DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-4, 7-13, 16, and 20 stand rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, and Kamada. Claim 5 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and Park. Claim 6 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and Kim. Claim 14 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and Kim Figure 5. Claim 15 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and Lee. Claim 17 stands rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and DeFranco. Claims 18 and 19 stand rejected under Section 103 in view of Yang, Hack, Bang, Kamada, and Nakamura. The Office noted that the lengthy specification had not been checked for minor errors.
Applicants amended claims 1 and 2, canceled claim 20, and added new claim 21. Applicants argue that the newly added protective layer, in contact with a top surface of the common electrode, and with the color conversion layer in contact with a top surface of the protective layer, is not disclosed in the prior art combination.
As the Office sees the current combination, the references cited in the rejections of the independent claims do not disclose the newly added protective layer. However, Park Figure 2, cited in the rejection of claim 5, includes a protective layer that meets the limitations. This reference is added to the combination in the Section 103 rejections of the independent claims, as noted below.
Newly added claim 21, which includes subject matter that was canceled from claim 1, is added in the rejections.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN109509765, and further in view of Hack, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0203244, Park, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0052120, Figure 2, Bang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0033967, Figure 1, and Kamada, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0005669, Figures 9A, and 9B.
Yang Figure 13:
Hack, Figure 5:
Park, Figure 2:
Bang, Figure 1:
Kamada, Figures 9A, 9B:
Regarding claim 1: Yang Figure 13, discloses a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (at R); a second light-emitting device (at G); a third light-emitting device (at B); a first insulating layer (701); and a second insulating layer (702), wherein the first light-emitting device (at R) comprises a first pixel electrode (200 at (R)), a first light-emitting layer (R) over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode (900) over the first light-emitting layer (R), wherein the second light-emitting device (at G) comprises a second pixel electrode (200 at (G)), a second light-emitting layer (G) over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode (900) over the second light-emitting layer (G), wherein the third light-emitting device (at B) comprises a third pixel electrode (200 at (B)), a third light-emitting layer (B) over the third pixel electrode, and the common electrode (900) over the third light-emitting layer (B), wherein the first light-emitting layer (R) and the second light-emitting layer (G) comprise the different light-emitting material, wherein the third light-emitting device (at B) emits shorter-wavelength light than the first light-emitting device (at R) and the second light-emitting device (at G), wherein the first insulating layer (701) covers a side surface and part of a top surface of the first light-emitting layer (at R) and a side surface and part of a top surface of the second light-emitting layer (at G), wherein the second insulating layer (702) overlaps with the part of the top surface (not shown, but described in an alternative embodiment, see Yang specification ¶ 75) of the first light-emitting layer (R) and the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer (G) with the first insulating layer (701) therebetween, wherein the second insulating layer (702) comprises a portion positioned between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer (R) and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer (G), and wherein the common electrode (900) covers a top surface of the second insulating layer (702). Yang specification ¶¶ 40-77.
Yang does not disclose a protective layer, wherein the protective layer is in contact with a top surface of the common electrode, a color conversion layer, wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material, wherein the color conversion layer is in contact with a top surface of the protective layer and overlaps with the first light-emitting device, wherein the color conversion layer converts a color of light emitted from the first light-emitting device into a different color.
