DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 12/23/2025 amendments of claims 1, 6-7 and 16 are noted and entered.
The 12/23/2025 cancellation of claims 4-5 and 17-18 is noted and entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 10/18/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-13, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Akagawa et al, US 20200227680 A1 (Akagawa).
The examiner would like to offer an explanation of why Akagawa is used to reject some of the limitations of the newly amended claims despite the remarks offered by the Applicant in the first paragraph on page 10 of the Remarks filed on 12/23/2025.
The examiner relies on Akagawa to teach the limitations of the first and third color filters extending beyond the dam structure while the distance between the outer most edges of the color filters are still taught by Kim. The examiner does not see a reason for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have to abandon the teachings of Kim regarding the outer most edges of the first and third color filters to adopt the teaching of Akagawa of extending the color filters beyond the dam structure. To point this out, the examiner draws attention to Figure (20) of Akagawa which shows an embodiment of their invention in which the first and third color filters are extending beyond the dam structure and the outer most edges are separated in the direction along the surface of the substrate thus showing that the two sets of limitations are combinable.
New Grounds for Rejection
New grounds for rejection, prior art reference Akagawa et al, US 20200227680 A1 (Akagawa) appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, WO 2022004958 A1 (Kim) in view of Akagawa et al, US 20200227680 A1 (Akagawa).
Regarding claim 1; Kim teaches a display device (2) comprising: a substrate (110) comprising a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NDA) surrounding the display area (DA); a plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) comprising a plurality of light emitting elements ((ED1), (ED2) and (ED3)) disposed on the substrate (110) in the display area (DA), the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) comprising a first sub-pixel (LA1) and a second sub-pixel (LA2); an upper bank layer (310) surrounding the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) and the display area (DA); a plurality of color control members ((183), (250), (231), (233), (235), (330), (340) and (350)) disposed in a region surrounded by the upper bank layer (310) in each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)), the plurality of color control members ((183), (250), (231), (233), (235), (330), (340) and (350)) comprising: a first wavelength conversion layer (340) disposed in the first sub-pixel (LA1), and a second wavelength conversion layer (350) disposed in the second sub-pixel (LA2) different from the first sub-pixel (LA1); a plurality of color filter layers ((250), (231), (233), (235)) disposed on the plurality of color control members ((183), (250), (231), (233), (235), (330), (340) and (350)), the plurality of color filter layers ((250), (231), (233), (235)) comprising: a first color filter layer (231) disposed on the first wavelength conversion layer (340), a second color filter layer (233) disposed on the second wavelength conversion layer (350), and a third color filter layer (250); a dam member (OS) spaced apart from the upper bank layer (310), the dam member (OS) surrounding the display area (DA) in the non-display area (NDA); and a valley (Valley – see annotated Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA for convenience) disposed between the dam member (OS) and the upper bank layer (310), the valley (Valley – see annotated Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA for convenience) surrounding the display area (DA), wherein the first color filter layer (231) extends from the display area (DA) to the non-display area (NDA), and the third color filter layer (250) is disposed on the first color filter layer (231) disposed in the non- display area (NDA), and an outermost edge of the first color filter (231) layer disposed in the non-display area (NDA) is spaced apart from an outermost edge of the third color filter layer (250) disposed in the non-display area (NDA).
Kim does not teach each of the first color filter layer and the third color filter layer extends to an outside of the dam member.
Akagawa teaches each of the first color filter (61G) layer and the third color filter layer (61R) extends to an outside of the dam member (26) (see Figures (6) and (20) of Akagawa shared in this OA for convenience). Kim and Akagawa are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim by making the first and third color filters extend beyond the dam structure as disclosed in Akagawa to improve the capture and filtration of all light produced by the light emitting elements leading to a better performing device.
Regarding claim 2; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the first color filter layer (231) and the third color filter layer (250) overlap each other in a thickness direction at a boundary area between the first sub-pixel (LA1) and the non-display area (NDA).
Regarding claim 7; Kim in view of Akagawa discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim does not teach wherein the outermost edge of the third color filter layer disposed in the non-display area covers the outermost edge of the first color filter layer disposed in the non-display area, and the outermost edge of the third color filter layer does not overlap the outermost edge of the first color filter layer in a thickness direction.
Akagawa teaches wherein the outermost edge of the third color filter layer (61G) disposed in the non-display area (A20) covers the outermost edge of the first color filter layer (61R) disposed in the non-display area (A20), and the outermost edge of the third color filter layer (61G) does not overlap the outermost edge of the first color filter layer (61R) in a thickness direction. Kim and Akagawa are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim by using the outermost edge of the third color filter to cover the outermost edge of the first color filter as disclosed in Akagawa to improve the capture and filtration of the light emitted by the light emitting elements in the display device leading to a better performing device.
