are pending
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended
Claims 2-4, 10-11, 18-20 have been cancelled
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-17, and 21 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuppurao (US 20070042117) in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20050167051), Wada (JP 2017199874), using the English machine translation, and Ranish (US 20140330422), with Tsukune et al. (US 5609721), Park et al. (US 20060280867), Fu et al. (US 20140120723) as evidentiary references.
Regarding claim 1:
Kuppurao teaches an epitaxial reactor system for semiconductor wafer processing (Fig. 5, [0037] film formation system 400), the system comprising: a reactor comprising: a reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0018], chamber 103) having an upper wall and a lower wall (Fig. 5, [0037], chamber 103 has upper and lower walls defined by chamber walls 102), the upper and lower walls defining an interior volume which receives a semiconductor wafer for epitaxy (Fig. 5, [0019], [0037], chamber walls 102 define chamber space 103 by top surface 105 and bottom surface 107, between which substrate 106 is contained); an upper module positioned above the upper wall of the reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0021], [0037], horizontal portion of conduit 120 where upper inlet port 124 is located, above top surface 105); and a lower module positioned below the lower wall of the reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0021], [0037], horizontal portion of conduit 120 where lower inlet port 124 is located, below bottom surface 107); a cooling circuit (Fig. 5, [0022], [0037] blower 140 and conduit 120 with input conduits 124/126 and output conduits 128/130) comprising: a blower to circulate fluid within the upper module and the lower module (Fig. 1, [0022], blower 140 is connected to upper surface 105 and lower surface 107); a duct (inlet conduit 120) connected in fluid communication with each of the blower, the upper module, and the lower module (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the inlet conduit 120 is in fluid communication with blower 140 and the inlet ports 124 and 126), wherein the duct defines a juncture (the juncture of inlet conduit 120 proximate the coolant regulator 431) where the fluid is separated into a first portion supplying fluid to the upper module and a second portion supplying fluid to the lower module (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the juncture of inlet conduit 120 splits the conduit 120 to be in fluid communication with upper inlet port 124 and lower inlet port 126), wherein the juncture is located downstream of the blower (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the juncture of conduit 120 is located downstream of blower 140); a controller in communication with the blower and the damper actuator (Fig. 6, [0031], [0037]-[0042], processor 510 send signals to cooling power control output 533/534 which opens or restricts the coolant regulator 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140), the controller including a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 in communication with memory 520) that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to: receive epitaxial process information associated with the reactor (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], control logic 500 executed by processor 510 receives various process inputs such as temperatures, gas flow rates, etc); generate a blower output (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]), each output generated based on the epitaxial process information (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]); and transmit the blower output to the blower (Fig. 6, [0031], processor 510 sends signals to a cooling power control output 533/534 to control the coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]).
Kuppurao does not specifically disclose a damper located at the juncture, wherein the damper is selectably positionable.
Hoffman teaches a damper (vane 1618) located at the juncture (as evidenced by Fig. 36, the vane 1618 is located at a juncture), wherein the damper is selectably positionable (an intelligent flow controller 1640 governs the position of the vane 1618) [Fig. 36 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the juncture of Kuppurao to include a damper, as in Hoffman, to provide further control over relative gas flow [Hoffman - 0175]. It is noted that utilizing a flow regulator at a junction for a gas pipe is a very well-known technique in the art. For example, Tsukune et al. (US 5609721) discloses a valve 33 at branch point 34, wherein valve 33 is upstream of two further valves [Tsukune - Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 64-67, Col. 6 lines 1-5]. Park et al. (US 20060280867) teaches a valve 228 at a junction [Park - 0046]. As such, utilizing a flow regulator at a juncture would merely be applying a known technique to yield predictable results (See MPPEP 2143 I D). Fu et al. (US 20140120723) further discloses it'd be beneficial to have a valve (wherein the valve can be any type of valve) at a junction to provide control over gases [Fu - 0104].
Modified Kuppurao does not specifically disclose a damper actuator coupled to the damper that adjusts a position of the damper; generate a damper position output; transmit the damper position output to the damper actuator; and wherein the epitaxial process information indicates a specific process step being performed in the reactor, the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a wafering process step.
