Continued Examination Under 37 CFR. 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17, 35-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2012/0298303) in view of Lee (10,825,655) and further in view of Kim et al. (2020/0194235).
Regarding Claims 1 and 35, Ikeda et al. (2012/0298303) discloses an apparatus for forming a plasma (abstract), comprising:
a receptacle (container 15) configured to accommodate one or more gases (introduces a gas into the substate treatment chamber 101, paragraph [0004]), the receptacle being oriented along a first axis (vertical axis);
a radiofrequency (RF) coupling structure (20, 21), substantially oriented in a plane (horizontal plane) and substantially surrounding the receptacle (fig. 1, 2A, 2B), the RF coupling structure configured to conduct an RF current (from RF power supply) to bring about formation of the plasma (generate plasma) within the receptacle (paragraph [0070]); and
two or more linkages (31a, b, c, each have a linkage structure, paragraph [0078]), coupled to the RF coupling structure (fig. 6A) configured to permit the plane (XY horizontal plane) of the RF coupling structure (solenoid coils 20, 21) to pivot (pivot around horizontal y axis) about a second axis (horizontal y axis) so as to tilt the plane of the RF coupling structure toward the first axis (vertical axis) (See annotated figure 2B below. Noted that the plane (XY plane) of the RF coupling structure (20, 21) is tilted).
wherein the second axis (horizontal y axis) corresponds to a line (see the y axis annotated below) between the two or more linkages (31a, b, c, see annotated fig. 6A below).
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention such as tilting the coil but does not literally disclose “reduce a non-uniformity of the plasma formed within the receptacle”.
However, Lee (10,825,655) discloses tilting the center coil as the RF coupling structure to ensure uniformity in the processing the wafer (Col. 4, lines 14-35, Col. 4, lines 65 to Col. 5, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided tilting the coil or RF coupling structure in Ikeda in order to ensure uniformity (in other words, to reduce non-uniformity of the plasma) as taught by Lee.
As discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose “a showerhead, coupled to the receptacle via a diffuser, configured to receive the plasma from the receptacle via the diffuser, the first axis corresponding to a direction of plasma flow through the diffuser into the showerhead.”
However, Kim (2020/0194235) discloses a showerhead (showerhead 230), coupled to the receptacle (plasma generating space 340) via a diffuser (blocker plate 210) (configured to diffuse the plasma, paragraph [0008]), configured to receive the plasma from the receptacle (340) via the diffuser (210), the first axis (vertical axis) corresponding to a direction (from up to down) of plasma flow though the diffuser into the showerhead (230) (See annotated Fig. 1 of Kim below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the shower head and diffuser of Kim in Ikeda in view of Lee in order to distribute the plasma evenly on the wafer in the chamber as taught by Kim.
Regarding Claims 2 and 36, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially disclose the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the two or more linkages (31a, b, c) are configured to permit the plane of the RF coupling structure to pivot from a neutral position so as to adjust a separation between a portion of the RF coupling structure and the receptacle by between about 0.1 cm and about 3 cm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided such spacing between the RF coupling structure and the receptacle in any designed range of distance (e.g. 0.1cm and 3cm) in order to attain the size of the invention and generate a desired plasma field.
Regarding Claim 3, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a directionally- adjustable nozzle configured to introduce temperature-regulating gas that, during operation, regulates a temperature of at least a portion of an outer surface of the receptacle (temperature control mechanism, paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 4, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the apparatus is configured such that, during operation when the temperature-regulating gas is flowing into the receptacle, the temperature of the at least the portion of the outer surface of the receptacle is maintained at between about 150°C and 400°C.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have maintained the temperature in such a large range of temperature (e.g. 150°C and 400°C) to generate plasma in order to perform etching on the substrate.
Regarding Claim 5, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the directionally - adjustable nozzle is configured to direct the temperature-regulating gas (gas supply mechanism) to a designated region on the outer surface of the receptacle (wall surface, paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claim 6, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the designated region is selectable along a first dimension (e.g. xy dimension) of the receptacle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the designated region by adjusting and tilting the coils (20, 21) in order to reach the desired area of the plasma generated, since by adjusting and tilting the angle of the coils (20, 21), the radiation of the plasma would change as well.
Regarding Claim 7, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the designated region is selectable along both first and second dimensions of the receptacle.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the designated region along first and second dimensions (xy, and xyz) by adjusting and tilting the coils (20, 21) in order to reach the desired area of the plasma generated, since by adjusting and tilting the angle of the coils (20, 21), the radiation of the plasma would change as well.
Regarding Claim 8, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first axis is perpendicular to the plane of the RF coupling structure, disposed in a neutral position, and wherein the second axis (X) is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Z).
Regarding Claim 9, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an RF power generator (17) coupled to the RF coupling structure (20, 21) (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RF coupling structure is configured to form the plasma within the receptacle operating in an inductive mode (inductive coupled plasma, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the receptacle comprises a quartz vessel (the substrate treatment chamber is formed of quartz, paragraph [0004]) configured to disperse the plasma into a semiconductor process chamber.
Regarding Claim 12, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the receptacle comprises an Aluminum Oxide vessel (metallic portion is made of aluminum or the like, paragraph [0004], [0065]) configured to disperse the plasma into a semiconductor process chamber.
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, Ikeda essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the receptacle is configured to accommodate one or more gases at a pressure of between about 0.25 kPa and 1.33 kPa.
However, Ikeda teaches that the gas supply is provided under the predetermine pressure (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a predetermined pressure in the chamber of Ikeda in order to attain desired parameter for the substrate in the chamber.
Regarding Claim 14, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RF coupling structure (20, 21) comprises a conductor configured to form the conductive loop (coils show loop, Fig. 2A).
Regarding Claim 15, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one of the two or more linkages (31a, b, c) comprises a hinge (fig. 5B) configured to permit a portion of the conductive loop to tilt toward the receptacle (Figs. 2A. 2B, 6A).
Regarding Claim 37, Ikeda discloses the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the at least two linkages comprise a hinge (Fig. 5B. Each linkage forms a hinge).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2012/0298303) in view of Lee (10,825,655), further in view of Kim et al. (2020/0194235), further in view of Leahey et al. (6,367,410).
Regarding Claim 16, as discussed above, Ikeda in view of Lee and Kim essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising an airflow controller configured to direct airflow from a directionally-adjustable nozzle toward a region on a surface of the receptacle responsive to receipt of a measurement of a temperature of the region of the surface of the receptacle.
However, Leahey et al. (6,367,410) discloses temperature control (Col. 7, lines 38-46) and airflow directional system (Col. 8, lines 40-56) responsive to the measured temperature sensor (Col. 6, lines 45-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the control system of Leahey in Ikeda in order to precisely control parameters in the chamber as taught by Leahey.
Regarding Claim 17, as discussed above, Ikeda in view of Lee and Kim essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the airflow controller is additionally configured to modify an airflow volume and an airflow temperature responsive to receipt of the measurement of the temperature of the region of the surface of the receptacle.
However, Leahey et al. (6,367,410) discloses temperature control (Col. 7, lines 38-46) and a power control of the volume fan (abstract, Col. 6, lines 22-47) responsive to the measured temperature sensor (Col. 6, lines 45-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the control
system of Leahey in Ikeda in order to precisely control parameters in the chamber as taught by Leahey.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844