DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and the accompanying arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued the references alone or in combination do not teach or render obvious a part of the conductive layer and a part of the first wiring are between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode and the conductive layer surrounds the first pixel electrode in a plan view because Cha does not teach a conductive layer and Bang does not teach the conductive layer 109b/109c surrounds the first pixel electrode 109a when viewed in a plan view.
However, Bang clearly teaches the conductive layer 109b, 109c surrounds the pixel electrode 109a, and additionally, that first wiring 106c is between the pixel electrodes 109a, see Figure 6, annotated below
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Example of conductive layer 109b, 109c surrounding pixel electrode 109a)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Example of first wiring 106c between pixel electrodes 109a)][AltContent: arrow]While no reference singly teaches the conductive layer or first wiring relative to the first pixel electrode (of the light-receiving element), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Cha teaches the light-receiving element comprising the first pixel electrode and the light emitting element comprising the second pixel electrode and Bang teaches the conductive layer between and surrounding all pixels and the first wiring between all pixels. The natural result of the combination of Cha and Bang, to apply the conductive layer 109b, 109c and the first wiring 106c of Bang to the display of Cha or to modify a pixel of Bang to be a light receiving pixel, results in a part of the conductive layer and a part of the first wiring being between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode and the conductive layer surrounding the first pixel electrode in a plan view.
Applicant highlighted features of Figure 5B in the remarks as an example of the claimed invention. However, distinguishing Figure 5B from that suggested by the prior art appears to rely on unclaimed features with regard to where, and where not, the conductive layer and first wiring are located. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The combination of references renders the invention as claimed obvious. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0158751) in view of Bang et al. (US 2010/0127264) and Kanaya (US 2020/0127224).
In reference to claim 1, Cha et al. (US 2021/0158751), hereafter “Cha,” discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a light-receiving element OPD in Figures 12 and 13; and
a light-emitting element LD, paragraph 87;
wherein the light-receiving element comprises a first pixel electrode E1, a common layer HTL over the first pixel electrode, an active layer OPL over the common layer, and a common electrode E2 over the active layer, paragraphs 189-192,
wherein the light-emitting element comprises a second pixel electrode AE, the common layer HCL over the second pixel electrode, a light-emitting layer EML over the common layer, and the common electrode CE over the light-emitting layer, paragraphs 183-185
wherein the common layer is in contact with the first pixel electrode (HTL on E1) and the second pixel electrode (HCL on AE), paragraph 190, and
wherein the common electrode comprises E2 overlapping with the first pixel electrode and a portion CE overlapping with the second pixel electrode, paragraph 192.
Cha does not disclose a conductive layer,
a first wiring,
wherein the conductive layer is provided over the same surface as the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, is positioned between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, is electrically connected to the common layer, and is electrically connected to the first wiring to which a first potential is supplied,
wherein the common layer is in contact with the conductive layer,
wherein the first wiring is provided over a surface different from the surface where the conductive layer is provided,
wherein in a plan view, a part of the conductive layer and a part of the first wiring are between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and
wherein in a plan view, the conductive layer surrounds the first pixel electrode.
Bang et al. (US 2010/0127264), hereafter “Bang,” discloses a display device including teaching a conductive layer 109b, 109c, and a first wiring, 106c in Figures 6 and 7,
wherein the conductive layer is provided over the same surface (of 108) as a first pixel electrode 109a and a second pixel electrode 109a, is positioned between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and is electrically connected to the first wiring 106c to which a first potential is supplied (common, cathode voltage), and
wherein the first wiring is provided over a surface (of 105) different from the surface (of 108) where the conductive layer is provided, paragraphs 13, 39, and 41.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to include a conductive layer and a first wiring,
wherein the conductive layer is provided over the same surface as the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, is positioned between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and is electrically connected to the first wiring to which a first potential is supplied,
wherein the first wiring is provided over a surface different from the surface where the conductive layer is provided,
One would have been motivated to do so in order to couple the common electrode (cathode) to a pad area in a non-display region (106c to 26), Figure 2 and paragraph 37.
In reference to a part of the conductive layer and a part of the first wiring are between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode in a plan view, and the conductive layer surrounds the first pixel electrode in a plan view, Bang teaches the first wiring 106c between pixel electrodes 109a and the conductive layer 109b, 109c surrounds the pixel electrodes 109a of the light emitting elements, it results naturally from modifying the pixels of Cha to include the first wiring between pixels and the conductive layer surrounding the pixels as suggested by Bang that a part of the conductive layer and a part of the first wiring are between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode in a plan view, and the conductive layer surrounds the first pixel electrode in a plan view.
