DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Pub. No. 2021/0366786).
Regarding claim 1, in FIG. 10B, Chen discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (50, paragraph [0014]), having a P-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (50P, paragraph [0018]) transistor region; a first epitaxial layer (70B, paragraph [0038]), disposed on a topmost surface of the substrate, within the PMOS transistor region; a second epitaxial layer (70B associated with 50N) disposed on the substrate, within a N-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) transistor region (50N) of the substrate; a first protection layer (70C, paragraph [0038]), disposed on the first epitaxial layer, covering surfaces of the first epitaxial layer which are over the topmost surface of the substrate; a second protection layer (70D) disposed on the second epitaxial layer, covering surfaces of the second epitaxial layer; and a contact etching stop layer (CESL) (74, paragraph [0048]), disposed on the first protection layer, the second protection layer and the substrate, wherein a portion of the first protection layer and the second protection layer disposed on surfaces of the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer is exposed from the CESL (e.g. within hole 90).
Regarding claim 6, in FIG. 10B, Chen discloses that the first protection layer (70C) and the second protection layer (70D) comprise a same thickness (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 8, in FIG. 10B, Chen discloses a plurality of fin shaped structures (52, paragraph [0014]) disposed in the substrate and partially protruded from a plane of the substrate, wherein the first epitaxial layer and the second epitaxial layer are respectively disposed on the fin shaped structures.
Regarding claim 9, in FIG. 10B, Chen discloses that the second epitaxial layer comprises silicon carbide (SiC), silicon carbide phosphide (SiCP) or silicon phosphide (SiP), and the first epitaxial layer comprises silicon germanium (SiGe), silicon-germanium-boron (SiGeB) or silicon-germanium-tin silicide (SiGeSn) (paragraph [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10, 12-13, and 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 10, 12-13, and 16-20, the prior art failed to disclose or reasonably suggest the claimed method of fabricating a semiconductor device particularly characterized by forming a second epitaxial layer on the substrate, within a N-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) transistor region of the substrate; forming a first protection layer on the first epitaxial layer, covering surfaces of the first epitaxial layer which are over the top surface of the substrate, wherein the forming of the first protection layer further comprising: after forming the first epitaxial layer, performing a first oxidation treatment to form a first oxide layer on the first epitaxial layer; performing an implanting process on the first epitaxial layer; performing a cleaning process, to remove the first oxide layer; and after the cleaning process, performing a second oxidation treatment to form a second oxide layer on the first epitaxial layer; forming a second protection layer on the second epitaxial layer, covering surfaces of the second epitaxial layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891