DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20200208259A1; Shin et al.; (hereinafter “Shin”) in view of US20100309172A1; Oh et al.; (hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding Claim 12 (currently amended), Shin teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0008], using metal mask for manufacturing electroluminescence display), the method comprising:
forming a first spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) in a first peripheral area (#IA, non-display area) between a first display area (#AA1, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, display area) and a second display area (#AA2, display area, wherein non-display area #IA-P1 includes #SP between #AA1 and #AA2, see [0039] of Shin) so that a distance from the first spacer to the first display area is different from a distance from the first spacer to the second display area (Figure 2, #SP dispose closer to a first display such as #AA1 than #AA2 on the opposite end of #IA), the first display area and the second display area of a mother glass (#SUB/#MB, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0036], glass substrate/mother substrate) being adjacent to each other in a first direction (#AA1 and #AA2 are adjacent to each other in Y direction);
arranging a first opening portion and a second opening portion of a mask (Figure 4, multiple apertures #OP of the mask #ADM) to respectively correspond to the first display area and the second display area of the mother glass (Figure 4, [0101], #OP correspond to each of the display areas #AA on #SUB), wherein the first spacer locates in the first peripheral area between the first opening portion and the second opening portion (as described above, according to Figures 2 and 4, [0101], spacer #SP locates in non-display/peripheral area #IA of the display corresponding to the openings/apertures #OP of the mask #ADM); and
depositing a deposition material on the mother glass through the first opening portion and the second opening portion of the mask ([0099-0100], mask #ADM is used to deposit organic material into the emission layers of the display corresponding to each #OP).
Shin does not teach the mask is arranged such that a first protrusion integrally formed with the mask on a first shielding portion of the mask overlaps the first spacer.
However, Oh teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0031], fabrication of OLED device), wherein the mask (#190, Figure 10F of Oh annotated, shadow mask) is arranged such that a first protrusion (#PT) integrally formed with the mask on a first shielding portion of the mask (protrusion #PT is part of the blocking portion #BA of shadow mask #190) overlaps the first spacer (#151-153, spacers, wherein #PT overlap #151-153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin with the teaching of Oh in order to prevent scratch or damage caused by the mask being in close proximity to the substrate during material deposition according to [0052-0053] of Oh.
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh, further in view of US 2020/0286963; Lee et al.; (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 13, Shin in view of Oh teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 12, wherein Shin further teaches the forming of the first spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacers) comprises:
forming a first dam portion (#DM, Figure 1, dam) circumferentially surrounding the first display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each display area #AA such as #AA1), wherein a portion of the first dam portion passes through the first peripheral area (#DM of #AA1 passes through non-display area #IA-P1 between #AA1 and #AA2);
forming a second dam portion (#DM) circumferentially surrounding the second display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each #AA such as #AA2), wherein a portion of the second dam portion passes through the first peripheral area (#DM of #AA2 also passes through non-display area #IA-P1).
Shin in view of Oh does not teach forming the first spacer to be between the first dam portion and the second display area so that a distance of the first spacer from the first dam portion is different from a distance of the first spacer from the second dam portion.
However, Lee teaches a method of manufacturing a display apparatus ([0007] & [0017], display device and mask assembly for manufacturing) comprises forming the first spacer (#P”, Figure 12, [0219], spacer between sub-pixels) to be between the first dam portion (#F1”, sub-pixel, see above rejection for the dam portions surrounding each display areas) and the second display area (#F3”, sub-pixel) so that a distance of the first spacer from the first dam portion is different from a distance of the first spacer from the second dam portion (Figure 12, #P” disposes closer to sub-pixel #F1” than #F3”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh with the teaching of Lee, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spacer and display areas of Shin) for another (spacer and display areas of Lee) to obtain predictable results (providing spacer between display areas that prevents damage when the mask and display substrate are in close contact during material deposition, see [0219] of Lee). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 15, Shin in view of Oh and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13.
Shin in view of Lee does not explicitly teach the arranging of the mask comprises:
arranging a third protrusion to overlap the first dam portion, the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion and circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion, wherein a portion of the third protrusion is on the first shielding portion; and
arranging a fourth protrusion to overlap the second dam portion, the fourth protrusion contacting the second opening portion and circumferentially surrounding the second opening portion, wherein a portion of the fourth protrusion is on the first shielding portion.
