DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues Khan does not disclose the limitations “a semiconductor structure epitaxially formed on a substrate” and “an implanted region” together. Applicant points to paragraphs [0037]-[0039] and [0041] of Khan which describe a process of growing N-polar device epilayers on sapphire, removing the grown layers from the growth substrate via laser liftoff, and soldering a metal heat sink to the Ga-face layer.
However, claims 1 and 17 are product claims which recite process limitations “a semiconductor structure epitaxially formed on a substrate” and “the semiconductor structure epitaxially formed on a substrate”, respectively. These process limitations invoke the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 1 does not require epitaxial growth of a semiconductor structure on a substrate, but simply that a semiconductor structure is present on a substrate. However, FIG. 1 of Khan does disclose a semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) epitaxially formed on a substrate (e.g. sapphire ¶ [0037]).
Applicant has pre-emptively argued against this interpretation of the process claims, referencing paragraph [0038] of Khan. Specifically, Applicant argues the metal heat sink (or other arbitrary substrate) is soldered to the Ga-face layer of the epilayers using a “solder/epoxy material” and epitaxial formation is fundamentally and structurally distinct from soldering. According to Applicant, soldering requires an intermediary layer of material between two materials being soldered together to permit adhesion and epitaxial formation results in direct crystallographic relationship where the lattice of the semiconductor structure aligns with the substrate.
However, as pointed out above anticipation of claim 1 does not require epitaxial growth of a semiconductor structure on a substrate, but simply that a semiconductor structure is present on a substrate and FIG. 1 of Khan does disclose a semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) epitaxially formed on a substrate (e.g. sapphire ¶ [0037]).
Applicant further argues the regrown n+-GaN of Khan does not disclose an implanted region. Applicant asserts the product-by-process doctrine is invoked due to the claim limitation “an implanted region” of claims 1 and 17. Based on this interpretation, Applicant states regrown contacts are structurally distinct from implanted region.
However, the limitation “an implanted region” of claims 1 and 17 is not a process limitation but a structural one. The above limitation of the instant applicant merely requires a region with implanted dopants which is disclosed by the regrown n+-GaN of Khan. Nowhere in claims 1 and 17 does Applicant claim an ion implantation process.
Thus, the rejection of claims 1 and 17 stands. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-13, 16-18, 20-21, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khan (US 20220122837 A1; hereinafter Khan).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 7 of Khan teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7 ¶ [0041]) on a substrate (metal heat sink ¶ [0038]-[0039]), the semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) comprising a buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) at a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater from a surface of the semiconductor structure (e.g. 526 Angstroms, depth from surface of GaN cap layer to bottom surface of Al0.25Ga0.75N ¶ [0040]), the semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) further comprising a confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) on the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) a cap layer (50 nm GaN) on the confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N ¶ [0040]), and the substrate (metal heat sink) below the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer); an implanted region (regrown n+-GaN) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (III-N structure) and into the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer), the implanted region (regrown n+-GaN) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer); and an electrode (S/D) on the implanted region (regrown n+-GaN).
Regarding claim 1, the process limitation of “a semiconductor structure epitaxially formed on a substrate” found in product claim 1 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 1 does not require epitaxial growth of a semiconductor structure on a substrate, but simply that a semiconductor structure is present on a substrate. However, FIG. 1 of Khan does disclose a semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) epitaxially formed on a substrate (e.g. sapphire ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) is at a depth of about 500 Angstroms or greater from the surface of the semiconductor structure (e.g. 526 Angstroms ¶ [0040], depth from surface of ~50 nm GaN cap layer to bottom surface of ~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N).
Regarding claim 6, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the electrode (S/D) comprises an ohmic contact (¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Khan the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) comprises a Group III-nitride layer (i.e. GaN).
