DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of 1-19 in the reply filed on March 8, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious burden to search and examine all the claims. This is not found persuasive because the seriousness of the burden is determined by the examiner with the understanding that there is a difference in how apparatus and method claims are searched and considered. Namely, apparatus claims entail the structure of the apparatus while the method claims entail the process steps and are thus examined in separate classes and subclasses.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
The term “controller” has been recited in claims 1-19. The controller according to the originally filed specification [0035] is element 150 which includes a central processing unit 152, (CPU) a memory 154, and a support circuit 156 where the CPU is a general-purpose computer processor.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 9-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,046,449 henceforth referred to as the patent in view of Konno et al (US 2015/0122420).
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 of the patent recites a matching network configured for use with a plasma processing chamber, comprising: a first sensor operably connected to an input of the matching network and an RF generator operable at a first frequency and a second sensor operably connected to an output of the matching network and the plasma processing chamber, the first sensor and the second sensor configured to measure impedance during an RF generator pulse on time; at least one variable capacitor connected to the first sensor and the second sensor; and a controller configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network. The patent also recites that the RF generator pulse on time based on impedance values measured at pulse states see claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 5-8 of the patent recites an RF generator (RF source power) and an RF bias power source (another RF generator) each RF generator and RF bias power source has its own frequency. See claims 8 and 16 recite a continuous mode or a pulsed mode (which insinuates pulsed on and pulsed off states).
The patent fails to specifically recite a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network.
The prior art of Konno et al teaches a plasma processing apparatus with a main control unit 72 (controller) see [0058] and [0059], an RF oscillator 80A (pulse waveform generator) see [0069], an RF oscillator 80B see [0074], see the discussions of pulse-on and pulse-off see abstract, [0010]-[0023]. The motivation to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator is that the pulse modulating allows for more effective control of the frequency powers supplied into a processing vessel and allows the ratio between the input power during a pulse-on period and an input power during a pulse off period that is controlled by the matching operation of a matching device provided on a high frequency transmission line for supplying a high frequency power as a continuous wave without power modulation, and expected effects of the power modulation method can be optimized as suggested by the prior art of Konno et al in [0020]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator of Konno et al.
Regarding claim 2: The matching network of claim 1, wherein when the controller is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during pulse on states or pulse off states of the pulse voltage waveform generator, a time slot for taking impedance measurements during the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on at least one of a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse off time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency, an RF generator duty cycle, or an RF generator pulsing frequency. See claims 1 and 10 of the patent which recite a controller tuning at least one variable capacitor and see claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 which recite pulse frequency and duty cycle as process parameters.
Regarding claim 3: The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on a percentage of the pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time and/or the pulse off time and the percentage is about 5% to about 95%. See claims 7 and 16 of the patent which recite a pulsed mode insinuating at least one pulsed on and pulsed off time and a duty cycle (percentage) of 5-95%.
Regarding claim 4: The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency and the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency is about 10 kHz to about 500 kHz. See claims 7, 8 and 16, 17 of the patent where the pulsing frequency of 100kHz and a range of about 100Hz to 10kHz is recited.
Regarding claim 5: The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator duty cycle and the RF generator duty cycle is about 1 % to about 99%. See claims 7, 8 and 16, 17 of the patent where the duty cycle of 5-95% is recited which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6: The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator pulsing frequency and the RF generator pulsing frequency is about 1 Hz to about 500 kHz. Claim 8 of the patent.
Regarding claim 9: See claims 3-5 and 12-14 where the patent recites pulsed data points. where the patent fails to recite that the controller is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor based on sideband data of the pulse on states.
See the sideband data in Figs. 2A, 2B, 6A, 7A, 8A of Konno et al where the controller (main control unit 72) tunes the at least one variable capacitor [0071] and [0075] of the matching network (matching device 40).
