DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 March 2026 by the applicant has been considered and is included in the file.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are currently pending.
Independent claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 and dependent claims 9-10, 14-15 and 18 have been amended by applicant’s amendments received 05 March 2026. No new matter has been introduced.
Claim 7 has been canceled, and therefore the prior rejections is/are moot.
Prior objections of the drawings have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Prior objections of claim 15 have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn. Examiner thanks the applicant for noticing that the first objection to claim 15, based on “a plurality of heating electrodes”, was in error. The second noted objection to claim 15 has been overcome by the amendment.
Prior rejections of claims 16-20 under USC § 112(b) have been overcome by amendment and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pg. 11-14, filed 05 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 under USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references, as discussed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, line 2 includes “measuring an electric current flowing…” and it is unclear if this is the same electric current which is now introduced in amended claim 16. For examination purposes, this will be treated as the same current, where the limitation reads “measuring the electric current flowing…”, where the electric current is indicative of the extracted charge carriers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiya et al. (Hereinafter Hashiya, US 20180372951 A1) in view of Iida et al. (hereinafter Iida, US 20180128974 A1), further in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, On-Chip Optical Power Monitor Using Periodically Interleaved P-N Junctions Integrated on a Silicon Waveguide, IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 20, NO. 4, JULY/AUGUST 2014) and further still in view of Srinivasan et al. (hereinafter Srinivasan, US 20230143150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hashiya teaches an optical device comprising:
a first waveguide comprising a semiconducting material with a temperature- dependent refractive index ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) contains a material whose refractive index is changed with temperature);
a plurality of electrodes responsive to a voltage configuration attached to the first waveguide ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 32, 33, waveguide (10)is connected to a pair of electrodes (62) which may have a voltage applied);
and a first heating electrode configured to cause a change of a temperature of the first waveguide ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) is connected to heater (68)).
Hashiya does not teach a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers, or circuitry to measure an electric current of the extracted charge carriers in order to control the power of an electromagnetic wave based on the measured current.
Iida teaches an optical device, such as a waveguide, where a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers generated by a first electromagnetic wave propagating in the first waveguide ([0008], [0117],[0124]; Fig. 16 where waveguide (WG) includes a plethora of electrodes, where (TE2) constitute extraction electrodes.).
Zhu teaches a waveguide where electrodes are configured to measure an electric current flowing between a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes and a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes;
and estimate a power of the first electromagnetic wave based on the measured electric current (Pg. 1, introduction, and Pg. 6, section D., where the electric field in a waveguide is directly related to a measured photocurrent generated by the SSA effect, and the electric field is in relation to the incident beam passing through the waveguide and therefore may be used as a power monitor).
Srinivasan teaches an optical device with an integrated light-emitting structure and waveguide and circuitry, which may control a power of an electromagnetic wave within the structure based on a measured electric current from extracted charge carriers, and a target power of the first electromagnetic wave ([0017], [0022]-[0023], [0053] where measured current from extracted carriers due to a voltage applied is used to monitor, and therefore linked to control based on an intended output power, of the optical device).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Hashiya to incorporate the teachings of Iida to utilize some of a plurality of electrodes attached to a waveguide to act as carrier extraction in addition to heating or modulation with a reasonable expectation of success. As Iida notes, excess charge accumulation within a waveguide can lead to breakdown of the materials within the semiconductor device ([0047]). It would also have been obvious to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Zhu and Srinivasan to measure the current due to excess charge carriers in a waveguide and use that to measure, and control, the beam intensity with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhu notes that carrier extraction in a waveguide will allow for usage of the extraction electrodes as an optical power monitor in PIC systems which is independent of wavelength and decreases losses within the waveguide itself (Pg. 6, Conclusion), and Srinivasan teaches a system which utilizes the extraction and current to measure beam power with less loss than traditional optical systems where a portion of the beam is split off ([0019]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art, these teachings would lead to a predictable result in the system of Hashiya of decreasing power loss within the waveguides, especially at higher power, in addition to control over the emitted power of the system based on a preferred transmitted power.
