DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims’ Status
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are currently pending, with Claims 10-12 being previously withdrawn due to a restriction requirement. Claims 1 and 17-18 have been amended. Claim 16 has been cancelled. No new claims have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 2019/0251318 A1, hereafter Jung).
Re Claim 1, Jung discloses a display panel (FIG. 9; [0104]-[0114]) comprising:
a substrate (210; [0104]);
a plurality of display elements (311, 312, repeated, hereafter just 311, 312; [0109]) disposed over the substrate (210; [0109]);
a plurality of first light-blocking layers (290; [0113], blocks some degree of light, such as UV light) disposed over a top of the plurality of display elements (311, 312, specifically top of 311; [0114]) and corresponding to places between the plurality of display elements (311, 312; [0114]);
a plurality of second light-blocking layers (350; [0104]) disposed over a top of the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290; [0137]) and corresponding to the places between the plurality of display elements (311, 312; [0137]);
a sensor electrode layer (SE; [0101]) disposed over and spaced apart from a top of the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350; [0137]);
and a color filter layer (130, 150; [0081], [0136]) disposed over a top of the sensor electrode layer (SE; [0134]) and including color filters (130; [0081]) corresponding to the plurality of display elements (311, 312; [0081]).
Re Claim 2, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) are connected to each other ([0113]), and the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) are connected to each other ([0137]).
Re Claim 3, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein each of the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) extend substantially in a first direction (DR1, see FIG. Z1 below; [0100], with PX in circular configuration), and the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) are arranged in a second direction (DR2, see FIG. Z1 below; [0100]) crossing the first direction (DR1; [0100]), and
wherein each of the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) extends in the first direction (DR1; [0100], with PX in circular configuration), and the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) are arranged in the second direction (DR2; [0100]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 11 of Jung
Re Claim 4, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 3, while further disclosing wherein, among the plurality of display elements (311, 312), each of display elements (311, 312) arranged on one row (FIG. 11, top row) extending in the first direction (DR1) emits light of a wavelength belonging to a same wavelength band (wavelength associated with green; [0118]).
Re Claim 5, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 3, while further disclosing wherein a width of each of the plurality of display elements (311, 312) in the second direction (DR2) is the same ([0092], in the configuration with same size light emission areas).
Re Claim 6, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 5, while further disclosing wherein the plurality of display elements (311, 312) include first display elements (311, 312) arranged on a first row (FIG. 11, second row, with R, B pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), second display elements (311, 312) arranged on a second row (FIG. 11, first row, with G pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and third display elements (311, 312) arranged on a third row (FIG. 11, fourth row, with R, B pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and
wherein a first length (312, top surface length, L1 in FIG. Z2 below) of the first display elements (311, 312) in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), a second length (312, bottom surface length, L2 in FIG. Z2 below) of the second display elements (311, 312) in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and a third length (311, bottom surface length, L3 in FIG. Z2 below) of the third display elements (311, 312) in the first direction (DR1) are different from one another ([0118], lengths of a single pixel used for convenience, as the sectional surface lengths between the different pixel colors are equivalent in the current embodiment, and lengths are equal in all directions due to circular pixel nature).
FIG. Z2: Annotated version of FIG. 9 of Jung
Re Claim 7, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 6, while further disclosing wherein the first display elements (311, 312 in FIG. 11, second row, with R, B pixels) emit red light ([0118], at least the R pixel portions), the second display elements (311, 312 in FIG. 11, first row, with G pixels) emit green light ([0118]), and the third display elements (311, 312 in FIG. 11, fourth row, with R, B pixels) emit blue light ([0118], at least the B pixel portions), and
wherein the first length (L1) is greater than the second length (L2) and less than the third length (L3, L2 < L1 < L3; [0118], see FIG. Z2).