Bang does not disclose the conductive layer is electrically connected to the common layer, or
wherein the common layer is in contact with the conductive layer.
Kanaya (US 2020/0127224), hereafter “Kanaya,” discloses an analogous display device including teaching a conductive layer, 62 in Figure 2, wherein the conductive layer is provided over the same surface as the first pixel electrode 38 and the second pixel electrode 38, is positioned between the first pixel electrode 38 and the second pixel electrode 38, is electrically connected to the common layer 44,
wherein the common layer 44 is in contact with the conductive layer, paragraph 42.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to comprise a conductive layer, wherein the conductive layer is provided over the same surface as the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, is positioned between the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, is electrically connected to the common layer, wherein the common layer is in contact with the conductive layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ground a leakage current from the common layer, paragraph 46.
In reference to claim 2, Cha discloses a first transistor and a second transistor, wherein the first pixel electrode is supplied with a second potential through the first transistor FT1, paragraph 136 and 175, and
wherein the second pixel electrode is supplied with a third potential through the second transistor T1, paragraph 124.
The second potential being lower than or equal to the first potential and the third potential being higher than or equal to the first potential are intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the first and second transistors of Cha are capable of applying the respective lower or higher potentials.
In reference to claim 3, Cha discloses the common electrode is supplied with the first potential, paragraph 193.
In reference to claim 4, Cha discloses a first transistor and a second transistor, wherein the first pixel electrode is supplied with a fourth potential through the first transistor FT1, paragraph 136 and 175, and
wherein the second pixel electrode is supplied with a fifth potential through the second transistor T1, paragraph 124.
The fourth potential being higher than or equal to the first potential and the fifth potential being higher than or equal to the first potential, and fifth potential being higher than the fourth potential are intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the first and second transistors of Cha are capable of applying the respective potentials.
In reference to claim 12, Bang discloses a display region, 12 in Figure 1, and a non-display region 14, wherein the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode are provided in the display region, wherein the conductive layer is provided in the display region, and wherein the conductive layer is electrically connected to the first wiring in the display region, paragraphs 26, 28, and 30.
In reference to claim 15, Cha discloses a display module comprising the display apparatus and a connector or an integrated circuit, paragraphs 87, 95, and 96.
In reference to claim 16, Cha discloses an electronic device comprising the display module and at least one of an antenna, a battery, a house, a camera, a speaker, a microphone, and an operation button, paragraph 48.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0158751) in view of Bang et al. (US 2010/0127264) and Kanaya (US 2020/0127224) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464).
In reference to claim 21, Cha does not disclose wherein in a plan view, the first wiring has a first region extending in a longitudinal direction of the light-receiving element, and
wherein the first region does not overlap with the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and overlaps with a second region of the conductive layer extending in the longitudinal direction of the light receiving element.
Bang discloses the conductive layer 109b, 109c, and a first wiring, 106c in Figures 6 and 7,
wherein in a plan view, the first wiring has a first region 106c, and
wherein the first region does not overlap with the first pixel electrode 109a and the second pixel electrode 109a, and overlaps with a second region of the conductive layer 109c, paragraphs 13, 39, and 41.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to include a conductive layer and a first wiring,
wherein in a plan view, the first wiring has a first region, and
wherein the first region does not overlap with the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and overlaps with a second region of the conductive layer.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to couple the common electrode (cathode) to a pad area in a non-display region (106c to 26), Figure 2 and paragraph 37.
Lee et al. (US 2011/0043464), hereafter “Lee,” discloses an analogous display device including teaching a light-receiving element, S in Figure 2, extending in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the light emitting elements R, G, B, paragraph 39.
Bang teaches the first region, 106c as addressed above, extending in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the light emitting elements, Figure 6.
It results naturally from the combination of Lee with Cha in view of Bang that the first region extends in a longitudinal direction of the light-receiving element, and
the second region of the conductive layer extends in the longitudinal direction of the light receiving element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first wiring to have a first region extending in a longitudinal direction of the light-receiving element in a plan view, and
the first region to not overlap with the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode, and to overlap with a second region of the conductive layer extending in the longitudinal direction of the light receiving element.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. C. In this case, applying the first wiring and conductive layer of Cha in view of Bang to the pixel layout of Lee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akiyama (US 2013/0075761), Lee et al. (US 2020/0212138), Zhu et al. (US 10,984,208), Tanaka (US 2023/0243703), and KR 10-2020-0046817 A, disclose related display devices including light receiving pixels.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897