DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 8-15, 19 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 16 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Soininen in addition to previously relied on references below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the RF source (Fig. 1A/1B) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080066684 to Patalay and further in view of US 20040216665 to Soininen.
Claim 1: Patalay discloses a semiconductor processing tool, comprising: a chamber (100 [processing chamber], Fig. 11); a pedestal (205 [susceptor plate]) in the chamber (100); a first gas feed system (one portion of 1106 [upper injection manifold]) on a first side of the pedestal (a side of 205), wherein the first gas feed system (one portion of 1106) comprises: a first exhaust line (1115 [upper exhaust port]) with a first valve (1110 [control valve] of 1115) to open and close the first exhaust line (1115, para. [0079]); and a first source gas feed line (1111 [center reactant gases injection port/line]) with a second valve (1110 of 1111) to open and close the first source gas feed line (1111, para. [0081]); and a second gas feed system (another portion of 1106) on a second side of the pedestal (another side of 205), wherein the second gas feed system (another portion of 1106) comprises: a second exhaust line (1116 [exhaust ports]) with a third valve (1110 of 1116) to open and close the second exhaust line (1116); and a second source gas feed line (1112 [edge reactant gases injection port/line]) with a fourth valve (1110 of 1112) to open and close the second source gas feed line (1112, para. [0081]).
However Patalay does not disclose the second side laterally opposite the first side.
Soininen discloses tubes with apertures on opposite sides of the substrate holder (para. [0009]) for the purpose of leaving a wide space for controlling exhaust flow (para. para. [0044]). It is noted that Soininen also teaches other arrangement configurations (Fig. 2-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the lateral opposite configuration as taught by Soininen with motivation to leave a wide space for controlling exhaust flow.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Patalay in view of Soininen discloses further comprising: lift pins (101/801 [lift arms], Fig. 1a, 8, 13, Patalay) configured to extend out of the pedestal (205) to lift a substrate (202 [substrate], para. [0084]).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Patalay in view of Soininen discloses further comprising: a first showerhead (not shown but disclosed, para. [0082], Patalay) at an entrance of the first gas feed system (end of 1111); and a second showerhead (not shown but disclosed, para. [0082]) at an entrance to the second gas feed system (end of 1112).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Patalay in view of Soininen does not explicitly disclose wherein the first showerhead and the second showerhead are substantially similar to each other.
Soininen discloses wherein the first showerhead (22, Fig. 1) and the second showerhead (24) are substantially similar to each other (para. [0045], [0096]) for the purpose of being optimized so that the whole wafer will be exposed uniformly to the reactant gas (para. [0096]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Soininen with motivation to be optimized so that the whole wafer will be exposed uniformly to the reactant gas.
Claim 7: The apparatus of Patalay in view of Soininen discloses further comprising: a heater (106 [upper heat lamps], Fig. 13, Patalay) over the pedestal (205, para. [0005]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patalay in view of Soininen as applied to claims 1-4, 7 above, and further in view of US 20100059478 to Lee.
Claims 5-6: The apparatus of Patalay in view of Soininen does not disclose (claim 5) further comprising: a grounded electrode (over the pedestal; (claim 6) wherein the pedestal is coupled to an RF source
Lee discloses (claim 5) further comprising: a grounded electrode (30 [first electrode], Fig. 3) over the pedestal (280 [substrate supporter], para. [0115]); (claim 6) wherein the pedestal (280/240) is coupled to an RF source (270 [high frequency power supply]) for the purpose of generating a reactive gas plasma for substrate processing (para. [0211-0212]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the grounded electrode and RF source respectively as taught by Lee with motivation to generate a reactive gas plasma for substrate processing.
Claims 8-15: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040216665 to Soininen in view of US 20180151336 to Sakka.
Claim 16: Soininen discloses a semiconductor processing tool, comprising: a chamber (12 [reaction chamber], Fig. 1); a pedestal (18 [substrate support]) in the chamber (12); a plate over the pedestal (top of 12); and a gas distribution assembly (22, 24) between the pedestal (12) and the plate (top of 12), wherein the gas distribution assembly (22, 24) is configured to supply a process gas to a substrate (16 [substrate]), and wherein the gas distribution assembly (22, 24) includes a first gas feed system (22) on a first side of the pedestal (18) and a second gas feed system (24) on a second side of the pedestal (18), the second side laterally opposite the first side (Fig. 1).
However Soininen does not wherein the pedestal is coupled to an RF source; wherein the plate is coupled to an electrical ground.
Sakka discloses wherein the pedestal (420/421, Fig. 2) is coupled to an RF source (450/451 [high-frequency power sources]); a plate (431 [upper lid]) over the pedestal (420/421), wherein the plate (431) is coupled to an electrical ground (para. [0043], [0052]), for the purpose of forming a space for generating plasma inside the chamber (para. [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the RF source and grounding as taught by Sakka with motivation to form a space for generating plasma inside the chamber.
Regarding “supplying a process gas to a backside of a substrate,” the recitations tie the structure of the apparatus to a substrate that may be worked upon by the apparatus, but is notably not part of the apparatus; and therefore cannot be used to define over the prior art apparatus. The courts have held that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. MPEP 2115.
Claim 17: The apparatus of Soininen in view of Sakka discloses wherein the gas distribution assembly (22, 24, Fig. 1, Soininen) is configured to have two or more zones (para. [0040, 0044]), wherein each zone is configured to have independently controllable gas flow rates (para. [0037]).
Claim 19: (Withdrawn).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soininen in view of Sakka as applied to claims 16, 17 above, and further in view of US 20170309500 to Meng.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Soininen in view of Sakka discloses wherein the two or more zones include a center zone (zone under 484, Fig. 2, Sakka or 14, Fig. 1, Soininen).
However the apparatus of Soininen in view of Sakka does not disclose and four peripheral zones outside of the center zone.
Meng discloses and four peripheral zones (108a, 108b, 108b, 108c [zones], Fig. 5) outside for the purpose of being different and configured to compensate for non-uniformities in underlying plasma (para. [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the four peripheral zones as taught by Meng with motivation to be different and configured to compensate for non-uniformities in underlying plasma.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soininen in view of Sakka as applied to claims 16, 17 above, and further in view of US 20160148813 to Rogers.
Claim 20: The apparatus of Soininen in view of Sakka does not disclose further comprising: a plurality of valves coupled to the gas distribution assembly, wherein the plurality of valves are independently controllable to modify a gas flow out of the gas distribution assembly
Rogers discloses further comprising: a plurality of valves (501a, 501b [valves], Fig. 1) coupled to the gas distribution assembly (500 [gas delivery arrangement]), wherein the plurality of valves (501a, 501b) are independently controllable to modify a gas flow out of the gas distribution assembly (500) for the purpose of having respective valves be used to control the flow rate through each zone of each discrete sector.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the valves as taught by Rogers with motivation to have respective valves be used to control the flow rate through each zone of each discrete sector.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718