DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/13/2025 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 12-20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “ (a) providing a substrate having carbon-based features thereon, the carbon-based features being at least 50 atomic % carbon and having exposed sidewall surfaces and being separated by gaps” (Lines L2-4) but should read—(a) providing a substrate having carbon-based features thereon, the carbon-based features being at least 50 atomic % carbon, [[and]] having exposed sidewall surfaces, and being separated by gaps --.
The balance of claims are objected to for the above stated reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28).
Regarding claim 1, Pasquale83 discloses a method (Abstract-L1, Fig 19) comprising:
providing a substrate (substrate 150-Fig 1, [0029] L 6-13) having carbon-based features thereon (carbon-based features 103-Fig 1, [0029] L 6-13),
the carbon-based features being at least 50 atomic % carbon (carbon-based features 103 made of amorphous carbon so 100% carbon which is at least 50% carbon-[0030] L1-6) and
having exposed sidewall surfaces (103 having exposed sidewall surfaces such as left/right surfaces-Fig 1) and
being separated by gaps (103 separated by gap-Fig 1);
depositing a silicon oxide liner film in the gaps by a plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process (Deposing silicon oxide on patterned amorphous carbon layer 103 so depositing a silicon oxide film in the gaps by a PEALD process-[0004] L7-13, [0005] L1-8), Fig 1)
that comprises multiple cycles (forming two or more sublayers so multiple cycles-[0004] L 7-13) of
(a) introducing a silicon-containing reactant into a reaction chamber having the substrate therein (exposing the substrate to a silicon-containing precursor so reactant in a reaction chamber-[0005] L 5-8, Fig 21, [0024]), and
allowing the silicon-containing first reactant to adsorb onto substrate surfaces (cycle and exposure time are adjusted during the exposure of the substrate to the first reactant so allowing the substrate the silicon-containing first reactant to absorb onto the substrate surfaces-[0062] L2-8, [0037] L18-21, [0064] L8-9);
(b) generating oxygen radicals from N20 ([0038] L12-14, [0051] L 5-9), and
(c) exposing the adsorbed silicon-containing reactant to the oxygen radicals to form the silicon oxide liner film in the gaps (exposing the substrate to oxidant after exposing the substrate to silicon-containing reactant so exposing the absorbed silicon-containing reactant to the oxygen radical to form the silicon oxide liner- Step 1901,1903, 1905 of Fig 19,[0005] L 1-8, [0038] L12-14),
wherein a substrate temperature of the substrate during deposition of the silicon oxide liner film is at least 100°C during PEALD deposition (Temperature of the substrate raising by 100°C so being at least 100°C during PEALD deposition which is between 50°C and 150°C-[0011] L1-9), and
after depositing the silicon oxide liner film in the gaps (After step 1905-Fig 19),
depositing silicon oxide film in the gaps by PEALD (Deposing two or more sublayers of silicon oxide on patterned amorphous carbon layer 103 so depositing a silicon oxide film in the gaps by a PEALD process, -[0004] L7-13, [0005] L1-8), Fig 1, Fig 19)
using a reaction between the silicon-containing reactant and oxygen (02) (silicon oxide deposited using PEALD by exposing silicon-containing precursor to an oxidant so using a reaction between the silicon-containing reactant and oxygen-[0005] L1-8).
Pasquale83 does not disclose a method wherein
periodically exposing the substrate to an inhibition plasma.
Henri28 teaches a method wherein
periodically exposing the substrate to an inhibition plasma (exposing the substrate to hydrogen-containing inhibitor in a cycle which repeats until reaching the desired thickness-Step 106 of Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83, as taught by Henri28 for the purpose of improving step coverage in high aspect ratio features or features that cut through multiple, dissimilar materials by exposing the adsorbed layer of a precursor to an inhibitor (Henri28:[0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method further comprising
at least partially filling the gaps with silicon oxide by PEALD using a reaction between the silicon-containing reactant and N20 (silicon oxide deposited using PEALD by exposing silicon-containing precursor to an oxidant so using a reaction between the silicon-containing reactant and N2O-[0005] L1-8s, [0051] L 5-9, [0065] L2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the temperature of the substrate during deposition is at least 150°C (Temperature of the substrate raising by 150°C so being at least 150°C during PEALD deposition-[0011] L1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the temperature of the substrate during deposition is at least 200°C (Temperature of the substrate raising by 200°C so being at least 200°C during PEALD deposition-[0011] L1-9).