However, Oh teaches the arranging of the mask (#190, Figure 10F of Oh annotated, shadow mask) comprises:
arranging a third protrusion (#PT) to overlap the first dam portion (#D1, see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion (#PT contacts all sides of openings #OA) and circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion (Figure 11B, mask #190 with openings surrounding each pixel also includes #PT contacting and surrounding each opening), wherein a portion of the third protrusion is on the first shielding portion (Figure 10F of Oh annotated, #PT is part of the metal mask #190); and
arranging a fourth protrusion (#PT) to overlap the second dam portion (#D2, see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the fourth protrusion contacting the second opening portion (#PT contacts all sides of openings #OA) and circumferentially surrounding the second opening portion (Figure 11B, mask #190 with openings surrounding each pixel also includes #PT contacting and surrounding each opening), wherein a portion of the fourth protrusion is on the first shielding portion (Figure 10F of Oh annotated, #PT is part of the metal mask #190).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Lee with the teaching of Oh in order to prevent scratch or damage caused by the mask being in close proximity to the substrate during material deposition according to [0052-0053] of Oh.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh and Lee, further in view of US 2021/0111356; Song et al.; (hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding Claim 14, Shin in view of Oh and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13.
Shin in view of Oh and Lee does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer comprises concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, and the first spacer by using a same material.
However, Song teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0023]), wherein the forming of the first spacer ([0142]) comprises concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, and the first spacer ([0138-0142], process for forming partition walls #120 and spacer are described consecutively which can be performed at the same time according [0061]) by using a same material (layers #121A and #123A of #120 have the same material as planarization layer #109 and pixel defining layer #112 respectively according to [0141] which both can comprise polyimide according to [0114] and [0117]. The spacer also comprises polyimide according to [0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh and Lee with the teaching of Song, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (spacer and dam materials of Shin) for another (spacer and dam materials of Song) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh and Lee, further in view of US 2023/0172032 A1; Yang et al.; (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding Claim 16, Shin in view of Oh and Lee teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 13, wherein Shin further teaches forming a second spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) in a second peripheral area (#IA, non-display area) between a third display area (#AA3, Figure 3 of Shin annotated, display area) and the first display area (#AA1, display area, wherein non-display area #IA-P2 includes #SP between #AA1 and #AA3, see [0039] of Shin) of the mother glass (#SUB/#MB, [0036], glass substrate/mother substrate), the third display area being spaced apart from the first display area in a second direction crossing the first direction (#AA1 and #AA3 are adjacent and spaced apart from each other in X direction).
Shin in view of Oh and Lee does not explicitly teach a distance from the second spacer to the first display area is equal to a distance from the second spacer to the third display area.
However, Yang teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0020], display apparatus and use of mask during fabrication), wherein a distance (#L1, Figure 4) from the second spacer (#60, spacer) to the first display area (#40, green pixel) is equal to a distance (#L2) from the second spacer (#60) to the third display area (#50, blue pixel, wherein #L1 = #L2 according to [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh and Lee with the teaching of Yang in order to maintain a proper distance between the spacer and pixels and avoid interference according to [0059] of Yang.
Regarding Claim 17, Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 16, wherein Shin further teaches the forming of the second spacer (#SP, Figure 2, spacer) comprises:
forming a third dam portion (#DM, Figure 1, dam) circumferentially surrounding the third display area (Figure 1 and Figure 3 of Shin annotated, [0058], #DM surrounds each display area #AA such as #AA3, wherein a portion of the third dam portion passes through the second peripheral area (#DM of #AA3 passes through non-display area #IA-P2); and
Shin in view of Oh and Lee does not explicitly teach forming the second spacer between the first dam portion and the third dam portion such that a distance of the second spacer from the first dam portion is equal to a distance the second spacer from the third dam portion.
However, Yang teaches forming the second spacer (#60, Figure 4, spacer) between the first dam portion and the third dam portion (see above rejection for dam portion surround each of the display areas) such that a distance of the second spacer from the first dam portion is equal to a distance the second spacer from the third dam portion (according to [0059], #L1 and #L2 are equal distances from #60 to green pixel #40 and blue pixel #50 respectively, hence #60 also spaces apart equally between the dam portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh and Lee with the teaching of Yang for the reason set forth in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 20, Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 17.
Shin in view of Lee and Yang does not teach the arranging of the mask comprises:
arranging a second protrusion to overlap the second spacer, the second protrusion being on a second shielding portion of the mask;
arranging a third protrusion to overlap the first dam portion, the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion, circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion, and being on the second shielding portion; and
arranging a fifth protrusion to overlap the third dam portion, the fifth protrusion contacting a third opening portion of the mask corresponding to the third display area of the mother glass, circumferentially surrounding the third opening portion, and being on the second shielding portion.
