DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0274089 A1 to Son et al. (hereinafter “Son” – previously cited reference) in further view of US 2018/0019238 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim ‘238” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Son discloses a display device comprising:
emission areas;
a non-emission area (display device 1 having display and non-display areas; paragraphs [0044]-[0045]);
light emitting elements disposed on a substrate in the emission areas (light-emitting elements ED having plurality of pixels disposed on display substrate 10 in display area; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0040]-[0041], [0046]);
a bank disposed on the substrate in the non-emission area and including openings corresponding to the emission areas (bank layer 150 and light-blocking members 90, 320 form bank disposed on substrate 10 and including openings corresponding to pixels in display areas; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0046], [0058], [0064]);
color conversion patterns disposed in the openings of the bank and converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting elements to emit light (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 disposed in openings of bank for converting peak wavelength of incident light from elements ED into light of another peak so that the light exits; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 overlapping bank along a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]);
organic patterns disposed on the color conversion patterns and separated from each other, and covering entire upper surfaces of the color conversion patterns (pattern of organic epoxy resins 3411, 3431, 3451 separated from one another and disposed upon the patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 to cover upper surfaces thereof; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0097]-[0098]); and
color filters disposed on the organic patterns, wherein the color filters are sequentially stacked in a space between the organic patterns in the non-emission area (color filters 331, 333, 335 disposed on resins 3411, 3431, 3451 and portion of filters stacked in a sequential manner in a non-light-exiting area PB laterally between resins 3411, 3431, 3451; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0099], [0104]).
Son fails to disclose color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank.
However, Kim ‘238 discloses color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank and converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting elements to emit light (color conversion portions 231, 232 disposed inside openings of bank 239; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (color conversion portions 231, 232 separated by portions of bank 239 in a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]).
Son and Kim ‘238 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘238 in order to potentially provide higher aperture ratio and brightness, superior light blocking and contrast, and high pixel density feasibility.
Regarding claim 2, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses wherein the color filters sequentially stacked in the non-emission area form a light blocking structure (portion of color filters 331, 333, 335 disposed in non-light-exiting area PB and under the light-blocking members 320 forms a light blocking structure; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0099], [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 2. Son further discloses wherein the light blocking structure is disposed directly on the bank and contacts the bank (portion of filters forming light blocking structure may be disposed on and in contact with members 320; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0009], [0046], [0058], [0064]; claim 12).
Regarding claim 4, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 2. Son further discloses wherein a height of an upper surface of the light blocking structure and a height of an upper surface of the color filters in the emission areas with respect to the substrate are substantially equal to each other (upper surfaces of light blocking structure and color filters 331, 333, 335 in display area are in the same plane; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0099], [0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses inorganic patterns disposed between the color conversion patterns and the organic patterns in the emission areas (patterns of inorganic scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 disposed between patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 and resins 3411, 3431, 3451; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0124], [0134], [0142]).
Regarding claim 6, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 5. Son further discloses wherein a refractive index of the inorganic patterns is less than a refractive index of the color conversion patterns (refractive index of scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 is less than refractive index of resins 3411, 3431, 3451 and patterns 3413, 3433, 3453; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0124], [0134], [0142]).
Regarding claim 7, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 5. Son further discloses wherein the inorganic patterns are spaced apart from each other and are disposed in the emission areas (scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 spaced apart from one another in display area; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 5. Son further discloses a second capping layer disposed between the inorganic patterns and the organic patterns in the emission areas (capping layer PS1 disposed laterally between patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 and scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 in display area; Fig. 4; paragraph [0093]); and a first capping layer disposed between the color conversion patterns and the inorganic patterns (ridges of capping layer PS2 disposed between successive patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 and associated scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455; Fig. 4; paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 8. Son further discloses wherein each of the first capping layer and the second capping layer includes patterns spaced apart from each other to correspond to the emission areas (capping layers PS1, PS2 each comprise patterns spaced apart from one another and in the display area; Fig. 4; paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses wherein an average thickness of the organic patterns is greater than half a thickness of one of the color filters and less than or substantially equal to a thickness of two of the color filters (resins 3411, 3431, 3451 comprise a thickness roughly 200% of the thickness of the color filters 331, 333, 335 as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses an overcoat layer disposed on the color filters and overlapping the color filters in a plan view (base 310 overlapping the color filters 331, 333, 335 in plan view; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 12, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses further comprising: an upper substrate disposed on the color filters; and a filler disposed under the color filters and the upper substrate (base 310 substrate disposed over color filters 331, 333, 335 which are disposed over filler 70; Fig. 4; paragraph [0053]).