Regarding claim 7, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Henri28 further teaches a method
wherein the inhibition plasma is generated from an inhibition gas generated from one of a fluorine-containing compound, molecular nitrogen (N2), argon (Ar), helium (He), molecular hydrogen (H2), ammonia (NH3), an amine, a diol, an aminoalcohol, a thiol or a combination thereof (exposing the substrate to hydrogen-containing inhibitor in a cycle which repeats until reaching the desired thickness-Step 106 of cycle 103-113 in Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83, as taught by Henri28 for the purpose of improving step coverage in high aspect ratio features or features that cut through multiple, dissimilar materials by exposing the adsorbed layer of a precursor to an inhibitor (Henri28:[0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the silicon-containing reactant is an aminosilane ([0038] L11-12).
Regarding claim 9, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 8, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the aminosilane has two or more amine groups attached to a central silicon atom (BTBAS, BDEAS (bis-di-ethyl aminosilane) or DIPAS (di-isopropyl aminosilane) have two amine groups attached to a central silicon-[0038] L 10-12)
Regarding claim 10, Pasquale83 discloses a method (Abstract-L1, Fig 19) comprising:
(a) providing a substrate having carbon-based features thereon (Providing a substrate 150 having carbon-based features 103 thereon-Fig 1, [0029] L 6-13),
the carbon-based features being at least 50 atomic % carbon (carbon-based features 103 made of amorphous carbon so 100% carbon which is at least 50% carbon-[0030] L1-6) and
having exposed sidewall surfaces (103 having exposed sidewall surfaces such as left/right surfaces-Fig 1) and
being separated by gaps (103 separated by gap-Fig 1);
(b) performing multiple cycles of (forming two or more sublayers so multiple cycles-[0004] L 7-13, Fig 19, )
(i) introducing a silicon-containing reactant into a reaction chamber having the substrate therein (exposing the substrate to a silicon-containing precursor so reactant in a reaction chamber-[0005] L 5-8, Step 1901 or Step 1907 of Fig 19, Fig 21, [0024])and
allowing the silicon-containing first reactant to adsorb onto substrate surfaces (cycle and exposure time are adjusted during the exposure of the substrate to the first reactant so allowing the substrate the silicon-containing first reactant to absorb onto the substrate surfaces-[0062] L2-8, [0037] L18-21, [0064] L8-9),
(ii) generating oxygen radicals from N20 ([0038] L12-14, [0051] L 5-9), and
(iii) exposing the adsorbed silicon-containing reactant to the oxygen radicals to form a silicon oxide liner film in the gaps(exposing the substrate to oxidant after exposing the substrate to silicon-containing reactant so exposing the absorbed silicon-containing reactant to the oxygen radical to form the silicon oxide liner- Step 1901,1903, 1905 of Fig 19,[0005] L 1-8, [0038] L12-14).
Pasquale83 does not disclose a method comprising
(c) after (b), exposing the gaps to an inhibition plasma; and
after (c), filling the gaps with a silicon oxide film.
Henri28 teaches a method wherein
(c) after (b), exposing the gaps to an inhibition plasma (exposing the substrate to hydrogen-containing inhibitor in a cycle which repeats until reaching the desired thickness, during the last cycle, the last exposure of the inhibitor in step 106 will be after several cycle so after (b)-Step 106 of Fig 1, [0050] L1-16); and
after (c), filling the gaps with a silicon oxide film (at the end of the last cycle will deposit the right thickness of the silicon oxide which is interpretated as filling the gap. This step will be after the last exposure to inhibitor in step 106 so after (c)-Step107 of Fig 1, [0050] L1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83, as taught by Henri28 for the purpose of improving step coverage in high aspect ratio features or features that cut through multiple, dissimilar materials by exposing the adsorbed layer of a precursor to an inhibitor (Henri28:[0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein (d) comprises using a plasma generated from oxygen (02) as an oxidant ([0051] L 5-9).
