DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 7 is/are cancelled; claim(s) 12-20 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are amended.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen is silent to chucking electrodes in the substrate support and does not teach the DC bias voltage sources coupled to the same electrodes as a clamping network.
Examiner disagrees, and notes that Sadjadi already teaches the first plurality of electrodes (136/140, Fig. 1) within the substrate support (132) which does not need to be retaught by Chen, and also notes that there are no “chucking electrodes” claimed in claim 1, despite what Applicant has argued. Additionally, Sadjadi already discloses the DC power supplies (138) coupled to the electrodes (136/140), which does not need to be retaught by Chen.
Due to the explanations above, Applicant’s arguments are rendered not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Signal detection module (input channels, fast data acquisition module], Fig. [0094]) in at least claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150311105 to Sadjadi in view of US 20140263182 to Chen.
Claim 1: Sadjadi discloses a plasma processing system, comprising: a substrate support assembly (126 [substrate support assembly], Fig. 1-4), comprising: a support base (130 [cooling base]); and a substrate support (132 [pixelated ESC]) disposed on the support base (130, Fig. 2), the substrate support (132) comprising a dielectric body (150/228 [puck]/dielectric body], para. [0038]) formed to define a substrate supporting surface (133 [workpiece surface]) and a plurality of first electrodes (136/140) disposed in the dielectric body (150/228) between the substrate supporting surface (133) and the support base (130);
The apparatus of Chen discloses further comprising: a first clamping network (138 [chucking power source], Fig. 4) electrically coupled to the plurality of first electrodes (136/140), the first clamping network (138) comprising one or more first direct current (DC) power supplies (138) configured to deliver a clamping voltage to the plurality of first electrodes (136/140) to electrostatically chuck a substrate to the substrate support (132).
However Sadjadi does not disclose and a bias module, comprising: a plurality of first waveform generators, each coupled to one or more of the plurality of first electrodes, wherein each of the plurality of first waveform generators is configured to establish a pulsed voltage (PV) waveform at the one or more first electrodes electrically coupled thereto, and each of the plurality of first waveform generators is independently controllable so that one or more characteristics of a PV waveform established by one of the plurality of first waveform generators can be adjusted relative to one or more characteristics of the PV waveforms established by other ones of the plurality of first waveform generators.
Chen discloses a bias module (74 [DC voltage source], Fig. 6), comprising: a plurality of first waveform generators (74a-74c [DC bias voltage sources]), each coupled to one or more of the plurality of first electrodes (22a-22c [electrode segments]), wherein each of the plurality of first waveform generators (74a-74c) is configured to establish a pulsed voltage (PV) waveform at the one or more first electrodes electrically coupled thereto (para. [0037]), and each of the plurality of first waveform generators (74a-74c) is independently controllable so that one or more characteristics of a PV waveform established by one of the plurality of first waveform generators can be adjusted relative to one or more characteristics of the PV waveforms established by other ones of the plurality of first waveform generators (para. [0037]). Chen discloses the above limitations for the purpose of being adjusted to improve radial uniformity (para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bias module and components as taught by Chen with motivation to be adjust to improve radial uniformity.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses wherein the plurality of first electrodes (136/140, Fig. 3-4, Sadjadi) are coplanar with one another (para. [0036]).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses wherein the plurality of first electrodes (136/140, Fig. 3-4, Sadjadi) are arranged in a repeating pattern (grid/array) across a radius or width of the dielectric body (Fig. 3-4).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses wherein the repeating pattern (grid/array of 136/140, Fig. 3-4, Sadjadi) comprises an array pattern, a sector pattern, a concentric ring pattern, a quadrant pattern, or a combination thereof (para. 0036]).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses wherein the plurality of first electrodes (136/140, Fig. 3-4, Sadjadi) are arranged to provide for asymmetric biasing across a diameter or along a radius of a substrate disposed on the substrate supporting surface (para. [0036]). It is further noted that the above limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus. The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses further comprising: a signal detection module (210 [pixel controller], Fig. 4, Sadjadi) configured to receive electrical data from a plurality of biasing pixel circuits (136/140 [Sadadi] & 74a-74c [Chen]), each biasing pixel circuit comprising one of the plurality of first waveform generators (74a-74c [Chen]) and the corresponding one or more first electrodes (136/140 [Sadjadi]) electrically coupled to thereto; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (412 [controller]) having instructions for analyzing the electrical data to determine one or more characteristics of a portion of a plasma sheath formed over the one or more first electrodes (para. [0063-0064], Sadjadi).
