DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 & 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US Pub no. 2021/0035962 A1) in view of Chai (US Pub no. 2020/0258938 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al discloses a method of manufacturing a display device comprising: forming an insulating layer (IL- Examiner notes that IL is formed o DP by way of SL)[0074][0129] on a panel (DP)comprising a first electrode (E1)and a second electrode(E2) in each of emission areas(PX) and spaced apart from each other[0066][0077] fig. 9b; applying a first voltage to at least one of the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2)[0129]; and attaching charged light emitting elements (ED) to the emission areas utilizing static electricity between the light emitting elements(ED) and the insulating layer(IL)[0074][0129][0135][0139].
Jung et al fails to teach wherein the first electrode is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas, and is connected to a first alignment power source line through a first switching element, and wherein the second electrode is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas, and is connected to a second alignment power source line through a second switching element.
However, Chai et al teaches an alignment unit (145) comprising a first electrode (EL1) configured to be separated for each of the emission areas(PXL), and is connected to a first alignment power source(PL3) line through a first switching element(SW1)[0143], and wherein the second electrode(EL2) is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas(PXL), and is connected to a second alignment power source line(PL2) through a second switching element(SW3)[0145]. Since using a first alignment power source line through a first switching element, and a second alignment power source line through a second switching element is one of finite solutions to induce alignment of the light emitting elements by forming an electric field in corresponding pixels as taught by Chai et al[0136], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to try in Jung et al because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007))
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al discloses wherein each of the light emitting elements has a diameter or length in a range of a nano-meter scale to a micro-meter scale[0125].
Regarding claim 3, Jung et al discloses wherein each of the light emitting elements(EDM) comprises: a first semiconductor layer (SCN);
a second semiconductor layer(SCP); an active layer (AL)between the first semiconductor layer(SCN) and the second semiconductor layer(SCP);
an insulating film (IL-[0080]-may include one or more materials therefore, examiner notes an additional insulating film is present around AL)around an outer peripheral surface of the active layer (AL); and an insulator (LD)around the first semiconductor layer(SCN), the second semiconductor layer(SCP), and the insulating film f (IL-[0080]-may include one or more materials therefore, examiner notes an additional insulating film is present around AL), the second semiconductor layer(SCP), and the insulating film (IL [0080]may include one or more materials therefore, examiner notes an additional insulating film is present around AL)around an outer peripheral surface of the active layer (AL)).
Regarding claim 4, Jung et al discloses , wherein the insulator (LD)comprises at least one of carbon [0089].
Regarding claim 5, Jung et al discloses wherein the insulator (LD)covers the first and second semiconductor layers(SCN/SCP) exposed by the insulating film (IL-[0080]-may include one or more materials therefore, examiner notes an additional insulating film is present around AL).
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al discloses wherein the applying the first voltage to at least one of the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2) comprises:
applying the first voltage to each of the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2)[0129].
Regarding claim 9, wherein the applying the first voltage to at least
one of the first electrode (RME1) and the second electrode (RME2)comprises: connecting the first electrode and the second electrode to the first alignment
power source line (VDL) and the second alignment power source line(VSL) by turning on the first switching element (T1) and the second switching element(T2), respectively; and turning off the first switching element and the second switching element before
attaching the light emitting elements(ED) to the emission areas(EMA)[0070] [0073][0184][0187][0194-0195].
Regarding claim 10, Jung et al discloses supplying a solvent(SL) to the emission areas[0133-0135]; and aligning the light emitting elements (ED) between the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2) in each of the emission areas by applying a first alignment voltage and a second alignment voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode[0139][0129], respectively but fails to teach wherein one of the first alignment voltage and the second alignment voltage is an AC voltage, and another of the first alignment voltage and the second alignment voltage is a ground voltage.
However, Chai et al discloses teach wherein one of the first alignment voltage and the second alignment voltage is an AC voltage, and another of the first alignment voltage and the second alignment voltage is a ground voltage[0294][0297] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jung et al with the teachings of Chai et al to improve the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al discloses, wherein the supplying the solvent (SL) to the emission areas[0133-0135] but fails to teach supplying the solvent to each of the emission areas through an inkjet method.
