Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 29, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Wang (US 6,143,140 as cited on the IDS dated April 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches a Physical Vapour Deposition (PVD) apparatus for depositing a deposition material into a plurality of recesses formed in a substrate (fig. 4 and 5) comprising:
a chamber (100, fig. 2, col. 3, ln. 54-56);
a magnetron device (106, col. 3, ln. 55-60)comprising a target (104) disposed in the chamber from which a sputtering material can be sputtered (Fig. 2);
and a substrate holder (112) configured to hold a substrate (110) of pre-defined dimensions comprising a substrate support disposed in the chamber (Fig. 2);
in which:
the substrate support comprises a substrate supporting upper surface (105, Fig. 2) and an arrangement of permanent magnets (160; col. 2, ln. 34-50) positioned beneath the substrate supporting upper surface so that, in use, permanent magnets are disposed underneath the substrate (110, Fig. 2);
and wherein the arrangement of permanent magnets is configured to provide, in use, a substantially uniform lateral magnetic field (161, fig. 2) across the surface of the substrate (110) which extends into a region beyond a periphery of the substrate (110, fig. 2)
As all the structure of the apparatus of claim 19 is taught by Wang, the Examiner takes the position that Wang would also be inherently capable of performing the following function: “ to enhance resputtering of deposited material deposited into the recesses.” See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the arrangement of permanent magnets is positioned beneath the substrate supporting upper surface (105) so that permanent magnets (160, 162) are additionally disposed beyond the periphery of the substrate (110, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches in use, the target (104) and the substrate support (112) are separated by a gap of 2.5 to 7.5 cm (col. 5, ln. 33-37).
Regarding claim 22, Wang teaches the arrangement of permanent magnets is moveable (col. 4, ln. 35-40), and the apparatus further comprises a mechanism configured to subject the arrangement of permanent magnets to a motion which allows the substantially uniform lateral magnetic field to be provided in use (col. 4,ln. 35-50).
Regarding claim 23, Wang teaches the mechanism is a rotation mechanism for rotating the moveable arrangement of permanent magnets (col. 4, ln. 35-50).
Regarding claim 24, Wang teaches a controller (149, fig. 2) which is configured to control the PVD apparatus (col. 5, ln. 13-27).
Regarding claim 25, Wang teaches the substrate (110) positioned on the substrate supporting upper surface (105) of the substrate support (112, Fig. 2).
Conclusion
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794