Claim 7: (Cancelled).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen discloses further comprising one or more blocking capacitors (440 [capacitors], Fig. 4, Sadjadi) respectively coupled between the first clamping network (138) and the plurality of first waveform generators (74a-74c, Chen).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadjadi in view of Chen as applied to claims 1-6, 8 above, and further in view of US 20160189994 to Sasaki, US 20210296098 to Cho.
Claims 9-10: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen does not disclose (claim 9) wherein the dielectric body of the substrate support is formed to define an edge ring supporting surface that at least partially surrounds the substrate supporting surface and the substrate support further comprises a plurality of second electrodes disposed in the dielectric body between the edge ring supporting surface and the support base; (claim 10) further comprising: a plurality of second waveform generators, each electrically coupled to one or more of the plurality of second electrodes and configured to establish a pulsed voltage (PV) waveform thereat, wherein each of the plurality of second waveform generators is independently controllable so that one or more characteristics of a PV waveform established by one of the plurality of first waveform generators can be adjusted relative to one or more characteristics of the PV waveforms established by other ones of the plurality of first waveform generators
Sasaki discloses (claim 9) wherein a dielectric body of the substrate support (25 [electrostatic chuck], Fig. 2) is formed to define an edge ring supporting surface (surface of 25b [annular outer peripheral portion]) that at least partially surrounds the substrate supporting surface (surface of 25a [central portion]) and the substrate support (25) further comprises a plurality of second electrodes (25d-1, 25d-2, Fig. 2) disposed in the dielectric body (25b) between the edge ring supporting surface (surface of 25b) and the support base (11 [susceptor]);
(claim 10) further comprising: a plurality of second waveform generators (28-1, 28-2 [DC power supplies], Fig. 2), each electrically coupled to one or more of the plurality of second electrodes (25d-1, 25d-2) and configured to establish a voltage (PV) waveform thereat (para. [0025]), wherein each of the plurality of second waveform generators is independently controllable so that one or more characteristics of a PV waveform established by one of the plurality of first waveform generators can be adjusted relative to one or more characteristics of the PV waveforms established by other ones of the plurality of first waveform generators (para. [0025]). Sasaki discloses the above limitations for the purpose of dealing with technical problems caused by the progress of microprocessing of the wafer (para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the edge ring, electrodes, and second generators as taught by Sasaki with motivation to deal with technical problems caused by the progress of microprocessing of the wafer.
Regarding pulsed voltage capability (claim 10), Cho teaches the chucking electrodes (228, Fig. 2) for the edge ring (210) can be coupled to a pulsed DC power source (258) for the purpose of having minimum impact on the substrate (122) and direct voltage control (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the voltage requirements as taught by Cho with motivation to have minimum impact on the substrate and direct voltage control.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Sadjadi in view of Chen, Sasaki, Cho further comprising a radio-frequency (RF) generator (116 [RF power source], Fig. 1, Sadjadi) electrically coupled to: a chamber lid or the support base, wherein the RF generator is configured to deliver an RF signal used to ignite and maintain the plasma; or a plasma generator assembly (120 [plasma applicator]) configured to generate an electromagnetic field used to ignite and maintain the plasma (para. [0026-0027]).
Claims 12-20: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180226225 discloses a substrate support (104, Fig. 1) on a support base (106), a plurality of electrodes (122 [pins]), each connected to a plurality of pulsed voltage generators (702-1-702-4, Fig. 7), independently controllable (para. [0028]), with an edge ring (150) also having a pulsed voltage generator (para. [0036]).
US 20230087307 discloses a substrate support (105, Fig. 1) on a support base (107), a plurality of electrodes (104, 115), each connected to a plurality of pulsed voltage generators (150, Fig. 7), independently controllable (para. [0044]), with an edge ring (114) also having a pulsed voltage generator (para. [0044]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718