Response to Amendment
Amendment filed on 4/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, 20 are amended. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 1 – 8, 10 – 20 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aanegola ( Pub. No. US 20060097245 A1 ), hereinafter Aanegola.
Regarding Independent Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Aanegola teaches a light emitting diode (LED) package, comprising:
a submount ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 610; [0120], a printed circuit board 610 );
an LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ) on the submount ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 610; [0120], a printed circuit board 610 ); and
a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die; [0088], In some embodiments, the light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover, where "glass" is not limited to silica-based materials but rather encompasses substantially any inorganic, amorphous light transmissive material; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) embedded uniformly ( Aanegola, [0098], In some contemplated embodiments, the phosphor is dispersed substantially into the encapsulant 76, and may even be uniformly distributed throughout the encapsulant 76 … In some embodiments, light-scattering particles, particulates, or so forth are dispersed in the encapsulant 76 to provide more uniform light distribution ) throughout the whole glass cover structure ( Aanegola, Abstract, A phosphor is disposed on or inside of the light transmissive dome-shaped cover;[0088]; [0092], In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder ) with a lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, [0006], a phosphor embedded in the encapsulant; [0092], In yet another embodiment, the phosphor is embedded in the material of the light transmissive cover 60. However, phosphor is not readily embedded into most glass or crystalline materials. In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder that is spun onto or otherwise coated onto the inside and/or outside surface of the cover 60; FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ), wherein an internal surface of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is non-planar, and at least a portion of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is not in contact with the LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ) ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660 is not in contact with 612 ).
Regarding Claim 2 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is mounted to the submount ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 610; [0120], a printed circuit board 610 ).
Regarding Claim 3 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein an entirety of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is not in contact with the LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ).
Regarding Claim 4 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) forms a hemispherical dome ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], dome-shaped cover 660 ).
Regarding Claim 5 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein an internal surface of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is curved.
Regarding Claim 6 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein an internal surface of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) comprises a plurality of facets.
Regarding Claim 7 (Previously Presented), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein a light incident on an internal surface of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is at an acute angle relative to an axis normal to the internal surface of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ).
Regarding Claim 8 (Original), Aanegola teaches the LED package as claimed in claim 1, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is phosphor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aanegola, in view of Nakamura ( Pub. No. WO 2010141235 A1 ), hereinafter Nakamura.
Regarding Independent Claim 10 (Currently Amended), Aanegola teaches a method of forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ), the method comprising:
a lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 );
a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) with embedded lumiphoric material (Aanegola, [0006], a phosphor embedded in the encapsulant; [0092], In yet another embodiment, the phosphor is embedded in the material of the light transmissive cover 60) uniformly ( Aanegola, [0098], In some contemplated embodiments, the phosphor is dispersed substantially into the encapsulant 76, and may even be uniformly distributed throughout the encapsulant 76 … In some embodiments, light-scattering particles, particulates, or so forth are dispersed in the encapsulant 76 to provide more uniform light distribution ) throughout the whole glass cover structure ( Aanegola, Abstract, A phosphor is disposed on or inside of the light transmissive dome-shaped cover; [0092], In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder ); and
fixing the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) to the LED package, wherein the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) covers an LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ) on the LED package.
Aanegola fails to disclose:
laminating a plurality of sublayers,
pressing the plurality of sublayers into a mold, wherein the plurality of sublayers conform to a predefined shape;
baking or sintering the sublayers to form;
However, Nakamura teaches:
laminating a plurality of sublayers ( Nakamura, [0041], hemispheric shape may be prepared via punching and press work by using a flexible ceramic green sheet prepared by a tape casting method as widely employed in the multi-layer ceramic capacitor manufacturing process ),
pressing the plurality of sublayers into a mold, wherein the plurality of sublayers conform to a predefined shape ( Nakamura, [0041], molding process utilizes methods such as simple die pressing, monoaxial pressing, hot isostatic pressing (HIP), and cold isostatic pressing (CIP) );
baking or sintering the sublayers to form ( Nakamura, [0044], Next, in some embodiments, sintering may be performed under a controlled atmosphere to provide void-free ceramic phosphors );
Aanegola and Nakamura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aanegola ( two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions ), to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura ( laminating, pressing, molding, baking or sintering ), to implement the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor. Doing so would provide specific structure and method to fabricate the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor, and therefore the efficiency of light emitting diode (LED) package can be improved.
Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the predefined shape is a hemispherical dome ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], dome-shaped cover 660 ).