Son fails to disclose a filler disposed between the color filters and the upper substrate.
However, the rearrangement of parts, as claimed, is considered to be an obvious matter of design choice absent any disclosed or apparent new or unexpected result from said rearrangement (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)) as discussed in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this case, relocating the filler layer from underneath the color filters to between the color filters and the upper substrate does not modify the operation of the display device, as the filler continues to provide structural support and optical alignment in either position. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the filler’s placement is a design choice that can be adjusted based on manufacturing preferences or assembly requirements, without altering the device’s function, while also potentially providing improved optical performance, mechanical and structural benefit, and enhanced protection of color filters.
Regarding claim 14, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses wherein the light emitting elements include organic light emitting diodes (light-emitting elements ED may comprise organic LEDs; paragraphs [0003], [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Son discloses a display device comprising:
an emission area;
a non-emission area surrounding the emission area (display device 1 having display and non-display areas therearound; paragraphs [0044]-[0045]);
a light emitting element disposed on a substrate in the emission area (light-emitting elements ED having plurality of pixels disposed on display substrate 10 in display area; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0040]-[0041], [0046]);
a bank disposed on the substrate in the non-emission area and including an opening corresponding to the emission area (bank layer 150 and light-blocking members 90, 320 form bank disposed on substrate 10 and including openings corresponding to pixels in display areas; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0046], [0058], [0064]);
a color conversion pattern disposed in the opening of the bank and converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting element to emit light (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 disposed in openings of bank for converting peak wavelength of incident light from elements ED into light of another peak so that the light exits; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 overlapping bank along a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]);
color filters sequentially stacked on the bank (color filters 331, 333, 335 disposed on structures of bank in a sequential manner; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0099], [0104]); and
an organic pattern disposed between one of the color filters and the color conversion pattern in the emission area (layer of organic epoxy resins 3411, 3431, 3451 disposed between the patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 and the filters 331, 333, 335 in the display area; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0097]-[0098]), wherein an uppermost surface of the color filters is substantially flat in the emission area and the non-emission area (uppermost surface of filters 331, 333, 335 is flat across all areas as shown in Fig. 4).
Son fails to disclose color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank.
However, Kim ‘238 discloses color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank and converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting elements to emit light (color conversion portions 231, 232 disposed inside openings of bank 239; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (color conversion portions 231, 232 separated by portions of bank 239 in a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]).
Son and Kim ‘238 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘238 in order to potentially provide higher aperture ratio and brightness, superior light blocking and contrast, and high pixel density feasibility.
Regarding claim 16, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 15. Son further discloses wherein the organic pattern is disposed in an island shape in the emission area by the color filters (resins 3411, 3431, 3451 disposed in an isolated shape in the display area by the filters 331, 333, 335 as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 15. Son further discloses wherein the color filters are formed directly on the bank in the non-emission area, and one of the color filters contacts the bank (filters 331, 333, 335 contact members 320 of bank in non-display area; paragraphs [0043], [0099], [0104]).
Regarding claim 18, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 17. Son further discloses an inorganic pattern disposed between the color conversion pattern and the organic pattern in the emission area (patterns of inorganic scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 disposed between patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 and resins 3411, 3431, 3451; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0124], [0134], [0142]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in further view of Kim ‘238 and US 2020/0105792 A1 to Lee et al. (hereinafter “Lee” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 13, Son in view of Kim ‘238 discloses the display device according to claim 1. Son further discloses wherein the light emitting elements include organic light emitting diodes (light-emitting elements ED may comprise organic LEDs; paragraphs [0003], [0058]).
Son fails to disclose wherein the light emitting elements include inorganic light emitting diodes.
However, Lee discloses wherein the light emitting elements include inorganic light emitting diodes (display apparatus includes a plurality of inorganic light emitting diodes; abstract).
