Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed with the Request for Continued Examination on 02/26/2026 has been entered and is being considered. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 3, 8, 10, 12, and 15 have been cancelled. No new matter has been added with these amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and the arguments based thereon change the scope of the claims 1 and 5 and dependents therefrom, rendering the rejections over 35 USC 102 of the independent claims moot, and subsequently any rejections over 35 USC 103 of the claims dependent therefrom moot. As claims 3, 8, 10, 12, and 15 have been cancelled by the amendment, the rejections of those claims are also moot. As such, all rejections made in the prior Final Rejection are withdrawn.
After further search and consideration, the Examiner makes a new grounds of rejection as set forth in the body of the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2, 4, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anno et al (JPWO2014171446A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 2, and 13, Anno discloses a composition for use in lithographic processes such as semiconductor manufacturing. The composition comprises a polysiloxane that is a hydrolysis condensation product of a siloxane precursor(s) (i) in [0013]-[0031], where the polysiloxane is compounded with a solvent and an acid-generating agent as described from [0033]-[0042], as well as optional components such as crosslinking accelerators, amines, and metal chelate complexes described from [0043]-[0057].
The inventive compositions are exemplified in the examples described from [0082]-[0099], where Monomer M-7 and M-1 are used in polymer A-6 in table 1:
In the polymerized A-6 structure, M-7 meets the limitations of claim 1 and 13 where:
Subscript a is 1, subscript b is 0
X is a group conforming to formula (1-2)
L is a divalent (propylene) group
R3 is H
Subscript n is 1
R4 is a tBu group
The tetramethoxysilane monomer, when incorporated into the polymer, meets the limitations of the claim 2’s formula (2) where:
subscript c is 0
However, Anno does not disclose an embodiment wherein the subunit M-7 is present in 1-40%.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of Anno.
Anno teaches a range of copolymer compositions in the Table at [0094], wherein the mol% inclusion of monomers ranges from 20% to 70%. A person having ordinary skill in the art would consider all monomer embodiments presented together as the experimental embodiments are to be art-recognized alternatives – it is prima facie obvious to substitute one monomer unit disclosed in an embodiment for another monomer disclosed by the reference, and an ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize that the limited number of monomers present in the disclosure would abet a small amount of experimentation to make workable compositions in the range of 20-70% inclusion of the monomer M-7 and other monomers. This range overlaps the claim limitation at 20 mol% to 40 mol%.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the filing date by using the monomer M-7 in an amount ranging from 20mol% to 70mol% as taught by the reference in conjunction with other monomers to arrive at compositions having substantially similar properties to those directly disclosed by the reference.
Regarding claim 4, as the composition according to claim 1 has been found and rendered anticipated, it is considered “suitable” for the use claim 4 recites as there is no practicable limitation for a method of forming and the only required limitation is the composition of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Anno discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 1.
Anno however does not disclose an embodiment wherein the silane used to form the polymer has a hydroxyalkyl group (as per claimed X in formula (1)).
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Anno teaches a siloxane polymer made from the polymerization of a silane conforming to general formula (i) as discussed from [0013]-[0031]:
Wherein:
RA is a group having an acid labile group further described by the formula -P-Q-R at [0018]-[0026]
RB is a monovalent organic group such as an alkyl, cycloalkyl, alicyclic, aryl, or aralkyl group, such as but not limited to methyl, ethyl, pentyl, adamantyl, and norbornyl
Some or all hydrogen atoms may be substituted with a halogen, carboxy, hydroxyl, cyano, or nitro group
Subscript a is an integer of 1-3
Subscript b is an integer of 0-2
The sum of a and b is 1-3
When RB is a monovalent organic group including alkyl or cycloalkyl such as methyl, ethyl, and adamantyl, and these groups are hydroxy-substituted, the resultant compound has a moeity that meets the limitations of the claim for where X is a hydroxyalkyl group.
Anno ascribes improved phase separability to the composition when using the siloxane polymer derived from the subunit (i).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the filing date from the teachings of the reference, using the siloxane polymer and resultant composition in a photolithographic process in order to arrive at an improved product due to increased separability between the siloxane composition layer and any under/overlying layers.
Claim(s) 5-7, 9, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anno et al (JPWO2014171446A1) ,Shigaki et al (US 20150079792 A1), and Abe et al (JP 2020056889 A, published 04/09/2020).
Regarding Claims 5-7, 9, and 16, Anno discloses a composition for use in lithographic processes such as semiconductor manufacturing. The composition comprises a polysiloxane that is a hydrolysis condensation product of a siloxane precursor(s) (i) in [0013]-[0031], where the polysiloxane is compounded with a solvent and an acid-generating agent as described from [0033]-[0042], as well as optional components such as crosslinking accelerators, amines, and metal chelate complexes described from [0043]-[0057].
