DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0343781 A1 to Kawata et al. (“Kawata”).
As to claim 1, Kawata discloses a display device comprising: a display layer (125) including a light emitting element (115, 117, 118); a heat dissipation part (991, 993) disposed on a rear surface of the display layer (125), the heat dissipation part (991, 993) including a heat dissipation layer (991, 993); a cover layer (992) sealing at least two surfaces of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) from the display layer (125); and a resin part (114, 120, 138) contacting a side surface of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), the side surface being exposed by the cover layer (992), such that the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) is sealed by the cover layer (992) and the resin part (114, 120, 138), wherein, in a plan view, the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) extends by a same length as the display layer (125) or extends farther than the display layer (125) (See Fig. 3, Fig. 16, Fig. 17, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0195, ¶ 0204, ¶ 0211, ¶ 0237-¶ 0245) (Notes: the heat dissipation part is met by providing a highly conductive material). As to claim 4, Kawata further discloses wherein the cover layer (992) includes: a first cover layer (left 992) covering a surface of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993); and a second cover layer (right 992) covering another surface of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) (See Fig. 17). As to claim 6, Kawata discloses further comprising: a first area (131) overlapping the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) in the plan view, and a second area (right 133) not overlapping the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) in the plan view, wherein, in the plan view, the display layer (125), the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), and the cover layer (992) overlap the first area (131), and wherein, in the plan view, the resin part (114, 120, 138) and the cover layer (992) overlap the second area (right 133) (See Fig. 17). As to claim 7, Kawata further discloses wherein, in the plan view, the resin part (114, 120, 138) overlaps the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) and the cover layer (992) in a partial area of the first area (131) (See Fig. 17).
As to claim 8, Kawata further discloses wherein a surface of the display layer (125) is covered by the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), and wherein a side surface of the display layer (125) is covered by the resin part (114, 120, 138) (See Fig. 17).
As to claim 9, Kawata discloses further comprising: a first area (131) overlapping the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) in the plan view; and a second area (right 133) not overlapping the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) in the plan view, wherein, in the plan view, the resin part (114, 120, 138) overlaps the cover layer (992) in each of the first area (131) and the second area (right 133) (See Fig. 17). As to claim 10, Kawata further discloses wherein the cover layer (992) extends by a same length as the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), or extends farther than the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), in an extending direction of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) (See Fig. 17).
As to claim 11, Kawata further discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) extends farther by a heat dissipation extension length than the display layer (125), and wherein, in the plan view, the resin part (114, 120, 138) overlaps the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) and an area in which the heat dissipation extension length is defined (See Fig. 17). As to claim 12, Kawata discloses further comprising an outer film layer (142) disposed on the display layer (125), wherein the resin part (114, 120, 138) includes a film adjacent surface (114 top) adjacent to the outer film layer (142) and an outer lower surface (141 bottom) disposed at another side of the film adjacent surface (114 top), and wherein a thickness (wider, longer, thicker) of the outer lower surface (114 bottom) is greater than a thickness (thinner, narrower in contact with 117) of the film adjacent surface (114 top) in an extending direction of the outer film layer (142) (See Fig. 14). As to claim 13, Kawata discloses further comprising an outer film layer (142) disposed on the display layer (125), wherein the resin part (114, 120, 138) includes: a film adjacent surface (114 top) adjacent to the outer film layer (142); and an outer lower surface (114 bottom) disposed at another side of the film adjacent surface (114 top), wherein the film adjacent surface (114 top) has a first thickness (thinner, narrower, shorter) from a division point of the first area (131) and the second area (right 133) in an extending direction of the outer film layer (142), wherein the outer lower surface (114 bottom) has a second thickness (wider, longer, thicker) from the division point of the first area (131) and the second area (right 133) in the extending direction of the outer film layer (142), wherein the resin part (114, 120, 138) has an average thickness defined from the division point of the first area (131) and the second area (right 133) in the extending direction of the outer film layer (142), and wherein the second thickness (wider, longer, thicker) is greater than the average thickness (See Fig. 17). As to claim 14, Kawata further discloses wherein the first thickness (thinner, narrower, shorter) is less than the average thickness (See Fig. 17). As to claim 15, Kawata discloses a display device comprising: a display layer (125) including a light emitting element (115, 117, 118); a heat dissipation part (991, 993) disposed on a rear surface of the display layer (125), the heat dissipation part (991, 993) including a heat dissipation layer (991, 993); an outer film layer (142) disposed on the display layer (125); a cover layer (992) sealing at least two surfaces of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) from the display layer (125); and a resin part (114, 120, 138) contacting a side surface of the heat dissipation layer (991, 993), the side surface being exposed by the cover layer (992), such that the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) is sealed by the cover layer (992) and the resin part (114, 120, 138), and including a film adjacent surface (114 top) adjacent to the outer film layer (142) and an outer lower surface (114 bottom) disposed at another side of the film adjacent surface (114 top), wherein a thickness (wider, longer, thicker) of the outer lower surface (114 bottom) is greater than an average thickness of the resin part (114, 120, 138) in an extending direction of the outer film layer (142) (See Fig. 3, Fig. 16, Fig. 17, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0195, ¶ 0204, ¶ 0211, ¶ 0237-¶ 0245) (Notes: the heat dissipation part is met by providing a highly conductive material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0343781 A1 to Kawata et al. (“Kawata”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 104375679 A to Zeng (“Zeng”). The teaching of Kawata has been discussed above. As to claim 2, Kawata in view of Zeng further discloses wherein the heat dissipation layer (991, 993) includes graphite (See Kawata Fig. 17, ¶ 0237, ¶ 0238 and Zeng ¶ 0022, ¶ 0023) such that the heat dissipation layer having stable performance, excellent conductivity, better light transmittance, and low cost is obtained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815