Regarding claim 8, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the semiconductor structure (III-N structure) comprises an N-polar Group III-nitride semiconductor structure (N-polar GaN/AlGaN ¶ [0035]) comprising an N-face at the surface of the semiconductor structure (¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) is a first confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) on a first surface of the buried layer (top surface of GaN/AlN buried layer), and wherein the semiconductor structure (III-N structure) further comprises a second confining layer (~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N) on a second surface of the buried layer (bottom surface of GaN/AlN buried layer).
Regarding claim 11, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the cap layer (50 nm GaN) has a thickness in a range of about 250 Angstroms to about 1000 Angstroms (e.g. 500 Angstroms ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein: wherein the first confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) comprises AlwGa1-wN, where w is in a range of about 0.1 to about 0.4 (¶ [0040]); wherein the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) comprises AlxGa1-xN, where x is less than about 0.1 (i.e. GaN); wherein the second confining layer (~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N) comprises AlyGa1-yN, where y is in a range of about 0.1 to about 0.4; and wherein the cap layer (50 nm GaN) comprises AlzGa1-zN, where w is in less than about 0.1 (i.e. GaN ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the semiconductor device comprises a mesa (mesa between n+-GaN) and a recess (recess of n+-GaN, see examiner annotated FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 16, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 7) is a high electron mobility transistor device (GaN-AlGaN HEMT ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 17, FIGS. 6-7 of Khan teaches a transistor device, comprising: an N-polar Group III-nitride semiconductor structure (N-polar epilayer stack ¶ [0004]) having an N face (N-polar face) at a surface of the semiconductor structure (N-polar epilayer stack ¶ [0036]), the semiconductor structure (N-polar epilayer stack) on a substrate (metal heat sink ¶ [0038]-[0039]), the semiconductor structure (e.g. FIG. 7) comprising: a buried channel layer (GaN/AlN buried layer); a confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) on a first surface of the buried channel layer (top surface of GaN/AlN buried layer ¶ [0040]); a barrier layer (~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N) on a second surface of the buried channel layer (bottom surface of GaN/AlN buried layer), the barrier layer (~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N) above the substrate (metal heat sink); and an implanted region (n+-GaN) extending at least partially through the confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N) and into the buried channel layer (GaN/AlN buried layer), the implanted region (n+-GaN) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n+) extending into the buried channel layer (GaN/AlN buried layer); and an electrode (S/D) on the implanted region (n+-GaN).
Regarding claim 17, the process limitation of “the semiconductor structure epitaxially formed on a substrate” found in product claim 17 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 17 does not require epitaxial growth of the semiconductor structure on a substrate, but simply that the semiconductor structure is present on a substrate. However, FIG. 1 of Khan does disclose the semiconductor structure (III-N structure shown in FIG. 7) epitaxially formed on a substrate (e.g. sapphire ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 18, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the implanted region (n+-GaN) extends to a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater into the N-polar Group III-nitride semiconductor structure ( ¶ [0040] N-polar epilayer stack, i.e. more than 526 Angstroms, see FIG. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the electrode (S/D) comprises an ohmic source contact (S) or an ohmic drain contact (D) for the transistor device (e.g. FIG. 7 ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 21, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches further comprising a cap layer (50 nm GaN) on the confining layer (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N), wherein the cap layer (50 nm GaN) has a thickness in a range of about 250 Angstroms to about 1000 Angstroms (i.e. 500 Angstroms ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 26, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 21, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches further comprising a gate contact (G) is at least partially located in an atomic layer etch (ALE) defined trench in the cap layer (gate-recess ¶ [0041]).
The process limitation of “atomic layer etch (ALE) defined” found in product claim 26 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 26 does not require defining the trench in the cap layer through an atomic layer etch, but simply that a gate contact is at least partially located in a trench in the cap layer.
Regarding claim 27, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17, wherein further comprising an atomic layer deposition (ALD) defined passivation layer (gate insulator ¶ [0014]).