The inventive compositions are exemplified in the examples described from [0082]-[0099], where Monomer M-7 and M-1 are used in polymer A-6 in table 1:
In the polymerized A-6 structure, M-7 meets the limitations of claim 5 and 16 where:
Subscript a is 1, subscript b is 0
X is a group conforming to formula (1-2)
L is a divalent (propylene) group
R3 is H
Subscript n is 1
R4 is a tBu group
The tetramethoxysilane monomer, when incorporated into the polymer, meets the limitations of the claim 7 and 9’s formula (2) where:
subscript c is 0
Anno teaches a range of copolymer compositions in the Table at [0094], wherein the mol% inclusion of monomers ranges from 20% to 70%. A person having ordinary skill in the art would consider all monomer embodiments presented together as the experimental embodiments are to be art-recognized alternatives – it is prima facie obvious to substitute one monomer unit disclosed in an embodiment for another monomer disclosed by the reference, and an ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize that the limited number of monomers present in the disclosure would abet a small amount of experimentation to make workable compositions in the range of 20-70% inclusion of the monomer M-7 and other monomers. This range overlaps the claim limitation at 20 mol% to 40 mol%.
Anno does not disclose or teach a process as required by claim 5 comprising an EUV radiation exposure.
Shigaki discloses a composition for forming an EUV resist underlayer film, wherein the composition comprises a polysiloxane containing a hydrolyzed condensate of a hydrolysable siloxane and a hydrolysable silane having a sulfonamide/carboxylic acid amide/urea/isocyanurate structure (Abstract).
The polysiloxane of the invention is described generally from [0027]-[0078], where specific examples of the polysiloxanes include those in [0051] and [0078].
In the synthetic examples, Synthesis Example 12 defines a polysiloxane formed from tetraethoxysilane, triethoxy methylsilane, and monomer (b-1-8) in acetone (solvent, later replaced with propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate and propylene glycol monomethyl ether), where the monomers are present in 70/20/10 mol% ratios, respectively , the subunit (b-1-8) is present in 10 mol%, anticipating the range of 1-40mol%). The example purports to arrive at Polymer (B-7) produced here (image has been edited to accommodate a page-gap where the formula of B-7 spans two separate pages):
The polymer’s monomer subunit formed from tetraethoxysilane meets the limitations of claim 7 and 9’s subunit (2) where:
Subscript c is 0.
The resist film underlayer composition is coated onto a semiconductor substrate as described in [0135], where an organic underlayer film (A1 layer) forming composition was first disposed onto the substrate (claim 6), followed by deposition of the inventive composition of the reference to form a second underlayer thereatop. After this, a methacrylate resin resist was formed atop the siloxane inventive and organic underlayer assembly. The resist was exposed to EUV light, post-exposure baked, and developed using an alkaline solution of TMAH. After development, a rinse was performed.
The amide-bearing siloxane of Anno bears a functional group similar in nature to the amide-bearing siloxane of Shigaki, and both references are directed to siloxane resist layers. A person having ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to substitute an amide-bearing siloxane for another amide-bearing siloxane composition – such simple substitution would amount to using a known material (the composition of Anno) in a known process (the process of Shigaki) with the expectation that the substitution would be predictably patternable.
Shigaki and Anno do not disclose a method for manufacturing a semiconductor substrate comprising a metal-containing resist film composition.
This limitation is met by Abe.
Abe discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device comprising the formation of an underlayer film on a substrate, an optional intermediate layer, and a resist layer thereatop, then forming a resist pattern using the resist. After, the resist pattern is used as a mask to etch underlayer(s) and the substrate thereunder (Background and [0080]-[0096]). The underlayer film of Abe is an organic film as described from [0011]-[0069], and the intermediate film may be a polysiloxane ([0086]).
The resist film of Abe may be positive or negative type, and may be a metal or semimetal containing composition comprising a compound containing at least one atom selected from metal or semimetals such as tin or zirconium. When using a metal or semimetal (metalloid)-containing resist, the resist sensitivity is improved ([0090]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention through the incorporation of the metal-containing resist film of Abe into the method of Shigaki and Anno to increase the sensitivity of the resist over that of a conventional methacrylate resist composition and thus arrive at an improved process and product arising therefrom.
Regarding Claim 14, Anno discloses the limitations of the claim as discussed above regarding claim 5.
Anno however does not disclose an embodiment wherein the silane used to form the polymer has a hydroxyalkyl group (as per claimed X in formula (1)). Shigaki and Abe are silent on these limitations.
This limitation is met by the general disclosure of the reference.
Anno teaches a siloxane polymer made from the polymerization of a silane conforming to general formula (i) as discussed from [0013]-[0031]:
Wherein:
RA is a group having an acid labile group further described by the formula -P-Q-R at [0018]-[0026]
RB is a monovalent organic group such as an alkyl, cycloalkyl, alicyclic, aryl, or aralkyl group, such as but not limited to methyl, ethyl, pentyl, adamantyl, and norbornyl
Some or all hydrogen atoms may be substituted with a halogen, carboxy, hydroxyl, cyano, or nitro group
Subscript a is an integer of 1-3
Subscript b is an integer of 0-2
The sum of a and b is 1-3
When RB is a monovalent organic group including alkyl or cycloalkyl such as methyl, ethyl, and adamantyl, and these groups are hydroxy-substituted, the resultant compound has a moeity that meets the limitations of the claim for where X is a hydroxyalkyl group.
Anno ascribes improved phase separability to the composition when using the siloxane polymer derived from the subunit (i).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the filing date from the teachings of the reference, using the siloxane polymer and resultant composition in a photolithographic process in order to arrive at an improved product due to increased separability between the siloxane composition layer and any under/overlying layers.
Conclusion
/A.P.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738