Regarding claim 2, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second waveguide comprising the semiconducting material, wherein the plurality of extraction electrodes are further configured to extract, responsive to the voltage configuration, from the second waveguide, charge carriers generated by a second electromagnetic wave propagating in the second waveguide;
and a second heating electrode configured to cause a change of a temperature of the second waveguide ([0293], [0370], [0430]; Fig. 44- 50A, 67 which show various embodiments, all of which incorporate a plurality of waveguides as described previously. This then would indicate a second waveguide would be identical to that as described by claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 2, further comprising:
an optical switch configured to selectively direct an input beam to one of a plurality of optical paths ([0430]; Fig. 67 optical divider (90)), the optical switch comprising:
the first waveguide and the second waveguide ([0430]; Fig. 67, waveguide array (10A) includes a plethora of waveguides),
a beam splitter configured to (i) direct a first portion of the input beam to the first waveguide, and (ii) direct a second portion of the input beam to the second waveguide ([0430]; Fig. 67, optical divider (90) splits and directs light from emitter (130) to waveguide array (10A));
and a plurality of heating electrodes comprising the first heating electrode and the second heating electrode ([0391], [0430], where sets of electrodes (62a) and (62b) are connected to different layers within the optical waveguide layer(20)), wherein,
in a first heating configuration, the plurality of heating electrodes cause the optical device to direct the input beam to a first optical path of the plurality of optical paths,
and in a second heating configuration, the plurality of heating electrodes cause the optical device to direct the input beam to a second optical path of the plurality of optical paths ([0230], [0313], where by heating the waveguides differently, the index of refraction of each changes which affects the direction of the light emitted from the waveguides and therefore the optical path); .
Regarding claim 6, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 1, further comprising:
an electronic circuit configured to provide a modulation signal to the first heating electrode, wherein the modulation signal causes a modulation of the first electromagnetic wave ([0312] - [0317], wherein the first adjusting element (60) includes electrodes (62) and heater (68)where voltage may be applied to electrodes for modulation of the signal).
Regarding claim 8, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 1, wherein
the semiconducting material comprises silicon ([0141], [0307]).
Regarding claim 9, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 1, wherein
a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes comprises the semiconducting material that is hole-doped, and wherein a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes comprises the semiconducting material that is electron-doped ([0307], where the pair of electrodes (62) include one p-doped and one n-doped).
Regarding claim 10, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 9.
Hashiya and Iida are both silent on the application of a voltage to channel off excess charges.
Zhu teaches applying a lower potential to a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes, wherein the first extraction electrode comprises the semiconductor material that is hole-doped;
and applying a higher potential to a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes, wherein the second extraction electrode comprises the semiconductor material that is electron-doped (Pg. 3, col. 2, where a bias voltage, higher applied to p-type or hole-doped areas, is applied to the waveguides to complete carrier extraction).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further incorporate the teachings of Zhu to apply a reverse bias voltage to extract charge carriers from a waveguide with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhu notes that carrier extraction in a waveguide will allow for usage of the extraction electrodes as an optical power monitor in PIC systems which is independent of wavelength and decreases losses within the waveguide itself (Pg. 6, Conclusion), and therefore would lead to a predictable result in the system of Hashiya of decreasing power loss within waveguides, especially at higher power, as well as without adding large additional components to the PIC.
Regarding claim 11, Hashiya teaches a lidar system ([0114]) comprising:
a light source configured to generate a transmitted (TX) beam ([0430]; Fig. 67 emitter (130));
and a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) comprising ([0430]; Fig. 67 where scanning device (100) is integrated within a chip):
a waveguide configured to guide the TX beam, wherein the waveguide comprises a semiconducting material ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) contains a material whose refractive index is changed with temperature);
Hashiya does not teach a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers, or circuitry to measure an electric current of the extracted charge carriers in order to control the power of an electromagnetic wave based on the measured current.
Iida teaches an optical device, such as a waveguide, where a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers generated by a first electromagnetic wave propagating in the first waveguide ([0008], [0117],[0124]; Fig. 16 where waveguide (WG) includes a plethora of electrodes, where (TE2) constitute extraction electrodes.).
