DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior art does not ‘select’ a gas pipe as claimed. However, ‘select’ as argued is not defined in the claims. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, select includes merely thinking of what gas pipe is being used or which valve is needed/not needed. It is not claimed as any actual physical action. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
“Selecting” “confirming” etc. are not actually described as what actions they are performing and are broad. The claims indicate automating a manual activity of simply opening and closing valves and gas pipes to operate a gas deposition apparatus. “Broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art” See MPEP 2144.04 In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
Therefore, for at least these reasons, the prior art rejections are maintained. Due to amendments, the initial 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toru (JP 2006-093494 A; citations are taken from the attached Google Patent translation)
As to Claims 1-2, Toru teaches a method comprising (A) creating a recipe by setting opening/closing states of a plurality of valves on a gas pattern screen (soft gas pattern screen display module, p 2); and (B) processing a substrate by performing the recipe created in (A) (p2), wherein (A) comprises:(a) selecting a gas pipe on the gas pattern screen when an opening/closing state of any valve among the plurality of valves changes on the gas pattern screen (individual valves can be set to ON/OFF when the gas pattern screen is selected depending on timing and the deposition process to be run); and (b) confirming opening/closing states of one or more valves connected to the gas pipe selected in (a). Though Toru does not explicitly teach confirming opening/closing states, Toru does use a flow rate controller that is monitored when the valve is ON (p2) and operations are confirmed on p 4. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the flow rate controller would confirm that the valve is set to ON and gas is flowing, otherwise it would not be operational or the flow setting would be too high if no gas is flowing.
Further, the claims indicate automating a manual activity of simply opening and closing valves and gas pipes to operate a gas deposition apparatus. “Broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art” See MPEP 2144.04 In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
As to claim 6, Toru teaches that any of the valves are capable of being changed on p 2.
As to claims 7-9, the screens in Toru are capable of showing all of the parameters listed on p 2-4. Also see Figures 7-8 for the display and icons.
As to claims 10-14, these features are included in Toru p 2-4 and Figures 7-9.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toru (JP 2006-093494 A; citations are taken from the attached Google Patent translation) in view of Yamada et al. (US 2010/0078128 A1).
As to Claims 1-2, Toru teaches a method comprising (A) creating a recipe by setting opening/closing states of a plurality of valves on a gas pattern screen (soft gas pattern screen display module, p 2); and (B) processing a substrate by performing the recipe created in (A) (p2), wherein (A) comprises:(a) selecting a gas pipe on the gas pattern screen when an opening/closing state of any valve among the plurality of valves changes on the gas pattern screen (individual valves can be set to ON/OFF when the gas pattern screen is selected depending on timing and the deposition process to be run); and (b) confirming opening/closing states of one or more valves connected to the gas pipe selected in (a). Though Toru does not explicitly teach confirming opening/closing states, Toru does use a flow rate controller that is monitored when the valve is ON (p2) and operations are confirmed on p 4.
Yamada et al. further teaches confirming ON/OFF states of valves in a controlled recipe in paras 0059-0064. Yamada et al. teaches that when the open and closed states of the valves are simulated and the gas flow states of the piping passages are displayed, that the gas flow states are simulated inside the pipe during the recipe creation process, that the gas flow states are more intuitively displayed and that the safety of the recipe creation is improved (para 0117-0118). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Toru to detect when a valve is open or closed as taught by Yamada et al. to improve recipe safety.
Further, the claims indicate automating a manual activity of simply opening and closing valves and gas pipes to operate a gas deposition apparatus. “Broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art” See MPEP 2144.04 In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
As to claims 3-5, Yamada et al. teaches assigning a color to the gases and modifying them based on whether the valve is opened or closed in paras 0062-0096. The state of the pipe can also be indicated by dot marks (dashed line) in para 0105.
As to claim 6, Toru teaches that any of the valves are capable of being changed on p 2. Yamada et al. teaches the same as in Figure 4.
As to claims 7-9, the screens in Toru are capable of showing all of the parameters listed on p 2-4. Also see Figures 7-8 for the display and icons. Yamada et al. further teaches these features in paras 0054-0055
As to claims 10-14, these features are included in Toru p 2-4 and Figures 7-9. Yamada et al. further teaches these features in the Figures.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718