Regarding Claim 12 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola and Nakamura further teach:
wherein the predefined shape is a hemisphere ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], dome-shaped cover 660 ), and wherein the method further comprises:
machining ( Nakamura, [0041], mixing process may employ equipment such as a mortar and pestle, a ball milling machine, a bead milling machine ) an inside of the hemisphere to form a hemispherical dome ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], dome-shaped cover 660 ).
Regarding Claim 13 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola and Nakamura further teach:
wherein the fixing further comprises mounting ( Nakamura, Abstract, a substantially hemispheric cover mounted on the surface of the substrate ) the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) to a submount ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 610; [0120], a printed circuit board 610 ) of the LED package.
Regarding Claim 14 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 13, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the entirety of the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) is not in contact with the LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ).
Regarding Claim 15 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola and Nakamura further teach:
wherein the fixing further comprises mounting ( Nakamura, Abstract, a substantially hemispheric cover mounted on the surface of the substrate ) the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) to the LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ) of the LED package.
Regarding Claim 16 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Nakamura further teaches:
wherein the pressing further comprises pressing the plurality of sublayers into a plurality of molds ( Nakamura, [0041], molding process utilizes methods such as simple die pressing, monoaxial pressing, hot isostatic pressing (HIP), and cold isostatic pressing (CIP) ).
Regarding Claim 17 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 16, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola and Nakamura further teach:
further comprising baking or sintering ( Nakamura, [0044], Next, in some embodiments, sintering may be performed under a controlled atmosphere to provide void-free ceramic phosphors ) the sublayers to form a plurality of glass cover structures ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ); and
separating the plurality of glass cover structures ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) from each other ( Nakamura, [0048], A pressure of 5000 psi was applied between the concave piece 180 and the convex piece 170 using hydraulic press at room temperature to obtain a dome-shaped ceramic green compact ).
Regarding Claim 18 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Aanegola further teaches:
wherein the lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) is phosphor.
Regarding Claim 19 (Original), Aanegola and Nakamura teach the method as claimed in claim 10, on which this claim is dependent, Nakamura further teaches:
heating ( Nakamura, [0043], In some embodiments, the substantially hemispheric molded ceramic green body may be heat treated in an oxygen atmosphere, such as air, to remove binder resin or any other residues ) the plurality of sublayers during the pressing to a predefined temperature.
Regarding Independent Claim 20 (Currently Amended), Aanegola teaches a method of forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ), the method comprising:
a lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 );
a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) with embedded lumiphoric material (Aanegola, [0006], a phosphor embedded in the encapsulant; [0092], In yet another embodiment, the phosphor is embedded in the material of the light transmissive cover 60) having a hemispherical dome shape ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], dome-shaped cover 660 ) wherein the embedded lumiphoric material is uniformly ( Aanegola, [0098], In some contemplated embodiments, the phosphor is dispersed substantially into the encapsulant 76, and may even be uniformly distributed throughout the encapsulant 76 … In some embodiments, light-scattering particles, particulates, or so forth are dispersed in the encapsulant 76 to provide more uniform light distribution ) throughout the whole glass cover structure ( Aanegola, Abstract, A phosphor is disposed on or inside of the light transmissive dome-shaped cover; [0092], In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder ); and
fixing the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) to the LED package, wherein the glass cover structure ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) covers an LED chip ( Aanegola, FIG.13, 612; [0120], a light emitting die or chip 612 ) on the LED package.
Aanegola fails to disclose:
laminating a plurality of sublayers,
baking or sintering the sublayers to form a phosphor in glass structure;
machining the phosphor in glass structure;
However, Nakamura teaches:
laminating a plurality of sublayers( Nakamura, [0041], hemispheric shape may be prepared via punching and press work by using a flexible ceramic green sheet prepared by a tape casting method as widely employed in the multi-layer ceramic capacitor manufacturing process ),
baking or sintering the sublayers to form a phosphor in glass structure ( Nakamura, [0044], Next, in some embodiments, sintering may be performed under a controlled atmosphere to provide void-free ceramic phosphors );
machining ( Nakamura, [0041], mixing process may employ equipment such as a mortar and pestle, a ball milling machine, a bead milling machine ) the phosphor in glass structure ( Nakamura, [0044], ceramic phosphors );
Aanegola and Nakamura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aanegola ( two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions ), to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura ( laminating, molding, baking or sintering, machining ), to implement the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor. Doing so would provide specific structure and method to fabricate the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor, and therefore the efficiency of light emitting diode (LED) package can be improved.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's remarks regarding Claim 1 ( Currently Amended ): page 6, line 1 from bottom, cited “ Furthermore, Aanegola provides no details or description of how the phosphor is distributed throughout the light transmissive cover, and therefore Aanegola fails to disclose a glass cover structure embedded uniformly throughout the whole glass cover structure with a lumiphoric material as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, Aanegola fails to anticipate claim 1 and so withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested. ”.