Zhu teaches a waveguide where electrodes are configured to measure an electric current flowing between a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes and a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes;
and estimate a power of the first electromagnetic wave based on the measured electric current (Pg. 1, introduction, and Pg. 6, section D., where the electric field in a waveguide is directly related to a measured photocurrent generated by the SSA effect, and the electric field is in relation to the incident beam passing through the waveguide and therefore may be used as a power monitor).
Srinivasan teaches an optical device with an integrated light-emitting structure and waveguide and circuitry, which may control a power of an electromagnetic wave within the structure based on a measured electric current from extracted charge carriers, and a target power of the first electromagnetic wave ([0017], [0022]-[0023], [0053] where measured current from extracted carriers due to a voltage applied is used to monitor, and therefore linked to control based on an intended output power, of the optical device).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Hashiya to incorporate the teachings of Iida to utilize some of a plurality of electrodes attached to a waveguide to act as carrier extraction in addition to heating or modulation with a reasonable expectation of success. As Iida notes, excess charge accumulation within a waveguide can lead to breakdown of the materials within the semiconductor device ([0047]). It would also have been obvious to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Zhu and Srinivasan to measure the current due to excess charge carriers in a waveguide and use that to measure, and control, the beam intensity with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhu notes that carrier extraction in a waveguide will allow for usage of the extraction electrodes as an optical power monitor in PIC systems which is independent of wavelength and decreases losses within the waveguide itself (Pg. 6, Conclusion), and Srinivasan teaches a system which utilizes the extraction and current to measure beam power with less loss than traditional optical systems where a portion of the beam is split off ([0019]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art, these teachings would lead to a predictable result in the system of Hashiya of decreasing power loss within the waveguides, especially at higher power, in addition to control over the emitted power of the system based on a preferred transmitted power.
Regarding claim 12, Hashiya as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 11, wherein the PIC further comprises
a heating electrode configured to cause a change of a temperature of the waveguide ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) is connected to heater (68)).
Regarding claim 13, Hashiya as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 12, wherein the PIC further comprises
an electronic circuit configured to communicate a modulation signal to the heating electrode, wherein the modulation signal causes a modulation of the TX beam ([0312] - [0317], wherein the first adjusting element (60) includes electrodes (62) and heater (68)where voltage may be applied to electrodes for modulation of the signal).
Claim 14 is similarly rejected to claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, Hashiya as modified above teaches the lidar system of claim 11, wherein the PIC further comprises:
one or more optical switches configured to selectively guide the TX beam to one or more of a plurality of optical interfaces configured to output the TX beam to an outside environment, wherein each optical switch of the one or more optical switches comprises ([0430]; Fig. 67; optical divider (90)):
a first waveguide and a second waveguide, wherein the first waveguide and the second waveguide comprise the semiconducting material with a temperature- dependent refractive index ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) contains a material whose refractive index is changed with temperature and each line ultimately includes two paths, which would indicate two phase);
a beam splitter configured to (i) direct a first portion of the TX beam to the first waveguide and (ii) direct a second portion of the TX beam to the second waveguide ([0430]; Fig. 67; optical divider (90) separates light into multiple paths);
and a plurality of heating electrodes configured to ([0311] - [0312], [0430]; Fig. 33, 67, each waveguide (10) within waveguide array (10A) may be connected to a heater (68) and electrodes (62)):
in a first heating configuration, cause the TX beam to follow a first optical path,
and in a second heating configuration, cause the TX beam to follow a second optical path ([0230], [0313], where by heating the waveguides differently, the index of refraction of each changes which affects the direction of the light emitted from the waveguides and therefore the optical path).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Hashiya teaches a method to operate a lidar device, comprising:
directing a first beam to a first waveguide comprising a semiconducting material with a temperature-dependent refractive index ([0311] - [0312]; Fig. 33, waveguide (10) contains a material whose refractive index is changed with temperature);
using a heating electrode to impart a phase change to the first beam to obtain a modified first beam ([0148], [0266], [0288] where a voltage is applied to and phase shifters (80) change the phase within a waveguide element (10));
generating, using the modified first beam, a transmitted beam ([0430]; Fig. 67 where waveguide array (10A) are used to emit into environment);
and using a reflected beam caused by interaction of the transmitted beam with an object in an outside environment to detect at least one of (i) a distance to the object or (ii) a speed of the object ([0430] - [0432]).
