DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received January 27, 2026.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of PETERS et al (2025/0093781) and MEYERS et al (2019/0137870) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 reciting the condition if the reactant gas comprises alcohol the contacting is performed before and/or after the post-exposure bake step.
Any bolded text is new language in the office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-34 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of copending Application No. 16/845,511 (JIANG et al US PGPUB 2020/0326627) in view of MEYERS et al (2017/0102612).
The claimed method now recites the following:
JIANG et al claims a method contacting the organometallic composition with a developer composition comprising an alcohol, after a post-exposure bake (PEB) step, see claims 6 and 7 for the solvents, claim 14 for the PEB and claims 20 to 23 disclose conducting a PEB before contacting the radiation exposed organometallic patterning layer with the developer. see the claims below:
MEYERS et al is cited to disclose that development of the organometallic composition can be done with reactant gas or a liquid as reported in para. [0005] and developer can comprise suitable additives such as amines as reported in para. [0095], see the paragraphs below:
MEYERS et al further disclose the method which are conducted in a chamber with alcohol and the hydrolysable precursor of tin in Table 1 and para. [0077] and [0078].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of organometallic photosensitive compositions contact an exposed organometallic composition with either a reactant gas phase or a liquid phase of the developer disclosed in JIANG et al and MEYERS et al
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of TSUBAKI et al (2019/0018317), ZI et al (2019/0384171) and MEYERS et al (2019/0137870).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
TSUBAKI et al disclose a method for purifying an organometallic photoresist and a pattern forming method wherein the developers include those recited in pages 11 to 13 for aqueous alkaline solutions such as amines as disclosed in para. [0237] and for organic solvents recited in paras. [0250] to [0255] which include alcohol-based solvents, amide-based solvents, see below for the alcohol-based solvents:
ZI et al disclose a pattern forming method for photoresist composition comprising metal oxide particles as ligands. The developers are listed on page 12 , para. [0099] which include sulfonic acids, amines and alcohols, see below:
MEYERS et al disclose organometallic composition comprising tin oxo hydroxo networks, see para. [0075] and [0084] which are exposed to form condensed oxo-hydroxo networks.
Claims 2-5 are met by the composition of MEYERS et al, in para. [0008].
Claim 6-16 are met by the disclosure in TSUBAKI et al in para. [0253] for the alcohol solvent as a developer liquid which break bonds that were formed after the composition is exposed. The the exposure process and para. [0088] for the breaking of the metal-ligand bonds, semiconductor wafer.
Claims 17-25 are reported in MEYERS et al para. [0082] – [0083] for the pressure and flow rate.
Claims 26-34 are met in MEYERS et al for the development process for forming negative or positive patterns the heating steps (para. [0116])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pattern forming methods to duplicate the methods of any of TSUBAKI et al, ZI et al or MEYERS et al with the use of a reactant gas as a developer selected from a gas or liquid as taught by MEYERS et al. and to select any of the developers such as alcohol, amines, sulfonic acid or amides as taught in TSUBAKI et al or ZI et al all performed in an isolated chamber disclosed by MEYERS et al with the reasonable expectation of improved smaller features on the semiconductor substrate materials.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
May 22, 2026