DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in
Korea (KR 1020220008382) on January 20, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers
required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
An Amendment filed on 12/19/2025, responding to the Office Action mailed on 06/26/2025, has
been acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Non-Final Rejection is made with all the
suggested amendments being fully considered.
Response to Arguments
On pages 7 and 6 of the remarks filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to he amended Claims 1, 14 and 21, Applicant argues that Kim fails to disclose the first and second electrodes 21, 22 respectively terminate before reaching the alleged first and second banks 45 and thus are disposed not them. This argument is fully considered but not persuasive. Kim also teaches first and second banks 40, wherein the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 are respectively disposed on the first and second banks 40 (see Fig 5 of Kim.) Therefore, Kim is still relied upon to teach the above limitation of amended Claims 1, 14 and 21.
On page 9 of the remarks filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to the amended Claims 1, Applicant argues that the organic layer PAS3 of Kim II entirely covers the display area to protect elements located on the first substrate. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. . According to MPEP § 2145 (IV), “One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986)”. As such, Kim II in combination with newly found reference of Jin et al. teaches a modified organic layer that covers only the light-emitting element. Further, the organic layer PAS3 of Kim II is an optional layer (see paragraph 0154), and therefore modifying its extent of coverage will not impact the performance of the display device.
On page 10 of the remarks filed on 12/19/2025, Applicant further argues that in Paek, the organic layer 144 is provided on per-subpixel basis for a layered light-emitting element 130 and therefore has a substantially different configuration to that of Kim II, which discloses preformed individual inorganic LEDs 30. This argument is fully considered but is not persuasive. MPEP § 2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification during examination. Under broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. As such, the BRI of the claims does not require that the light-emitting element should be in a particularly configuration. Note that Paek is no longer relied upon to teach any claim limitations and instead newly found prior art reference of Jin et al is relied upon. Jin et al. teaches individual inorganic LEDs (202 of Fig. 2, 102 of Fig. 1), similar to Kim II and the instant application and thus, the above argument is considered moot but is nevertheless addressed for completeness and future references.
On page 11 of the remarks filed on 12/19/2025, Applicant argues that the modification to Kim II’s layer PAS3 of Kim II would limit its application to an area only over the LED 30, which would expose numerous components to external elements by limiting the extent of the third insulting layer PAS3 for no apparent benefit because the second insulating layer PAS2 is already present under the third insulating layer PAS3 and over the LED 30. These arguments are fully considered but is not persuasive. The third insulating layer PAS3 of Kim II is an optional layer that provides additional protection to elements of the substrate (see paragraph 0154) and limiting the extent of the layer would protect elements from exposure to the solvents present in the organic layer during deposition and thus does offer a benefit. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to confine the PAS3 layer within the banks such that it does not overlap with the banks, thereby protecting certain elements of the substrate from solvent exposure during deposition.
On page 12 of the remarks filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to the amended Claims 1, Applicant argues an edge of the organic encapsulation layer 144 of Paek partially overlaps the bank 138, and therefore fails to disclose "the organic layer is not overlapped with the first bank pattern and the second bank pattern. This argument is fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1, in view of Paek is withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of previously applied Kim II and newly found prior art reference of Jin et al. Jin et al. teaches a display device, wherein the organic layer 2032 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 204 and the second bank pattern 204 (see Fig. 2: 2032, 204, page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.). A new ground of rejection is also made for all dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1--9, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210399069 A1), in view of Jin et al. (CN 107170777 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate 11 (Fig. 5: 11, paragraph 0093)
a first bank pattern 40 and a second bank pattern 40 disposed on the substrate 11 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: 45, 11, paragraph 0114);
a first electrode 21 and a second electrode 22 respectively disposed on the first bank pattern 40 and a second bank pattern 40 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: 21, 22, paragraph 0114);
a first insulating layer 70 disposed on the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 (Fig. 5: 21, 22, 70, paragraph 0114);
a light emitting element 30 disposed on the first insulating layer 70 between the first bank pattern 45 and the second bank pattern 45 (Fig. 5: 30, 70, 45, paragraph 0114);
a first connection electrode 26 in electrical contact with a first end of the light emitting element 30 on the first insulating layer 70 (Fig. 5: 26, 30, 70, paragraphs 0114);
and an organic layer 52 disposed on the first connection electrode 26 and surrounding the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 5: 52, 26, 30, paragraphs 0114, 0178).
Kim et al. fails to teach wherein the organic layer 52 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 40 and the second bank pattern 40.
