Detailed Action
Specification Objection Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of the title of the invention is acknowledged. Thus, the objection to specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (WO 2020191623) of record, in view of Tsuchiya (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0061269).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 13 of Huang discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (202) including an opening area (2011, FIG. 12), a peripheral area (2012) surrounding the opening area, and a display area (201) surrounding the peripheral area; a pixel electrode (218) overlapping the display area; a common electrode (204) overlapping the pixel electrode; an intermediate layer disposed between the pixel electrode and the common electrode and including a light emitting layer (220) and a functional layer (203); a semiconductor layer (212) overlapping the substrate; a metal layer (4012B, FIG. 9) overlapping the substrate; and an organic layer (4012C) disposed between the substrate and the metal layer, wherein the common electrode, the functional layer, and the metal layer respectively have a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening overlapping each other and overlapping the substrate.
Huang is silent with respect to “a semiconductor layer overlapping the peripheral area and spaced from the display area” and “the metal layer directly contacts and covers a side surface of the organic layer”.
FIG. 9 of Tsuchiya discloses a similar display device, comprising a metal [0153] layer (221) overlapping the substrate; an organic [0148] layer (214) disposed between the substrate and the metal layer; a semiconductor [0128] layer (210) overlapping the peripheral area, the first/third openings, and spaced from the display area, wherein the metal layer directly contacts and covers a side surface of the organic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Tsuchiya, such that the common electrode, the functional layer, and the metal layer respectively have a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening overlapping each other and overlapping the semiconductor layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of preventing deterioration at the periphery and improving reliability for a long period of time ([0011] of Tsuchiya).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 13 of Huang discloses an encapsulation layer (205) overlapping the common electrode and including an inorganic layer, wherein the inorganic layer directly contacts the organic layer through the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 12 of Huang discloses at least one of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening surrounds the opening area.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 12 of Huang discloses the third opening is ring-shaped.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 13 of Huang discloses a first organic insulating layer (215), a second organic insulating layer (217), a pixel defining layer (219), and a spacer (208) sequentially stacked on the display area, wherein the organic layer includes a layer formed of a same material as at least one of the first organic insulating layer, the second organic insulating layer, the pixel defining layer, and the spacer.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 9 of Huang discloses the organic layer includes a first organic layer and a second organic layer overlapping the first organic layer.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 13 of Huang discloses an inorganic layer (216) disposed between the semiconductor layer (212) and the organic layer.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 12 of Huang discloses the substrate includes a through hole (2011) passing through the opening area.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 13 of Huang discloses the functional layer (203) includes at least one of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer.
Claims 3 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Tsuchiya, in view of Sakamoto (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0006267) of record.
Regarding Claim 3
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya discloses Claim 1.
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya is silent with respect to “a capping layer disposed between the common electrode and the encapsulation layer, wherein the capping layer has a fourth opening overlapping at least one of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening”.
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto discloses a similar display device, comprising a capping layer (335) disposed between the common electrode (333) and the encapsulation layer (339), wherein the capping layer has a fourth opening overlapping at least one of the first opening, the second opening, and the third opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Sakamoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of bending without break ([0060] of Sakamoto).
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto discloses thicknesses of the organic layer (327) are in a range of 1 µm to 7 µm [0071].
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Tsuchiya, in view of Abe (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0326553) of record.
Regarding Claim 7
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya discloses Claim 1.
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya is silent with respect to “a buffer layer disposed between the substrate and the semiconductor layer, wherein the metal layer directly contacts the buffer layer”.
FIG. 6 of Ryu discloses a similar display device, comprising a buffer layer (23) disposed between the substrate and the semiconductor layer, wherein the metal layer (40) directly contacts the buffer layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Abe. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of binding upper and lower thin film layers with improved designability while maintaining reliability ([0002] of Abe)
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Tsuchiya, in view of Ryu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0214299) of record.
Regarding Claim 8
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya discloses Claim 1.
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya is silent with respect to “a material of the metal layer is identical to a material of the pixel electrode”.
FIG. 6 of Ryu discloses a similar display device, wherein a material of the metal layer (94) is identical to a material of the pixel electrode [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Ryu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of simplifying manufacturing processes.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Tsuchiya, in view of Wang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0318615) of record.
Regarding Claim 15
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya discloses Claim 1.
