DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 in the Applicant’s response dated 31 December 2025. The claim amendment has been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young Rag Do et. al (WO 2020/149475 A1 using US-PGPub Document US 2022/0077228 A1 for English translation of the WIPO Document; hereinafter “Do”) in view of Jeffrey DiMaria et al. (US 2023/0170442 A1; hereinafter “DiMaria”).
Regarding Claim 1, Do teaches a display device comprising:
electrodes spaced apart from each other (ET11 and ET21, Fig. 11C, para [0227] describes a first electrode ET11 and second electrode ET21 which are spaced apart as depicted in Fig. 11C);
light-emitting elements between the electrodes (LD1, Fig. 11C, para [0237] describes a first light emitting element LD1); and
connection electrodes electrically connected to the light-emitting elements (CE11 and CE21, Fig. 11C, para [0139] describes first contact electrodes CE11 and second contact electrodes CE21 wherein the first contact electrode is electrically connected to the light emitting element) and comprising:
first areas in electrical contact with the light-emitting elements (FA, annotated Fig. 11C, para [0139] describes wherein the first contact electrode is electrically connected to the first end EP1 of the light emitting element at the first area FA of annotated Fig. 11C below); and
second areas extending upwardly from upper surfaces of the light-emitting elements (SA, annotated Fig. 11C, depicts wherein second areas SA of the connection electrodes extend upwardly from the light emitting element), such that a space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction (SP, annotated Fig. 11C, para [0199] describes wherein the first and second contact electrodes may be disposed at positions spaced apart from each other, as shown in annotated Fig. 11C below by space SP).
Do fails to explicitly disclose wherein an empty space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction.
However, DiMaria teaches a similar display device, wherein an empty space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction (150, Fig. 3D, para [0043] describes wherein an electrically insulating material or an empty space can be arranged between electrode layers 150 wherein upon combining the empty space of DiMaria with the display device of Do, the space SP of Do may therefore be an empty space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Do with DiMaria to further disclose a display device wherein a space between connection electrodes is an empty space in order to provide the advantage of preventing transverse electrical conduction between adjacent segments of an electrode layer which would cause undesirable effects in the display device and to further provide the well-known advantage of reducing manufacturing costs by reducing the number of steps and materials needed as an insulating material would not need to be deposited between the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrodes include:
a first connection electrode electrically connected to first end portions of the light-emitting elements (Do, CE11, Fig. 11C, para [0117] describes first contact electrodes CE11 wherein the first contact electrode is electrically connected to the first end EP1 of the light emitting element); and
a second connection electrode electrically connected to second end portions of the light-emitting elements (Do, CE21, Fig. 11C, para [0117] describes second contact electrodes CE21 wherein the second contact electrode is electrically connected to the second end EP2 of the light emitting element).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first connection electrode (Do, CE11, Fig. 11C) includes:
One of the first areas in electrical contact with the first end portions of the light-emitting elements (Do, FA, annotated Fig. 11C, para [0117] describes wherein the first contact electrode is electrically connected to first end portion EP1 of the light emitting element, wherein a first area can be seen labeled above in annotated Fig. 11C); and
One of the second areas extending upwardly from the light-emitting elements (Do, SA, annotated Fig. 11C, depicts wherein second areas of the connection electrodes extend upwardly from the light emitting element).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second connection electrode (Do, CE21, Fig. 11C) includes:
another one of the first areas in electrical contact with the second end portions of the light-emitting elements (Do, FA, annotated Fig. 11C, para [0117] describes wherein the second contact electrode is electrically connected to second end portion EP2 of the light emitting element, wherein the first area can be seen labeled above in annotated Fig. 11C); and
another one of the second areas extending upwardly from the light-emitting elements (Do, SA, annotated Fig. 11C, depicts wherein second areas of the connection electrodes extend upwardly from the light emitting element).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein one of the second areas of the first connection electrode and another one of the second areas of the second connection electrode are spaced apart from each other in a direction substantially perpendicular to the thickness direction (Do, SP, annotated Fig. 11C, para [0199] describes wherein the first and second contact electrodes may be disposed at positions spaced apart from each other, as shown in annotated Fig. 11C above by space SP).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode are in a same layer (Do, DEL, annotated Fig. 12, para [0169] describes wherein the contact electrodes, herein connection electrodes, are disposed in the display element layer depicted in annotated Fig. 12 below).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Do and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first areas and the second areas of the connection electrodes are integral with each other (Do, para [0139] describes wherein the contact electrodes are disposed in a single process resulting in the first area and second area of the connection electrodes being integral with each other).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jong Chan Lee et al. (US 2021/0384178 A1; hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Jeffrey DiMaria et al. (US 2023/0170442 A1; hereinafter “DiMaria”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising:
electrodes spaced apart from each other (221 and 211, Fig. 25, para [0117] describes a first electrode 211 and second electrode 212 that may be spaced apart from each other);
light-emitting elements between the electrodes (300, Fig. 25, para [0070] describes light-emitting elements 300); and
connection electrodes electrically connected to the light-emitting elements (610 and 711_1, Fig. 25, para [0073] and para [0257] describes electrodes 610 and 711_1 in contact with light-emitting elements 300) and comprising:
first areas in electrical contact with the light-emitting elements (FIRA, annotated Fig. 25 below); and
second areas extending upwardly from upper surfaces of the light-emitting elements (SECA, annotated Fig. 25 below), such that a space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction (SPA, annotated Fig. 25 below, a space exists between horizontal portions of second areas SECA and light-emitting elements 300).
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein an empty space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction.
