DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 2, and 8 have been fully considered. Applicant’s cancellation of claim 9 has been acknowledged. The added new claim 21 has been considered and examined. Based on the cited prior arts Im, Lee, and Cui and current interpretation of Im (US20180138157A1) the claims 1- 8, 10 – 14, and 21 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the specification has been fully considered and resolve the objection. The specification objection has been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment to the claim 1 in regards to the 35 USC 112 rejection has been fully considered and resolves the indefiniteness. The 35 USC 112 rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8, 10 - 12, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. (US20180138157A1; hereinafter Im) in view of Lee et al. (US20200185647A1; hereinafter Lee).
Im: FIG. 9
Im: FIG. 11A
Lee: FIG. 5
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently amended), Im discloses a display device (a light emitting display device, [0027]) comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels (EPA) comprising emission areas (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4) spaced apart from one another in a first direction (X direction), and a subsidiary area (PA), FIG. 10, [0090], [0132];
a via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) disposed on a substrate (base substrate 200), FIG. 9 reproduced above, [0104];
a bank layer (dam 230) disposed on the via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) and separating the emission areas (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4) of the plurality of sub-pixels (EPA) from one another. FIG. 10, [0132].
Im [0107], [0108] discloses each unit light emitting region EA may be surrounded by the dam 230 and 230 may be configured as a closed type sidewall, hence 230 is interpreted as a bank layer.
a dam portion (barrier 240) disposed between the bank layer (230) and an adjacent bank layer (230 of adjacent EPA), FIG. 11A reproduced above, [0143].
Im [0123] discloses the hydrophobic barrier 240 may prevent the excessive amount of the LED solution from being introduced into adjacent pixel regions EPA, hence 240 is interpreted as a dam portion.
the adjacent bank layer (230 of a second EPA) separating emission areas of another plurality of sub-pixels (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4 of second EPA) from one another and being adjacent the bank layer (230 of a first EPA) along a second direction (Y direction) intersecting the first direction (X direction), FIGS. 10, 11A, [0132].
a first electrode (first electrode 210) and a second electrode (second electrode 220) disposed on the via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) in at least one of the emission areas (EA) and spaced apart from each other, FIG. 9, [0094];
a light-emitting element (LEDs LD) disposed on the first electrode (210) and the second electrode (220), FIG. 9, [0098].
Im does not disclose “a dam portion separating a bank storage portion from the subsidiary area; the bank layer comprises a bank guide portion disposed between the at least one of the emission areas and the bank storage portion, and a shape of the bank guide portion is different from a shape of a rest of the bank layer in a cross-sectional view.”
In a similar art, Lee discloses a display device (display apparatus 1, FIG. 1, [0055]).
Lee discloses: a dam portion (third dam 130, [0070]) disposed between the bank layer (pixel defining layer 113, [0092]) and adjacent bank layer (113-1, [0147]), FIG. 5 reproduced above.
Lee [0068] discloses the first dam 110 and the second dam 120 function as dams that prevent an organic material from flowing towards edges of the substrate 100,
indicating the region between 110 and 120 is the bank storage portion.
the bank layer (113) comprises a bank guide portion (113-3) disposed between the at least one of the emission areas (DA) and the bank storage portion (region between dam 120 and dam 110), FIG. 7A, [0152], [0153].
Lee [0152], [0153] discloses the overflowed organic material moving towards 110 may be forced to flow back to the display area at the patterned region of 113-3/115-3, indicating the 113-3 functions as the bank guide portion.
a shape of the bank guide portion (113-3 may include an extension 113-3 a and a plurality of protrusions 113-3 b) is different from a shape of a rest of the bank layer (rest of 113) in a cross-sectional view, FIG. 7A, 7B, [0151].
Im [0107], [0110] discloses a dam portion 240 disposed between the bank 230 and an adjacent bank layer 230 of a neighboring EPA, and the space between 230 and 240 functions as the bank storage region. Lee [0067] discloses the display area DA is surrounded by dam 130 in the non-display area NDA; the combination of Im with Lee would provide a dam portion (Im: 240) that may separate the bank storage portion from the subsidiary area.
The combination of Im and Lee discloses a dam portion (Im: 240) separating a bank storage portion (Im: space between 230 and 240, FIG. 9, [0110]) from what would be the subsidiary area (Lee: non-display area, NDA, [0057]).
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display device [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 2 (Currently amended), The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 1.