Hack, directed to an OLED display device, discloses display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (530); a second light-emitting device (520); a third light-emitting device (510); a color conversion layer (532); wherein the first light-emitting layer (at 530) and the second light-emitting layer (at 520) comprise the same light-emitting material (green), wherein the third light-emitting device (510) emits shorter-wavelength light (blue) than the first light-emitting device (530) and the second light-emitting device (520), wherein the color conversion layer (532) overlaps with the first light-emitting device (530), wherein the color conversion layer (532) converts a color of light (green) emitted from the first light-emitting device (530) into a different color (red). Hack specification ¶¶ 59, 60. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to select the Hack light-emitting material for the first and second light-emitting devices and to select the Hack color conversion layer for the first light-emitting device because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Park Figure 2, directed to an OLED display device, discloses the use of a protective layer (150, 300, 242), wherein the protective layer (150, 300, 242) is in contact with a top surface of a common electrode (143), and discloses a color conversion layer (261, 262), wherein the color conversion layer (261, 262) is in contact with a top surface of the protective layer (150, 300, 242) and overlaps the light-emitting device. Park specification ¶¶ 43-84. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Park protective layer and the Park color conversion layer arrangement because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Although claim 1 does not include the following limitations, Bang is cited for use in combination with Kamada, discussed next, to support the spatial relationship between light-emitting layers and insulating layers: Bang Figure 1, directed to similar subject matter, discloses wherein the first light-emitting layer (151) covers a side surface of the first pixel electrode (101), wherein the second light-emitting layer (152) covers a side surface of the second pixel electrode (102), and wherein the third light-emitting layer (153) covers a side surface of the third pixel electrode (103). Bang specification ¶¶ 48-118. Note that Bang’s light-emitting layer can include more than a light-emission layer—for example, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer. Id. ¶ 10. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Bang light-emitting layers in place of the Yang light-emitting layers because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Also, although not required by the language of claim 1, the Office includes the following discussion with respect to Kamada Figures 9A and 9B to support the spatial relationship between light-emitting layers and insulating layers: Kamada Figures 9A and 9B, directed to similar subject matter, disclose wherein in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the second insulating layer (219a) has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°. Kamada specification ¶¶ 217-219; 186-216. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Kamada pixel definition layer design in modifying the Yang pixel definition layer design of first and second insulating layers because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 2: Yang discloses a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (at R); a second light-emitting device (at G); a third light-emitting device (at B); a first insulating layer (701); and a second insulating layer (702), wherein the first light-emitting device (at R) comprises a first pixel electrode (200 at R), a first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the first pixel electrode, a first layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the first light-emitting layer, and a common electrode (900) over the first layer, wherein the second light-emitting device (at G) comprises a second pixel electrode (200 at G), a second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the second pixel electrode, a second layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the second light-emitting layer, and the common electrode (900) over the second layer, wherein the third light-emitting device (at B) comprises a third pixel electrode (200 at B), a third light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the third pixel electrode, a third layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300)) over the third light-emitting layer, and the common electrode (900) over the third layer, wherein the first light-emitting layer (300, at R) and the second light-emitting layer (300, at G) comprise the different light-emitting material, wherein the third light-emitting device (at B) emits the shortest-wavelength light (blue) among the first light-emitting device (at R), the second light-emitting device (at G), and the third light-emitting device (at B), wherein the first insulating layer (701) covers a side surface and part of a top surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at R), a side surface and part of a top surface of the second light-emitting layer ((light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at G), a side surface and part of a top surface of the first layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300) at R), and a side surface and part of a top surface of the second layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300) at G), wherein the second insulating layer (702) overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at R), the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at G), the part of the top surface of the first layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300) at R), and the part of the top surface of the second layer (ETL or EIL in organic light emitting layer (300) at G) with the first insulating layer (701) therebetween (alternate embodiment, not shown but discussed in Yang specification ¶ 75, in which second insulating layer (702) is on a top surface of first insulating layer (701)), wherein the second insulating layer (702) comprises a portion positioned between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at R) and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer in organic light emitting layer (300), at G), and wherein the common electrode (900) covers a top surface of the second insulating layer (902). Yang specification ¶¶ 40-77.
Yang does not disclose a protective layer, wherein the protective layer is in contact with a top surface of the common electrode; a color conversion layer, wherein the color conversion layer is in contact with a top surface of the protective layer and overlaps with the first light-emitting device; wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material, wherein the color conversion layer converts a color of light emitted from the first light-emitting device into a different color; wherein in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the second insulating layer has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°.
