DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsukamoto et al. ( US 7,723,648; hereinafter Tsukamoto )
Regarding claim 13, Tsukamoto teaches a substrate support (Fig. 3 #200) for a substrate processing system, the substrate support comprising: a baseplate (Fig. 3 #220); a spray coat layer (Fig. 3 #240) arranged on the baseplate (Fig. 3 #220), wherein the spray coat layer ( Fig. 3 #240; Col. 3 lines 41-45 the thermal insulator 140 can comprise a room-temperature-vulcanizing (RTV) adhesive, a plastic such as a thermoplastic, a resin such as a thermosetting resin or a casting resin (or pourable plastic or elastomer compound), an elastomer, etc.; RTV adhesive, thermoplastics, and resins can be sprayed ) has a first thickness ( Col 5 lines 44 – 47 the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator 240 (below substrate 210) and it is relatively thicker at a substantially edge region below the substrate 210) and a first thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 12 - 15 thermal conductivity can vary between a first value between approximately 0.2 W/m-K and approximately 0.8 W/m-K ) ; a bond layer ( Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120 ) arranged on the spray coat layer ( Fig. 3 #240 ), wherein the bond layer has a second thickness ( Col. 5 lines 58 – 60 A layer of Kapton, Vespel, Teflon, etc. maybe disposed on a substantially central region below substrate #210) and a second thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 54-58 Alternatively yet, a layer of material having a different thermal conductivity than that of the thermal insulator #240 may be disposed on a portion of either the upper surface of support base #220 or the lower surface of substrate support #230 ); an outer bond layer arranged on the spray coat layer (Fig. 3 #240) radially outside of the bond layer (Col. 5 lines 54 – 58 material having a different thermal conductivity disposed on a portion of either the upper surface of support base #220 or the lower surface of substrate support #203), wherein the outer bond layer has a third thermal conductivity ( Col. 4 lines 54 – 58 the heat transfer coefficient can vary in a radial direction between a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140 ) different from the second thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 54-58 Alternatively yet, a layer of material having a different thermal conductivity than that of the thermal insulator #240 may be disposed on a portion of either the upper surface of support base #220 or the lower surface of substrate support #230); and a ceramic layer ( Col. 6 lines 54-57 a first layer of ceramic is thermally sprayed onto the thermal insulator, followed by thermally spraying the one or more heating elements onto the first ceramic layer ) arranged on the bond layer (Col. 3 lines 48–50 the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120), wherein a fourth thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 54-58 Alternatively yet, a layer of material having a different thermal conductivity than that of the thermal insulator #240 may be disposed on a portion of either the upper surface of support base #220 or the lower surface of substrate support #230) between the ceramic layer ( as discussed above ) and the baseplate ( Fig. 3 #220) varies in a radial direction ( Col. 4 lines 54 – 58 the heat transfer coefficient can vary in a radial direction between a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140 ).
Regarding claim 14, Tsukamoto teaches the substrate support of claim 13 (as discussed above), wherein the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 18 – 19 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.8 W/m-K near a substantially edge region ) is greater than the second thermal conductivity (Col. 5 lines 16-17 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.2 W/m-K near a substantially central region).