Lee further discloses: wherein the bank storage portion (region between 110 and 120) is spaced apart from the emission areas (DA) in the second direction (Y direction) intersecting the first direction (X direction), FIG. 1, [0067], [0068];
the subsidiary area (NDA) is spaced apart from the bank storage portion (region between 110 and 120) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 1, [0067] and
the bank storage portion (region between 110 and 120) is disposed between the emission areas (DA) and the subsidiary area (NDA), FIG. 1, [0067].
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 2.
Lee further discloses: wherein
the shape of the bank guide portion (113-3) in the cross-sectional view is defined by cutting the bank guide portion in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 5, [0146], and
the shape of the rest of the bank layer (rest of 113) in the cross-sectional view is defined by cutting the bank layer (113) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 4, [0124].
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 2.
Lee further discloses: wherein a width of the bank guide portion (113-3) is smaller than a width of the rest of the bank layer (rest of 113) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 7A, [0152], [0174]. Lee [0152], [0172] discloses while patterning the layers 115-3/113-3, the width W2 may be less than the width W1 of the extension 113-a of the layer 113, indicating the width of the bank guide portion (113-3) can be varied and can be smaller than the width of the rest of the bank layer.
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 4.
Im discloses: wherein a height of the bank guide portion (portion of 230 facing the bank storage portion between 230 and 240) is equal to a height of the rest of the bank layer (rest of 230) in a thickness direction (vertical direction) of the bank layer (230), [0109]. Im [109] discloses the capacity of the dam 230 can be easily controlled by adjusting the area and/or height H1 of the dam 230, indicating the height of the bank layer can be varied and a height of the bank guide portion can be equal to a height of the rest of the bank layer.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Im and Le disclose the display device of claim 2.
Im discloses: wherein a height of the bank guide portion (portion of 230 facing the bank storage portion between 230 and 240) is smaller than a height of the rest of the bank layer (rest of 230) in a thickness direction (vertical direction) of the bank layer (230), [0109]. Im [0109] discloses the capacity of the dam 230 can be easily controlled by adjusting the area and/or height H1 of the dam 230, indicating the height of the bank layer can be varied and a height of the bank guide portion can be smaller than a height of the rest of the bank layer.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 6.
Lee further discloses: wherein a width of the bank guide portion (113-3) is equal to a width of the rest of the bank layer (rest of 113) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 7A, [0152], [0174].
Lee [0152], [0174] discloses while patterning the layers 115-3/113-3, the width W2 may be less than the width W1 of the extension 113-a of the layer 113, indicating the width of the bank guide portion (113-3) can be varied and can be equal to the width of the rest of the bank layer.
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 8 (Currently amended), The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 2.
Im discloses: wherein the dam portion (240) extends in the first direction (X direction),
a height of the dam portion (height H2 of 240) is equal to a height of the bank layer (height H1 of 230) in a thickness direction (vertical direction) of the bank layer (230), [0121].
Im does not disclose “and a width of the dam portion is smaller than a width of the bank layer in the second direction.”
Lee discloses: wherein a width of the dam portion (W2 of 130) is smaller than a width of the bank layer (W1 of 113) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 7A, [0152].
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 2.
Lee further discloses: wherein the dam portion (130) comprises a plurality of dam extensions extending in the second direction (plurality of protrusions 113-3a in the Y direction) and disposed adjacent to the bank guide portion (113-3), FIG. 7A, 7B, [0151] and
the plurality of dam extensions (plurality of protrusions 113-3a and 113-3b) and the bank layer (113) are integral with each other, [0146], [0151].
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Im and Lee discloses the display device of claim 10.
The combination of Im and Lee discloses: wherein the bank storage portion (Im: region between 230 and 240) is defined by the plurality of dam extensions (Lee: plurality of protrusions 113-3a and 113-3b), the bank layer comprising the bank guide portion (Im: portion of 230 facing 240), and the dam portion (240, FIG. 9, [0110]).
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 11.
Im discloses: wherein the bank storage portion (Im: region between 230 and 240) is in one to one correspondence with each of the emission areas of the plurality of sub-pixels (emission areas EA1 to EA4) in the second direction (Y direction), FIG. 9, FIG. 10, [0132].
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 1.
The combination of Im and Lee disclose: wherein the dam portion (Im: 240; Lee:130) and the bank layer (Im: 230; Lee: 113) are disposed on a same layer (Im: [0143]) and comprise a same material (Lee: [0146]).
Lee discloses that a device as taught improves planarity, controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display [0069], [0146]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to improve planarity and reduce defects in the display device disclosed by Lee [0069], [0146].