However, Jin et al. teaches a display device, wherein the organic layer 2032 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 204 and the second bank pattern 204 (see Fig. 2: 2032, 204, page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of both Kim II and Jin at al. in order to have the organic layer not overlap with the first bank pattern and the second bank pattern. Doing so would ensure the organic layer stays within the edges of the banks without extending over the raised edges of the banks causing cracks or delamination, as recognized by Jin et al. (page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the organic layer 52 and a top surface of the first connection electrode 26 are flat to each other (see annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al.: 30, 52, 26).
Annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al. (US 20210399069 A)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a portion of a top surface of the light emitting element 30 protrudes from a surface S of the organic layer 52 (see annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al.: 30, 52, S).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection electrode 26 is not disposed on a top surface of the light emitting element 30 (Fig 5: 26, 30).
Regarding Claim 5, while Kim et al. teaches all elements of Claim 1 as noted above, it fails to explicitly teach wherein a height of the organic layer is greater than a diameter of the light emitting element, and a height of the organic layer is smaller than about 1.5 times the diameter of the light emitting element.
However, Kim et al. does teach wherein a height H1 of the organic layer 52 is greater than a diameter D of the light emitting element 30 (see annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al.). According to MPEP § 2144.05 (I), “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a height of the organic layer to be greater than a diameter of the light emitting element, and a height of the organic layer to be smaller than about 1.5 times the diameter of the light emitting element.
Regarding Claim 6, while Kim et al. teaches all elements of Claim 1 as noted above, it fails to explicitly teach wherein a height of the organic layer 52 is in a range of about 500 nm to about 825 nm.
However, Kim et al. does teach wherein a height of the organic layer 52 is in a range of about 200 nm to about 600 nm (paragraph 0230). According to MPEP § 2144.05 (I), “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose a height of the organic layer in a range of about 500 nm to about 825 nm.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the organic layer 52 includes a light- transmissive organic material (paragraph 0178).
According to paragraph 0178 of Kim et al., the materials disclosed for the organic layer 52 includes acrylic resin, epoxy resin, and polyimide resin, among many others, which are the same light- transmissive organic materials disclosed in the present disclosure (see paragraph 00143 of originally filed disclosure).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element 30 includes:
semiconductor layers 31, 32 (Fig. 6: 31, 32, paragraph 0141);
a light emitting layer 36 disposed between the semiconductor layers 31, 32 (Fig. 6: 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0141);
and an element insulating layer 38 partially surrounding outer side surfaces of the semiconductor layers 31, 32 and the light emitting layer 36 (Fig. 6: 31, 32, 38, paragraph 0141),
and the element insulating layer 38 exposes a surface of the light emitting layer 36 (Fig. 6: 31, 32, 36, paragraphs 0160, 0161, 0167).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising a second insulating layer 51 disposed on the light emitting element 30 and the organic layer 52, wherein the second insulating layer 51 is in physical contact with the light emitting layer 36 (Fig. 5: 51, 30, 52, Fig. 6: 36, paragraph 0168).
Note that since the element insulating layer 38 only partially surrounds the outer side surfaces of the semiconductor layers 31, 32 and the light emitting layer 36 of the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 6: 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0167), the second insulating layer 51 when disposed on the light emitting element 30, will be in physical contact with the light emitting layer 36 (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element 30 has a second end opposite the first end, the second end is in electrical contact with a second connection electrode 27 disposed on the first insulating layer 70, and a top surface of the second connection electrode 27 and a top surface of the organic layer 52 are flat to each other (see annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al.: 30, 52, 27, paragraphs 0114).
Regarding Claim 21, Kim et al. teaches an electronic device comprising:
a substrate 11 (Fig. 5: 11, paragraph 0093);
a first bank pattern 40 and a second bank pattern 40 disposed on the substrate 11 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: 40, 11, paragraph 0114);
a first electrode 21 and a second electrode 22 disposed respectively disposed on the first bank pattern 40 and a second bank pattern 40 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: 21, 22, paragraph 0114);
a first insulating layer 70 disposed on the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 (Fig. 5: 21, 22, 70, paragraph 0114);
a light emitting element 30 disposed on the first insulating layer 70 between the first bank pattern 40 and the second bank pattern 40 (Fig. 5: 30, 70, 40, paragraph 0114);
a first connection electrode 26 in electrical contact with a first end of the light emitting element 30 on the first insulating layer 70 (Fig. 5: 26, 30, 70, paragraphs 0114);
and an organic layer 52 disposed on the first connection electrode 26 and surrounding the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 5: 52, 26, 30, paragraphs 0114, 0178).
Kim et al. fails to teach wherein the organic layer 52 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 40 and the second bank pattern 40.