Regarding claim 15, Tsukamoto teaches the substrate support of claim 14 (as discussed above), wherein the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 18 – 19 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.8 W/m-K near a substantially edge region ) is at least 1.5 times greater than the second thermal conductivity (Col. 5 lines 16-17 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.2 W/m-K near a substantially central region).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-12 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito; US 10,192,766 B2; 08/2017 in view of Tsukamoto et al.; US 7,723,648 B2; 09/2006
Claim 1: Ito discloses a substrate support ( Fig. 1 electrostatic chuck section #2 ) for a substrate processing system ( Fig. 1 electrostatic chuck device #80 ), the substrate support ( Fig. 1 #2 ) comprising: a baseplate ( Fig. 1 base section #10 ); a spray coat layer ( Col. 4 lines 52 - 53 a first adhesion layer #4 ) arranged on the baseplate ( Fig. 1 #10 ), wherein the spray coat layer ( Col. 4 line 52 a first adhesion layer #4 ) has a first thickness ( Col. 4 lines 31-34 the first adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm) and a first thermal conductivity ( Col. 23 lines 64 – 67 the thermal conductivity of the insulating material layer is preferably in a range of 0.05 W/mk or more and 0.5 W/mk or less and more preferably in a range of 0.1 W/mk or more and 0.25 W/mk or less) ; a bond layer ( Fig. 1 a second adhesion layer #8 ) arranged on the spray coat layer ( Fig. 1 #4 ), wherein the bond layer ( Fig. 1 #8 ) has a second thickness ( Col. 4 lines 34 – 37 the second adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm) and a second thermal conductivity ( Col. 6 lines 26 - 27 the first adhesion layer and the second adhesion layer may be the same or may be different from each other ); and a ceramic layer ( Col. 11 lines 48 – 49 the electrostatic attracting internal electrode is formed of conductive ceramic) arranged on the bond layer ( Fig. 1 #8 ), wherein at least one of the first thickness ( Col. 4 lines 31-34 the first adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm ) and the second thickness varies ( Col. 4 lines 34 – 37 the second adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm ) in at least one of a radial direction and an azimuthal direction ( Col. 11 lines 37 - 42 The lateral direction of the electrostatic chuck section refers to the direction orthogonal to a laminating direction in the laminated configuration of the electrostatic chuck section, the first and second adhesion layers, the sheet material, and the temperature adjusting base section, as shown in Fig. 1. )
Ito does not appear to disclose a third thermal conductivity between the ceramic layer and the baseplate varies in the at least one of the radial direction and the azimuthal direction.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a third thermal conductivity ( Col. 4 lines 54 – 58 the heat transfer coefficient can vary in a radial direction between a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140 ) between the ceramic layer ( Col. 6 lines 54-57 a first layer of ceramic is thermally sprayed onto the thermal insulator, followed by thermally spraying the one or more heating elements onto the first ceramic layer ) and the baseplate ( Fig. 2B substrate #110 ) varies in the at least one of the radial direction and the azimuthal direction ( as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement a third thermal conductivity between the ceramic layer and the baseplate varies in the at least one of the radial direction and the azimuthal direction because this approach is used to achieve precise, non-uniform or uniform temperature control across the substrate.
Claim 6: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 1 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose each of the first thickness and the second thickness varies in the radial direction.
However, Tsukamoto teaches each of the first thickness ( Col 4 line 62 – Col 5. line 3 a non-uniform spatial variation of the thickness of the thermal insulator #140. Further, the term “substantially central region of the thermal insulator” means a region of the thermal insulator that would overlap a center of the substrate. ) and the second thickness ( Col. 5 lines 4 – 6 the term “substantially edge region of the thermal insulator” means a region of the thermal insulator that would overlap an edge of the substrate ) varies in the radial direction ( Col. 4 lines 54 – 58 the heat transfer coefficient can vary in a radial direction between a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement each of the first thickness and the second thickness varies in the radial direction because a combination of factors related to the spray equipment, the geometry of the part, properties of the coating material, and
Claim 7: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 6 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the spray coat layer includes a recess region and each of the spray coat layer and the bond layer is arranged in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the spray coat layer ( Fig. 3 #240) includes a recess region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240) and each of the spray coat layer ( Fig. 3 #240) and the bond layer ( Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120) is arranged in the recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement the spray coat layer includes a recess region and each of the spray coat layer and the bond layer is arranged in the recessed region because the recessed region combined with the spray coat can help protect the bond layer from external factors such as wear, abrasion, or environmental degradation.
Claim 8: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 7 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose (i) the first thickness of the spray coat layer is greater in an outer edge region of the substrate support than in the recessed region, (ii) the second thickness of the bond layer is greater in the recessed region than in the outer edge region, and (iii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches (i) the first thickness (Col. 5 line 46 it is relatively thicker at a substantially edge region) of the spray coat layer ( Fig. 3 #240 ) is greater in an outer edge region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 45 the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240 (below substrate #210)) of the substrate support than in the recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 45 the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240 (below substrate #210)), (ii) the second thickness ( Col. 5 lines 47 – 50 Alternatively, the thickness can be greater at a substantially center region below the substrate #210 and it can be relatively thinner at a substantially edge region of substrate #210 ) of the bond layer ( Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120 ) is greater in the recessed region (Col. 5 line 48 substantially center region) than in the outer edge region (Col. 5 line 49 substantially edge region), and (iii) the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 16-20 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.2 W/m-K near a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.8 W/m-K near a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140) is greater in the outer edge region (Col. 5 line 49 substantially edge region) than in the recessed region (Col. 5 line 48 substantially center region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement (i) the first thickness of the spray coat layer is greater in an outer edge region of the substrate support than in the recessed region, (ii) the second thickness of the bond layer is greater in the recessed region than in the outer edge region, and (iii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region because in some applications the outer edge may be specifically targeted for thicker coating to provide edge protection or for other functional reasons, a thicker bond layer in the recessed area can help manage stresses that may arise from differences in the coefficient of thermal expansion between the baseplate and the material being bonded, and heat can flow more directly through the solid baseplate material in the outer edge region, which has high thermal conductivity.
