DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 06/01/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s reply filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered and considered. Applicant’s amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot. Thus, this rejection is properly made FINAL.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI et al (US 2021/0098709 A1; hereafter DAI) in view of Yutaka Noguchi (Spontaneous orientation polarization in organic light-emitting diodes, NPL filed on 02/21/2023, hereafter Yutaka)
Regarding claim 1. DAI discloses an organic semiconductor element comprising:
a first electrode (Fig 1, 2 ITO anode, Para [ 0026]) and a second electrode (10 cathode, Para [ 0026]) over a substrate (1 substrate, Para [ 0026]); and
a hole-transport layer (4 first hole transport layer, 5 second hole transport layer, Para [ 0026]) and an active layer (6 light emitting layer, Para [ 0026]) between the first electrode (Fig 1, 2 ITO anode, Para [ 0026]) and the second electrode (10 cathode, Para [ 0026]),
wherein the hole-transport layer comprises a first hole-transport layer and a second hole-transport layer (4 first hole transport layer, 5 second hole transport layer, Para [ 0026]), wherein the first hole-transport layer (4 first hole transport layer Para [ 0026]) is closer to the substrate (1 substrate, Para [ 0026]) than the second hole-transport layer is ( 5 second hole transport layer, Para [ 0026]), wherein the first hole-transport layer and the second hole-transport layer are in contact with each other (4 first hole transport layer, 5 second hole transport layer, Para [ 0026]),
DAI further discloses first hole transport layer 4, N,N′-diphenyl-N,N′-(1-naphthyl)-1,1′-biphenyl-4,4′-diamine (alpha-NPD), is deposited on the hole injection layer 3 by vacuum vapor deposition to a thickness of 50 nm, for serving as the first hole transport layer 4 ( Para [ 0102]) ; and
the material of the second hole transport layer 5, 1,3-dicarbazole-9-ylbenzene (mCP), is deposited on the first hole transport layer 4 by vacuum vapor deposition to a thickness of 10 nm, for serving as the second hole transport layer 5 (Para [ 103]).
But DAI does not disclose explicitly wherein a value obtained by subtracting a giant surface potential slope of the second hole-transport layer from a giant surface potential slope of the first hole-transport layer is less than or equal to 5 mV/nm, and wherein the giant surface potential slope is a parameter represented by V/d when surface potential and thickness of a film are V and d, respectively.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yutaka discloses wherein a value obtained by subtracting a giant surface potential slope of the second hole-transport layer from a giant surface potential slope of the first hole-transport layer is less than or equal to 10 mV/nm, and wherein the giant surface potential slope is a parameter represented by V/d when surface potential and thickness of a film are V and d, respectively (Giant surface potential (GSP) property for light transport material property , Page 3-4, see alpha NPD 5.3 mV/nm and mCP-3.9 mV/nm. Therefore, based on the property of alpha NPD and mCP, desire value of giant surface potential slope less than 5 can be achieved for second hole-transport layer and the first hole-transport layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine DAI in light of Yutaka teaching “wherein a value obtained by subtracting a giant surface potential slope of the second hole-transport layer from a giant surface potential slope of the first hole-transport layer is less than or equal to 10 mV/nm, and wherein the giant surface potential slope is a parameter represented by V/d when surface potential and thickness of a film are V and d, respectively (Giant surface potential (GSP) property for light transport material property , Page 3-4, see alpha NPD 5.3 mV/nm and mCP-3.9 mV/nm. Therefore, based on the property of alpha NPD and mCP, desire value of giant surface potential slope less than 5 can be achieved for second hole-transport layer and the first hole-transport layer)” for further advantage such as improve charge transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 10. DAI in light of Yutaka discloses an organic EL element comprising a structure of the organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, DAI further discloses wherein one of the first electrode (Fig 1, 2 ITO anode, Para [ 0026]) and the second electrode is an anode (Fig 1, 2 ITO anode, Para [ 0026]) and the other is a cathode (10 cathode, Para [ 0026]), wherein the active layer is a light-emitting layer (6 light emitting layer, Para [ 0026]), and wherein the light-emitting layer (6 light emitting layer, Para [ 0026]) is between the hole-transport layer (4 first hole transport layer, 5 second hole transport layer, Para [ 0026]) and the cathode (10 cathode, Para [ 0026]) or between an electron-transport layer (first electron transport layer, 8) and the anode (Fig 1, 2 ITO anode, Para [ 0026]).
Regarding claim 16. DAI in light of Yutaka discloses the organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, Yutaka further discloses wherein the value obtained by subtracting the giant surface potential slope of the second hole-transport layer from the giant surface potential slope of the first hole-transport layer is less than 0 mV/nm (Giant surface potential (GSP) property for light transport material property, Page 3-4, see alpha NPD 5.3 mV/nm and mCP-3.9 mV/nm. Therefore, based on the property of alpha NPD and mCP, desire value of giant surface potential slope less than zero can be achieved for second hole-transport layer and the first hole-transport layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine DAI in light of Yutaka teaching “wherein a value obtained by subtracting a giant surface potential slope of the second hole-transport layer from a giant surface potential slope of the first hole-transport layer is less than or equal to 10 mV/nm, and wherein the giant surface potential slope is a parameter represented by V/d when surface potential and thickness of a film are V and d, respectively (Giant surface potential (GSP) property for light transport material property , Page 3-4, see alpha NPD 5.3 mV/nm and mCP-3.9 mV/nm. Therefore, based on the property of alpha NPD and mCP, desire value of giant surface potential slope less than zero can be achieved for second hole-transport layer and the first hole-transport layer)” for further advantage such as improve charge transfer efficiency.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI et al (US 2021/0098709 A1; hereafter DAI) in view of Yutaka Noguchi (Spontaneous orientation polarization in organic light-emitting diodes, NPL filed on 02/21/2023, hereafter Yutaka) as applied claims above and further in view of HARUYAMA et al (US 2020/0140422 A1; hereafter HARUYAMA).
Regarding claim 2. DAI in light of Yutaka discloses the organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, But DAI in light of Yutaka does not disclose explicitly
wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to a transistor.
In a similar field of endeavor, HARUYAMA discloses wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to a transistor (Para [ 0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine DAI and Yutaka in light of HARUYAMA teaching “wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to a transistor (Para [ 0207])” for further advantage such as to obtain light-emitting elements which exhibit various colors.
Regarding claim 3. DAI in light of Yutaka discloses the organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, But DAI in light of Yutaka does not disclose explicitly
wherein an external connection electrode is over the substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor, HARUYAMA discloses wherein an external connection electrode (Fig 2, electrode 207, Para [ 0208]) is over the substrate (Fig 2, substrate 201, Para [ 0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine DAI and Yutaka in light of HARUYAMA teaching “wherein an external connection electrode (Fig 2, electrode 207, Para [ 0208]) is over the substrate (Fig 2, substrate 201, Para [ 0207])” for further advantage such as improve element characteristics of such a light-emitting element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 17. The organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, wherein the first hole-transport layer comprises an organic compound comprising at least one of a fluorene skeleton and a spirofluorene skeleton.
Regarding claim 18. The organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, wherein the first hole-transport layer comprises an organic compound comprising a carbazole skeleton.
Regarding claim 19. The organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, wherein the second hole-transport layer comprises an aromatic amine comprising an alkyl group.
Regarding claim 20. The organic semiconductor element according to claim 1, wherein the second hole-transport layer comprises an organic compound comprising a dibenzofuran skeleton or a dibenzothiophene skeleton.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898