However, Jin et al. teaches a display device, wherein the organic layer 2032 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 204 and the second bank pattern 204 (see Fig. 2: 2032, 204, page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of both Kim II and Jin at al. in order to have the organic layer not overlap with the first bank pattern and the second bank pattern. Doing so would ensure the organic layer stays within the edges of the banks without extending over the raised edges of the banks causing cracks or delamination, as recognized by Jin et al. (page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Claims 1, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over second reference Kim et al. (US 20210313498 A1), herein referred to as Kim II, in view of Jin et al. (CN 107170777 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim II teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate 11 (Fig. 5: 11, paragraph 0098)
a first bank pattern BNL1 and a second bank pattern BNL1 disposed on the substrate 11 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: BNL1, 11, paragraph 0123);
a first electrode 21 and a second electrode 22 disposed respectively disposed on the first bank pattern BNL1 and a second bank pattern BNL1 to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 5: 11, 21, 22, paragraphs 0097, 0098);
a first insulating layer PAS1 disposed on the first electrode 21 and the second electrode 22 (Fig. 5: 21, 22, PAS1, paragraph 0137);
a light emitting element 30 disposed on the first insulating layer PAS1 between the first bank pattern BNL1 and the second bank pattern BNL2 (Fig. 5: 30, PAS1, BNL1, paragraph 0137);
a first connection electrode CNE1 in electrical contact with a first end of the light emitting element 30 on the first insulating layer PAS1 (Fig. 5: CNE1, 30, PAS1, paragraphs 0134);
and an organic layer PAS3 disposed on the first connection electrode CNE1 and surrounding the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 5: PAS3, CNE1, 30, paragraphs 0154, 0155).
Kim II fails to teach wherein the organic layer PS3 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern BNL1 and the second bank pattern BNL1.
However, Jin et al. teaches a display device, wherein the organic layer 2032 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 204 and the second bank pattern 204 (see Fig. 2: 2032, 204, page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of both Kim II and Jin at al. in order to have the organic layer not overlap with the first bank pattern and the second bank pattern. Doing so would ensure the organic layer stays within the edges of the banks without extending over the raised edges of the banks causing cracks or delamination, as recognized by Jin et al. (page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim II teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection electrode CNE1 is electrically connected to the first electrode 21 through a contact portion OP, CP and the organic layer PAS3 is disposed to cover the contact portion OP, CP (Fig. 5: CNE1, 21, OP, PAS3, paragraph 0138).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim II teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the organic layer PAS3 includes a portion disposed on the contact portion CP and another portion surrounding the light emitting element 30, and the portion and the another portion are spaced apart from each other with a bank layer BNL2 interposed therebetween (Fig. 6: CP, PAS3, 30, BNL2, Fig. 4: BNL2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210399069 A), in view of Jin et al. (CN 107170777 A), as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Kim II (US 20210313498 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim et al. teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a passivation layer 53 disposed to cover the first connection electrode 26 (Fig. 5: 26, 53, paragraphs 0177, 0178), but the combination of Kim et al. and Jin et al. fails to teach wherein the first connection electrode 26 is electrically connected to the first electrode 21 through a contact portion.
However, Kim II teaches a display device comprising a first connection electrode CNE1 and a first electrode 21, wherein the first connection electrode CNE1 is electrically connected to the first electrode 21 through a contact portion OP (Fig. 5: CNE1, 21, OP, paragraph 0138).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Kim et al. with the teachings of Kim II in order to have the first connection electrode be electrically connected to the first electrode through a contact portion. Doing so would enable the electrical connection of the electrodes to the light-emitting element via the connection electrodes, as recognized by Kim II (paragraph 0134).
Claims 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210399069 A), in view of Jin et al. (CN 107170777 A) and second reference Kim et al. (US 20210313498 A1), herein referred to as Kim II.
Regarding Claim 14, Kim et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
aligning a light emitting element 30 on a first electrode 121 and a second electrode 122, between a first bank pattern 40 and a second bank pattern 40, and spaced apart from each other on a substrate 11 (Fig. 14: 121, 122, 45, Fig. 5: 11, 45, paragraph 0091, 0114, 0236);
at least partially exposing semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36, of the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 6: 30, 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0167);
forming connection electrodes 126, 127 on the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 12: 30, 126, 127, paragraph 0237);
forming an organic layer 52 on the light emitting element 30 and the connection electrodes 126, 127 (Fig. 12: 52, 126, 127, paragraph 0237, 0178);
wherein the first electrode 121 and the second electrode 122 are respectively disposed on the first bank pattern 40 and the second bank pattern 40 (see Fig. 14: 40, 121, 122),
Kim et al. fails to explicitly teach etching a portion of the connection electrodes on which the organic layer is not disposed, and wherein the organic layer 52 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 40 and the second bank pattern 40.