Claim 9: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 1 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the second thickness of the bond layer varies in the radial direction.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the second thickness ( Col. 5 lines 47 – 50 Alternatively, the thickness can be greater at a substantially center region below the substrate #210 and it can be relatively thinner at a substantially edge region of substrate #210 ) of the bond layer ( Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120 ) varies in the radial direction ( Col. 4 lines 54 – 58 the heat transfer coefficient can vary in a radial direction between a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement the second thickness of the bond layer varies in the radial direction because the specific process used can cause this along with the geometry of the recessed region.
Claim 10: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 9 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the ceramic layer includes a recessed region and the bond layer is arranged in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the ceramic layer ( Col. 6 lines 54 – 55 a first layer of ceramic is thermally spread onto the thermal insulator) includes a recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240) and the bond layer (Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120) is arranged in the recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement the ceramic layer includes a recessed region and the bond layer is arranged in the recessed region because the ceramic layer acts as a substrate support and the bond layer within the recess attaches the ceramic layer to a baseplate.
Claim 11: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 10 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose (i) the second thickness of the bond layer is greater in the recessed region than in an outer edge region of the substrate support and (ii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches (i) the second thickness ( Col. 5 lines 47 – 50 Alternatively, the thickness can be greater at a substantially center region below the substrate #210 and it can be relatively thinner at a substantially edge region of substrate #210 ) of the bond layer ( Col. 3 line 48 – the thermal insulator #140 may provide a bond layer or adhesion layer between the substrate support #130 and the temperature controlled support base #120 ) is greater in the recessed region (Col. 5 line 48 substantially center region) than in the outer edge region (Col. 5 line 49 substantially edge region) of the substrate support (Fig. 3 #210) and (ii) the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 16-20 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.2 W/m-K near a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.8 W/m-K near a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140) is greater in the outer edge region (Col. 5 line 49 substantially edge region) than in the recessed region (Col. 5 line 48 substantially center region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito to implement (i) the second thickness of the bond layer is greater in the recessed region than in an outer edge region of the substrate support and (ii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region because the recessed region is typically designed to house specific components or materials that require secure bonding to the substrate. A thicker bond layer in this region helps ensure a strong, reliable attachment. Additionally, the outer edge region might be denser than the recessed region which facilitates heat transfer.
Claim 12: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 1 (as discussed above).
Ito teaches the first thermal conductivity ( Col. 23 lines 64 – 67 the thermal conductivity of the insulating material layer is preferably in a range of 0.05 W/mk or more and 0.5 W/mk or less and more preferably in a range of 0.1 W/mk or more and 0.25 W/mk or less) and the second thermal conductivity are different ( Col. 6 lines 26 - 27 the first adhesion layer and the second adhesion layer may be the same or may be different from each other).
Claim 2-5 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito; US 10,192,766 B2; 08/2017 in view of Tsukamoto et al.; US 7,723,648 B2; 09/2006 as it applies to claim 1 and further in view of Tay et al.; US 2013/0315533 A1; 05/2012
Claim 2: Ito and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 1 (as discussed above).
Neither Ito nor Tsukamoto appear to disclose the first thickness of the spray coat layer varies in the radial direction.
However, Tay teaches the first thickness ( [0043] the radial thickness can vary from anywhere between about 0.3 mil to 2 mil ) of the spray coat layer ( [0038] the isolation gap may be filled, partially or completely, with a molded feature #320 that is insulative) varies in the radial direction ( [0043] the distance from the inner wall 332 to the outer wall of the molded feature 328).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tay with Ito and Tsukamoto to implement the first thickness of the spray coat layer varies in the radial direction because varying thickness enhances thermal conductivity.
Claim 3: Ito, Tsukamoto, and Tay disclose the substrate support of claim 2 (as discussed above).
