DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-7, 14-19 in the reply filed on 03/06/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the office fails to properly establish that examination of all pending claims would not present a serious burden.
Applicant’s election is acknowledged. Applicant’s traversal of the restriction is noted. Examiner notes that species A and B can be simultaneously examined. Examiner will examine claims 1-19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaevski(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2018/0315886, hereinafter Gaevski) in view of Pinnington(USPATENT: 7732301, hereinafter Pinnington).
Re claim 1 Gaevski discloses a method for transferring wide and ultrawide bandgap (WBG and UWBG) layers to an engineered substrate, comprising:
performing laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) on high-electron mobility transistors[0042] HEMTs[0042] with AIN heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] grown over sapphire substrate material(20)[0044], to remove the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044];
Gaevski does not disclose applying a carrier substrate to the heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] using a bonding agent, to collectively form an engineered substrate.
Pinnington discloses in Fig 2A-2N applying a carrier substrate (50)[col 41, lines 30-55] to the heat spreading buffer layers(30) [col 41, lines 30-55] using a bonding agent (51)[col42,lines 20-30], to collectively form an engineered substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Pinnington to the teachings of Gaevski in order to enable development of smaller light-emitting devices with longer life time, higher output power, and lower cost relative to conventional devices [col1 lines 35-45, Pinnington].
Re claim 2 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the HEMTs[0042] comprise AlGaN/GaN HEMTs[0042];
the laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) includes use of an excimer laser having a wavelength of less than 250 nm; and
the AIN heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] are at least 10 um thick.
Re claim 3 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein:
the HEMTs[0042] comprise Alo.26Gao.74N/GaN high-electron mobility transistors[0042];
the laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) includes use of a 193-nm excimer laser; and
the AIN heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] are about 16 yum thick.
Re claim 4 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the carrier substrate(50)[col 41, lines 30-55 of Pinnington] comprises a heat sink layer.
Re claim 5 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 4, where the heat sink layer comprises copper[col 41, lines 30-55 of Pinnington] and the bonding agent comprises solder.
Re claim 6 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) includes using an ultraviolet laser light passed through the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044] to ablate an interface with the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044] to release the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044].
Re claim 7 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose an engineered substrate made according to the method of claim 1(Fig 2A-2N of Pinnington).
Re claim 8 Gaevski discloses a double transfer method for fabricating WBG and UWBG semiconductor devices without requiring a final polishing step, comprising: forming AIGaN/GaN HEMTs on a layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] having a thickness of at least 10 pm, grown over sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s; applying excimer laser lift-off[0071,0072] to remove the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s to expose the layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] ;
Gaevski does not disclose using a bonding agent to apply a heat sink layer to the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] ; whereby first transferring off the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s and subsequently transferring on a heat sink layer results in engineered formation of WBG and UWBG power devices.
Pinnington discloses in Fig 2A-2N using a bonding agent(51)[col42,lines 20-30] to apply a heat sink layer(50)[col 41, lines 30-55] to the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(30) [col 41, lines 30-55] ;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Pinnington to the teachings of Gaevski in order to enable development of smaller light-emitting devices with longer life time, higher output power, and lower cost relative to conventional devices [col1 lines 35-45, Pinnington]. In doing so, whereby first transferring off the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s and subsequently transferring on a heat sink layer(50)[col 41, lines 30-55 of Pinnington] results in engineered formation of WBG and UWBG power devices.
Re claim 9 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 8, further comprising: before applying excimer laser lift-off[0071,0072], bonding UV tape to a side of the HEMT opposite the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s; and after applying a heat sink layer to the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] , removing the UV bonding tape.
Re claim 10 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 8, further comprising, after applying excimer laser lift-off[0071,0072] to remove the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]s, cleaning the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] .
Re claim 11 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein the cleaning comprises cleaning with 1:1 dilute HCI and C12/Ar ICP[col46, lines 1-10 of Pinnington].
Re claim 12 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein applying a heat sink layer to the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] comprises bonding the exposed layer of AIN heat spreaders(22A/22B)[0045] to a copper heat sink substrate using In-Pb solder by thermocompression bonding
Re claim 13 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the semiconductor device made according to the method of claim 8(Fig 2A-2N of Pinnington).
Re claim 14 Gaevski discloses a Methodology for forming a layered substrate, comprising:
performing laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) on AlGaN high-electron mobility transistors[0042] HEMTs[0042] with ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] having relatively high thermal conductivity, and grown over sapphire substrate material(20)[0044], to remove the sapphire substrate material(20)[0044]:
Gaevski does not disclose applying a copper heat sink to the ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] using a bonding agent, to collectively form an engineered layered substrate.
Pinnington discloses in Fig 2A-2N applying a copper heat sink(50)[col 41, lines 30-55] to the ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(30) [col 41, lines 30-55] using a bonding agent(51)[col42,lines 20-30], to collectively form an engineered layered substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Pinnington to the teachings of Gaevski in order to enable development of smaller light-emitting devices with longer life time, higher output power, and lower cost relative to conventional devices [col1 lines 35-45, Pinnington].
Re claim 15 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the methodology according to claim 14, wherein the ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] comprise aluminum nitride (AIN).
Re claim 16 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the methodology according to claim 14, wherein the ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] comprise III nitride material.
Re claim 17 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the methodology according to claim 14, wherein:
the AlGaN high-electron mobility transistors[0042] HEMTs[0042] comprise ultrawide bandgap (UWBG) AlGaN HEMTs[0042]; and
the ceramic heat spreading buffer layers(22A/22B)[0045] comprise aluminum nitride (AIN) having a thickness of at least 10 um.
Re claim 18 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose the methodology according to claim 17, wherein the laser-based lift-off[0071,0072] (LLO) is performed on Alo.26Gao.74N/GaN HEMT by a 193-nm ArF excimer laser and transferred onto a copper heat sink(50)[col 41, lines 30-55 of Pinnington] bonded by In-Pb solder.
Re claim 19 Gaevski and Pinnington disclose a layered substrate made according to the methodology of claim 14(Fig 2A-2N of Pinnington).
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812