Examiner’s response: Please refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 for claim 1 (Currently Amended) in this office action, cited “ a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die; [0088], In some embodiments, the light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover, where "glass" is not limited to silica-based materials but rather encompasses substantially any inorganic, amorphous light transmissive material; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) embedded uniformly ( Aanegola, [0098], In some contemplated embodiments, the phosphor is dispersed substantially into the encapsulant 76, and may even be uniformly distributed throughout the encapsulant 76 … In some embodiments, light-scattering particles, particulates, or so forth are dispersed in the encapsulant 76 to provide more uniform light distribution ) throughout the whole glass cover structure ( Aanegola, Abstract, A phosphor is disposed on or inside of the light transmissive dome-shaped cover;[0088]; [0092], In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder ) with a lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, [0006], a phosphor embedded in the encapsulant; [0092], In yet another embodiment, the phosphor is embedded in the material of the light transmissive cover 60. However, phosphor is not readily embedded into most glass or crystalline materials. In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder that is spun onto or otherwise coated onto the inside and/or outside surface of the cover 60; FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 ) ”.
Applicant's remarks regarding Claim 10 ( Currently Amended ): page 7, line 16, cited “ Independent claim 10, as amended, recites in part: baking or sintering the sublayers to form the glass cover structure with embedded lumiphoric material uniformly throughout the whole glass cover structure. Aanegola and Nakamura fail to teach or suggest at least these recited elements of claim 10. ”.
Examiner’s response: Please refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for claim 10 (Currently Amended) in this office action, cited “
a glass cover structure ( Aanegola, [0014], A glass cover; [0088], light transmissive cover 60 is a glass cover; FIG.13, 660; [0120], light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660; [0014], A glass cover is disposed on the support over the at least one light emitting die ) with embedded lumiphoric material (Aanegola, [0006], a phosphor embedded in the encapsulant; [0092], In yet another embodiment, the phosphor is embedded in the material of the light transmissive cover 60) uniformly ( Aanegola, [0098], In some contemplated embodiments, the phosphor is dispersed substantially into the encapsulant 76, and may even be uniformly distributed throughout the encapsulant 76 … In some embodiments, light-scattering particles, particulates, or so forth are dispersed in the encapsulant 76 to provide more uniform light distribution ) throughout the whole glass cover structure ( Aanegola, Abstract, A phosphor is disposed on or inside of the light transmissive dome-shaped cover; [0092], In some embodiments the phosphor is disposed in a glass binder );
…
However, Nakamura teaches:
…
baking or sintering the sublayers to form ( Nakamura, [0044], Next, in some embodiments, sintering may be performed under a controlled atmosphere to provide void-free ceramic phosphors );
Aanegola and Nakamura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aanegola ( two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions ), to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura ( laminating, pressing, molding, baking or sintering ), to implement the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor. Doing so would provide specific structure and method to fabricate the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor, and therefore the efficiency of light emitting diode (LED) package can be improved. ”.
Applicant's remarks regarding Claim 10 ( Currently Amended ): page 8, line 6, cited “ Therefore, Nakamura fails to teach or suggest laminating a plurality of sublayers, each embedded with a lumiphoric material and Aanegola fails to cure the deficiencies of Nakamura and so withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested. ”.
Examiner’s response: Please refer to the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for claim 10 (Currently Amended) in this office action, cited “
a lumiphoric material ( Aanegola, FIG.14, LA, LB; [0120], two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions disposed on an inner surface of the light-transmissive dome-shaped cover 660 );
…
However, Nakamura teaches:
laminating a plurality of sublayers ( Nakamura, [0041], hemispheric shape may be prepared via punching and press work by using a flexible ceramic green sheet prepared by a tape casting method as widely employed in the multi-layer ceramic capacitor manufacturing process ),
…
Aanegola and Nakamura are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are forming a light emitting diode (LED) package comprising a glass cover structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aanegola ( two phosphor layers LA, LB of different phosphor compositions ), to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura ( laminating, molding, baking or sintering, machining ), to implement the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor. Doing so would provide specific structure and method to fabricate the dome-shaped glass cover structure composed by multiple phosphor layers of different phosphor, and therefore the efficiency of light emitting diode (LED) package can be improved. ”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DA-WEI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817