Neither Ito nor Tay appear to disclose the baseplate includes a recessed region and the spray coat layer is arranged in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the baseplate (Fig. 3 support base #220) includes a recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240 (below substrate #210) and it is relatively thicker at a substantially edge region below the substrate #210) and the spray coat layer (Fig. 3 #240) is arranged in the recessed region (Col. 5 lines 44 – 47 As shown the thickness is less at a substantially center region of the thermal insulator #240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Tay and Ito to implement the baseplate includes a recessed region and the spray coat layer is arranged in the recessed region because a recessed area can improve the adhesion of the spray coat and the spray coat in the recessed area can be a functional layer such as a bonding layer.
Claim 4: Ito, Tay, and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 3 (as discussed above).
Neither Ito nor Tay appear to disclose (i) the first thickness of the spray coat layer is greater in the recessed region than in an outer edge region of the substrate support and (ii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches (i) the first thickness of the spray coat layer (Fig. 3 #240) is greater in the recessed region ( Col. 5 lines 47 – 48 Alternatively, the thickness can be greater at a substantially center region below substrate #210) than in an outer edge region ( Col. 5 lines 48 – 50 it can be relatively thinner at a substantially edge region of substrate #210) of the substrate support (Fig. 3 #210) and (ii) the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 12 - 15 thermal conductivity can vary between a first value between approximately 0.2 W/m-K and approximately 0.8 W/m-K and a second value between approximately 0.2 W/m-K and approximately 0.8 W/m-K ) is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region ( Col. 4 line 58 the spatial variation of the heat transfer coefficient may comprise a non-uniform spatial variation of the thermal conductivity of the thermal insulator #140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Tay and Ito to implement (i) the first thickness of the spray coat layer is greater in the recessed region than in an outer edge region of the substrate support and (ii) the third thermal conductivity is greater in the outer edge region than in the recessed region because the thickness of the recessed region would be greater due to part geometry and the outer edge region might be denser than the recessed region which facilitates heat transfer.
Claim 5: Ito, Tay and Tsukamoto disclose the substrate support of claim 4 (as discussed above).
Neither Ito nor Tay appear to disclose the spray coat layer comprises a first material in the recessed region and a second material different from the first material in the outer edge region.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the spray coat layer (Fig. 3 #240) comprises a first material ( Col. 4 lines 18 – 19 the remaining region of the thermal insulator includes a different material ) in the recessed region ( Col. 4 line 18 remaining region of the thermal insulator ) and a second material ( Col. 4 lines 16 – 17 erosion resistant material may be included only at a peripheral exposed edge of the thermal insulator) different from the first material in the outer edge region ( Col. 4 line 17 a peripheral exposed edge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Tay and Ito to implement the spray coat layer comprises a first material in the recessed region and a second material different from the first material in the outer edge region because the recessed region might require a specific function that is not needed or desired on the outer edge.
Claims 16 - 19 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito; US 10,192,766 B2; 08/2017 in view of Tran et al.; US 2017/0069466 A1; 01/2016
Claim 16: Ito discloses a substrate support ( Fig. 1 electrostatic chuck section #2 ) for a substrate processing system ( Fig. 1 electrostatic chuck device #80 ), the substrate support ( Fig. 1 #2 ) comprising: a baseplate ( Fig. 1 base section #10 ); a spray coat layer ( Col. 4 lines 52 - 53 a first adhesion layer #4 ) arranged on the baseplate ( Fig. 1 #10 ), wherein the spray coat layer ( Col. 4 line 52 a first adhesion layer #4 ) has a first thickness ( Col. 4 lines 31-34 the first adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm ) and a first thermal conductivity ( Col. 23 lines 64 – 67 the thermal conductivity of the insulating material layer is preferably in a range of 0.05 W/mk or more and 0.5 W/mk or less and more preferably in a range of 0.1 W/mk or more and 0.25 W/mk or less); a bond layer ( Fig. 1 a second adhesion layer #8 ) arranged on the spray coat layer ( Fig. 1 #4 ), wherein the bond layer ( Fig. 1 #8 ) has a second thickness ( Col. 4 lines 34 – 37 the second adhesion layer includes a joining layer having a layer thickness in a range of 1 nm to 500 nm, and a silicone adhesive layer having a thickness in a range of 2 µm to 30 µm ) and a second thermal conductivity ( Col. 6 lines 26 - 27 the first adhesion layer and the second adhesion layer may be the same or may be different from each other ); a ceramic layer ( Col. 11 lines 48 – 49 the electrostatic attracting internal electrode is formed of conductive ceramic ) arranged on the bond layer ( Fig. 1 #8 );
Ito does not appear to disclose a cavity defined within at least one of the baseplate and the ceramic layer, wherein the cavity encloses one of vacuum between the ceramic layer and the baseplate varies in the at least one of a radial direction and an azimuthal direction.
