DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the RCE received August 3, 2026.
Any bold text is new language in the office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-34 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of copending Application No. 16/845,511 (JIANG et al US PGPUB 2020/0326627) in view of MEYERS et al (2017/0102612) and LEE et al (2021/0166937 A1).
The claimed method now recites the following:
JIANG et al claims a method contacting the organometallic composition with a developer composition comprising an alcohol, after a post-exposure bake (PEB) step, see claims 6 and 7 for the solvents, claim 14 for the PEB and claims 20 to 23 disclose conducting a PEB before contacting the radiation exposed organometallic patterning layer with the developer. see the claims below:
MEYERS et al is cited to disclose that development of the organometallic composition can be done with reactant gas or a liquid as reported in para. [0005] and developer can comprise suitable additives such as amines as reported in para. [0095], see the paragraphs below:
LEE et al disclose a processing chamber for a post-exposure baking step, see para., [0051], wherein a gas showerhead is positioned over the heating element. Para [0052] further disclose a gas source which is connected to the chamber. Fig. 6 exemplify a chamber where a photoresist substrate is post-exposure heated with a gas showerhead element for development.
The manufacturing process is in a processing chamber as disclosed in para. [0133]- [0135]:
Para. [0134] disclose exposing the photoresist layer to actinic radiation.
Paras. [0135] and [0136] report a gas showerhead in the chamber.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of organometallic photosensitive compositions contact an exposed organometallic composition with either a reactant gas phase or a liquid phase of the developer disclosed in JIANG et al and MEYERS et al performed in a processing chamber as reported in LEE et al reasonably expecting same or similar results for a manufacturing a semiconductor device,
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The rejection is repeated wherein the two physical states of the developer for organic photoresist is taught in MEYER et al can be either a gas or liquid; however, to the skilled artisan any phase of the developer can be used to develop any type of resist whether it is organic or organometallic, as long as the developer is the proper compound for development. It is believed from the disclosure in MEYERS et al that a gas phase or liquid phase is functionally equivalent as developer for any type of photoresist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of TSUBAKI et al (2019/0018317), ZI et al (2019/0384171) and MEYERS et al (2019/0137870) and LEE et al (2021/0166937 A1).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
TSUBAKI et al disclose a method for purifying an organometallic photoresist and a pattern forming method wherein the developers include those recited in pages 11 to 13 for aqueous alkaline solutions such as amines as disclosed in para. [0237] and for organic solvents recited in paras. [0250] to [0255] which include alcohol-based solvents, amide-based solvents, see below for the alcohol-based solvents:
ZI et al disclose a pattern forming method for photoresist composition comprising metal oxide particles as ligands. The developers are listed on page 12 , para. [0099] which include sulfonic acids, amines and alcohols, see below:
MEYERS et al disclose organometallic composition comprising tin oxo hydroxo networks, see para. [0075] and [0084] which are exposed to form condensed oxo-hydroxo networks.
LEE et al disclose a processing chamber for a post-exposure baking step, see para., [0051], wherein a gas showerhead is positioned over the heating element. Para [0052] further disclose a gas source which is connected to the chamber. Fig. 6 exemplifies a chamber where a photoresist substrate is post-exposure heated with a gas showerhead element for development.
The manufacturing process is in a processing chamber as disclosed in para. [0133]- [0135]:
Para. [0134] disclose exposing the photoresist layer to actinic radiation.
Paras. [0135] an d[0136] report a gas showerhead in the chamber.
Claims 2-5 are met by the composition of MEYERS et al, in para. [0008].
Claim 6-16 are met by the disclosure in TSUBAKI et al in para. [0253] for the alcohol solvent as a developer liquid which break bonds that were formed after the composition is exposed. The exposure process and para. [0088] for the breaking of the metal-ligand bonds, semiconductor wafer.
Claims 17-25 are reported in MEYERS et al para. [0082] – [0083] for the pressure and flow rate.
Claims 26-34 are met in MEYERS et al for the development process for forming negative or positive patterns the heating steps (para. [0116])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pattern forming methods to duplicate the methods of any of TSUBAKI et al, ZI et al or MEYERS et al with the use of a reactant gas as a developer selected from a gas or liquid as taught by MEYERS et al. and to select any of the developers such as alcohol, amines, sulfonic acid or amides as taught in TSUBAKI et al or ZI et al all performed in an processing chamber as reported in LEE et al with the reasonable expectation of improved smaller features on the semiconductor substrate materials.
The rejection is repeated wherein the two physical states of the developer for processing organic photoresist is taught in MEYER et al can be either a gas or liquid; however, to the skilled artisan any phase of the developer can be used to develop any type of resist whether it is organic or organometallic, as long as the developer is the proper compound for development. It is believed from the disclosure in MEYERS et al that a gas phase or liquid phase developer is functionally equivalent for any type of photoresist.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
September 5, 2026