Hack, directed to an OLED display device, discloses display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting device (530); a second light-emitting device (520); a third light-emitting device (510); a color conversion layer (532); wherein the first light-emitting layer (at 530) and the second light-emitting layer (at 520) comprise the same light-emitting material (green), wherein the third light-emitting device (510) emits shorter-wavelength light (blue) than the first light-emitting device (530) and the second light-emitting device (520), wherein the color conversion layer (532) overlaps with the first light-emitting device (530), wherein the color conversion layer (532) converts a color of light (green) emitted from the first light-emitting device (530) into a different color (red). Hack specification ¶¶ 59, 60. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to select the Hack light-emitting material for the first and second light-emitting devices and to select the Hack color conversion layer for the first light-emitting device because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Park Figure 2, directed to an OLED display device, discloses the use of a protective layer (150, 300, 242), wherein the protective layer (150, 300, 242) is in contact with a top surface of a common electrode (143), and discloses a color conversion layer (261, 262), wherein the color conversion layer (261, 262) is in contact with a top surface of the protective layer (150, 300, 242) and overlaps the light-emitting device. Park specification ¶¶ 43-84. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Park protective layer and the Park color conversion layer arrangement because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Although claim 2 does not include the following limitations, Bang is cited for use in combination with Kamada to support the spatial relationship between layers and insulating layers: Bang Figure 1, directed to similar subject matter, discloses wherein the first light-emitting layer (151) covers a side surface of the first pixel electrode (101), wherein the second light-emitting layer (152) covers a side surface of the second pixel electrode (102), and wherein the third light-emitting layer (153) covers a side surface of the third pixel electrode (103). Bang specification ¶¶ 48-118. Note that Bang’s light-emitting layer can include more than a light-emission layer—for example, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer. Id. ¶ 10. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Bang light-emitting layers in place of the Yang light-emitting layers because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Kamada Figures 9A and 9B, directed to similar subject matter, disclose wherein in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the second insulating layer (219a) has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°. Kamada specification ¶¶ 217-219; 186-216. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Kamada pixel definition layer design in modifying the Yang pixel definition layer design of first and second insulating layers because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Yang discloses that the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer each comprise at least one of a hole-injection layer, an electron-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, an electron-transport layer, a hole-blocking layer, and an electron-blocking layer. Yang specification ¶ 48 (HIL, HTL, ETL, EIL).
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device emit green light, wherein the third light-emitting device emits blue light, and wherein the color conversion layer converts green light into red light. See Hack Figure 5.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: Park Figure 2, directed to an OLED display device in which light (L3) of one color is emitted from the OLED/TFT display layer (100), and converted to another color (L1, L2) in a color conversion layer (at 261, 262, 263), after which the light (L1, L2, L3) passes through a color filter layer (231, 232, 233). Park specification ¶ 69. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to use the Park design because the modification improves the colors emitted from the device.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, Kamada Figures 9A and 9B, directed to similar subject matter, disclose wherein in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the second insulating layer (219a) has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°. Kamada specification ¶¶ 217-219; 186-216.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the second insulating layer (702) covers at least part of a side surface of the first insulating layer (701). See Yang Figure 13; Kamada Figure 9B.
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that an end portion of the second insulating layer (702) is positioned on an outer side of an end portion of the first insulating layer (701). See Yang Figure 13, which, as modified per Yang specification ¶ 75, would have the second insulating layer (702) on top the first insulating layer (701), thus, the end of the second insulating layer (702) would be positioned on an outer side of an end portion of first insulating layer (701). See also Kamada Figure 9B.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the top surface of the second insulating layer (Kamada (219a)) has a convex shape. See id.
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1: Kamada Figure 9B discloses that in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the first insulating layer (216) has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°.
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the first insulating layer (Yang (701); Kamada (216)) and the second insulating layer (Yang (702); Kamada (219a)) each comprise a portion overlapping with a top surface of the first pixel electrode (200 at R) and a portion overlapping with a top surface of the second pixel electrode (200 at G). Yang Figure 13; Yang specification ¶ 75. See also Kamada Figure 9B; Kamada specification ¶ 109. Note re Yang: The second insulating layer (702) overlaps with the top surfaces in the alternate embodiment disclosed, but not shown, in Yang.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 2: As discussed above, Bang discloses wherein the first light-emitting layer (151) covers a side surface of the first pixel electrode (101), wherein the second light-emitting layer (152) covers a side surface of the second pixel electrode (102), and wherein the third light-emitting layer (153) covers a side surface of the third pixel electrode (103). Bang specification ¶¶ 48-118.
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the first insulating layer (701, deposited as 710) comprises aluminum oxide. Yang specification ¶ 63.
