DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 19, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotboom et al [US 2018/0373162] in view of Den Boef et al. [US 2012/0013881] and Sho [US 2017/0263508].
For claims 1, 19, and 20, Slotboom teaches a metrology system and associated method (see Figs. 4-7) comprising:
a controller (SCS 328 and LIS control systems, see Figs. 4 and 7) communicatively coupled to an optical metrology sub-system (scatterometer, see [0081], [0087], and [0108]) and an additional metrology sub-system (SEM, see [0110]) including at least one of a particle-beam metrology system or an x-ray metrology system,
wherein the optical metrology sub-system is configurable in accordance with a first metrology recipe to generate optical metrology measurements of one or more optical metrology targets on one or more samples (measurement of overlay targets using measurement recipe, step 116, see [0106]-[0108]),
wherein the optical metrology measurements are based on features of the optical metrology targets associated with at least one optical pitch (metrology targets having grating pitch, see Fig. 5 and [0085]),
wherein the optical metrology measurements are based on the features of the optical metrology targets with the at least one optical pitch (captured scatter diffraction patterns, see [0081]);
wherein the additional metrology sub-system is configurable in accordance with a second metrology recipe to generate additional metrology measurements of the one or more optical metrology targets (configuration of the reference technique, see [0110]),
wherein the additional metrology measurements have a higher resolution than the optical metrology measurements (scanning electron microscopy has a higher resolution than scatterometry),
wherein the controller includes one or more processors configured to execute program instructions causing the one or more processors (processors for performing process, see [0140]) to:
compare the optical metrology measurements with the additional metrology measurements to generate accuracy measurements for the one or more optical metrology targets (metrology data compared with reference data using PCA, see [0110]-[0112]);
and adjust at least one of the optical metrology sub-system, a lithography tool, or the reference design based on a correlation with the overlay comparison (correlate the variation in metrology data, see [0112] and the iterative process of changing the recipe in Fig. 6),
wherein the adjustment includes modifying the first metrology recipe (the best combination of metrology target type and metrology recipe is identified as the one which has the least variation between its overlay values and those reported by the reference technique, see [0112] and the iterative process of changing the recipe in Fig. 6, also changing the recipe further in iterations during HVM at step 630, see [0119]-[0129], each new recipe change in response to the distance determined in at step 620 is a modification of the recipe because the same metrology device is used and it only has a limited number of settings for wavelength and polarization, see [0108]-[0118]).
Slotboom teaches the metrology recipe includes specification of wavelengths, polarization, and angular profile (see [0081], [0087] and [0108]), and sidewall angle and critical dimension can be used for further process control (see [0079]-[0080]) but fails to teach adjusting at least one of an illumination wavelength, an illumination polarization, an illumination angle, or a field of view of the optical metrology sub-system to explicitly account for feature asymmetry.
Den Boef teaches the adjustment includes modifying the first metrology recipe to account for detected feature asymmetry by adjusting at least one of an illumination wavelength, an illumination polarization, an illumination angle, or a field of view of the optical metrology sub-system (based on an asymmetry profile a specific wavelength and polarization are used, see [0115] and [0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a determined asymmetry to select an optimum recipe polarization and wavelength as taught by Den Boef in the optimization of the recipe as taught by Slotboom in order to account for structural asymmetry of the mark and provide for a more accurate measurement of overlay.
Slotboom teaches that known asymmetry can be introduced to provide further control using the reference technique (see [0110]), and that sidewall angle and critical dimension can be used for further process control (see [0079]-[0080]), but fails to explicitly teach the additional metrology sub-system in configured to measure deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from a reference design, wherein the deviations include measurements of feature asymmetry within the one or more optical metrology targets, wherein the deviations include deviations of the optically-resolvable features from the reference design, wherein the comparison includes evaluating feature asymmetry, identify variations of a lithography process for fabricating the one or more samples based on the deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design; correlate the accuracy measurements of the one or more optical metrology targets to the variations of the lithography process based on the deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design; and the adjustment includes modifying the first metrology recipe to account for detected feature asymmetry.