The motivation to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator is that the pulse modulating allows for more effective control of the frequency powers supplied into a processing vessel and allows the ratio between the input power during a pulse-on period and an input power during a pulse off period that is controlled by the matching operation of a matching device provided on a high frequency transmission line for supplying a high frequency power as a continuous wave without power modulation, and expected effects of the power modulation method can be optimized as suggested by the prior art of Konno et al in [0020] and using sideband data to tune the at least one variable capacitor is that this is a known way to quantify the quality of the plasma and power generated theretofore. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus derived from patent by using the prior art of Konno et al to tune the at least one variable capacitor based on sideband data of the pulse on states.
Regarding claim 10: The matching network of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during operation based on impedance values measured during pulse on states. See claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 where the patent recites that the pulse is continuous (pulse on).
Regarding claim 11: See claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 where the patent recites that the pulse is continuous (pulse off). Claim 10 recites that the controller tunes during pulsed states.
The patent fails to recite that the controller is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during operation based on impedance values measured during pulse off states.
The prior art of Konno et al teaches a power modulation unit that the pulse modulated pulse-on and pulse off see the abstract and [0016]– [0023]. See in [0017] and [0018] where Konno et al teaches that impedance values are measured and calculated at pulse-off. The matching device controls a variable reactance element within a matching circuit, e.g., varies a capacitance of a variable capacitor such that the load impedance measurement value (arithmetic average value or moving average value thereof) can be made equal to or approximate to a matching point corresponding to an output impedance of a high frequency power supply. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus derived from patent by using the prior art of Konno et al to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during operation based on impedance values measured during pulse off states.
Regarding claim 12: The matching network of claim 1, wherein when the controller is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during the RF signal of another RF generator (RF bias power), a time slot for taking impedance measurements is based on a selected range corresponding to at least one of a peak or a trough of the RF signal. See claims 1 and 10 of the patent where an RF generator (RF power source) and another RF generator (RF bias power source). See claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 which recite pulse frequency and duty cycle as process parameters. See claims 14 and 15 where the low pulse (troughs) and high pulse (peaks) are recited.
Regarding claim 13: The matching network of claim 12, wherein RF generator (RF power source) operates at a frequency of about 10 MHz to about 180 MHz and another RF generator (RF bias power source) operates at frequency of about a 100 kHz to about 20 MHz See claims 7 and 8 and claims 16 and 17 of the patent where such pulse frequencies as 13.56 MHz, 60 MHz, 120, or 162 MHz are recited.
Regarding claim 14: A plasma processing chamber, comprising: a chamber body and a chamber lid; a RF generator operable at a first frequency connected to the chamber lid and configured to create a plasma from gases disposed in a processing region of the chamber body; and a matching network comprising: a first sensor operably connected to an input of the matching network and the RF generator and a second sensor operably connected to an output of the matching network and the plasma processing chamber, the first sensor and the second sensor configured to measure impedance during an RF generator pulse on time; at least one variable capacitor connected to the first sensor and the second sensor; and a controller configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during the RF generator pulse on time based on impedance values measured during at least one of pulse on states or pulse off states of a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network or an RF signal of another RF generator operable at a second frequency different from the first frequency. See claims 1 and 10 of the patent. The patent fails to specifically recite that the pulse states are at least one of pulse on states or pulse off states of a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network.
The prior art of Konno et al teaches a plasma processing apparatus with a main control unit 72 (controller) see [0058] and [0059], an RF oscillator 80A (pulse waveform generator) see [0069], an RF oscillator 80B see [0074], see the discussions of pulse-on and pulse-off see abstract, [0010]-[0023]. The motivation to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator is that the pulse modulating allows for more effective control of the frequency powers supplied into a processing vessel and allows the ratio between the input power during a pulse-on period and an input power during a pulse off period that is controlled by the matching operation of a matching device provided on a high frequency transmission line for supplying a high frequency power as a continuous wave without power modulation, and expected effects of the power modulation method can be optimized as suggested by the prior art of Konno et al in [0020]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator of Konno et al.
Regarding claim 15: The plasma processing chamber of claim 14, wherein when the controller is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during pulse on states or pulse off states of the pulse voltage waveform generator, a time slot for taking impedance measurements during the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on at least one of a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse off time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency, an RF generator duty cycle, or an RF generator pulsing frequency. See claims 1 and 10 of the patent which recite a controller tuning at least one variable capacitor and see claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 which recite pulse frequency and duty cycle as process parameters.