However, Wada teaches teach a damper actuator coupled to the damper that adjusts a position of the damper (Wada, Fig. 3, [0061]-[0062], position of valve body 44 of damper 30 is adjusted via support shaft 43 and damper motor 45); generate a damper position output (Wada, [0093], control unit 18 individually controls the damper motors 45 of the respective dampers 31, 32, 33 by generating a PID control loop); and transmit the damper position output to the damper actuator (Wada, [0064], damper motor 45 position moves via control signal from control unit 18).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the damper actuator and associated control scheme into the apparatus of Modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for the control unit to utilize PID (Proportional Integral Differential) control instead of linear interpolation to adjust the damper in response to temperature feedback and temperature setpoint (Wada, [0093]).
Modified Kuppurao does not explicitly disclose wherein the epitaxial process information indicates a specific process step being performed in the reactor, the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a wafering process step.
However, Ranish teaches wherein the epitaxial process information indicates a specific process step being performed in the reactor, the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a wafering process step (Ranish, Fig. 2, [0061], controller 224 includes CPU 230, support circuits 228 and memory 226, where the CPU 230 may be one of any form of computer processor that can be used in an industrial setting for controlling various actions and sub-processors, such as method 400 wherein a substrate is processed in the chamber in steps 402-412, and a cleaning process is performed in the chamber after in step 414, Fig. 4, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the cleaning step following a substrate processing step as taught by Ranish into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for removing the deposits in the chamber, thereby correcting reduction in transmissivity of chamber components to lamp radiation and to substrate emissions, maintaining repeatability of film properties from substrate to substrate (Ranish, [0087]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “to circulate fluid within the upper module and the lower module“, “that adjusts a position of the damper”, and “wherein the damper is selectably positioned to control an amount of fluid flow provided to each of the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The blower and cooling circuit of Kuppurao are connected in a loop including the upper and lower chamber area, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. The damper 431 of Kuppurao is provided downstream of the blower between the upper module and lower module within the flow path of the fluid, separating the flow path between the upper and lower module, and is movable in position, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. The damper motor of Wada is connected to the valve body and is capable of moving the valve body, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
The limitations “wherein the damper separates the flow of fluid into the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module, to control an amount of fluid flow provided to each of the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module,” are also intended use. It is noted that placing a damper at the junction of Kuppurao (such as the vane 1618 of Hoffman) would result in an apparatus capable of selectively controlling flow on each side of the junction since the vane 1618 of Hoffman controls relative flow on each side of its juncture [Hoffman - 0175].
Regarding claim 5:
Kuppurao teaches a temperature sensor connected to the controller (Fig. 5, [0026], [0037]-[0042], top surface temperature measuring device 132 sends temperature inputs 531 to processor 510), wherein the temperature sensor measures a temperature of the upper wall of the reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0026], top surface temperature measuring device 132 measures temperature of top surface 105).
To clarify the record, the limitation “measures a temperature of the upper wall of the reaction chamber” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The top surface measuring device of Kuppurao measures temperature of a surface and it mounted in a position above the upper surface of the reactor, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6:
Kuppurao teaches wherein the epitaxial process information includes information associated with a target temperature of the upper wall ([0037]-[0042], target temperature 523 is provided to processor 510), and wherein the non-transitory computer-readable media of the controller stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], control logic 500 of processor 510) to: receive a measured temperature of the upper wall from the temperature sensor ([0037]-[0042], top surface temperature measuring device 132 sends temperature inputs 531 to processor 510); and generate, by comparing the measured temperature and the target temperature of the upper wall, an updated blower output (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]).
Regarding claim 8:
Modified Kuppurao (Kuppurao modified by Hoffman) fails to teach wherein the damper position output causes the actuator to position the damper to a pre-determined position associated with the epitaxial process information.
However, Wada teaches wherein the damper position output causes the actuator to position the damper to a pre-determined position associated with the epitaxial process information (Wada, [0064], damper motor 45 position moves via control signal from control unit 18 based on temperature information provided by sensors 51 to 53).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the damper actuator and associated control scheme into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for the control unit to utilize PID (Proportional Integral Differential) control instead of linear interpolation to adjust the damper in response to temperature feedback and temperature setpoint (Wada, [0093]).