Sho teaches the additional metrology sub-system in configured to measure deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from a reference design, wherein the deviations include measurements of feature asymmetry within the one or more optical metrology targets (asymmetry measurement by SEM apparatus 107, see [0039]-[0041]),
wherein the deviations include deviations of the optically-resolvable features from the reference design (asymmetry of target used for optical overlay measure, see [0038]-[0040] and Fig. 2A-2B and 7A-7B),
wherein the comparison includes evaluating feature asymmetry (determining asymmetry relation with overlay measurement, see [0041]),
identify variations of a lithography process for fabricating the one or more samples based on the deviations of the of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design (process condition associations with overlay and asymmetry, see [0042] and Figs. 8 and 9);
correlate the accuracy measurements of the one or more optical metrology targets to the variations of the lithography process based on the deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design (generate calibration curve, see Fig. 8 and [0045]);
adjust at least one of the optical metrology sub-system, a lithography tool, or the reference design based on the correlation (process correction see Fig. 9),
wherein the adjustment includes modifying the first metrology recipe to account for detected feature asymmetry (measurement correction, see [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a correlation relationship between overlay measurement accuracy, asymmetry target data collected from the SEM , and process conditions as taught by Sho in the recipe optimization using correlated component vectors with overlay data and reference data as taught by Slotboom, because Sho recognizes that asymmetry of the target caused by process conditions influences measurement error of overlay shift and can be used to determine corrections and correlations in order to provide more accurate overlay shift measurement.
For claim 2, in the combination of Slotboom and Sho, Sho teaches measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements comprises: measuring at least one of sidewall angles, asymmetries (asymmetry, see [0040]), pattern placement errors, or etch bias of the features associated with the at least one optical pitch.
For claim 4, in the combination of Slotboom and Sho, Sho teaches measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements comprises: measuring layer-specific deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets (measuring calibration for each layer/film, see Fig. 10).
For claim 6, in the combination of Slotboom and Sho, Sho teaches identifying variations of the lithography process for fabricating the one or more samples based on the deviations of the of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design comprises: identifying variations of the lithography process between different spatial locations across a particular one of the one or more samples (asymmetry measure at marks at different locations across wafer, see Fig. 1).
For claim 7, in the combination of Slotboom and Sho, Sho teaches the one or more samples includes two or more samples, wherein identifying variations of the lithography process for fabricating the one or more samples based on the deviations of the of the one or more optical metrology targets from the reference design comprises: identifying variations of the lithography process across time for at least two of the two or more samples (control for a plurality substrates, see [0032] and [0056]).
For claim 8, Slotboom teaches adjusting at least one of the optical metrology sub-system, the lithography tool, or the reference design based on the correlations comprises: adjusting the first metrology recipe to decrease a sensitivity of the optical metrology measurements to the variations of the lithography process (robustness of mark optimization including different recipes, see [0093], [0106], and [0127]).
For claim 10, Slotboom teaches adjusting at least one of the optical metrology sub-system, the lithography tool, or the reference design based on the correlations comprises: adjusting the lithography tool to compensate for the variations of the lithography process (exposure apparatus process correction, see [0132]).
For claim 11, Slotboom teaches adjusting at least one of the optical metrology sub-system, the lithography tool, or the reference design based on the correlations comprises: switching the reference design to an alternative reference design; and directing the lithography tool to fabricate one or more additional optical metrology targets on one or more additional samples based on the alternative reference design (optimization with different the alignment mark type, see [0112]-[0116]).
For claims 13 and 22, Slotboom teaches the optical metrology sub-system generates the optical metrology measurements based on one or more scatterometry measurements (see [0108]) of the one or more optical metrology targets.
Claims 3, 12, 14-16, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotboom in view of Den Boef and Sho as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Amir et al. [US 2014/0065736].
For claim 3, Slotboom teaches measuring at least one of sidewall angles, asymmetries, pattern placement errors, or etch bias of the features (see [0079]-[0080]) and Sho teaches measuring at least one of sidewall angles, asymmetries, pattern placement errors, or etch bias of the features (asymmetry measurement by SEM apparatus 107, see [0039]-[0041]).