Hashiya does not teach a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers, or circuitry to measure an electric current of the extracted charge carriers in order to measure or control the power of an electromagnetic wave based on the measured current.
Iida teaches an optical device, such as a waveguide, where a plurality of extraction electrodes configured to extract, responsive to a voltage configuration, from the first waveguide, charge carriers generated by a first electromagnetic wave propagating in the first waveguide ([0008], [0117],[0124]; Fig. 16 where waveguide (WG) includes a plethora of electrodes, where (TE2) constitute extraction electrodes.).
Zhu teaches a waveguide where electrodes are configured to measure an electric current flowing between a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes and a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes;
and estimate a power of the first electromagnetic wave based on the measured electric current (Pg. 1, introduction, and Pg. 6, section D., where the electric field in a waveguide is directly related to a measured photocurrent generated by the SSA effect, and the electric field is in relation to the incident beam passing through the waveguide and therefore may be used as a power monitor).
Srinivasan teaches an optical device with an integrated light-emitting structure and waveguide and circuitry, which may control a power of an electromagnetic wave within the structure based on a measured electric current from extracted charge carriers, and a target power of the first electromagnetic wave ([0017], [0022]-[0023], [0053] where measured current from extracted carriers due to a voltage applied is used to monitor, and therefore linked to control based on an intended output power, of the optical device).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Hashiya to incorporate the teachings of Iida to utilize some of a plurality of electrodes attached to a waveguide to act as carrier extraction in addition to heating or modulation with a reasonable expectation of success. As Iida notes, excess charge accumulation within a waveguide can lead to breakdown of the materials within the semiconductor device ([0047]). It would also have been obvious to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Zhu and Srinivasan to measure the current due to excess charge carriers in a waveguide and use that to measure, and control, the beam intensity with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhu notes that carrier extraction in a waveguide will allow for usage of the extraction electrodes as an optical power monitor in PIC systems which is independent of wavelength and decreases losses within the waveguide itself (Pg. 6, Conclusion), and Srinivasan teaches a system which utilizes the extraction and current to measure beam power with less loss than traditional optical systems where a portion of the beam is split off ([0019]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art, these teachings would lead to a predictable result in the system of Hashiya of decreasing power loss within the waveguides, especially at higher power, in addition to control over the emitted power of the system based on a preferred transmitted power.
Regarding claim 18, Hashiya as modified above teaches the method of claim 16, wherein using the plurality of extraction electrodes comprises:
applying a lower potential to a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes, wherein the first extraction electrode comprises the semiconducting material that is hole-doped; ([0307], where the pair of electrodes (62) include one p-doped and one n-doped)
Hashiya and Iida are both silent on the application of a voltage to channel off excess charges.
Zhu teaches applying a lower potential to a first extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes, wherein the first extraction electrode comprises the semiconductor material that is hole-doped;
and applying a higher potential to a second extraction electrode of the plurality of extraction electrodes, wherein the second extraction electrode comprises the semiconducting material that is electron-doped (Pg. 3, col. 2, where a reverse bias voltage, higher applied to n-type or electron-doped areas, is applied to the waveguides to complete carrier extraction).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further incorporate the teachings of Zhu to apply a reverse bias voltage to extract charge carriers from a waveguide with a reasonable expectation of success. Zhu notes that carrier extraction in a waveguide will allow for usage of the extraction electrodes as an optical power monitor in PIC systems which is independent of wavelength and decreases losses within the waveguide itself (Pg. 6, Conclusion), and therefore would lead to a predictable result in the system of Hashiya of decreasing power loss within waveguides, especially at higher power, as well as without adding large additional components to the PIC.
Regarding claim 19, Hashiya as modified above teaches the method of claim 16, wherein
the first waveguide, the plurality of extraction electrodes and the heating electrode are integrated in a photonic integrated circuit ([0430]; Fig. 67 where scanning device (100) is integrated within a chip).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiya et al. (Hereinafter Hashiya, US 20180372951 A1) in view of Iida et al. (hereinafter Iida, US 20180128974 A1), further in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, On-Chip Optical Power Monitor Using Periodically Interleaved P-N Junctions Integrated on a Silicon Waveguide, IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 20, NO. 4, JULY/AUGUST 2014), and Srinivasan et al. (hereinafter Srinivasan, US 20230143150 A1) and further in view of Menard et al. (hereinafter Menard, US 20250013081 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 1.