However, Kim II teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising etching a portion of the connection electrodes CNE1, CNE2 (Fig. 19: CNE1, CNE2, paragraph 0208)
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Kim et al. with the teachings of Kim II in order etch a portion of the connection electrodes. Doing so would isolate the connection electrodes from the exposed semiconductor layers of the light-emitting element, thereby preventing electrical short.
Further, while the combination of Kim et al. and Kim II does not explicitly specify etching a portion of the connection electrodes on which the organic layer is not disposed, using the combined teachings of both Kim et al. and Kim II, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a selective etching can be performed so that only a portion of the connection electrodes on which the organic layer is not disposed is etched.
Furthermore, Jin et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, wherein the organic layer 2032 is not overlapped with the first bank pattern 204 and the second bank pattern 204 (see Fig. 2: 2032, 204, page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of both Kim II and Jin at al. in order to have the organic layer not overlap with the first bank pattern and the second bank pattern. Doing so would ensure the organic layer stays within the edges of the banks without extending over the raised edges of the banks causing cracks or delamination, as recognized by Jin et al. (page 5, lines 20-26 in English Translation of Jin et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein a height H2 of the organic layer 52 is formed lower than a height of exposed top surfaces of the semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 (Fig. 6: 30, 31, 32, 36, see above annotated Fig. 8 of Kim et al.: 30, 52).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the at least partially exposing of the semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36, of the light emitting element 30 includes: forming an insulating material layer 38 on the light emitting element 30, and etching the insulating material layer 38 to form an insulating layer 38 (Fig. 6: 30, 31, 32, 36, 38, paragraph 0167).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Kim et al., Jin et al. and Kim II fails to explicitly teach the method of claim 14, wherein the etching of the connection electrode is performed to etch the connection electrode disposed on the exposed semiconductor layers of the light emitting element among the connection electrodes.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that since the semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 of the light emitting element 30 of Kim et al. are partially exposed (see Fig. 6: 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0167 of Kim et al.), portions of the connection electrodes 126, 127 contacting the semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 of the light emitting element 30 should be etched in order to prevent electrical shorting of the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the etching of the connection electrode is performed to etch the connection electrode disposed on the exposed semiconductor layers of the light emitting element among the connection electrodes.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: forming an insulating layer 51 on the connection electrodes 126, 127 and the light emitting element 30, wherein the insulating layer 51 is disposed to be in physical contact with the exposed semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 of the light emitting element 30 (Fig. 12: 30, 52, 126, 127, Fig. 6: 30, 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0237).
Note that since the semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 of the light emitting element 30 are partially exposed (see Fig. 6: 31, 32, 36, paragraph 0167), the second insulating layer 51 will be disposed to be in physical contact with the exposed semiconductor layers 31, 32, 36 of the light emitting element 30.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim et al. fails to teach the method of claim 14, further comprising: before the forming of the organic layer, forming a passivation layer disposed to cover a contact portion connecting the connection electrodes and a voltage line.
However, Kim II teaches before the forming of the organic layer PAS3, forming a passivation layer PAS1 disposed to cover a contact portion CT2 connecting the connection electrodes 22 and a voltage line VL2 (Fig. 16: PAS1, CT2, 22, Fig. 20: PAS3, paragraphs 0154, 0155, 0202).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Kim et al. with the teachings of Kim II in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would protect the electrodes, insulate the electrodes from each other, as well as prevent direct contact of the light-emitting element with other elements, thereby reducing or preventing damage thereto, as recognized by Kim II (paragraph 0137).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20210399069 A), in view of Jin et al. (CN 107170777 A) and Kim II (US 20210313498 A1), as applied to Claim 14 above, further in view of Kwon et al. (US 20160323994 A1).
Kim et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the forming of the organic layer 52 includes: forming an organic material layer 52 covering the light emitting element 30 and the connection electrodes 126, 127 (Fig. 12: 52, 126, 127, paragraph 0237, 0178).
The combination of Kim et al., Jin et al. and Kim II fails to teach heat-treating and planarizing the organic material layer.
However, Kwon et al. teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising heat-treating and planarizing an organic material layer 45 (Fig. 4: 45, paragraph 0066).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Kim et al., Kim II and Kwon et al. in order to include a step of heat-treating and planarizing an organic material layer. Doing so would planarize the surface of the organic layer, as recognized by Kwon et al. (paragraph 0066).
Conclusion
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 03/30/2025
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 April 9, 2026