Regarding claim 8; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the first color filter layer (231) includes a red colorant (see the specification of Kim: “For example, the first color filter 231 may be a red color filter and may include a red colorant”), and the third color filter layer (250) includes a blue colorant (see the specification of Kim: “In some embodiments, the color pattern 250 may include a blue colorant such as a blue dye or a blue pigment.”.
Regarding claim 9; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the dam member (OS) is a single layer and disposed in the non-display area (NDA).
Regarding claim 10; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) comprise a third sub-pixel (LA3) different from the first sub-pixel (LA1) and the second sub-pixel (LA2), the plurality of color control members ((183), (250), (231), (233), (235), (330), (340) and (350)) further comprise a light transmitting layer (183) disposed in the third sub-pixel (LA3), and the third color filter (250) layer is disposed on the light transmitting layer (183) in the third sub- pixel (LA3).
Regarding claim 11; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches further comprising: a first capping layer (271) disposed on the plurality of color control members ((183), (250), (231), (233), (235), (330), (340) and (350)) and the upper bank layer (310); a low refractive layer (273) disposed on the first capping layer (271); a second capping layer (275) disposed on the low refractive layer (273); and a planarization layer (190) disposed on the second capping layer (275), wherein the first capping layer (271), the second capping layer (275), and the planarization layer (190) are disposed across the display area (DA) and the non-display area (NDA).
Regarding claim 13; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations claimed in claim 11.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the plurality of color filter layers ((231), (233), (235)) are disposed directly on the planarization layer (190), and the first color filter layer (231) and the third color filter layer (250) disposed in the non-display area (NDA) are disposed on the planarization layer (190)
However, Kim does not teach the first filter layer and the third filter layer and the planarization layer being disposed at an outside of the dam member.
Akagawa teaches the first filter layer (61G) and the third filter layer (61R) and the planarization layer (43) being disposed at an outside of the dam member (26). Kim and Akagawa are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim by making the first filter layer and the third filter layer and the planarization layer being disposed at an outside of the dam member as disclosed in Akagawa to capture and filter more light from the light produced by the light emitting elements in the display leading to a better performing display device.
Regarding claim 14; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Kim teaches further comprising a bank layer (D3) surrounding each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) and the display area (DA), wherein the upper bank layer (310) is disposed on the bank layer (D3).
Regarding claim 15; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 14.
Further, Kim teaches wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) comprise a first electrode (AE1) and a second electrode (CE) spaced apart from each other in a region surrounded by the bank layer (310), and each of the plurality of light emitting elements (ED1) of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) has a first end disposed on the first electrode (AE1) and a second end disposed on the second electrode (CE).
Regarding claim 16; Kim teaches a display device comprising: a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NDA) surrounding the display area (DA); a plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) disposed in the display area (DA) and arranged in a first direction (X-axis spanning left to right in Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA) and a second direction (Y-axis spanning into and out of the page directions in Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA) intersecting the first direction, each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) comprising: a first electrode (AE1), a second electrode (CE) spaced apart from the first electrode (AE1), and a light emitting element (ED1) including a first end disposed on the first electrode (AE1) and a second end disposed on the second electrode (CE); an upper bank layer surrounding the display area, the upper bank layer (310) surrounding a light transmitting area of each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)); a plurality of color filter layers ((231), (233), (235) and (250)) disposed in the light transmitting area of each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) and in a light blocking area (D21) overlapping the upper bank layer (310) around the light transmitting area of each of the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)); a dam member (OS) spaced apart from the upper bank layer (310) and disposed in the non-display area (NDA), the dam member (OS) surrounding the display area (DA); and a valley (Valley – see annotated Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA for convenience) disposed between the dam member (OS) and the upper bank layer (310) in a plan view, the valley (Valley – see annotated Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA for convenience) surrounding the display area (DA), wherein the plurality of color filter layers ((231), (233), (235) and (250)) comprise: a first color filter layer (231) disposed in an outermost sub-pixel (LA1) among the plurality of sub-pixels ((LA1), (LA2) and (LA3)) and extending to the non-display area (NDA), and a second color filter layer (250) including a colorant different from a colorant of the first color filter layer (231), the second color filter layer(250) disposed on the first color filter layer (231) without being disposed in the light transmitting area of the outermost sub-pixel (LA1), and an outermost edge of the first color filter layer (231) is spaced apart from an outermost edge of the second color filter layer (250).
However, Kim does not teach wherein the outermost edge of the first color filter layer is disposed at an outside of the dam member, and the outermost edge of the second color filter layer is disposed between the dam member and the outermost edge of the first color filter layer in a plan view.