Regarding claim 9:
Kuppurao teaches a cooling system (Fig. 5, [0037]-[0042], blower 140 and conduit 120) for a semiconductor wafer reactor, the reactor having a reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0037]-[0042], chamber 103), an upper module (Fig. 5, [0021], [0037]-[0042], horizontal portion of conduit 120 where upper inlet port 124 is located, above top surface 105), and a lower module (Fig. 5, [0021], [0037]-[0042], horizontal portion of conduit 120 where lower inlet port 124 is located, below bottom surface 107), the cooling system comprising: a cooling circuit (Fig. 5, [0022], [0037] blower 140 and conduit 120 with input conduits 124/126 and output conduits 128/130) comprising: a blower to circulate a cooling fluid within the upper module and the lower module (Fig. 1, [0022], blower 140 is connected to upper surface 105 and lower surface 107); a duct (inlet conduit 120) connected in fluid communication with each of the blower, the upper module, and the lower module (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the inlet conduit 120 is in fluid communication with blower 140 and the inlet ports 124 and 126), wherein the duct defines a juncture (the juncture of inlet conduit 120 proximate the coolant regulator 431) where the fluid is separated into a first portion supplying fluid to the upper module and a second portion supplying fluid to the lower module (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the juncture of inlet conduit 120 splits the conduit 120 to be in fluid communication with upper inlet port 124 and lower inlet port 126), wherein the juncture is located downstream of the blower (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the juncture of conduit 120 is located downstream of blower 140); a controller in communication with the blower and the damper actuator (Fig. 6, [0031], [0037]-[0042], processor 510 send signals to cooling power control output 533/534 which opens or restricts the coolant regulator 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140), the controller including a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 in communication with memory 520) that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller to: receive epitaxial process information associated with the reactor (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], control logic 500 executed by processor 510 receives various process inputs such as temperatures, gas flow rates, etc); generate a blower output (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]), each output generated based on the epitaxial process information (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]); and transmit the blower output to the blower (Fig. 6, [0031], processor 510 sends signals to a cooling power control output 533/534 to control the coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]).
Kuppurao does not specifically disclose a damper located at the juncture, wherein the damper is selectably positionable.
Hoffman teaches a damper (vane 1618) located at the juncture (as evidenced by Fig. 36, the vane 1618 is located at a juncture), wherein the damper is selectably positionable (an intelligent flow controller 1640 governs the position of the vane 1618) [Fig. 36 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the juncture of Kuppurao to include a damper, as in Hoffman, to provide further control over relative gas flow [Hoffman - 0175]. It is noted that utilizing a flow regulator at a junction for a gas pipe is a very well-known technique in the art. For example, Tsukune et al. (US 5609721) discloses a valve 33 at branch point 34, wherein valve 33 is upstream of two further valves [Tsukune - Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 64-67, Col. 6 lines 1-5]. Park et al. (US 20060280867) teaches a valve 228 at a junction [Park - 0046]. As such, utilizing a flow regulator at a juncture would merely be applying a known technique to yield predictable results (See MPPEP 2143 I D). Fu et al. (US 20140120723) further discloses it'd be beneficial to have a valve (wherein the valve can be any type of valve) at a junction to provide control over gases [Fu - 0104].
Modified Kuppurao fails to explicitly teach a damper actuator coupled to the damper that adjusts a position of the damper; generate a damper position output; transmit the damper position output to the damper; and wherein the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a processed wafer is removed from the reaction chamber.
However, Wada teaches a damper actuator coupled to the damper that adjusts a position of the damper (Wada, Fig. 3, [0061]-[0062], position of valve body 44 of damper 30 is adjusted via support shaft 43 and damper motor 45); generate a damper position output (Wada, [0093], control unit 18 individually controls the damper motors 45 of the respective dampers 31, 32, 33 by PID control); and transmit the damper position output to the damper actuator (Wada, [0064], damper motor 45 position moves via control signal from control unit 18).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the damper actuator and associated control scheme into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for the control unit to utilize PID (Proportional Integral Differential) control instead of linear interpolation to adjust the damper in response to temperature feedback and temperature setpoint (Wada, [0093]).
Modified Kuppurao fails to teach wherein the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a processed wafer is removed from the reaction chamber.