The process limitation of “atomic layer deposition (ALD) defined” found in product claim 27 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 27 does not require defining the passivation layer through atomic layer deposition, but simply that a passivation layer is present.
Regarding claim 28, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17, and FIG. 7 of Khan further teaches wherein the transistor device (e.g. FIG. 7) is a high electron mobility transistor device (GaN-AlGaN HEMT ¶ [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Suvorov (US 20110092057 A1; hereinafter Suvorov).
Regarding claim 3, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Khan does not teach wherein the distribution of implanted dopants of the first conductivity type in the implanted region has a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants at a depth in the implanted region within about 50 Angstroms or less of the buried layer.
FIGS. 4-5 of Suvorov teach a semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 4), comprising: a semiconductor structure (10, 20, 22, 30) comprising a buried layer (20 ¶ [0029]) at a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater from a surface of the semiconductor structure (22 has a thickness between 1 and 1000 Angstroms ¶ [0035]); an implanted region (30) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (10, 20, 22, 30) and into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0044]), the implanted region (30) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0045]); and an electrode (44) on the implanted region (30 ¶ [0054]); wherein the distribution of implanted dopants of the first conductivity type in the implanted region (30) has a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants at a depth in the implanted region (30) within about 50 Angstroms or less of the buried layer (20 ¶ [0045] “the implanted ions form a concentration profile having a peak… the implant peak may be placed away from (i.e. above or below) the interface between the barrier layer 22 and the channel layer 20”, see FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the distribution of implanted dopants taught by Suvorov for the purpose of activating dopant ions in the source/drain regions without substantially reducing conductivity/degrading of the channel region (¶ [0010],[0028],[0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17.
Khan does not teach wherein the distribution of implanted dopants of the first conductivity type in the implanted region has a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants at a depth in the implanted region within about 50 Angstroms or less of the buried channel layer.
FIGS. 4-5 of Suvorov teach a semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 4), comprising: a semiconductor structure (10, 20, 22, 30) comprising a buried layer (20) at a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater from a surface of the semiconductor structure (22 has a thickness between 1 and 1000 Angstroms ¶ [0035]); an implanted region (30) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (10, 20, 22, 30) and into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0044]), the implanted region (30) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0045]); and an electrode (44) on the implanted region (30 ¶ [0054]); wherein the distribution of implanted dopants of the first conductivity type in the implanted region (30) has a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants at a depth in the implanted region (30) within about 50 Angstroms or less of the buried layer (20 ¶ [0045] “the implanted ions form a concentration profile having a peak… the implant peak may be placed away from (i.e. above or below) the interface between the barrier layer 22 and the channel layer 20”, see FIG. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the implantation region taught by Suvorov for the purpose of avoiding a substantial increase in resistance and/or a substantial decrease in charge carrier mobility in the channel region while sufficiently heating the source/drain regions (¶ [0028]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Inoue et al. (US 20110284865 A1; hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding claim 4, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Khan does not teach wherein a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants is at least about 1 x 1018 ions/cm3.
FIG. 2 of Inoue teaches a GaN HEMT comprising a buried layer (11 ¶ [0032]); an implanted region (13A-B) extending at least partially into the buried layer (11), the implanted region (13A-B) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (11 ¶ [0033]); and wherein a peak dopant concentration of implanted dopants is at least about 1 x 1018 ions/cm3 (¶ [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the GaN HEMT taught by Inoue for the purpose of forming an ohmic contact (¶ [0059]) and since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969), wherein in the instant case the peak dopant concentration determines the resulting device performance making it a result effective variable, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), and MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Ranges II. OPTIMIZATION OF RANGES A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation B. Only Result-Effective Variables Can Be Optimized.
Regarding claim 5, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Khan does not teach wherein the implanted dopants comprise silicon, germanium, sulfur, or oxygen ions.