Regarding claim 21, which depends from claim 1: As discussed in support of the rejection of claim 1, Bang Figure 1, directed to similar subject matter, discloses wherein the first light-emitting layer (151) covers a side surface of the first pixel electrode (101), wherein the second light-emitting layer (152) covers a side surface of the second pixel electrode (102), and wherein the third light-emitting layer (153) covers a side surface of the third pixel electrode (103). Bang specification ¶¶ 48-118. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Bang light-emitting layers in place of the Yang light-emitting layers because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Hack, Park, Bang, and Kamada, and further in view of Kim, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0367015, Figures 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1: The combination is silent as to whether there is a second coloring layer transmitting green light at a position overlapping with the second light-emitting device; and a third coloring layer transmitting blue light at a position overlapping with the third light-emitting device.
Kim Figure 4, directed to an OLED display device, discloses a second coloring layer (161_G) transmitting green light at a position overlapping with the second light-emitting device (middle device); and a third coloring layer (161_B) transmitting blue light at a position overlapping with the third light-emitting device (device at right). Kim specification ¶¶ 70-120. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to use the Kim design because the modification improves the colors emitted from the device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Hack, Park, Bang, and Kamada, and further in view of Kim Figure 5.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 1: The combination is silent as to whether in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the first pixel electrode (200 at R), an end portion of the second pixel electrode (200 at G), and an end portion of the third pixel electrode (200 at B) each have a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°.
Kim Figure 5, directed to similar subject matter, discloses, in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the pixel electrode (121) has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°. See Kim Figure 5, Kim specification ¶ 91. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yang to use the Kim design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the combination discloses in a cross-sectional view, an end portion of the first pixel electrode, an end portion of the second pixel electrode, and an end portion of the third pixel electrode each have a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90°.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Hack, Park, Bang, and Kamada, and further in view of Kim Figures 3-5 and Lee, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0083211, Figure 3.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the first insulating layer (701/701) is an inorganic insulating layer, and discloses that the second insulating layer (702) may be the same as or different from the first insulating layer. Yang specification ¶¶ 63, 75. The combination is silent as to whether the second insulating layer (702) is an organic insulating layer.
Kim Figures 3-5, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a two-layer (CPL, PDL) arrangement separating light emitting devices, in which the PDL layer, which fills in the space between layer contact prevention layer (CPL), is an organic layer. Kim specification ¶¶ 93-106. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Kim PDL material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Lee Figure 3, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the use of an organic insulating material for the pixel definition layer (180). Lee specification ¶ 82. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Lee organic insulating PDL material because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Hack, Park, Bang, and Kamada, and further in view of DeFranco, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0256754, Figure 7.
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that electron injection (EIL) and/or electron transport layers (ETL) may be a part of the organic light-emitting layer (300), but the combination is silent as to whether the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer between the second light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the third light-emitting device comprises the common layer between the third light-emitting layer and the common electrode, and wherein the common layer is positioned between the second insulating layer and the common electrode.
DeFranco, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer (446) between the first light-emitting layer (440) and the common electrode (448), wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer (446) between the second light-emitting layer (442) and the common electrode (448), wherein the third light-emitting device comprises the common layer (446) between the third light-emitting layer (444) and the common electrode (448), and wherein the common layer (446) is positioned between the insulating layer (203) and the common electrode (448). DeFranco specification ¶ 71. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the DeFranco common layer because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Hack, Park, Bang, and Kamada, and further in view of Nakamura, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0151539.
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1, but is silent as to a display module comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 1; and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit.
Nakamura Figures 19A-20, directed to similar subject matter, disclose a display module (300) comprising: the display apparatus (370); and at least one of a connector (319, Nakamura Figure 20) and an integrated circuit (374, Nakamura Figures 19A/19B). Nakamura specification ¶¶ 365, 409-425. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the combination’s display apparatus in Nakamura because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 18: The combination discloses electronic device (7700) comprising: the display module according to claim 18; and at least one of a housing (7701), a battery (7709), a camera, a speaker (7704a, 7704b), and a microphone (7706). Nakamura Figure 23H; Nakamura specification ¶¶ 462-464, 474. See also Nakamura specification ¶ 22, claim 11.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897