Regarding Claim 21 (New), Im discloses an electronic device (a light emitting display device, [0027]) comprising:
a plurality of sub-pixels (EPA) comprising emission areas (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4) spaced apart from one another in a first direction (X direction), and a subsidiary area (PA), FIG. 10, [0090], [0132];
a via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) disposed on a substrate (base substrate 200), FIG. 9, [0104];
a bank layer (dam 230) disposed on the via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) and separating the emission areas (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4) of the plurality of sub-pixels (EPA) from one another. FIG. 10, [0132].
Im [0107], [0108] discloses each unit light emitting region EA may be surrounded by the dam 230 and 230 may be configured as a closed type sidewall, hence 230 is interpreted as a bank layer.
a dam portion (barrier 240) disposed between the bank layer (230) and an adjacent bank layer (230 of adjacent EPA), FIG. 11A, [0143].
Im [0123] discloses the hydrophobic barrier 240 may prevent the excessive amount of the LED solution from being introduced into adjacent pixel regions EPA, hence 240 is interpreted as a dam portion.
the adjacent bank layer (230 of a second EPA) separating emission areas of another plurality of sub-pixels (EA1, EA2, EA3, EA4 of second EPA) from one another and being adjacent the bank layer (230 of a first EPA) along a second direction (Y direction) intersecting the first direction (X direction), FIGS. 10, 11A, [0132].
a first electrode (first electrode 210) and a second electrode (second electrode 220) disposed on the via layer (an intermediate layer, the insulating layer 201 and a predetermined layer) in at least one of the emission areas (EA) and spaced apart from each other, FIG. 9, [0094];
a light-emitting element (LEDs LD) disposed on the first electrode (210) and the second electrode (220), FIG. 9, [0098].
Im does not disclose “a dam portion separating a bank storage portion from the subsidiary area; the bank layer comprises a bank guide portion disposed between the at least one of the emission areas and the bank storage portion, and a shape of the bank guide portion is different from a shape of a rest of the bank layer in a cross-sectional view.”
In a similar art, Lee discloses a display device (display apparatus 1, FIG. 1, [0055]).
Lee discloses: a dam portion (third dam 130, [0070]) disposed between the bank layer (pixel defining layer 113, [0092]) and adjacent bank layer (113-1, [0147]).
Lee [0068] discloses the first dam 110 and the second dam 120 function as dams that prevent an organic material from flowing towards edges of the substrate 100,
indicating the region between 110 and 120 is the bank storage portion.
the bank layer (113) comprises a bank guide portion (113-3) disposed between the at least one of the emission areas (DA) and the bank storage portion (region between dam 120 and dam 110), FIG. 7A, [0152], [0153].
Lee [0152], [0153] discloses the overflowed organic material moving towards 110 may be forced to flow back to the display area at the patterned region of 113-3/115-3, indicating the 113-3 functions as the bank guide portion.
a shape of the bank guide portion (113-3 may include an extension 113-3 a and a plurality of protrusions 113-3 b) is different from a shape of a rest of the bank layer (rest of 113) in a cross-sectional view, FIG. 7A, 7B, [0151].
Im [0107], [0110] discloses a dam portion 240 disposed between the bank 230 and an adjacent bank layer 230 of a neighboring EPA, and the space between 230 and 240 functions as the bank storage region. Lee [0067] discloses the display area DA is surrounded by dam 130 in the non-display area NDA; the combination of Im with Lee would provide a dam portion (Im: 240) that may separate the bank storage portion from the subsidiary area.
The combination of Im and Lee discloses a dam portion (Im: 240) separating a bank storage portion (Im: space between 230 and 240, FIG. 9, [0110]) from what would be the subsidiary area (Lee: non-display area, NDA, [0057]).
Lee discloses that a device as taught effectively controls overflow of the organic material and reduces defects in the display device [0069]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im’s device, in order to provide a display device with reduced defects and improved quality as disclosed by Lee [0069].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im in view of Lee, further in view of Cui (US20190371873A1; hereinafter Cui).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Im and Lee disclose the display device of claim 11.
In a similar art, Cui discloses a display device [0002].
Cui discloses: wherein the bank guide portion (guiding groove 42) is disposed between the at least one of the emission areas (pixel defining groove 41) and the bank storage portion (communicating groove 5) and is in contact with the at least one of the emission areas (41) and the bank storage portion (5), FIG. 2, [0042].
Cui discloses that a device as taught provides uniform film thickness and improves the display quality [0051]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Im and Lee’s device, to provide a display with improved display quality as disclosed by Cui [0051].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Krishna J Palaniswamy whose telephone number
is (571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM -
5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-483-7639.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899