DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of an updated prior art search.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display Device Having Color Filter Layers, Bank Layer, and Polarization Layer for Micro-Scale Light-Emitting Elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US-20200110494-A1 – hereinafter Chen) in view of Choi et al. (US-20240170433-A1 – hereinafter Choi), and further in view of Oh et al. (US-20230395767-A1 – hereinafter Oh).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a display device (Fig.1 10; ¶0025) comprising:
a first light emitting element (Fig.1 310; ¶0029) disposed in a first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R) and forming a first pixel (Fig.1 R; ¶0027);
a second light emitting element (Fig.1 320; ¶0029) disposed in a second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G) and forming a second pixel (Fig.1 G; ¶0027);
a bank layer including (Fig.1 200; ¶0029):
a first opening (Fig.1 200a; ¶0027) corresponding to the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R);
a second opening (Fig.1 200b; ¶0027) corresponding to the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G); and
a non-emission area (Fig.1 footprint of 200) partitioning the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R) and the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G);
a first color filter layer (Fig.1 510; ¶0035) disposed on the first light emitting element (310) and the bank layer (200);
a second color filter layer (Fig.1 520; ¶0035) disposed on the second light emitting element (320) and the bank layer (200); and
a polarization layer (¶0003 describes a polarization layer) disposed on the first color filter layer (510) and the second color filter layer (520); and
an organic insulating layer (Fig.1 400; ¶0031) disposed on the bank layer (200) to fill the first to second openings (200a and 200b) and planarizing the lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers (510 and 520).
Chen also teaches wherein an encapsulation layer (Fig.1 400; ¶0033) includes scattering particles (¶0031).
Chen does not teach wherein the first color filter layer is including first scatterers and wherein the second color filter layer is including second scatterers; and
wherein the organic insulating layer is disposed on a gap between a top surface of the bank layer and lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers.
Choi teaches a display panel (Fig.4 10; ¶0054 of Choi) having first to third color filters (¶0090 of Choi) wherein the first to third color filters include scattering particles (¶0102 of Choi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have instead located the scattering particles of Chen (¶0031 of Chen) within the first color filter layer (510 of Chen) and the second color filter layer (520 of Chen) of Chen as taught by Choi (¶0102 of Choi) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would be motivated to make this change for improved light output efficiency (¶0102 of Choi). Additionally, this difference is obvious to try (see MPEP 2143 I (E)).
Chen in view of Choi does not teach wherein the organic insulating layer is disposed on a gap between a top surface of the bank layer and lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers.
Oh teaches a display device (Fig.4 200; ¶0067 of Oh) comprising a bank layer (Fig.4 116; ¶0068 of Oh) and an organic insulating layer (Fig.4 217; ¶0068 of Oh) disposed on the tops and sides of the bank layer (116 of Oh) to form a planarized surface above the bank layer (116 of Oh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the bank and insulating layer configuration of Oh (Fig.4 of Oh) with the components taught by Chen in view of Choi (Fig.1 of Chen) where the insulating layer (400 of Chen) is disposed on both the tops and sides of the bank layer (200 of Chen) to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 1 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element (310 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the first light emitting element (310 of Chen) emitting light of a first color (red; ¶0027 of Chen), and
the second light emitting element (320 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the second light emitting element (320 of Chen) emitting light of a second color different from the first color (green; ¶0027 of Chen).
Regarding claim 7, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 2 teaches the display device of claim 2, further comprising:
a third light emitting element (Fig.1 330; ¶0032 of Chen) disposed in a third emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of B) and forming a third pixel (Fig.1 B; ¶0027 of Chen); and
a third color filter layer (Fig.1 530; ¶0035 of Chen) disposed on the third light emitting element (330 of Chen) and the bank layer (200 of Chen), wherein the bank layer (200 of Chen) further includes an opening (Fig.1 200c; ¶0035 of Chen) corresponding to the third emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of B).
The aforementioned combination also teaches wherein an encapsulation layer (Fig.1 400; ¶0033 of Chen) includes scattering particles (¶0031 of Chen).
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the third color filter layer is including third scatterers.