The patent fails to specifically recite that the pulse states are at least one of pulse on states or pulse off states of a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network.
The prior art of Konno et al teaches a plasma processing apparatus with a main control unit 72 (controller) see [0058] and [0059], an RF oscillator 80A (pulse waveform generator) see [0069], an RF oscillator 80B see [0074], see the discussions of pulse-on and pulse-off see abstract, [0010]-[0023]. The motivation to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator is that the pulse modulating allows for more effective control of the frequency powers supplied into a processing vessel and allows the ratio between the input power during a pulse-on period and an input power during a pulse off period that is controlled by the matching operation of a matching device provided on a high frequency transmission line for supplying a high frequency power as a continuous wave without power modulation, and expected effects of the power modulation method can be optimized as suggested by the prior art of Konno et al in [0020]. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus derived from patent with the pulse waveform generator of Konno et al.
Regarding claim 16: The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on a percentage of the pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time and/or the pulse off time and the percentage is about 5% to about 95%. See claims 7 and 8 and claims 16 and 17 of the patent. See claims 7 and 16 of the patent which recite a pulsed mode insinuating at least one pulsed on and pulsed off time and a duty cycle (percentage) of 5-95%.
Regarding claim 17: The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency and the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency is about 10 kHz to about 500 kHz. See claims 7 and 8 and claims 16 and 17 of the patent.
Regarding claim 18: The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator duty cycle and the RF generator duty cycle is about 1 % to about 99%. See claims 7 and 8 and claims 16 and 17 of the patent.
Regarding claim 19: The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator pulsing frequency and the RF generator pulsing frequency is about 1 Hz to about 500 kHz. See claims 7 and 8 and claims 16 and 17 of the patent.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 046,449 henceforth referred to as the patent in view of Konno et al (US 2015/0122420) as applied to claims 1-6 and 9-19 above and in further view of Hirano et al (US 2016/0079037).
The apparatus resulting from modifying the claims of the patent with the teachings of Konno et al were discussed above. Konno et al in [0108] and [0109] teach the moving pitch (time slot) is 100msec and 20msec.
The apparatus resulting from modifying the claims of the patent with the teachings of Konno et al fail to recite.
Regarding claim 7 : The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states has a resolution of about 10 ns to about 100 µs.
Regarding claim 8: The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states has a width of about 0.1 µs to about 50 µs.
The prior art of Hirano et al teaches a plasma processing apparatus where the pulse modulation of high frequency power source is switches via main control unit 72. See pulse off time slots are illustrated in Figs. 10A – 10E. Note the time slot shown on the x-axis is 50 µs. See also [0153] – [0156] where 25-400 µs are recited. See also [0101] where the moving pitch P (time slot) are to set to 10 msec and 2msec. The time slot of the pulse on and pulse off states is a matter of optimization and design choice which would be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention so that tune can happen frequently as needed. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the modification of the patent with Konno et al to lessen the time slot as suggested by Hirano et al such that the resolution is about 10 ns to about 100 µs. or about 0.1 µs to about 50 µs. as suggested by the prior art of Hirano et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (US 2016/0079037) in view of Son et al (US 2016/0027617).
Regarding claim 1. Hirano et al teaches a matching network (matching device 40) configured for use with a plasma processing chamber 10, comprising: a first sensor (impedance sensor 106A) operably connected to an input of the matching network to measure impedance during an RF generator (HF power supply 36) pulse on time, and an RF generator operable at a first frequency (frequency of 40MHz); at least one variable capacitor connected to the first sensor, and a controller (matching controller 104A) configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor (see XH1 and XH2) of the matching network during the RF generator 36 pulse on time based on impedance values measured during at least one of pulse on states or pulse off states of a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network or an RF signal of another RF generator 38 operable at a second frequency different from the first frequency. Note Hirano et al also teaches a Vpp detector 107A at the output of matching network. See [0009], 0033] – [0080] and Fig. 3 of Hirano et al. Note the pulse on period Ton of the power supply control unit 94A (pulse voltage waveform generator). See another RF generator 38 in Fig. 1 of Hirano et al.