FIG. 2 of Inoue teaches a GaN HEMT comprising a buried layer (11 ¶ [0032]); an implanted region (13A-B) extending at least partially into the buried layer (11), the implanted region (13A-B) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (11 ¶ [0033]); and wherein the implanted dopants comprise silicon, germanium, sulfur, or oxygen ions (e.g. Si ¶ [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the GaN HEMT taught by Inoue for the purpose of forming an ohmic contact (¶ [0059]).
Claims 14, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Romanczyk et al. (US 20220223429 A1; hereinafter Romanczyk).
Regarding claim 14, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13.
Khan does not teach wherein the implanted region is beneath the recess.
FIGS. 3 & 7C of Romanczyk teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor structure (GaN-AlGaN structure) comprising a buried layer (GaN channel ¶ [0036],[0126]); an implanted region (regrown n+) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (GaN-AlGaN structure) and into the buried layer (GaN channel ¶ [0128]), the implanted region (regrown n+) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n+) extending into the buried layer (GaN channel, see FIG. 7C); and an electrode (ohmic metal) on the implanted region (regrown n+ ¶ [0128]-[0131]); wherein the semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 3/7C) comprises a mesa (GaN cap mesa) and a recess (recess occupied by ohmic metal); wherein the implanted region (regrown n+) is beneath the recess (recess occupied by ohmic metal, see examiner annotated FIG. 7C below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the ohmic contacts taught by Romanczyk for the purpose of reducing contact resistance (¶ [0128]).
Regarding claim 22, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 21.
Khan does not teach wherein the transistor device further comprises a recess in the cap layer, wherein the implanted region is beneath the recess.
FIGS. 3 & 7C of Romanczyk teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor structure (GaN-AlGaN structure) comprising a buried layer (GaN channel ¶ [0036],[0126]); an implanted region (regrown n+) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (GaN-AlGaN structure) and into the buried layer (GaN channel ¶ [0128]), the implanted region (regrown n+) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n+) extending into the buried layer (GaN channel, see FIG. 7C); and an electrode (ohmic metal) on the implanted region (regrown n+ ¶ [0128]-[0131]); wherein the semiconductor device (e.g. FIG. 3/7C) comprises a mesa (GaN cap mesa) and a recess in the cap layer (recess in MOCVD SiN occupied by ohmic metal ¶ [0128],[0187]); wherein the implanted region (regrown n+) is beneath the recess (recess occupied by ohmic metal, see examiner annotated FIG. 7C above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the ohmic contacts taught by Romanczyk for the purpose of reducing contact resistance (¶ [0128]).
Regarding claim 24, the process limitation of “atomic layer etch (ALE) defined recess” found in product claim 24 invokes the product-by-process doctrine. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113). Anticipation of claim 24 does not require defining the recess in the cap layer through an atomic layer etch, but simply that the recess is present.
Khan as modified teaches the transistor device of claim 22, and FIGS. 3 & 7C of Romanczyk further teach wherein the semiconductor device comprises the recess (recess occupied by ohmic metal).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Yu et al. (US 20020036287 A1; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 15, Khan teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Khan does not teach wherein the substrate comprises a silicon carbide substrate.
FIGS. 1-2 of Yu teach an N-polar HFET device including a silicon carbide substrate (12 ¶ [0016],[0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the N-polar HFET taught by Yu since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and MPEP 2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Romanczyk, and further in view of Moon et al. (Moon, J.S., et al. (2020), High-speed graded-channel AlGaN/GaN HEMTs with power added efficiency >70% at 30 GHz. Electron. Lett., 56: 678-680.; hereinafter Moon).
Regarding claim 23, Khan as modified teaches the transistor device of claim 22.
Khan as modified does not teach wherein the recess has a depth in a range of about 125 Angstroms to about 750 Angstroms.
