DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amended title overcomes the previous objection.
The claim amendments overcome the previous objections.
See the new rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, KR 2018-0003253 A, in view of Choi, US 2019/0181199 A1.
Claim 1: Lee discloses
an insulating layer (237) disposed on a base layer (210);
a first lower electrode (242 (FIG. 2) of a pixel 116 (FIG. 1)) disposed on the insulating layer;
a second lower electrode (242 of a different pixel 116) disposed on the insulating layer and spaced apart from the first lower electrode;
a pixel definition layer (251/351) disposed on the insulating layer and including pixel openings exposing at least a portion of each of the first lower electrode and the second lower electrode (FIG. 2 or FIG. 3), the pixel definition layer is a light blocking material;
“The bank 251 can have an optical density (OD) indicating the degree of blocking of light at 4 or less at a thickness of 3µm of the bank 251. Optical density (OD) is measured in OD meter (OD meter).” [0085]. Note that an optical density of 4 blocks 99.99% of light.
Lee does not disclose the claimed sacrificial layer. However, this was known in the art. See Choi, which discloses:
and a sacrificial layer (STP) disposed between the pixel definition layer (142) and the insulating layer and comprising first side surfaces defining sacrificial openings corresponding to the pixel openings (FIG. 4),
wherein the first side surfaces are overlapped by the pixel definition layer in a plan view, and the pixel definition layer contacts and covers the first side surfaces in a cross-sectional view (Choi FIG. 7).
Note: the pixel of FIG. 7 has here been duplicated to show multiple pixels.
The sacrificial layer STP functions as an etch stop layer to allow for the formation of grooves BG, which prevents leakage current ([0066]). It would have been obvious to have had the sacrificial layer STP in Lee for this reason.
Claim 2: the sacrificial layer comprises:
a first sacrificial pattern (left) adjacent to the first lower electrode;
and a second sacrificial pattern (right) adjacent to the second lower electrode and spaced apart from the first sacrificial pattern,
and the sacrificial openings comprise:
a first sacrificial opening defined in the first sacrificial pattern and exposing the at least the portion of the first lower electrode;
and a second sacrificial opening defined in the second sacrificial pattern and exposing the at least the portion of the second lower electrode. See the annotated figure above.
Claim 3: the pixel definition layer comprises: a first pixel definition pattern (BN, left) overlapping the first sacrificial pattern in the plan view; and a second pixel definition pattern (BN, right) overlapping the second sacrificial pattern in the plan view and spaced apart from the first pixel definition pattern.
Claim 4: Choi discloses
the first sacrificial pattern comprises a first side surface and a second side surface opposing the first side surface of the first sacrificial pattern, and the second side surface of the first sacrificial pattern is spaced farther from the first lower electrode than the first side surface of the first sacrificial pattern, the first side surface of the first sacrificial pattern defining the first sacrificial opening,
the second sacrificial pattern comprises a first side surface and a second side surface opposing the first side surface of the second sacrificial pattern, and the second side surface of the second sacrificial pattern and is spaced farther from the second lower electrode than the first side surface of the second sacrificial pattern, the first side surface of the second sacrificial pattern defining the second sacrificial opening,
the second side surface of the first sacrificial pattern is overlapped by the first pixel definition pattern in the plan view,
the second side surface of the second sacrificial pattern is overlapped by the second pixel definition pattern in the plan view,
and at least a portion of the second side surface of the first sacrificial pattern faces at least a portion of the second side surface of the second sacrificial pattern.
Claim 5: Choi discloses a cover layer (OL) overlapping a separation space between the first pixel definition pattern and the second pixel definition pattern in the plan view and comprising an organic material.
Claim 8: the pixel definition layer has an optical density equal to or greater than about 1.0 (Lee, [0085]).
Claim 10: at least a portion of the sacrificial layer overlaps at least a portion of an end area of each of the first lower electrode and the second lower electrode in the plan view (Choi FIG. 7).
Claim 11: Lee discloses
a first light emitting element (116, left) comprising a lower electrode (242), an upper electrode (246), and a light emitting layer (244) disposed between the lower electrode and the upper electrode;
a second light emitting element (116, right) comprising a lower electrode (242), an upper electrode (246), and a light emitting layer (244) disposed between the lower electrode and the upper electrode;
transistors (220) electrically connected to the lower electrode of the first light emitting element and the lower electrode of the second light emitting element;
a first pixel definition pattern (251 for left pixel) including a first pixel opening through which at least a portion of the lower electrode of the first light emitting element is exposed;
a second pixel definition pattern (251 for right pixel) including a second pixel opening through which at least a portion of the lower electrode of the second light emitting element is exposed;
wherein each of the first pixel definition pattern and the second pixel definition pattern is a light blocking material.
“The bank 251 can have an optical density (OD) indicating the degree of blocking of light at 4 or less at a thickness of 3µm of the bank 251. Optical density (OD) is measured in OD meter (OD meter).” [0085]. Note that an optical density of 4 blocks 99.99% of light.
Lee does not disclose the claimed sacrificial patterns, but these were known in the art. See Choi, which discloses
a first sacrificial pattern (STP, left) overlapped by the first pixel definition pattern in a plan view;
and a second sacrificial pattern (STP, right) overlapped by the second pixel definition pattern and spaced apart from the first sacrificial pattern in the plan view,
wherein the transistors do not overlap an area between the first pixel definition pattern and the second pixel definition pattern, in the plan view;
wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the first pixel definition pattern covers and contacts a side surface of the first sacrificial pattern and the second pixel definition pattern covers and contacts a side surface of the second sacrificial pattern (FIG. 7).
The sacrificial layer STP functions as an etch stop layer to allow for the formation of grooves BG, which prevents leakage current ([0066]). It would have been obvious to have had the sacrificial layer STP in Lee for this reason.
Claim 13: Choi discloses a cover layer (OL) overlapping a separation space between the first pixel definition pattern and the second pixel definition pattern in the plan view.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choi and SoJung Lee, US 2021/0119183 A1.
Claim 5: SoJung Lee discloses a layer 131 101 covering a separation space between the first pixel definition pattern and the second pixel definition pattern in the plan view and comprising an organic material. It would have been obvious to have used this as a way to direct the light emitted from the pixel.
Claim 6: the material of layer 131 is reflective (SoJung Lee FIG. 3), and thus comprises a light blocking material.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Choi and in evidence of Swinnen, US 2008/0166525 A1. Choi discloses that sacrificial layer can be silicon oxide ([0015]) and the electrode can be copper ([0063]). There are echants that etch silicon oxide faster than copper. See e.g. Swinnen [0050]. Additionally, there are other etchants that are selective to these and other materials that these two layers can be made of.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897