Regarding claim 13, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 12, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein (d) comprises using a plasma generated from N20 and 02 as an oxidant ([0051] L5-9).
Regarding claim 14, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein a temperature of the substrate in (d) differs from the temperature of the substrate in (b) (during the process the temperature of the substrate is raising by at least 50°C, so the temperature of the substrate in (d) differs from (b)-[0011]).
Regarding claim 16, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Henri28 further teaches a method
further comprising after (c), repeating (b) (exposing the substrate to hydrogen-containing inhibitor in a cycle which repeats until reaching the desired thickness, during the second cycle of 4 cycles, the exposure of the inhibitor in step 106 is followed by repeating the cycle so after (c), repeating (b)-Step 106 of Fig 1, [0050] L1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83, as taught by Henri28 for the purpose of improving step coverage in high aspect ratio features or features that cut through multiple, dissimilar materials by exposing the adsorbed layer of a precursor to an inhibitor (Henri28:[0062]).
Regarding claim 17, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Henri28 further teaches a method
further comprising after (c), repeating (b) and (c) one or more times (exposing the substrate to hydrogen-containing inhibitor in a cycle which repeats until reaching the desired thickness, during the third cycle of 4 cycles, the exposure of the inhibitor in step 106 is followed by repeating the cycle so after (c), repeating (b) and © one more time-Step 106 of Fig 1, [0050] L1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83, as taught by Henri28 for the purpose of improving step coverage in high aspect ratio features or features that cut through multiple, dissimilar materials by exposing the adsorbed layer of a precursor to an inhibitor (Henri28:[0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the temperature of the substrate throughout the method at least 100°C (Temperature of the substrate raising by 100°C so being at least 100°C during PEALD deposition-[0011] L1-9).
Regarding claim 19, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the temperature of the substrate throughout the method at least 100°C (Temperature of the substrate raising by 150°C so being at least 150°C during PEALD deposition-[0011] L1-9).
Regarding claim 20, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 further discloses a method
wherein the temperature of the substrate throughout the method at least 100°C (Temperature of the substrate raising by 150°C so being at least 150°C during PEALD deposition-[0011] L1-9).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28), and further in view of Qian et al. (US 20160276148 A1-Qian48).
Regarding claim 15, Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination discloses all the elements of claim 10, as noted above.
Pasquale83 and Henri28 combination does not disclose a method
wherein a temperature of the substrate in (d) is identical to the temperature of the substrate in (b).
Qian48 teaches a method
wherein a temperature of the substrate in (d) is identical to the temperature of the substrate in (b) (raising the temperature of the substrate to about the deposition temperature by exposing the substrate to a soak gas so keeping the temperature of the substrate identical-[0002] L1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Pasquale83 in view of Henri28, as taught by Qian48 for the purpose of preserving the quality and thickness of the film to be deposited and formed (Qian48: [0064]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28), as noted above.
Therefore claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16-20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28), and further in view of Qian et al. (US 20160276148 A1-Qian48), as noted above,
Therefore claim(s) 15 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasquale et al. (US20180158683A1-Pasquale83) in view of Henri et al. (US20180138028A1-Henri28), and further in view of Qian et al. (US 20160276148 A1-Qian48).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US20170316988A1-Kang88) teaches a method (Title) comprising: providing a substrate having carbon-based features thereon ([0008]), depositing a silicon oxide liner film in the gaps by a plasma enhanced atomic layer deposition (PEALD) process that comprises multiple cycles of (a) introducing a silicon- containing reactant into a reaction chamber (Fig 6) having the substrate therein, and allowing the silicon- containing first reactant to adsorb onto substrate surfaces; (b) generating oxygen radicals from N20, and (c) exposing the adsorbed silicon-containing reactant to the oxygen radicals to form the silicon oxide liner film in the gaps ([0003], [0004], [0005], Fig 1A-E).
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 03/10/2026
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812