DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 2017/0047296 A1) in view of Yang et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0384326 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe teaches a package substrate (¶ 0075 & figs. 1, 46 among others: 1), comprising:
a substrate (¶¶ 0076, 0168: 2 and/or 20) having an upper board surface and a lower board surface (¶ 0170: top and bottom surfaces 2a, 2b), wherein a plurality of scribe line regions (¶ 0169: dicing lines 20c) are arranged on the upper board surface to define a plurality of die-bonding regions and to separate any adjacent two of the plurality of die-bonding regions (fig. 17: 20c arranged on surface 2a to define and separate die regions 20a including bonding leads 2f), and each of the plurality of die-bonding regions has at least one thru-hole penetrating the upper board surface or the lower board surface (¶ 0079 & fig. 19: wirings 2d disposed in through holes penetrating at least one surface 2a or 2b) and includes:
a substrate conductor (¶ 0077: wirings 2d) being electrically conductive (2d comprises conductive material) and disposed in the through hole (fig. 19: 2d includes conductive material disposed in through holes penetrating at least one surface 2a or 2b), wherein the substrate conductor has an upper conductive end (¶ 0073: 2f on upper surface 2a) and a lower conductive end (¶ 0073: 2g on lower surface 2b) that are exposed at the upper board surface and the lower board surface of the substrate, respectively (fig. 19: 2f and 2g exposed on respective upper and lower surfaces 2a and 2b); and
a core material body (¶ 0077: 2e) disposed in the substrate and adjacent to the substrate conductor (fig. 19: 2e disposed in 2/20 and adjacent to 2d); and
a plurality of chips (¶ 0085: MC1-MC4) fixedly disposed in the plurality die-bonding regions, respectively (fig. 42: MC1-MC4 fixedly disposed in regions 20a), wherein each of the plurality of chips is electrically connected to the corresponding substrate conductor through the upper conductive end thereof (fig. 42: MC1-MC4 electrically connected to portions of 2d on surface 2a);
wherein the plurality of scribe line regions define a plurality of scribe lines (¶ 0169), and a dicing process is performed by dicing along the plurality of scribe lines to form a plurality of chip assemblies (since claim 10 is directed to a product, the claim is limited by structure. Therefore, the process limitation ‘a dicing process is performed…’ does not carry patentable weight).
Watanabe further teaches an embodiment (fig. 31 among others) including substrate conductors penetrating from an upper substrate surface to a lower substrate surface (¶ 0238 & fig. 30: 3TSV, AM4 penetrate from upper surface to lower surface of substrate WH).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the embodiment of fig. 46 includes the through hole penetrating from the upper board surface to the lower board surface, the core material body arranged inside of and surrounded by the substrate conductor, wherein the core material body has:
a first surface substantially parallel to the upper board surface, wherein the first surface is partially connected to the upper conductive end of the substrate conductor;
a second surface arranged opposite to the first surface and adjacent to the lower board surface, wherein the second surface is partially connected to the lower conductive end of the substrate conductor; and
a lateral surface arranged between the first surface and the second surface,
wherein an entirety of the lateral surface is connected to a part of the substrate conductor connected to the upper conductive end and the lower conductive end.
Yang teaches a substrate (fig. 24A) having an upper surface and a lower surface (upper and lower surfaces including elements 668), a plurality of die-bonding regions (¶ 0326-0327: substrate includes regions for bonding IC chips) having thru-holes (¶ 0327: 969) penetrating from the upper surface to the lower surface (fig. 24A: 969 penetrates from upper to lower surface PCB comprising core layer 661), a substrate conductor (¶ 0097: 907) entirely disposed in the thru-hole (fig. 24B: 907 entirely disposed in 969), and a core material body (¶ 0099: 908) entirely disposed in the thru-hole, and the core material body arranged inside of and surrounded by the substrate conductor (fig. 24B: 908 arranged inside and surrounded by 907), wherein the core material body has:
a first surface substantially parallel to the upper board surface, wherein the first surface is adjacent to the upper conductive end of the substrate conductor (fig. 24B: upper portion of 908 at least partially connected to upper end of 907);
a second surface arranged opposite to the first surface and adjacent to the lower board surface, wherein the second surface is adjacent to the lower conductive end of the substrate conductor (fig. 24B: lower portion of 908 at least partially connected to lower end of 907); and
a lateral surface arranged between the first surface and the second surface (fig. 24B: 908 includes lateral sidewall surface between upper and lower surfaces),
wherein an entirety of the lateral surface is connected to a part of the substrate conductor connected to the upper conductive end and the lower conductive end (fig. 24B: entirety of sidewall of 908 connected to 907).
