DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Election/Restrictions 3
III. Information Disclosure Statement 3
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 3
A. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 3
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 4
A. Claims 1-4, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0315961 (“Moore”). 5
B. Claims 1-3, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0221500 (“Ogihara”). 8
VI. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 10
A. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore. 10
VII. Pertinent Prior Art 11
Conclusion 12
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I and species group defined by formula I(Ia, Ib), claims 1-4, 16-18, 26, and 27, in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged.
The claims drawn to the non-elected species may be entitled to rejoinder under the conditions explained in the Requirement for Election/Restriction at page 8.
III. Information Disclosure Statement
The foreign references cited in the IDSs filed on 04/21/2023 and 01/09/2025 have been considered to the extent that they have been provided in the English language. (See MPEP 609.04(a)(III) and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3).)
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the formulation comprises a solvent, a plasticizer, an organic acid having a pKa more than or equal to 1, a photoacid generator, a thermal acid generator, and/or a dye.” As such the claim may be reads as (1) only the dye being optional with each of the preceding listed components being required, or as (2) one or more of any of the listed components is required.
For the purposes of examination, the claim will be read as broadly as allowed by the claim language, i.e. that one or more of any of the listed components is required.
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1-4, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0315961 (“Moore”).
With regard to claim 1, Moore discloses,
1. (Original) A method comprising:
[1] depositing a stimulus responsive polymer (SRP) [i.e. cyclic poly(phthalaldehyde) or cPPA (Fig. 1)] on a substrate [by spin casting (¶¶ 65-67, 83-84, 135)],
[2] wherein the SRP comprises a homopolymer [i.e. cyclic poly(phthalaldehyde) or cPPA (Fig. 1)], and
[3a] wherein the homopolymer comprises
[3b] a molecular weight of from about 250 g/mol to about 1500 kg/mol [e.g. 231 kDa and 266 kDa (¶¶ 92-94)] and
[3c] a ceiling temperature less than about 300°C [e.g. about 140 ℃ to about 187 ℃ (¶ 96), as shown in e.g. Fig. 3; also ¶¶ 70, 73],
[4] thereby forming a film [of cPPA] on a surface of the substrate [whatever substrate on which the cPPA was solvent casted, e.g. a PTFE-lined petri dish (¶¶ 83-86)].
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein said depositing comprises
[1] depositing a formulation comprising the SRP [i.e. cPPA], and
[2] wherein the formulation comprises a solvent, a plasticizer, an organic acid having a pKa more than or equal to 1, a photoacid generator, a thermal acid generator, and/or a dye [¶¶ 65, 66, 69, 84].
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the molecular weight of the homopolymer is a weight-average molecular weight of from about 500 g/mol to 1000 kg/mol [e.g. 231 kDa and 266 kDa (¶¶ 92-94)].
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the ceiling temperature is less than about 60°C, less than about 50°C, less than about 40°C, less than about 30°C, or lower [¶ 4].
Claims 16-17 read,
16. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the homopolymer comprises a structure of one of formulas (I)-(XIII):
or a salt thereof,
wherein:
each R is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, optionally substituted alkoxy, optionally substituted alkenyl, optionally substituted aryl, or halo;
each of R2, R2', R2", and R3 is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, optionally substituted heteroalkyl, or optionally substituted aryl;
each of R4, R4', and R4" is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, optionally substituted aminoalkyl, optionally substituted heteroalkyl, or R4', and R4", taken together with the nitrogen atom to which each are attached, form a heterocyclyl group, as defined herein;
Ar is optionally substituted aryl, optionally substituted alkyl, or optionally substituted aralkyl;
each of L1 and L2 is, independently, a covalent bond, optionally substituted alkylene, optionally substituted heteroalkylene, optionally substituted arylene, or optionally substituted cycloalkylene;
each of Z1 and Z2 is, independently, -O-, -S-, -CR2R3O-, -OCR2R3O-, -OCR2R3-, -CR2R3S-, -SCR2R3S-, or -SCR2R3-;
r1 is an integer from 1 to 4; and
n is from about 3 to about 100,000; and
wherein the homopolymer comprises a linear polymer or a cyclic polymer.
17. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the homopolymer comprises a structure of formula (Ia):
or a salt thereof,
wherein:
each R1 is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, optionally substituted alkoxy, optionally substituted alkenyl, optionally substituted aryl, or halo;
each of R2' and R2" is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, or optionally substituted aryl;
r1 is an integer from 1 to 4; and
n is from 4 to 100,000; and
wherein the homopolymer comprises a linear polymer or a cyclic polymer.
Moore discloses cyclic cPPA formula (I) (reproduced below from page 3 of Moore).
Here, each of R1, R5, and R6 is H, each of R2', R2", R3', R3", R4', and R4" is H, each of Z1, Z2, Z3, Z4, Z5, and Z6 is -O-, each of r1, r5, and r6 is 1.