FIG. 1 of Moon teaches an AlGaN/GaN HEMT device comprising a recess (opening in SiN passivation) in a cap layer (SiN passivation); wherein the cap layer (SiN passivation) has a thickness in a range of about 250 Angstroms to about 1000 Angstroms (e.g. 70 nm or 700 Angstroms); and wherein the recess (opening in SiN passivation) has a depth in a range of about 125 Angstroms to about 750 Angstroms (opening extends through 700 Angstrom thick SiN passivation, see FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the HEMT device taught by Moon for the purpose of reducing contact resistance and forming ohmic contacts.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Xie et al. (US 20190035895 A1; hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 25, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17.
Khan does not teach wherein the confining layer or the barrier layer comprises ScAlN or ScAlGaN.
FIG. 6 of Xie teaches a HEMT device comprising a confining layer (24) on a first surface of a buried channel layer (18), wherein the confining layer comprises ScAlN (¶ [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the ScAlN barrier layer taught by Xie for the purpose of providing better lattice matching with GaN and a relatively higher sheet charge density within the channel layer (¶ [0033]).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Moon.
Regarding claim 29, Khan teaches the transistor device of claim 17.
Khan does not teach where in the transistor device is operable at frequencies in a range of about 10 GHz to about 150 GHz.
FIG. 1 of Moon teaches a HEMT device operable at frequencies in a range of about 10 GHz to about 150 GHz (e.g. 30 GHz; abstract, FIG. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the HEMT device taught by Moon for the purpose of forming a high-efficiency millimeter-wave power amplifier (abstract).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan (US 20220122837 A1; hereinafter Khan) in view of Suvorov (US 20110092057 A1; hereinafter Suvorov).
Regarding claim 30, FIGS. 1-7 of Khan teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a semiconductor structure (III-N structure of FIG. 7) on a substrate (Sapphire substrate shown in FIG. 1 ¶ [0037]), the semiconductor structure (III-N structure of FIG. 7) comprising a buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) and one or more confining layers (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N, ~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N) above the substrate (Sapphire substrate shown in FIG. 1), the buried layer (GaN/AlN buried layer) being at a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater from a surface of the semiconductor structure (e.g. at least 526 Angstroms, depth from surface of GaN cap layer to bottom surface of Al0.25Ga0.75N), the semiconductor structure further comprising a cap layer (50 nm GaN) on one of the one or more confining layers (~3 nm Al0.25Ga0.75N, ~10 nm Al0.38Ga0.62N ¶ [0040]); and implanting dopants (n+ dopants) into the semiconductor structure (III-N structure of FIG. 7) to form an implanted region (n+-GaN) in the semiconductor structure (III-N structure), the implanted region (n+-GaN) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (III-N structure) and into the buried layer (12 nm GaN, 7-10 Angstrom AlN), the implanted region (n+-GaN) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants (n+ dopants) of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (12 nm GaN, 7-10 Angstrom AlN).
Khan does not teach implanting dopants into the semiconductor structure via ion implantation.
FIGS. 1-5 of Suvorov teach a method of forming a semiconductor device (e.g. device of FIG. 4), comprising: forming a semiconductor structure (20, 22) on a substrate (10), the semiconductor structure (20, 22) comprising a buried layer (20 ¶ [0029]) and one or more confining layers (22) above the substrate (10), the buried layer being at a depth of about 275 Angstroms or greater from a surface of the semiconductor structure (22 has a thickness between 1 and 1000 Angstroms ¶ [0035]); implanting dopants (e.g. n-type dopants) into the semiconductor structure (20, 22) via ion implantation (¶ [0045]) to form an implanted region (30) extending at least partially through the semiconductor structure (20, 22) and into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0044]), the implanted region (30) comprising a distribution of implanted dopants of a first conductivity type (n-type) extending into the buried layer (20 ¶ [0045]); and an electrode (44) on the implanted region (30 ¶ [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught by Khan with the distribution of implanted dopants taught by Suvorov for the purpose of activating dopant ions in the source/drain regions without substantially reducing conductivity/degrading of the channel region (¶ [0010],[0028],[0047]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891