Choi teaches a display panel (Fig.4 10; ¶0054 of Choi) having first to third color filters (¶0090 of Choi) wherein the first to third color filters include scattering particles (¶0102 of Choi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have instead located the scattering particles of Chen (¶0031 of Chen) within the third color filter layer (530 of Chen) of Chen as taught by Choi (¶0102 of Choi) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would be motivated to make this change for improved light output efficiency (¶0102 of Choi). Additionally, this difference is obvious to try (see MPEP 2143 I (E)).
Regarding claim 8, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 7 teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the third light emitting element (330 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the third light emitting element (330 of Chen) emitting light of a third color different from the first color and the second color (blue; ¶0027 of Chen).
Regarding claim 9, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 8 teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the polarization layer (¶0003 of Chen) is integrally formed to overlap the first emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of R), the second emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of G), the third emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of B), and the non-emission area (Fig.1 of Chen footprint of 200).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches a display device (Fig.1 10; ¶0025) comprising:
a first light emitting element (Fig.1 310; ¶0029) disposed in a first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R) and forming a first pixel (Fig.1 R; ¶0027);
a second light emitting element (Fig.1 320; ¶0029) disposed in a second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G) and forming a second pixel (Fig.1 G; ¶0027);
a third light emitting element (Fig.1 330; ¶0029) disposed in a third emission area (Fig.1 footprint of B) and forming a third pixel (Fig.1 B; ¶0027);
a bank layer (Fig.1 200; ¶0029) including:
a first opening (Fig.1 200a; ¶0027) corresponding to the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R);
a second opening (Fig.1 200b; ¶0027) corresponding to the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G);
a third opening (Fig.1 200c; ¶0027) corresponding to the third emission area (Fig.1 footprint of B), and;
a non-emission area (Fig.1 footprint of 200) partitioning the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R), the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G), and the third emission area (Fig.1 footprint of B);
a first color filter layer (Fig.1 510; ¶0035) disposed on the first light emitting element (310) and the bank layer (200);
a second color filter layer (Fig.1 520; ¶0035) disposed on the second light emitting element (320) and the bank layer (200);
a third color filter layer (Fig.1 530; ¶0035) disposed on the third light emitting element (330) and the bank layer (200); and
a coating polarization layer (¶0003) integrally disposed on the first color filter layer (510), the second color filter layer (520), and the third color filter layer (530); and
an organic insulating layer (Fig.1 400; ¶0031) disposed on the bank layer (200) to fill the first to second openings (200a and 200b). and planarizing the lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers (510 and 520).
Chen also teaches wherein an encapsulation layer (Fig.1 400; ¶0033) includes scattering particles (¶0031).
Chen does not teach wherein the first color filter layer is including first scatterers, wherein the second color filter layer is including second scatterers and wherein the third color filter layer is including third scatterers; and
wherein the organic insulating layer is disposed on a gap between a top surface of the bank layer and lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers.
Choi teaches a display panel (Fig.4 10; ¶0054 of Choi) having first to third color filters (¶0090 of Choi) wherein the first to third color filters include scattering particles (¶0102 of Choi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have instead located the scattering particles of Chen (¶0031 of Chen) within the first color filter layer (510 of Chen), the second color filter layer (520 of Chen) and the third color filter layer (530 of Chen) of Chen as taught by Choi (¶0102 of Choi) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would be motivated to make this change for improved light output efficiency (¶0102 of Choi). Additionally, this difference is obvious to try (see MPEP 2143 I (E)).
Chen in view of Choi does not teach wherein the organic insulating layer is disposed on a gap between a top surface of the bank layer and lower surfaces of the first and second color filter layers.