However, Ranish teaches wherein the specific process step being a chamber cleaning step performed after a processed wafer is removed from the reaction chamber (Ranish, Fig. 2, [0061], controller 224 includes CPU 230, support circuits 228 and memory 226, where the CPU 230 may be one of any form of computer processor that can be used in an industrial setting for controlling various actions and sub-processors, such as method 400 wherein a substrate is processed in the chamber in steps 402-412, and a cleaning process is performed in the chamber after in step 414, Fig. 4, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the cleaning step following a substrate processing step as taught by Ranish into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for removing the deposits in the chamber, thereby correcting reduction in transmissivity of chamber components to lamp radiation and to substrate emissions, maintaining repeatability of film properties from substrate to substrate (Ranish, [0087]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “to circulate fluid within the upper module and the lower module“, “that adjusts a position of the damper”, and “wherein the damper is selectably positioned to control an amount of fluid flow provided to each of the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The blower and cooling circuit of Kuppurao are connected in a loop including the upper and lower chamber area, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. The damper 431 of Kuppurao is provided downstream of the blower between the upper module and lower module within the flow path of the fluid, separating the flow path between the upper and lower module, and is movable in position, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. The damper motor of Wada is connected to the valve body and is capable of moving the valve body, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
The limitations “wherein the damper separates the flow of fluid into the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module, to control an amount of fluid flow provided to each of the first portion supplied to the upper module and the second portion supplied to the lower module,” are also intended use. It is noted that placing a damper at the junction of Kuppurao (such as the vane 1618 of Hoffman) would result in an apparatus capable of selectively controlling flow on each side of the junction since the vane 1618 of Hoffman controls relative flow on each side of its juncture [Hoffman - 0175].
Regarding claim 12:
Modified Kuppurao (Kuppurao modified by Hoffman) fails to teach wherein the damper position output causes the actuator to position the damper to a pre-determined position associated with the epitaxial process information.
However, Wada teaches wherein the damper position output causes the actuator to position the damper to a pre-determined position associated with the epitaxial process information (Wada, [0064], damper motor 45 position moves via control signal from control unit 18 based on temperature information provided by sensors 51 to 53).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the damper actuator and associated control scheme into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for the control unit to utilize PID (Proportional Integral Differential) control instead of linear interpolation to adjust the damper in response to temperature feedback and temperature setpoint (Wada, [0093]).
Regarding claim 13:
Kuppurao teaches further comprising a temperature sensor connected to the controller (Fig. 5, [0026], [0037]-[0042], top surface temperature measuring device 132 sends temperature inputs 531 to processor 510), wherein the temperature sensor measures a temperature of the upper wall of the reaction chamber (Fig. 5, [0026], top surface temperature measuring device 132 measures temperature of top surface 105).
To clarify the record, the limitation “measures a temperature of the upper wall of the reaction chamber” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The top surface measuring device of Kuppurao measures temperature of a surface and it mounted in a position above the upper surface of the reactor, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 14:
Kuppurao teaches wherein the non- transitory computer-readable media of the controller stores instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the controller (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], control logic 500 of processor 510) to: determine, based on the epitaxial process information, a target temperature of the upper wall of the reaction chamber ([0037]-[0042], target temperature 523 is provided to processor 510); receive a measured temperature of the upper wall from the temperature sensor ([0037]-[0042], top surface temperature measuring device 132 sends temperature inputs 531 to processor 510); and generate, by comparing the measured temperature and the target temperature of the upper wall, an updated blower output (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038]).
Regarding claim 16:
Kuppurao teaches wherein the non- transitory computer-readable media of the controller stores instructions that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], control logic 500 of processor 510), cause the controller to: receive a blower output feedback signal from the blower; and generate the updated blower output (Fig. 5, [0034]-[0042], blower speed control circuitry is used in conjunction with processor 510 to change the speed of the blower 140, [0038], [0043]) using feedback control based on each of: a difference between the measured temperature and the target temperature of the upper wall, and the blower output feedback signal (Fig. 6, [0037]-[0042], processor 510 utilizes difference between measured temperatures 521/522 and target temperatures 523/524 to adjust coolant regulators 431/439, where one coolant regulator may utilize control circuitry to control the speed of the blower 140, [0038], [0043]).
Kuppurao does not specifically disclose a damper located at the juncture, wherein the damper is selectably positionable.