Akagawa teaches wherein the outermost edge of the first color filter layer (61G) is disposed at an outside of the dam member (26), and the outermost edge of the second color filter layer (61R) is disposed between the dam member (26) and the outermost edge of the first color filter layer (61G) in a plan view (see Figures (6) and (20) of Akagawa shared in this OA for convenience). Kim and Akagawa are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim by making the outermost edge structure of the first and second color filter layers as disclosed in Akagawa to improve the capturing and filtration capabilities of the color filters leading to a better performing display device.
Regarding claim 19; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 16.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the first color filter layer (231) and the second color filter layer (250) overlap each other in the light blocking area the area above element (310) since (310 has light blocking abilities as disclosed in the specification of Kim).
Regarding claim 20; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations of claim 19.
However, Kim does not teach further comprising: a color pattern disposed between the first color filter layer and the second color filter layer in the light blocking area, wherein the color pattern includes a colorant different from colorants of the first color filter layer and the second color filter layer.
Akagawa teaches further comprising: a color pattern (61B) disposed between the first color filter layer (61G) and the second color filter layer (61R) in the light blocking area (A20), wherein the color pattern (61B) includes a colorant different from colorants of the first color filter layer (61G) and the second color filter layer (61R). Kim and Akagawa are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim by using the color pattern disposed between the first and second color filters as disclosed in Akagawa to improve the light capturing and filtration capabilities of the filter layers leading to a better performing display device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, WO 2022004958 A1 (Kim) in view of Akagawa et al, US 20200227680 A1 (Akagawa) in further view of Choe, US 20210074770 A1 (Choe) in further view of Yang et al, US 20210324268 A1 (Yang)
Regarding claim 3; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the claimed imitations of claim 2.
However, Kim in view of Akagawa does not teach further comprising a color pattern disposed between the first color filter layer and the third color filter layer at the boundary area between the first sub-pixel and the non-display area, wherein the color pattern and the second color filter layer include a same colorant.
Choe teaches further comprising a color pattern (320R) disposed between the first color filter layer (340R) and the third color filter layer (330R) at the boundary area between the first sub-pixel (area containing (310R) – see Fig (11) of Choe reproduced in this OA for convenience) and the non-display area (area to the left of the area containing (310R) – see Fig (11) of Choe reproduced in this OA for convenience). Kim in view of Akagawa and Choe are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view of Akagawa by using the color pattern between the first and third color filters as disclosed in Choe to improve the filtration process of the device and thus lead to a better performing display device.
Kim in view of Akagawa in further view of Choe teaches the above disclosed subject matter.
However, Kim in view of Akagawa in further view of Choe does not teach wherein the color pattern and the second color filter layer include a same colorant.
Yang teaches wherein the color pattern (230) and the second color filter layer (310) include a same colorant (see paragraph [063] of the specification of Yang: “[0163] Optionally, the display device may further have a blue light blocking layer (blue cut filter) or a first optical filter 310 layer. The blue light blocking layer may be disposed between bottom surfaces of the first section (R) and the second section (G) and the upper substrate 240, or on the top surface of the upper substrate 240. The blue light blocking layer may be a sheet having openings that correspond to a pixel area showing, e.g., emitting, a blue color (e.g., third section) and may be formed on portions corresponding to the first and second sections.”. Kim in view of Akagawa in further view of Choe and Yang are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Kim in view of Akagawa in further view of Choe by using the same colorant in the color pattern and the second color filter as disclosed in Yang to improve the color filtration and separation in the display device leading to a better performing device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, WO 2022004958 A1 (Kim) in view of Akagawa et al, US 20200227680 A1 (Akagawa) in further view of Bang et al, US 20200168685 A1 (Bang).
Regarding claim 12; Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the limitations claimed in claim 11.
Further, Kim teaches wherein the low refractive layer (273) is disposed in a region surrounded by the dam member (310), the first capping layer (271) is disposed on the valley (Valley – see annotated Fig (30) of Kim shared in this OA).
Kim in view of Akagawa teaches all the above subject matter.
However, Kim in view of Akagawa does not teach the first capping layer is disposed on the dam member, and the second capping layer is in direct contact with the first capping layer on the dam member.
Bang teaches the first capping layer (131) is disposed on the dam member (DM2), and the second capping layer (133) is in direct contact with the first capping layer (131) on the dam member (DM2). Kim in view of Akagawa and Bang are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view of Akagawa by depositing the first and second capping layers on the dam feature as disclosed in Bang to improve the insulation of the structure of the display device leading to a more reliable device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6; Kim alone or in combination with other available resources does not disclose wherein a distance between an outermost edge of the non-display area and the outermost edge of the first color filter layer is smaller than a distance between the outermost edge of the non-display area and the outermost edge of the third color filter layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOATAZ KHALIFA/Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815