Yang further teaches an embodiment (fig. 24D) wherein a first surface of a core material body is partially connected to an upper conductive end of a substrate conductor (top 901a partially connected to lateral protrusion of 907), and a second surface of the core material body is partially connected to a lower conductive end of the substrate conductor (bottom 901a partially connected to lateral protrusion of 907), and an entirety of the lateral surface is connected to a part of the substrate conductor connected to the upper conductive end and the lower conductive end (fig. 24B: entirety of sidewall of 901 connected to 907).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the substrate conductor of Watanabe with the structure and material of Yang, as a means to provide vertical connection to transmit signals or clocks or deliver power or ground in a vertical direction (Yang, ¶ 0093) and allowing smaller multi-chip packages (Yang, ¶ 0003). Furthermore, the through-hole of Yang penetrating from the upper board surface to the lower board surface of Watanabe can be formed by a single process, improving manufacturing efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe in view of Wu teaches the package substrate according to claim 10, wherein a plurality of marking regions (Watanabe, ¶ 0178: AMS) that surrounds the plurality of die-bonding regions are further arranged on the upper board surface for disposing a plurality of alignment marks on the substrate (Watanabe, fig. 17: AMS disposed on surface 2a surrounding plurality of regions 20a), so as to locate the plurality of die- bonding regions during a die bonding process and allow the plurality of chips to be disposed in the die-bonding regions, respectively (Watanabe, ¶ 0180: AMS provides detection of device regions 20a).
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe in view of Yang teaches the package substrate according to claim 11, wherein each of the marking regions is provided with a marking conductor (Watanabe, ¶ 018: AMS formed of wiring material), which has an upper marking end exposed at the upper board surface of the substrate to serve as one of the plurality of alignment marks (Watanabe, fig. 17: upper end of AMS exposed at upper board surface).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe in view of Yang teaches the package substrate according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of dicing lines partially overlap the plurality of marking regions (Watanabe, fig. 17: 20c overlaps edge of marking region 20b), and the marking conductor in each of the plurality of marking regions is not disposed in an overlapping portion where the plurality of scribe lines overlap with the plurality of marking regions (Watanabe, fig. 17: AMS not disposed in overlapping/edge region).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe in view of Yang teaches the package substrate according to claim 12, wherein a redundant region is further arranged on the upper board surface of the substrate to surround the plurality of die-bonding regions and the plurality of marking regions (Watanabe, fig. 17: outermost region of 20 surround AMS and 20a/20c).