Huang as modified by Tsuchiya is silent with respect to “a dam overlapping the peripheral area and surrounding the opening area, wherein the third opening is disposed between the display area and the dam or disposed between the dam and the opening area”.
FIG. 2 of Wang discloses a similar display device, comprising a dam (50) overlapping the peripheral area and surrounding the opening area (103), wherein the third opening is disposed between the display area and the dam or disposed between the dam and the opening area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Wang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of protecting the display device from water vapor ([0004] of Wang).
Claims 16-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0074479) of record, in view of Lee746 (KR 20080065746, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: a substrate that includes a display area (DA, FIG. 1), an opening area including a through hole (H), and a peripheral area (A) between the display area and the through hole; a light emitting diode overlapping the display area and including a pixel electrode (201), a portion of an intermediate layer (EL), and a portion of a common electrode (202); and a cut structure (LC) overlapping the peripheral area, spaced from the display area, and including a first refractive layer (polyamide 501/502 [0054]), a second refractive layer (SiOx 400 [0059]), and a reflective layer (301, alternatively stacked silicon oxide and silicon nitride [0116]), wherein a refractive index (1.50-1.80) of the first refractive layer is higher than a refractive index (1.46) of the second refractive area, wherein the intermediate layer and the common electrode respectively have a first opening and a second opening overlapping each other and overlapping the cut structure.
Lee is silent with respect to “the reflective layer is a metal layer”.
FIG. 2 of Lee746 discloses a similar display device, comprising a cut structure, wherein the reflective layer (24) is a metal layer (such as Cr or Cr alloy, Al or Al alloy, Mo or Mo alloy, Ag or Ag alloy, Ti or Ti alloy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Lee746. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of excellent conductivity and reflectivity.
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 2 of Lee discloses at least one of the first opening and the second opening surrounds the through hole.
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses the intermediate layer includes a light emitting layer and a functional layer, wherein the functional layer includes at least one of a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and an electron injection layer, and wherein the functional layer overlaps the peripheral area [0103].
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses an encapsulation layer (303) covering the light emitting diode and including an inorganic layer [0118], wherein the inorganic layer directly contacts the second refractive layer through the first opening and the second opening.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 17 of Lee discloses the second refractive layer overlaps the first refractive layer, wherein the first refractive layer is disposed between the second refractive layer and the substrate, and wherein the reflective layer covers a side surface of the second refractive layer.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Zou (CN 115032838, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 18 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: a substrate that includes a display area (DA, FIG. 1), an opening area including a through hole (H), and a peripheral area (A) between the display area and the through hole; a light emitting diode overlapping the display area and including a pixel electrode (201), a portion of an intermediate layer (EL), and a portion of a common electrode (202); and a cut structure (LC) overlapping the peripheral area, spaced from the display area, and including a first refractive layer (polyamide 501/502 [0054]), a second refractive layer (SiOx 400 [0059]), and a reflective layer (301, alternatively stacked silicon oxide and silicon nitride [0116]), wherein a refractive index (1.50-1.80) of the first refractive layer is higher than a refractive index (1.46) of the second refractive area, wherein the intermediate layer and the common electrode respectively have a first opening and a second opening overlapping each other and overlapping the cut structure.
Lee is silent with respect to “the reflective layer is a metal layer”.
FIG. 20 of Zou discloses a similar display device, wherein the reflective layer (70) is a metal layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Zou. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of simplifying the process flow and improving the reliability (Abstract of Zou).
Pertinent Art
FIG. 1 of Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0248867) discloses a display device, comprising a semiconductor layer (103) overlapping the peripheral area and spaced from the display area, wherein the common electrode (117), the light emitting layer (203, FIG. 2) and the functional layer (116) respectively have a first opening and a second opening overlapping each other and overlapping the semiconductor layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Huang, as taught by Kim, such that the common electrode, the functional layer, and the metal layer respectively have a first opening, a second opening, and a third opening overlapping each other and overlapping the semiconductor layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Huang in the above manner for purpose of binding upper and lower thin film layers with improved adhesion ([0007] of Kim). Seo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0209190) discloses a display device, comprising a semiconductor layer (320) overlapping the peripheral area and spaced from the display area. Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0350380) discloses a metal layer (E2) directly contacts and covers a side surface of an organic layer (INS). Pertinent art also includes Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0031323), Choi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0148856), US 20170237038, 20220216283 and 20130020591.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897