However, Tran teaches a cavity ( [0049] Surfaces of the face plate 225, the second diffuser 235 and the insulator 230 define a first plasma generation cavity) defined within at least one of the baseplate ( Fig. 2 #225 ) and the ceramic layer ( [0050] Surfaces of the face plate 225 and the second diffuser 235 that face the first plasma 245 directly may be coated with ceramic layers ), wherein the cavity encloses one of vacuum ( [0022] Vacuum may be maintained in the process region 112 by suction from the exhaust module 108 through evacuation channels 114 defined by the flow module 106 ) between the ceramic layer ( as discussed above) and the baseplate ( Fig. 2 #225 ) varies in the at least one of a radial direction and an azimuthal direction ( [0036] The exhaust module 108 includes a symmetric flow valve 180 and a vacuum pump 182 attached to the symmetric flow valve 180. The vacuum pump 182 may be a symmetric turbo molecular pump in certain embodiments. The symmetric flow valve 180 connects to the evacuation channels 114 to provide symmetric and uniform flow in the plasma process chamber 100; the flow field is designed to be as consistent as possible but it does not mean that it is identical everywhere so it still varies in both radial and azimuthal directions ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Chandrasekharan with Ito to implement a cavity defined within at least one of the baseplate and the ceramic layer, wherein the cavity encloses one of vacuum between the ceramic layer and the baseplate varies in the at least one of a radial direction and an azimuthal direction because this approach controls the temperature profile and improves process uniformity.
Claim 17: Ito and Tran disclose the substrate support of claim 16 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the baseplate includes the cavity.
However, Tran teaches the baseplate ( Fig. 2 face plate #225 ) includes the cavity ( [0049] Surfaces of the face plate 225, the second diffuser 235 and the insulator 230 define a first plasma generation cavity ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tran with Ito to implement the baseplate includes the cavity because this can be used to manage vacuum distribution.
Claim 18: Ito and Tran disclose the substrate support of claim 16 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the ceramic layer includes the cavity.
However, Tran teaches the ceramic layer ( [0050] Surfaces of the face plate 225 and the second diffuser 235 that face the first plasma 245 directly may be coated with ceramic layers ) includes the cavity ( [0049] Surfaces of the face plate 225, the second diffuser 235 and the insulator 230 define a first plasma generation cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tran with Ito to implement the ceramic layer includes the cavity because this improves temperature control and can reduce thermal stress which could cause wafer deformation.
Claim 19: Ito and Tran disclose the substrate support of claim 16 (as discussed above).
Ito does not appear to disclose the cavity is arranged in a radially inner region of the substrate support.
However, Tran teaches the cavity ( [0049] Surfaces of the face plate 225, the second diffuser 235 and the insulator 230 define a first plasma generation cavity ) is arranged in a radially inner region ( as shown in Fig. 2 ) of the substrate support ( [0037] The substrate support assembly 118 includes a support plate 174, a base plate 176 that are disposed in the process region 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tran with Ito to implement the cavity is arranged in a radially inner region of the substrate support because this approach improves thermal uniformity, enhances process gas control and optimizes the handing of the substrate.
Claim 20 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito; US 10,192,766 B2; 08/2017 in view of Tran et al.; US 2017/0069466 A1; 01/2016 as it applies to claim 16 and further in view of Tsukamoto et al.; US 7,723,648 B2; 09/2006
Claim 20: Ito and Tran disclose the substrate support of claim 16 (as discussed above).
Neither Ito nor Tran appear to disclose the third thermal conductivity is greater in an outer edge region of the substrate support than in an inner region of the substrate support.
However, Tsukamoto teaches the third thermal conductivity ( Col. 5 lines 16-20 the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.2 W/m-K near a substantially central region of the thermal insulator #140 and the thermal conductivity can be approximately 0.8 W/m-K near a substantially edge region of the thermal insulator #140) is greater in the outer edge region of the substrate support ( as discussed above ) than in an inner region of the substrate support ( as discussed above ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Tsukamoto with Ito and Tran to implement the third thermal conductivity is greater in an outer edge region of the substrate support than in an inner region of the substrate support because this approach compensates for a higher rate of heat loss and is used to achieve uniform wafer temperature.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817