Hoffman teaches a damper (vane 1618) located at the juncture (as evidenced by Fig. 36, the vane 1618 is located at a juncture), wherein the damper is selectably positionable (an intelligent flow controller 1640 governs the position of the vane 1618) [Fig. 36 & 0175].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the juncture of Kuppurao to include a damper, as in Hoffman, to provide further control over relative gas flow [Hoffman - 0175]. It is noted that utilizing a flow regulator at a junction for a gas pipe is a very well-known technique in the art. For example, Tsukune et al. (US 5609721) discloses a valve 33 at branch point 34, wherein valve 33 is upstream of two further valves [Tsukune - Fig. 1 & Col. 5 lines 64-67, Col. 6 lines 1-5]. Park et al. (US 20060280867) teaches a valve 228 at a junction [Park - 0046]. As such, utilizing a flow regulator at a juncture would merely be applying a known technique to yield predictable results (See MPPEP 2143 I D). Fu et al. (US 20140120723) further discloses it'd be beneficial to have a valve (wherein the valve can be any type of valve) at a junction to provide control over gases [Fu - 0104].
Kuppurao fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is caused to receive a damper position feedback signal from the damper actuator; and use feedback control based on the damper position feedback signal.
However, Wada teaches wherein the controller is caused to receive a damper position feedback signal from the damper actuator and using feedback control based on the damper position feedback signal (Wada, [0106], position of damper 31/33 is adjusted by control unit 18 to a new target position relative to an initial position, calculated during PID control cycle looping, [0094]-[0100], where the relationship between the rotational position of the valve body 44 and the opening degree of the damper 31/33 is stored in the control unit 18 in advance, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the damper actuator and associated control scheme into the apparatus of modified Kuppurao as doing so would allow for the control unit to utilize PID (Proportional Integral Differential) control instead of linear interpolation to adjust the damper in response to temperature feedback and temperature setpoint (Wada, [0093]).
Regarding claim 21:
Kuppurao teaches wherein increasing the amount of fluid flow to the first portion supplied to the upper module decreases the amount of fluid flow to the second portion supplied to the lower module (Fig. 5, [0037]-[0042], coolant regulator 431 may be an air vane, adjustable iris, or valve).
To clarify the record, the limitation “wherein increasing the amount of fluid flow to the first portion supplied to the upper module decreases the amount of fluid flow to the second portion supplied to the lower module” is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The damper 431 of Kuppurao is provided downstream of the blower between the upper module and lower module within the flow path of the fluid, separating the flow path between the upper and lower module, and is movable in position, thereby being capable of meeting the claim limitation. Per the embodiment taught in Fig. 5, the coolant regulator 431 is represented as a butterfly valve located at the junction where the inlet conduit 120 splits between upper inlet port 124 and the inlet conduit 120 leading to lower inlet port 126 (Fig. 5, [0037]-[0042]). As the valve 431 is moved towards a more horizontal position from a vertical position, the amount of air flow from blower 140 towards upper inlet 124 would increase while the amount of air flow from blower 140 towards lower inlet 126 would decrease. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claims 7, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuppurao (US 20070042117), in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20050167051), Wada (JP 2017199874), using attached English machine translation, and Ranish (US 20140330422), with Tsukune et al. (US 5609721), Park et al. (US 20060280867), Fu et al. (US 20140120723) as evidentiary references, as applied in claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16, and 21, and further in view of Kim (US 20180195174 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 12-14, 16, and 21 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 7:
Modified Kuppurao fails to teach wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control.
However, Kim teaches wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control (Kim, Fig. 2, [0044], controller 124 adjusts the speed of blower 120 via PID control).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the PID control method of Kim into the apparatus of Kuppurao as doing so would provide flexibility to alter the timing frequency of device speed adjustments as necessitated by the process (Kim, [0044]).
Regarding claim 15:
Modified Kuppurao fails to teach wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control.
However, Kim teaches wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control (Kim, Fig. 2, [0044], controller 124 adjusts the speed of blower 120 via PID control).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the PID control method of Kim into the apparatus of Kuppurao as doing so would provide flexibility to alter the timing frequency of device speed adjustments as necessitated by the process (Kim, [0044]).
Regarding claim 17:
Modified Kuppurao fails to teach wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control.
However, Kim teaches wherein the updated blower output is generated using proportional-integral- derivative (PID) control (Kim, Fig. 2, [0044], controller 124 adjusts the speed of blower 120 via PID control).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the PID control method of Kim into the apparatus of Kuppurao as doing so would provide flexibility to alter the timing frequency of device speed adjustments as necessitated by the process (Kim, [0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 5-9, 12-17, and 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. The teachings of Hoffman et al. (US 20050167051), Tsukune et al. (US 5609721), Park et al. (US 20060280867), and Fu et al. (US 20140120723) remedy anything lacking in the combination of references as applied above the top amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718