With regard to the limitations, n = 3 to 100,000 or n = 4 to 100,000 formula (I), Moore states,
[0046] The cPPA may have a chemical structure as shown in formula (I), where n can be at least 1. In some aspects, n can be at least 3. In some aspects, n can be any integer ranging from 3 to 400. The cPPA may be substituted or unsubstituted. The number average molecular weight of the cPPA may range from about 10 kDa to about 350 kDa.
(Moore: ¶ 46; emphasis added)
Given the molecular weight of a monomer of poly(phthalaldehyde) is about 134 Da, the examples of Mn of 231 kDa and 266 kDa, given n ≈ 1724 and 1985, respectively, which fall within the claimed range for n.
This is all of the features of claims 16 and 17.
B. Claims 1-3, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0221500 (“Ogihara”).
With regard to claim 1, Ogihara discloses, generally in Fig. 1,
1. (Original) A method comprising:
[1] depositing a stimulus responsive polymer (SRP) 4 [i.e. “heat-decomposable polymer 4” (title, abstract, ¶ 108)] on a substrate 1 [i.e. “semiconductor substrate 1” (¶ 108)],
[2] wherein the SRP 4 comprises a homopolymer [¶¶ 44-68], and
[3a] wherein the homopolymer comprises
[3b] a molecular weight of from about 250 g/mol to about 1500 kg/mol [¶ 67] and
[3c] a ceiling temperature less than about 300°C [¶¶ 28, 111, 118, 126, 128, 131, 134],
[4] thereby forming a film 4 on a surface of the substrate 1.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, Ogihara further discloses,
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein said depositing comprises
[1] depositing a formulation comprising the SRP, and
[2] wherein the formulation comprises a solvent [¶¶ 93-95], a plasticizer, an organic acid having a pKa more than or equal to 1, a photoacid generator, a thermal acid generator [¶¶ 89-91], and/or a dye.
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the molecular weight of the homopolymer is a weight-average molecular weight of from about 500 g/mol to 1000 kg/mol [¶ 67].
With regard to claims 26 and 27, Ogihara further discloses,
26. (Original) A structure comprising:
[1] a semiconductor substrate 1 having a top surface and a bottom surface [¶ 108]; and
[2] a layer of a stimulus responsive polymer (SRP) 4 [¶ 108] comprising a homopolymer [¶¶ 44-68],
[3] wherein the layer 4 is disposed on the top surface and/or the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 1 [as shown in Fig. 1], and
[4a] wherein the homopolymer 4 comprises
[4b] a molecular weight of from about 250 g/mol to about 1500 kg/mol [¶ 67] and
[4c] a ceiling temperature less than about 300°C [¶¶ 28, 111, 118, 126, 128, 131, 134].
27. (Original) The structure of claim 26, wherein the molecular weight of the homopolymer is of from about 500 g/mol to 1000 kg/mol [¶ 67].
VI. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore.
Claim 18 reads,
18. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the homopolymer comprises a structure of formula (Ib):
or a salt thereof,
wherein:
each of R1, R5, and R6 is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, optionally substituted alkoxy, optionally substituted alkenyl, optionally substituted aryl, or halo;
each of R2', R2", R3', R3", R4', and R4" is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, or optionally substituted aryl;
each of Z1, Z2, Z3, Z4, Z5, and Z6 is, independently, -O-, -S-, -CR2R3O-, -OCR2R3O-, -OCR2R3-, -CR2R3S-, -SCR2R3S-, or -SCR2R3-, in which each of R2 and R3 is, independently, H, optionally substituted alkyl, or optionally substituted aryl;
each of r1, r5, and r6 is, independently, an integer from 1 to 4; and
n1 is from 1 to 100.
Each of the limitations of claim 18 except for the last, i.e. “n1 is from 1 to 100”, has been addressed above with formula (I) of Moore. As noted above, Moore states the “n can be any integer ranging from 3 to 400” (¶ 46). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); MPEP 2144.05(I)). In such a situation, Applicant must show that the particular ranges are critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A); emphasis added.)
VII. Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DiLauro, Anthony M., and Phillips, Scott T., “End-capped poly(4,5- dichlorophthalaldehyde): a stable self-immolative poly(aldehyde) for translating specific inputs into amplified outputs, both in solution and the solid state”, Polymer Chemistry, 2015, 6, pp. 3252-3258, is cited for disclosing the ceiling temperature of the SRP, poly(4,5- dichlorophthalaldehyde) (e.g. at Fig. 6 on p. 3256), which is the same SRP used in US 2016/0086829 (“Limary”), a prior art reference cited in the IDS filed 04/21/2023 (Limary: Fig. 5B).
Conclusion
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814