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe teaches a package substrate (figs. 1, 22 and 46 among others), comprising:
a substrate (2, 20) having an upper board surface and a lower board surface (fig. 22: 20 includes upper surface 2a and lower surface 2b), wherein a plurality of scribe line regions (¶ 0169: 20c) are arranged on the upper board surface to define a plurality of die-bonding regions and to separate any adjacent two of the plurality of die-bonding regions (fig. 17: 20c arranged on surface 2a to define and separate die bonding regions 20a), and each of the plurality of die-bonding regions has a thru-hole penetrating the substrate (fig. 22 among others: at least portions 2e include penetrating holes comprising conductors 2d) and includes:
a substrate conductor (¶ 0077: 2d) being electrically conductive (¶ 0079: 2d comprises electrically conductive material) and disposed in the thru-hole (fig. 22: 2d at least partially penetrates portions 2e), wherein the substrate conductor has an upper conductive end and a lower conductive end (fig. 19: 2d includes upper and lower ends); and
a core material body (¶ 0078: 2e) disposed in the thru-hole and adjacent to the substrate conductor (fig. 19: portions of 2e disposed in through-hole of 2e and adjacent to 2d); and
a plurality of chips (¶ 0085: LC and/or MC1-MC4) fixedly disposed in the plurality die-bonding regions (fig. 46: LC/MC fixedly disposed in regions 20a), respectively,
wherein each of the plurality of chips is electrically connected to the corresponding substrate conductor through the upper conductive end thereof (fig. 46: each LC/MC electrically connected to upper end of 2d);
wherein the plurality of scribe line regions define a plurality of scribe lines that do not overlap with metal conductors (figs. 17, 19 among others: 20c do not overlap at least metal conductors 2d), and a dicing process is performed by dicing along the plurality of scribe lines to form a plurality of chip assemblies (since claim 17 is directed to a product, the claim is limited by structure. Therefore, the process limitation ‘a dicing process is performed…’ does not carry patentable weight).
Watanabe further teaches an embodiment (fig. 31 among others) including substrate conductors penetrating from an upper substrate surface to a lower substrate surface (¶ 0238 & fig. 30: 3TSV, AM4 penetrate from upper surface to lower surface of substrate WH).
Watanabe does not teach the through hole(s) of fig. 46 penetrate from the upper board surface to the lower board surface, such that the conductive ends are exposed at the upper board surface and the lower board surface of the substrate, the substrate conductor entirely disposed in the thru-hole, and the core material body entirely disposed in the thru-hole and the core material body arranged inside of and surrounded by the substrate conductor.
Yang teaches a substrate (fig. 24A) having an upper surface and a lower surface (fig. 24A among others: upper and lower surfaces comprising elements 668), a thru-hole (¶ 0327: 969) penetrating from the upper board surface to the lower board surface (fig. 24B among others: 969 penetrates from upper surface to lower surface of the substrate of fig. 24A), a substrate conductor (¶¶ 0097, 0103: 467 and/or 907) entirely disposed in the thru-hole (fig. 24B: 467/907 entirely disposed in 969), and a core material body (¶ 0099: 901 and/or 908), the core material body entirely disposed in the thru-hole and the core material body arranged inside of and surrounded by the substrate conductor (fig. 24B among others: at least portion 908 entirely disposed in 969, and arranged inside of and surrounded by 907).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the substrate conductor of Watanabe with the structure and material of Yang, as a means to provide vertical connection to transmit signals or clocks or deliver power or ground in a vertical direction (Yang, ¶ 0093) and allowing smaller multi-chip packages (Yang, ¶ 0003). Furthermore, the through-hole of Yang penetrating from the upper board surface to the lower board surface of Watanabe can be formed by a single process, improving manufacturing efficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Yang as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2006/0192287 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe in view of Yang teaches the package substrate according to claim 14, comprising a redundant region (Watanabe, fig. 17 among others: portion of region 20b absent AMS structure), wherein the plurality of scribe line regions are partially overlapped with the redundant region (Watanabe, fig. 17: edge portions of 20c overlap with inner perimeter of 20b).
Watanabe in view of Yang does not teach wherein the redundant region is provided with a redundant electrical conductor, and the redundant conductor is not disposed in an overlapping portion where the plurality of scribe lines overlap the redundant region.
Ogawa teaches a package substrate (¶ 0050 & fig. 1 among others) including a redundant region (peripheral region 202 of fig. 4a and/or 4b) provided with a redundant electrical conductor (¶ 0082: pattern units 301 disposed in peripheral region 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the package substrate of Watanabe in view of Yang with a redundant electrical conductor, as a means to suppress a warpage of the package substrate (Ogawa, ¶ 0023).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to not dispose the redundant electrical connector in an overlapping portion where the plurality of scribe lines overlap the redundant region, as a means to avoid pattern defects and/or debris during a package dividing step.
Since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson' s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). See MPEP § 2143.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 with respect to claim(s) 10-14 and 16-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818