DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (12/28/2022), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-34) were examined in a Non-Final on 6/10/2025. A Final office action in response to Applicant’s submission of 9/4/2025 was mailed on 12/30/2025. Claims were amended, so that claims 1-11, 13-28 and 30-34 were examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim number 34 is assigned to two claims appearing sequentially. This should be corrected. Claims pending for examination therefore are 1-11, 13-28 and 30-36.
Response to Amendment and arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. 113 rejections are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kiyama’s disclosure related to semiconductor wafer cannot be imputed to Zhang’s dielectric window.
In response it is noted that stress is caused by thermal load in both the situations on a similar structural element (plate shaped) and belongs to similar field of endeavor. As discussed below Zhang discloses that uneven temperature distribution could crack the window, thus implicitly recognizing the generation of stress.
Applicant did not explain why the teaching Kiyama could not be used in Zhang, except to say that they are different components.
Regarding “matrix’, as stated before allows data to be ordered in rectangular form and by itself does not point to any algorithm or procedure. The specification does not disclose any algorithm or procedure involving matrix.
Further, there are numerous references, where stress generated in dielectric window and methods of reducing or their elimination are noted as being desirable. Setton et al is cited in this office action.
Several other references, not relied upon in the main rejection, were cited before and some more are being cited in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
These claims recite first, second, third and fourth matrix based on temperatures in order to determine stress. The matrix appears to be a mapping of parameters for zones whose temperature is detected.
There is no disclosure of how second, third or fourth matrices are obtained and how they help in determination of stress. The disclosure of Fig 4A-4C and related disclosure in the specification is vague and inadequate to explain matrix operations to estimate stress distribution clearly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-28 and 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20190148118) in view of Makoto Kiyama (US 5985678) and Setton et al (US 20130292055).
Zhang et al disclose a component of the plasma chamber which is a dielectric window (Fig 1, 1100), a coil arranged on the dielectric window to generate plasma (1310, 1320), a plenum arranged on the dielectric window to flow a coolant (1200), a coil driving circuit (Para 34) and plurality of temperature sensors (1400) disposed to monitor different zones of the dielectric window.
Zhang et al disclose that electromagnetic energy increases window temperature (Para 35) and uneven temperature is detrimental to the dielectric window and may cause it to crack (Para 05, 06, 36). Thus, Zhang implicitly recognizes generation of stress (cracking would be caused by excessive stress).
Zhang et al do not disclose a controller estimating stress on the dielectric window from the temperature distribution detected by the plurality of temperature sensors.
Makoto Kiyama as discussed above, discloses a system (Fig 9) for estimating stress on a component of a processing chamber during a process,
the system comprising: a plurality of sensors (11, 12, 13 being radiation thermometers) configured to sense temperatures at a plurality of locations of the component (21 being a semiconductor wafer) during the process; and
a controller (computer in Fig 9) configured to: interpolate the temperatures to estimate a temperature distribution (abstract) across the component; and estimate the stress on the component during the process (Abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the teaching developed by Makoto Kiyama to determine stress on the dielectric window in order to have it below a safe limit.
Additionally, Setton et al disclose a plasma processing apparatus having coils (Fig 1) on top to allow electromagnetic energy to pass through dielectric window for plasma and disclose generation of stress (Para 38-39) from the temperature gradient generated from thermal loads. Setton et al further disclose plurality of sensor to monitor temperature of the window and forced air cooling (Para 25).
Regarding the limitation of matrix as discussed below matrix notation in this case is merely a mapping of temperature distribution disposed in the form of a matrix. Makoto Kiyama teaches determination of stress distribution on the component determined from the temperature distribution (See at least Kiyama Col 4 In 20-31). Similarly control of stress by controlling temperature is discussed both in Zhang et al , Kayama and Setton et al.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 19-21 the process controls the stress to prevent generation of slip (Kiyama Col 2 In 51-Col 3 In 10).
Regarding claims 5 and 22 heating means is used to determine and control temperature distribution (Kiyama Col 8 In 24-58).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 23-25 curve filling for data determined from plurality of zones is disclosed (Kiyama Fig 4, 6-8 and Col 4 In 62- Col 5 In 4, Col 6 In 28-30 and Col 7 In 5-15).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 26-27, independent temperature control elements and corresponding temperature sensers are disclosed in Kiyama Fig 9. This points to heat zones corresponding to sensor’s location since having one sensor to a distinct zone would be efficient and obvious.
Regarding claims 11 and 28 sensors are disposed on the half portion where the component (semiconductor wafer) is axisymmetric.
Regarding claims 17 and 34 as best understood in view of 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
as discussed before matrix notation in this case is merely a mapping of temperature distribution disposed in the form of a matrix. Makoto Kiyama teaches determination of stress distribution on the component determined from the temperature distribution (See at least Kiyama Col 4 In 20-31).
Claims 13 and 30 are taught by Zhang et al.
Regarding claims 14-16 and 31-33, Makoto Kiyama teaches determination of stress at each point and direction tangential or radial on the component (See at least Fig 4-8 and their description).
Regarding claim 35 (corrected from 34) coils are disclosed in Zhang and may contribute to thermal load from electromagnetic energy as discussed above.
Regarding claim 36 discloses cooling is disclosed in Zhang.
Claim 18 is rejected with claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 20110088848) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient and cooling (Abstract Fig 1 and Para 19 and 20).
McChesney et al (US 20130228283) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient and cooling (Abstract Fig 4A-6 and Para 36 and 48).
Wicker et al (US 5863376) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient and cooling (Abstract and Col 7 lines 42-59).
Sakka et al (JP 2015022855) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient and cooling (Abstract, Fig 6 and the Description).
Shang et al (CN 204668434) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient (Description).
Akira Sato (CN 106252190) discloses a dielectric window experiencing stress due to temperature gradient and cooling (Description).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716