However, Oh teaches the arranging of the mask (#190, Figure 10F of Oh annotated, shadow mask) comprises:
arranging a second protrusion (#PT2) to overlap the second spacer (#151, spacer), the second protrusion being on a second shielding portion of the mask (#PT2 is a part of the metal mask #190);
arranging a third protrusion (#PT) to overlap the first dam portion (#D1, see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area), the third protrusion contacting the first opening portion (#PT contacts all sides of openings #OA), circumferentially surrounding the first opening portion (Figure 11B, mask #190 with #OA surrounding each pixel also includes #PT contacting and surrounding each opening), and being on the second shielding portion (#PT is part of the metal mask #190); and
arranging a fifth protrusion (#PT) to overlap the third dam portion (#D3, see rejection of claim 13 for dam portion on each side of the spacer surrounding each display and passing through non-display area, the fifth protrusion contacting a third opening portion of the mask (#PT contacts all sides of openings #OA of mask #190) corresponding to the third display area of the mother glass (Figure 11B, #OA correspond to every pixels disposing on substrate #110), circumferentially surrounding the third opening portion (Figure 11B, mask #190 with #OA surrounding each pixel also includes #PT contacting and surrounding each opening), and being on the second shielding portion (#PT is part of #190).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Lee and Yang with the teaching of Oh in order to prevent scratch or damage caused by the mask being in close proximity to the substrate during material deposition according to [0052-0053] of Oh.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang, further in view of US 2021/0111356; Song et al.; (hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding Claim 18, Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 17.
Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer are performed concurrently.
However, Song teaches a method for manufacturing a display apparatus ([0023]), wherein the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer are performed concurrently ([0142], process for forming spacers can be performed at the same time according [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang with the teaching of Song, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (process of forming the spacers of Shin) for another (process of forming the spacers of Song) to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 19, Shin in view of Oh, Lee, Yang and Song teaches the method of manufacturing a display apparatus as described in claim 18.
Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang does not explicitly teach the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer comprise concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, the third dam portion, the first spacer, and the second spacer by using a same material.
However, Song teaches the forming of the first spacer and the forming of the second spacer comprise concurrently forming the first dam portion, the second dam portion, the third dam portion, the first spacer, and the second spacer ([0138-0142], process for forming partition walls #120 and spacer are described consecutively which can be performed at the same time according [0061]) by using a same material (layers #121A and #123A of #120 have the same material as planarization layer #109 and pixel defining layer #112 respectively according to [0141] which both can comprise polyimide according to [0114] and [0117]. The spacers also comprise polyimide according to [0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the invention disclosed by Shin in view of Oh, Lee and Yang with the teaching of Song for the reason set forth in the rejection of claim 18.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant's amendment to claim 12 and corresponding arguments, pages 8-10 of the remarks, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claim 12 as unpatentable over Shin in view of Oh have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the remarks that Oh the limitation: “the mask is arranged such that a first protrusion integrally formed with the mask on a first shielding portion of the mask overlaps the first spacer located in the first peripheral area between the first opening portion and the second opening portion” recited in the amended claim 12. However, examiner respectfully disagrees.
As described in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 12 above, Shin in view of Oh provides a clear teaching of the amended limitation. Specifically, Shin teaches a method for manufacturing a display device using a metal mask with apertures corresponding to active/display areas of the device, wherein the display comprises spacers disposing in non-display/peripheral areas between adjacent apertures. Oh teaches a comparable manufacturing method that provides a mask comprising protrusion in shielding portion that overlaps the spacer. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Shin and Oh to prevent damage to the substrate during material deposition.
Additionally, applicant also argues on pages 9-10 of the remarks that the spacers #151-152 of Oh being located in a non-display area between two adjacent pixel regions would contradict the reference’s disclosure. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. According to [0089] and as shown in Figures 10F and 11B of Oh, the openings of the mask correspond to the pixel/display regions, and the spacers dispose in peripheral region overlapping the blocking portions of the mask. Furthermore, Oh ([0015-0018] and Figure 2) and Shin ([0040] & [0087] and Figures 1-4) suggest that it is known in the art to position spacer structure in non-display/peripheral regions of a display device for supportive function.
Conclusion
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812