Oh teaches a display device (Fig.4 200; ¶0067 of Oh) comprising a bank layer (Fig.4 116; ¶0068 of Oh) and an organic insulating layer (Fig.4 217; ¶0068 of Oh) disposed on the tops and sides of the bank layer (116 of Oh) to form a planarized surface above the bank layer (116 of Oh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the bank and insulating layer configuration of Oh (Fig.4 of Oh) with the components taught by Chen in view of Choi (Fig.1 of Chen) where the insulating layer (400 of Chen) is disposed on both the tops and sides of the bank layer (200 of Chen) to arrive at the claimed invention. This modification is obvious because it is a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 16, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 15 teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the first light emitting element (310 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the first light emitting element (310 of Chen) emitting light of a first color (red; ¶0027 of Chen), the second light emitting element (320 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the second light emitting element (320 of Chen) emitting light of a second color different from the first color (green; ¶0027 of Chen), and the third light emitting element (330 of Chen) is a light emitting diode having a size less than or equal to a micro-scale (¶0009 of Chen), the third light emitting element (330 of Chen) emitting light of a third color different from the first color and the second color (blue; ¶0027 of Chen).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo et al. (US-20240355977-A1 – hereinafter Guo).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 2 teaches the display device of claim 2.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the polarization layer is a coating polarization layer including a dichroic dye.
Guo teaches a polarizing film (Fig.9 301; ¶0206 of Guo) that is a dichroic film (¶0206 of Guo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a dichroic film in the primary polarizer as taught Guo to arrive at the claimed invention (¶0206). A practitioner of ordinary skill would be motivated to make this modification for the benefit of selectively transmitting and reflecting certain wavelengths (¶0206) per the practitioner’s design choices.
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 16 teaches the display device of claim 16.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the polarization layer is a coating polarization layer including a dichroic dye.
Guo teaches a polarizing film (Fig.9 301; ¶0206 of Guo) that is a dichroic film (¶0206 of Guo).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a dichroic film in the primary polarizer as taught Guo (¶0206) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner of ordinary skill would be motivated to make this modification for the benefit of selectively transmitting and reflecting certain wavelengths (¶0206) per the practitioner’s design choices.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Ikeda et al. (US-20210082995-A1 – hereinafter Ikeda).
Regarding claim 5, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 2 teaches the display device of claim 2
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the content of the first scatterers and content of the second scatterers are different from each other with respect to a same volume.
Ikeda teaches a display device (Fig.16; ¶0101 of Ikeda) where three scattering members (Fig.16 81; ¶0101 of Ikeda) for three different emitting elements (Fig.16 3; ¶0101 of Ikeda) have different intensities (¶0101), implying differences in the scattering particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have altered the intensities of the scattering particles between the first and second light emitting areas of Chen in view of Choi (¶0102 of Choi) as taught by Ikeda (¶0101 of Ikeda) to arrive at the claimed invention, where the content of the first and second scatterers are different with respect to the same volume. A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification to account for the different wavelengths of light (red/green/blue) to increase the efficiency of each individually colored LED.
Regarding claim 12, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 9 teaches the display device of claim 9.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the content of the first scatterers, content of the second scatterers, and content of the third scatterers are different from each other with respect to a same volume.
Ikeda teaches a display device (Fig.16; ¶0101 of Ikeda) where three scattering members (Fig.16 81; ¶0101 of Ikeda) for three different emitting elements (Fig.16 3; ¶0101 of Ikeda) have different intensities (¶0101), implying differences in the scattering particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have altered the intensities of the scattering particles between the first and second light emitting areas of Chen in view of Choi (¶0102 of Choi) as taught by Ikeda (¶0101 of Ikeda) to arrive at the claimed invention, where the content of the first and second scatterers are different with respect to the same volume. A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification to account for the different wavelengths of light (red/green/blue) to increase the efficiency of each individually colored LED.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Straley et al. (see NPL reference #1).
Regarding claim 6, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 2 teaches the display device of claim 2.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the sizes of the first scatterers and sizes of the second scatterers are different from each other.
It is a well-known phenomenon that the efficiency of light scattering between different wavelengths of light changes depending on the sizes of light scattering particles, as evidenced by Straley et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have altered the sizes of the scattering particles between the first and second light emitting areas of Chen in view of Choi (¶0102 of Choi) to arrive at the claimed invention, where the sizes of the first scatterers and sizes of the second scatterers are different from each other. A practitioner would be motivated to make this modification to account for the different wavelengths of light (red/green/blue) to increase the efficiency of each individually colored LED.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Kong et al. (WO-2021006509-A1 – hereinafter Kong).