The prior art of Hirano et al fails to teach a second sensor operably connected to an output of the matching network to measure impedance during an RF generator pulse on time.
The prior art of Son et al teaches a plasma generating unit with an impedance matcher 440 which includes sensors 441 (input impedance), 442 (output impedance) see Fig. 3. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Hirano et al with the impedance sensors of Son et al where one is at the input of the matching network and the other is at the output of the matching network (impedance matcher 440) so that the controller can be more effectively determine the quality of the match network and draw an impedance map to note the impedance difference between the characteristic impedance and the output impedance can be control the variables capacitors and thus better control the plasma characteristics as needed with better data. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hirano et al with the impedance sensors of Son et al to better control the plasma characteristics as needed with better data from the two impedance sensors.
Regarding claim 2. The matching network of claim 1, wherein when the controller is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during pulse on states or pulse off states of the pulse voltage waveform generator, a time slot for taking impedance measurements during the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on at least one of a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse off time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency, an RF generator duty cycle, or an RF generator pulsing frequency. The matching controller 104A (controller) of Hirano et al adjusts at least one variable capacitor during the pulse on period (Ton) or the pulse off period (Toff) of the power control unit 94A, the pulse frequency of the power supply control unit 94A, the duty cycle of the HF power supply 36 or the pulse frequency of the HF power supply 36.
Regarding claim 3. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on a percentage of the pulse voltage waveform generator (power supply control unit 94A) pulse on time and/or the pulse off time and the percentage is about 5% to about 95%. See the duty ratio of the modulation pulse in [0152] and [0159]. See also [0191] of Hirano et al where duty ratios with 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, and 60%.
Regarding claim 4. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency and the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency is about 10 kHz to about 500 kHz. See [0066] of Hirano et al where the frequency is 1kHz to 50kHz of the RF power generator 36.
Regarding claim 5. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator duty cycle and the RF generator duty cycle is about 1 % to about 99%. See the duty ratio of the modulation pulse in [0152] and [0159], of Hirano et al where the percentages about 1% to about 99%. See also [0191] of Hirano et al where duty ratios with 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, and 60%..
Regarding claim 6. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator pulsing frequency and the RF generator pulsing frequency is about 1 Hz to about 500 kHz. See [0066] of Hirano et al where the frequency is 1kHz to 50kHz of the RF power generator 36.
Regarding claim 7. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states has a resolution of about 10 ns to about 100 µs. See the moving pitch P is set to 10msec and 2msec. See [0152] and [0159] of Hirano et al where Toff is discussed as 25 µs, 100 µs, 150 µs, 233 µs, and 400 µs.
Regarding claim 8. The matching network of claim 2, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states has a width of about 0.1 µs to about 50 µs. See [0152] and [0159] of Hirano et al where Toff is discussed as 25 µs, 100 µs, 150 µs, 233 µs, and 400 µs. See pulse off time slots are illustrated in Figs. 10A – 10E. Note the time slot shown on the x-axis is 50 µs. See also [0153] – [0156] where 25-400 µs are recited. See also [0101] where the moving pitch P (time slot) are to set to 10 msec and 2msec.
Regarding claim 9. The matching network of claim 1, wherein the controller (main control unit 72 and match controller 104A) is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor (XH1, XH2 see [0075]) based on sideband data of the pulse on states. See the sideband data illustrated in Figs. 2, 6B, 13, and 14 of Hirano et al
Regarding claim 10. The matching network of claim 1, wherein the controller (main control unit 72 and match controller 104A) is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor (XH1, XH2 see [0075]) of the matching network (matching device 40) during operation based on impedance values measured during pulse on states.
Regarding claim 11. The matching network of claim 1, wherein the controller (main control unit 72 and match controller 104A) is further configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor (XH1, XH2 see [0075]) of the matching network (matching device 40) during operation based on impedance values measured during pulse off states.