However , Chai et al discloses light emitting elements LD are injected into the light emitting area EMA of each pixel PXL by using an inkjet printing technique. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Jung et al with the teachings of Chai et al because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying the inkjet method to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 7 USPQ2d 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
Regarding claim 12, Jung et al discloses further comprising: forming an insulating pattern (L6)[0114] on the light emitting elements (ED) between the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2) fig. 6.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (US Pub no. 2021/0035962 A1) in view of Lim (US Pub no. 2022/0209070 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the attaching the charged light emitting elements (EDM)to the emission areas (EMA)comprises: charging the light emitting elements(EDM) and attaching the charged light emitting elements(EDM) [0129][0132] but fails to teach charged light emitting elements to an outer peripheral surface of a transfer roller; and transferring the charged light emitting elements to the emission areas from the transfer roller.
However, Lim et al discloses attaching light emitting elements(300) to an outer peripheral surface of a transfer roller (ROLL); and transferring the light emitting elements (300)to the emission areas from the transfer roller(ROLL) [0171]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jung et al with the teachings of Lim et al such that charged light emitting elements to an outer peripheral surface of a transfer roller; and transferring the charged light emitting elements to the emission areas from the transfer roller results because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of using an roller device to insert light emitting elements to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 7 USPQ2d 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1988)
Claim(s) 16-18 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko (US Pub no. 2020/0152835 A1) in view of Chai (US Pub no. 2020/0258938 A1)
in view of Jung (US Pub no. 2021/0035962 A1)
Regarding claim 16, Ko et al discloses display device comprising: a first electrode (E1)and a second electrode (E2)in each of emission areas (PXA)of a substrate(BL1)[0101][0109];and spaced apart from each other fig. 3b; an insulating layer (L6)on the substrate(BL1) to cover the first electrode (E1)and the second
electrode(E2)[0101]; a light emitting element (ED)on the insulating layer (L6)and aligned between the first electrode(E1) and the second electrode(E2)[0074]; a first contact electrode(CNE1) on the first electrode(E1) and in contact with a first end of the light emitting element(ED)[0096]; and a second contact electrodeCNE2) on the second electrode (E2)and in contact with a second end of the light emitting element(ED) [0096], wherein the light emitting element (ED)comprises: a first semiconductor layer(SCN); a second semiconductor layer(SCP); an active layer(AL) between the first semiconductor layer (SCN)and the second semiconductor layer (SCP); an insulating film (IL) around an outer peripheral surface of the active layer (AL)[0117].
Ko et al fails to teach an insulator around the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the insulating film; and the first electrode is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas, and is connected to a first alignment power source line through a first switching element, and wherein the second electrode is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas, and is connected to a second alignment power source line through a second switching element.
However, Chai et al teaches an alignment unit (145) comprising a first electrode (EL1) configured to be separated for each of the emission areas(PXL), and is connected to a first alignment power source(PL3) line through a first switching element(SW1)[0143], and wherein the second electrode(EL2) is configured to be separated for each of the emission areas(PXL), and is connected to a second alignment power source line(PL2) through a second switching element(SW3)[0145]. Since using a first alignment power source line through a first switching element, and a second alignment power source line through a second switching element is one of finite solutions to induce alignment of the light emitting elements by forming an electric field in corresponding pixels as taught by Chai et al[0136], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to try in Ko et al because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007))
Ko et al in view of Chai et al discloses the claim limitations above but fails to teach an insulator around the first semiconductor layer, the second semiconductor layer, and the insulating film
However, Jung et al teaches an insulator (LD) around the first semiconductor layer(SCP), the second semiconductor layer(SCN), and the insulating film(IL) [0074][0088] fig. 5a. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ko et al & Chai et al with the teachings of Jung et al to provide improved reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Jung et al discloses wherein the insulator (LD)comprises at least one of carbon[0089].
Regarding claim 18, Ko et al discloses wherein the light emitting element (ED) has a diameter or length in a range of a nano-meter scale to a micro-meter scale[0073].
Regarding claim 20, Ko et al discloses further comprising:
color conversion particles (CL)on the light emitting element (ED)and configured to
convert a wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting element[0102].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: partially removing static electricity from the insulating layer in the non-emission
area by irradiating light to the non-emission area was not found in prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 8 & 19 under 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jung (US Pub no. 2021/0035962 A1) and Chai (US Pub no. 2020/0258938 A1)
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813