Hashiya, Iida, Zhu and Srinivasan are silent on the sharing of a heating element between two waveguides.
Menard teaches a second waveguide comprising the semiconducting material, wherein the plurality of extraction electrodes are further configured to extract, responsive to the voltage configuration, from the second waveguide, charge carriers generated by a second electromagnetic wave propagating in the second waveguide;
and wherein the first heating electrode is further configured to cause a change of a temperature of the second waveguide ([0136], [0147], [0155]; where sections of waveguides or separate waveguides have various heater embodiments, including sharing one or more heaters.).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Menard to utilize a single heating element to control heating of both the first and second waveguides, instead of separate heaters, with a reasonable expectation of success. Operating both waveguides on a single heating element would have a predictable result of assigning the same temperature change, and therefore a same change in index of refraction (or even modulation) to two adjacent waveguides all while reducing power consumption and cost as only one element is necessary.
Regarding claim 5, Hashiya as modified above teaches the optical device of claim 4.
Hashiya, Iida, Zhu and Srinivasan do not teach that the two waveguides are part of a common waveguide.
Menard teaches the first waveguide and the second waveguide are portions of a common waveguide, and wherein the second electromagnetic wave comprises the first electromagnetic wave propagating in a reverse direction ([0148] - [0150]; Figs. 7A-7D, 40, where waveguide may have many shapes, not just linear, and which may include portions which propagate the same beam in opposite directions).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Menard to utilize a common waveguide, where two waveguide sections carry the same wave but in opposite directions with a reasonable expectation of success. Having both waveguides be two parts of a common waveguide, and having the direction of propagation of the beam within them be opposite would lead to a predictable result reducing the space needed for a waveguide, as in some LIDAR PICs space is important to consolidate. Additionally, as noted by Menard, this allows for path length differences to be realized for use in systems such aa Mach-Zehnder interferometer within a LIDAR PIC ([0113], [0129]; Fig. 1A), where they could be used within 2x2 optical switches.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiya et al. (Hereinafter Hashiya, US 20180372951 A1) in view of Iida et al. (hereinafter Iida, US 20180128974 A1), further in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, On-Chip Optical Power Monitor Using Periodically Interleaved P-N Junctions Integrated on a Silicon Waveguide, IEEE JOURNAL OF SELECTED TOPICS IN QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 20, NO. 4, JULY/AUGUST 2014), and Srinivasan et al. (hereinafter Srinivasan, US 20230143150 A1) and further in view of Nicolaescu (US 20190391243 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Hashiya as modified above teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising:
splitting an input beam into the first beam and at least a second beam ([0290]; Fig. 29, optical divider (90) separates initial light);
directing the second beam to a second waveguide, wherein the second waveguide comprises the semiconducting material ([0290] where portions of light are sent to different waveguides);
Hashiya, Iida, Zhu and Srinivasan do not teach obtaining a recombined beam of one modulated and one unmodulated beams from waveguides.
Nicolaescu teaches obtaining a recombined beam comprising the modified first beam and at least the second beam;
and controlling the phase change to direct the recombined beam along one of a plurality of optical paths ([0103], [0139]; Figs. 4A-4C, where some paths may be modulated and then recombined with unmodulated beams).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Hashiya and Iida to incorporate the teachings of Nicolaescu to take the outputs of two neighboring waveguides, where the waves have differently been modified, and recombine them before scanning with a reasonable expectation of success. Nicolaescu notes that the splitting, modulating of one beam, and recombining allows for arrays to create multiple parallel frequency chirped light beams ([0012] – [0013]) which is a fairly common practice within FMCW LIDAR, and therefore the combination of the system of Hashiya with the recombination of Nicolaescu would have a predictable result of a PIC which has multiple frequency modes and options, and can be used in multiple types of LIDAR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cardarelli et al. (Voltage-Driven Near Field Beam Shifting in an InP Photonic Integrated Circuit) teaches a PIC which includes waveguides which use voltage and current driving to perform beam shifting and tuning with imbedded electrodes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645