Regarding claim 12. The matching network of claim 1, wherein when the controller (main control unit 72 and match controller 104A) is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor (XH1, XH2 see [0075]) of the matching network (matching device 40) during the RF signal of another RF generator, a time slot for taking impedance measurements is based on a selected range corresponding to at least one of a peak or a trough of the RF signal.
Regarding claim 13. The matching network of claim 12, wherein RF generator operates at a frequency of about 10 MHz to about 180 MHz and another RF generator operates at frequency of about a 100 kHz to about 20 MHz.
Regarding claim 14. Hirano et al teaches a plasma processing chamber 10, comprising: a chamber body and a chamber lid (see Fig. 1); a RF generator 36 operable at a first frequency connected to the chamber lid and configured to create a plasma from gases disposed in a processing region of the chamber body; and a matching network 40 comprising: a first sensor 106A operably connected to an input of the matching network and the RF generator and a second sensor (Vpp detector 107A) operably connected to an output of the matching network and the plasma processing chamber, the first sensor measures impedance during an RF generator pulse on time; at least one variable capacitor connected to the first sensor and the second sensor; and a controller configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during the RF generator pulse on time based on impedance values measured during at least one of pulse on states or pulse off states of a pulse voltage waveform generator connected to the matching network or an RF signal of another RF generator operable at a second frequency different from the first frequency.
Fig.1 of Hirano et al
The prior art of Hirano et al fails to teach that the second sensor measures impedance.
The prior art of Son et al teaches a plasma generating unit with an impedance matcher 440 which includes sensors 441 (input impedance), 442 (output impedance) see Fig. 3. The motivation to modify the apparatus of Hirano et al with the impedance sensors of Son et al where one is at the input of the matching network and the other is at the output of the matching network (impedance matcher 440) so that the controller can be more effectively determine the quality of the match network and draw an impedance map to note the impedance difference between the characteristic impedance and the output impedance can be control the variables capacitors and thus better control the plasma characteristics as needed with better data. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hirano et al with the impedance sensors of Son et al to better control the plasma characteristics as needed with better data from the two impedance sensors.
Regarding claim 15. The plasma processing chamber of claim 14, wherein when the controller is configured to tune the at least one variable capacitor of the matching network during pulse on states or pulse off states of the pulse voltage waveform generator, a time slot for taking impedance measurements during the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on at least one of a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulse off time, a pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency, an RF generator duty cycle, or an RF generator pulsing frequency. The matching controller 104A (controller) of Hirano et al adjusts at least one variable capacitor during the pulse on period (Ton) or the pulse off period (Toff) of the power control unit 94A, the pulse frequency of the power supply control unit 94A, the duty cycle of the HF power supply 36 or the pulse frequency of the HF power supply 36.
Regarding claim 16. The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on a percentage of the pulse voltage waveform generator pulse on time and/or the pulse off time and the percentage is about 5% to about 95%.
See the duty ratio of the modulation pulse in [0152] and [0159]. See also [0191] of Hirano et al where duty ratios with 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, and 60%.
Regarding claim 17. The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency and the pulse voltage waveform generator pulsing frequency is about 10 kHz to about 500 kHz. See [0066] of Hirano et al where the frequency is 1kHz to 50kHz of the RF power generator 36.
Regarding claim 18. The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator duty cycle and the RF generator duty cycle is about 1 % to about 99%. See the duty ratio of the modulation pulse in [0152] and [0159]. [See also [0191] of Hirano et al where duty ratios with 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, and 60%.
Regarding claim 19. The plasma processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the time slot of the pulse on states and the pulse off states are based on the RF generator pulsing frequency and the RF generator pulsing frequency is about 1 Hz to about 500 kHz. See [0066] of Hirano et al where the frequency is 1kHz to 50kHz of the RF power generator 36.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deshmukh et al (US 2014/0273487) teaches a pulsed DC plasma etching process and apparatus with an applied pulsed RF pulse 352 with a frequency of between about 2MHz and about 120 MHz with an RF source 127 see [0036] – [0041].
Nagami et al (US 2018/0115299) teaches a method for impedance matching of plasma processing apparatus with matching networks 40 and 42, RF power generators 36, 38 and a controller 72.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716