Slotboom fails to teach the one or more optical metrology targets further include features associated with a fine pitch smaller than the at least one optical pitch, wherein measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements is associated with the fine pitch.
Amir teaches the one or more optical metrology targets further include features associated with a fine pitch smaller than the at least one optical pitch, wherein measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements is associated with the fine pitch (fine pitch for measurement with the SEM that is smaller than coarse pitch, see [0026]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fine pitch for measurement used to calibrate the optical metrology device as taught by Amir in the optimization as taught by Slotboom in order to increase the accuracy of the overlay measurement by using calibration targets that are designed to provide a device feature sized pitch.
For claims 12 and 21, Slotboom fails to teach the optical metrology sub-system generates the optical metrology measurements based on one or more images of the one or more optical metrology targets.
Slotboom teaches the optical metrology sub-system generates the optical metrology measurements based on one or more images of the one or more optical metrology targets (scatterometry or imaging overlay optical tools, see [0023] and Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging metrology as taught by Amir as the optical tool as taught by Slotboom because of the art recognized suitability for providing either imaging or scatterometry type metrology for optically measuring the lithographically formed targets.
For claims 14-16 and 23-25, Slotboom fails to teach the at least one optical pitch includes a single optical pitch, wherein the one or more optical metrology targets include features with the single optical pitch on at least two layers, wherein the at least one optical pitch includes a first optical pitch and a second optical pitch, wherein the first and second optical pitches are resolvable with the optical metrology sub-system.
Amir teaches the at least one optical pitch includes a single optical pitch, wherein the one or more optical metrology targets include features with the single optical pitch on at least two layers, wherein the at least one optical pitch includes a first optical pitch and a second optical pitch, wherein the first and second optical pitches are resolvable with the optical metrology sub-system (optical pitches used for imaging and scatterometry overlay measurement, see claims 9-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the overlay optical targets as taught by Amir in the targets to measure process variables as taught by Slotboom because overlay targets allow for determining systematic lithographic process errors that are determined by optical metrology.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotboom in view of Den Boef and Sho as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martin et al. [US 2003/0124439].
For claim 5, Slotboom fails to teach the one or more optical metrology targets include features distributed with one or more pitches, wherein measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements comprises: measuring pitch-specific deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets.
Martin teaches the one or more optical metrology targets include features distributed with one or more pitches, wherein measuring deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets from reference designs based on the additional measurements comprises: measuring pitch-specific deviations of the one or more optical metrology targets (see [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the measurement of pitch deviation as taught by Martin in the optimization as taught by Slotboom because identifying pitch walk allows for identifying process control error in stage movement and pattern placement.
Claims 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotboom in view of Den Boef and Sho as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Yang et al. [US 2019/0219930].
For claims 17 and 26, Slotboom fails to teach the one or more optical metrology targets include features with a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein at least one of the first or the second pitches are not resolvable with the optical metrology sub-system, wherein the optical pitch comprises a Moiré pitch based on the first and second pitches and is resolvable by the optical metrology sub-system.
Yang teaches the one or more optical metrology targets include features with a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein at least one of the first or the second pitches are not resolvable with the optical metrology sub-system, wherein the optical pitch comprises a Moiré pitch based on the first and second pitches and is resolvable by the optical metrology sub-system (see [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Moiré pitch of the target as taught by Yang in the target as taught by Slotboom in order to minimize the interference between the signal from top/bottom gratings to Moiré pitches, and this enhances the Moiré pitch contrast significantly to accurately measure overlay in an imaging tool and control of processes associated with overlay error.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Den Boef is relied upon to teach that a specific polarization and wavelength setting of an optical metrology tool can been chosen based on a determined structural asymmetry of the mark.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Den Boef et al. [US 2016/0370717] and Bhattacharyya et al. [US 2018/0088470] both teach recipe selection based on mark asymmetry.
/Steven H Whitesell/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759