However, DiMaria teaches a similar display device, wherein an empty space is between the light-emitting elements and the second areas of the connection electrodes in a thickness direction (150, Fig. 3D, para [0043] describes wherein an electrically insulating material or an empty space can be arranged between electrode layers 150 wherein upon combining the empty space of DiMaria with the display device of Lee, the space SPA of Lee may therefore be an empty space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with DiMaria to further disclose a display device wherein a space between connection electrodes is an empty space in order to provide the advantage of preventing transverse electrical conduction between adjacent segments of an electrode layer which would cause undesirable effects in the display device and to further provide the well-known advantage of reducing manufacturing costs by reducing the number of steps and materials needed as an insulating material would not need to be deposited between the electrodes.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection electrodes include:
a first connection electrode electrically connected to first end portions of the light-emitting elements (Lee, 610, Fig. 25, para [0073] describes an electrode 610 in contact with light-emitting element 300 wherein said contact is at a first end of light-emitting element 300); and
a second connection electrode electrically connected to second end portions of the light-emitting elements (Lee, 711_1, Fig. 25, displays an electrode 711_1 in contact with light-emitting element 300 wherein said contact is at a second end of light-emitting element 300).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first connection electrode (Lee, 610, Fig. 25) includes:
One of the first areas in electrical contact with the first end portions of the light-emitting elements (Lee, FIRA, annotated Fig. 25 above, wherein first area FIRA of electrode 610 is in contact with light-emitting element 300 at a first end portion); and
One of the second areas extending upwardly from the light-emitting elements (Lee, SECA, annotated Fig. 25 above, wherein second area of electrode 610 extends upwardly from light-emitting element 300).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second connection electrode (Lee, 711_1, Fig. 25) includes:
another one of the first areas in electrical contact with the second end portions of the light-emitting elements (Lee, FIRA, annotated Fig. 25 above, wherein first area FIRA of electrode 711_1 is in contact with light-emitting element 300 at a second end portion); and
another one of the second areas extending upwardly from the light-emitting elements (Lee, SECA, annotated Fig. 25 above, wherein second area of electrode 711_1 extends upwardly from light-emitting element 300).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein one of the second areas of the first connection electrode and another one of the second areas of the second connection electrode are spaced apart from each other in a direction substantially perpendicular to the thickness direction (Lee, 711_1 and 610, Fig. 25 shows second areas of connection electrodes 711_1 and 610 spaced apart from each other in a direction substantially perpendicular to parallel).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode are in a same layer (Lee, EML, Fig. 25, para [0079] describes an emission material layer EML in which both the first connection electrode 610 and second connection electrode 711_1 are comprised).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first areas and the second areas of the connection electrodes are integral with each other (Lee, para [0257] describes wherein electrode 711_1 and electrode 610 are formed on the same layer).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Lee and DiMaria teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a capping layer over the connection electrodes (Lee, 530_1, Fig. 25, para [0258] describes an insulating layer 530_1 on electrodes 711_1 and 610).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young Rag Do et. al (WO 2020/149475 A1 using US-PGPub Document US 2022/0077228 A1 for English translation of the WIPO Document; hereinafter “Do”) in view of Jeffrey DiMaria et al. (US 2023/0170442 A1; hereinafter “DiMaria”) and in further view of Seungcheol Ko et. al (US 2020/0152835 A1; hereinafter “Ko”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Do and DiMaria discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Do and DiMaria fail to disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising a capping layer over the connection electrodes.
However, Ko discloses a similar display device, further comprising a capping layer disposed over the connection electrode (L9, Fig. 3B, para [0100] describes wherein a ninth insulation layer may be disposed on the first connection electrode, wherein the ninth insulation layer may be an encapsulation layer, effectively acting as a capping layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Do and DiMaria with Ko to further disclose a display device further comprising a capping layer disposed over the connection electrode to provide the well-known of advantage of protecting the electrodes from further processing steps and electrically isolating the electrodes from the next layer of components that are disposed on the capping layer.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Do, DiMaria and Ko teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising a color conversion layer above the capping layer (Do, CCL1 and CCL2, Fig. 12, para [0267] describes wherein a color conversion layer CCL may be disposed on the first and second pixels as depicted in Fig. 12, wherein the color conversion layer of Do would be disposed on the capping layer of Ko upon combining Fig. 3B of Ko with Fig. 12 of Do).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Do, DiMaria and Ko teaches the display device of claim 9, further comprising a color filter layer above the color conversion layer (Do, CF2, Fig. 12, para [0272], describes a two-color filter, that can be seen as being disposed on the first color conversion layer CCL1 and the second color conversion layer CCL2 in Fig. 12).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jong Chan Lee et al. (US 2021/0384178 A1; hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Jeffrey DiMaria et al. (US 2023/0170442 A1; hereinafter “DiMaria”) and in further view of Young Rag Do et. al (WO 2020/149475 A1 using US-PGPub Document US 2022/0077228 A1 for English translation of the WIPO Document; hereinafter “Do”).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lee and DiMaria discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Lee and DiMaria fails to disclose the display device of claim 8, further comprising a color conversion layer above the capping layer.
However, Do teaches a similar display device, further comprising a color conversion layer above the capping layer (Do, CCL1 and CCL2, Fig. 12, para [0267] describes wherein a color conversion layer CCL may be disposed on the first and second pixels as depicted in Fig. 12, wherein the color conversion layer of Do would be disposed on the capping layer of Lee upon combining Fig. 25 of Lee with Fig. 12 of Do).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and DiMaria with Do to further disclose a display device further comprising a color conversion layer above the capping layer to provide the advantage of displaying a full-color image in the display device (Do, para [0267]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Lee, DiMaria and Do teaches the display device of claim 9, further comprising a color filter layer above the color conversion layer (Do, CF2, Fig. 12, para [0272], describes a two-color filter, that can be seen as being disposed on the first color conversion layer CCL1 and the second color conversion layer CCL2 in Fig. 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898