Son and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thin film transistor manufacturing processes and devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Lee in order to potentially provide higher durability and longer lifespan, superior brightness and efficiency, and faster response times.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in further view of Kim ‘238 and US 2020/0373365 A1 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim ‘365” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 19, Son discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
preparing a panel including:
light emitting elements disposed in emission areas (display device 1 having display and non-display areas and light-emitting elements ED having plurality of pixels disposed on display substrate 10 in display area; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0040]-[0041], [0044]-[0046]); and
a bank disposed on a substrate in a non-emission area and having openings corresponding to the emission areas (bank layer 150 and light-blocking members 90, 320 form bank disposed on substrate 10 and including openings corresponding to pixels in display areas; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0046], [0058], [0064]);
forming color conversion patterns converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting elements to emit light, in the openings of the bank (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 disposed in openings of bank for converting peak wavelength of incident light from elements ED into light of another peak so that the light exits; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (wavelength conversion patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 overlapping bank along a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0108]-[0109]);
forming an organic layer on the color conversion patterns, and covering entire upper surfaces of the color conversion patterns (pattern of organic epoxy resins 3411, 3431, 3451 separated from one another and disposed upon the patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 to cover upper surfaces thereof; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0097]-[0098]);
forming organic patterns by not including the organic layer in the non-emission area (resins 3411, 3431, 3451 formed only in display area; Fig. 4); and
forming color filters on the bank and the organic patterns, wherein the color filters are filled in a form in which the color filters are sequentially stacked in a space between the organic patterns in the non-emission area (color filters 331, 333, 335 disposed on structures of bank and resins 3411, 3431, 3451 and portion of filters stacked in a sequential manner in a non-light-exiting area PB laterally between resins 3411, 3431, 3451; Figs. 2 and 4; paragraphs [0099], [0104]).
Son fails to disclose color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank.
However, Kim ‘238 discloses color conversion patterns disposed inside the openings of the bank and converting a wavelength band of light incident from the light emitting elements to emit light (color conversion portions 231, 232 disposed inside openings of bank 239; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]), wherein the color conversion patterns overlap the bank along a direction parallel to a plane of a display surface of the display device (color conversion portions 231, 232 separated by portions of bank 239 in a horizontal direction parallel to display surface; Fig. 19; paragraphs [0262]-[0264]).
Son and Kim ‘238 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘238 in order to potentially provide higher aperture ratio and brightness, superior light blocking and contrast, and high pixel density feasibility.
Son further fails to disclose forming organic patterns by etching a portion of the organic layer.
However, Kim ‘365 discloses forming organic patterns by etching a portion of the organic layer (inorganic layer IOL-P2 may be etched to form inorganic layer pattern IOL-P2 and organic patterns PP; Fig. 6E; paragraphs [0108], [0111], [0115]).
Son and Kim ‘365 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thin film transistor manufacturing processes and devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘365 in order to potentially provide improved device performance, manufacturing flexibility and scalability, and higher operational precision and resolution.
Regarding claim 20, Son in view of Kim ‘238 and Kim ‘365 discloses the display device according to claim 19. Son further discloses wherein the forming of the organic layer comprises: forming at least one inorganic layer on the color conversion patterns (layer of patterned inorganic scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455 disposed in patterns 3413, 3433, 3453; Fig. 4; paragraphs [0124], [0134], [0142]); and forming the organic layer on the at least one inorganic layer (resins 3411, 3431, 3451 formed on scatterers 3415, 3435, 3455; Fig. 4).
Son fails to disclose wherein the forming of the organic patterns comprises etching the at least one inorganic layer to form inorganic patterns from the at least one inorganic layer.
However, Kim ‘365 discloses wherein the forming of the organic patterns comprises etching the at least one inorganic layer to form inorganic patterns from the at least one inorganic layer (inorganic layer IOL-P2 may be etched to form inorganic layer pattern IOL-P2 and organic patterns PP; Fig. 6E; paragraphs [0108], [0111], [0115]).
Son and Kim ‘365 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of thin film transistor manufacturing processes and devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Son to incorporate the teaching of Kim ‘365 in order to potentially provide high-precision patterning, enhanced process compatibility, and improved material stability and device reliability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 10, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant submitted amendments to the independent claims and corresponding arguments related to these amendments. Examiner agrees that the amendments overcome the previous rejection, but they necessitated a new rejection using an alternative interpretation of Son in regards to the resins 3411, 3431, 3451 and patterns 3413, 3433, 3453 being mapped to the organic patterns and color conversion patterns.
Conclusion
Applicant submitted amendments in their Response to the previous Office Action which necessitated this rejection. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818