Regarding claim 10, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh from claim 9 teaches the display device of claim 9.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the first color filter layer, the second color filter layer, and the third color filter layer are sequentially stacked on each other to overlap the bank layer.
Kong teaches a display device (Fig.5 of Kong) having first to third color filter patterns (Fig.5 CPR1-CRP3; ¶182 of Kong) that are sequentially stacked on each other to overlap the bank layer (¶0182). This modification is only a matter of design choice and does not patentably distinguish claim 10 from Chen in view of Choi, as evidenced by Kong.
Regarding claim 11, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Kong from claim 10 teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the polarization layer (¶0003 of Chen) is directly disposed on the first color filter layer (510 of Chen), the second color filter layer (520 of Chen), and the third color filter layer (530 of Chen) in the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R), the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G), and the third emission area (Fig.1 footprint of B).
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo, and further in view of Yoshimi et al. (US-20100002171-A1 – hereinafter Yoshimi).
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo from claim 3 teaches the display device of claim 3.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the content of the dichroic dye is greater than about 0.5 wt% and less than about 2 wt% based on a total weight of the polarization layer.
Yoshimi teaches a display apparatus (¶0021 of Yoshimi) with a polarizing plate (¶0021 of Yoshimi) having a dichroic dye content within the claimed range (¶0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a dichroic dye weight% as taught by Yoshimi (¶0063) for the polarizing plate of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Guo (¶0003 of Chen) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would be motivated to adjust the amount of dichroic dye in the polarization plate for preferred transmittance and polarization degree (¶0063 of Yoshimi).
Regarding claim 18, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo from claim 17 teaches the display device of claim 17.
The aforementioned combination does not explicitly teach wherein the content of the dichroic dye is greater than about 0.5 wt% and less than about 2 wt% based on a total weight of the polarization layer.
Yoshimi teaches a display apparatus (¶0021 of Yoshimi) with a polarizing plate (¶0021 of Yoshimi) having a dichroic dye content within the claimed range (¶0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a dichroic dye weight% as taught by Yoshimi (¶0063) for the polarizing plate of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Guo (¶0003 of Chen) to arrive at the claimed invention. A practitioner would be motivated to adjust the amount of dichroic dye in the polarization plate for preferred transmittance and polarization degree (¶0063 of Yoshimi).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo, and further in view of Kong.
Regarding claim 19, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo from claim 17 teaches the display device of claim 17.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the first color filter layer, the second color filter layer, and the third color filter layer are sequentially stacked on each other to overlap the bank layer.
Kong teaches a display device (Fig.5 of Kong) having first to third color filter patterns (Fig.5 CPR1-CRP3; ¶182 of Kong) that are sequentially stacked on each other to overlap the bank layer (¶0182). This modification is only a matter of design choice and does not patentably distinguish claim 10 from Chen in view of Choi, as evidenced by Kong.
Regarding claim 20, the aforementioned combination of Chen in view of Choi, and further in view of Oh, and further in view of Guo, and further in view of Kong from claim 19 teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein the polarization layer (¶0003 of Chen) is directly disposed on the first color filter layer (510 of Chen), the second color filter layer (520 of Chen), and the third color filter layer (530 of Chen) in the first emission area (Fig.1 footprint of R), the second emission area (Fig.1 footprint of G), and the third emission area (Fig.1 footprint of B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the most relevant prior art reference combination of Chen in view of Choi teaches most of the limitations of claim 13, but not the limitations of:
“a first alignment electrode and a second alignment electrode that are disposed to be spaced apart from each other with each of the first to third light emitting elements interposed therebetween;
a first pixel electrode electrically connected to the first alignment electrode and an end of each of the first to third light emitting elements, the first pixel electrode disposed on the first alignment electrode with an insulating layer interposed therebetween; and
a second pixel electrode electrically connected to the second alignment electrode and another end of each of the first to third light emitting elements, the second pixel electrode disposed on the second alignment electrode with the insulating layer interposed therebetween” as recited. Therefore, claim 13 is deemed patentable over the prior art.
Regarding claim 14, it is patentable over the prior art due to its dependency on claim 13.
Conclusion
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817