Re Claim 8, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 5, while further disclosing wherein the color filters (130) include first color filters (130) arranged on a first row (FIG. 11, second row, with R, B pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), second color filters (130) arranged on a second row (FIG. 11, first row, with G pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and third color filters (130) arranged on a third row (FIG. 11, fourth row, with R, B pixels) extending in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and wherein a first length (L4 in FIG. Z3 below) of the first color filters (130) in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), a second length (L5 in FIG. Z3 below) of the second color filters (130) in the first direction (DR1; [0118]), and a third length (L6 in FIG. Z3 below) of the third color filters (130) in the first direction (DR1) are different from one another ([0118], lengths within a single pixel used for convenience, as the sectional lengths between the different color-output lens are equivalent in the
current embodiment, and lengths are equal in all directions due to circular lens nature).
FIG. Z3: Annotated version of FIG. 9 of Jung
Re Claim 9, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 8, while further disclosing wherein the first color filters (130 in FIG. 11, second row, with R, B pixels) transmit red light ([0118], at least the R pixel portions), the second color filters (130 in FIG. 11, first row, with G pixels) transmit green light ([0118]), and the third color filters (130 in FIG. 11, fourth row, with R, B pixels) transmit blue light ([0118], at least the B pixel portions), and
wherein the first length (L4) is greater than the second length (L5) and less than the third length (L6, L5 < L4 < L6; [0118], see FIG. Z3).
Re Claim 14, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the color filter layer (130, 150) further includes a color light-blocking layer (150; [0136]) between the color filters (130; [0136]).
Re Claim 18, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein the color filter layer (130, 150) further includes a color light-blocking layer (150; [0136]) between the color filters (130; [0136]), and
wherein an electrode (SE) of the sensor electrode layer (SE) in a display area (DA; [0102]) is arranged between the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) and the color light-blocking layer (150; [0136]).
Re Claim 19, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the panel comprises an encapsulation layer (246; [0110]) covering the plurality of display elements (311, 312; [0113]),
wherein the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) are disposed on the encapsulation layer (246; [0113]).
Re Claim 20, Jung discloses the display panel according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the panel comprises:
a first organic material layer (322; [0127]) covering the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290; [0127]); and
a second organic material layer (IL3; [0076]) covering the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350; [0076]),
wherein the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) are disposed on the first organic material layer (322; [0127]), and the color filter layer (130, 150) is disposed on the second organic material layer (IL3; [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to Claim 1.
Re Claim 13, Jung discloses the device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) overlaps the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290; [0113]).
Jung’s embodiment as shown in FIG. 9 does not explicitly disclose the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) overlaps the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) specifically in a “plan view”. However, a “plan view” would be formed from looking at the relevant elements of FIG. 9 (350, 290) from above. The new “plan view” look at FIG. 9 would show that the second light-blocking layers (350) and first light-blocking layers (290) are overlapping each other, as shown in FIG. 9.
Re Claim 17, Jung discloses the device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing wherein an electrode (SE) of the sensor electrode layer (SE) in a display area (DA; [0102]) overlaps the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350; [0137]).
Jung’s embodiment as shown in FIG. 9 does not explicitly disclose the electrode (SE) of the sensor electrode layer (SE) in a display area (DA) overlaps the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) specifically in a “plan view”. However, a “plan view” would be formed from looking at the relevant elements of FIG. 9 (SE, 350) from above. The new “plan view” look at FIG. 9 would show that the sensor electrode (SE) and second light-blocking layers (350) are overlapping each other, as shown in FIG. 9.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to Claim 14.
Re Claim 15, Jung discloses the device according to Claim 14, while further disclosing the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) is inside the color light-blocking layer (150; [0136]), and the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) is inside the color light-blocking layer (150; [0136]).
Jung’s embodiment as shown in FIG. 9 does not explicitly disclose specifically in a “plan view” that the plurality of first light-blocking layers (290) is inside the color light-blocking layer (150), and the plurality of second light-blocking layers (350) is inside the color light-blocking layer (150). However, a “plan view” would be formed from looking at the relevant elements of FIG. 9 (290, 350, 150) from above. The new “plan view” look at FIG. 9 would show that the second light-blocking layers (350) and first light-blocking layers (290) are inside the dimensions of the color light-blocking layer (150).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks – pg. 2, para. 1 to pg. 4, para. 3, filed 2/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jung under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been reconsidered in light of the new rejection but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892