DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Feb. 18th 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 3-7 and 12-24 are examined in this office action. Claims 2, 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 12-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 20150270270) in view of Ikeda et al. (WO 2019224910 and using US 20200091214 as English translation) and Matsuzaki et al. (JP 2018207486 and using US 20200145599 as English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first transistor (fig. 3A, transistor MW1; para. 0061);
a second transistor (transistor MR1; para. 0061);
a third transistor (transistor MA1; para. 0061); and
a capacitor (capacitor CS1; para. 0061),
wherein the first transistor (MW1) is configured (turn off MW1; para. 0070) to retain a first potential (potential of signal D; para. 0070) corresponding to first data (signal D) supplied to a gate (gate connect node FN1; para. 0070) of the third transistor (MA1) through the first transistor (MW1) when being in an off state (off MW1 state),
wherein the capacitor (CS1) is configured (function as a capacitive capacitor; para. 0066) to change the first potential (potential of signal D) retained in the gate (gate connect FN1) of the third transistor (MA1) into a second potential (potential of signal from CL; para. 0066) in accordance with a change in potential (change from potential of signal D to signal from CL) corresponding to second data (signal from CL) supplied to one electrode of the capacitor (terminal of CS1; para. 0066),
wherein the second transistor (MR1) is configured (turn on MR1; para. 0071) to set a potential (potential of s and d) of one of a source and a drain of the third transistor (MA1) to a potential (potential difference correspond to drain current; para. 0071) corresponding to a potential of a gate (controlled by potential of gate from wiring RWL; para. 0071) of the second transistor (MR1),
wherein the third transistor (MA1) is configured to supply output current (drain current through MA1; para. 0071) corresponding to a potential of the gate (potential difference of gate connect FN1 and wiring SL; para. 0071) of the third transistor (MA1) to the other of the source and the drain (source s) of the third transistor (MA1).
Kato fails to explicitly teach one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor and a first wiring.
However, Kato teaches one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (fig. 9, transistors MW2; para. 0115, similar to MW1) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (MR1) and a first wiring (common wiring BL; para. 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor.
Doing so would realize a common BL wiring to simplify manufacturing the device.
Kato fails to teach the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region.
However, Ikeda teaches the output current (Ikeda: consumption current though; para. 0100) is current flowing when the third transistor (Ikeda: fig. 6A, transistor 303; para. 0101, similar to MA1 of Kato) operates in a subthreshold region (Ikeda: subthreshold region; para. 0101).
Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region as taught by Ikeda.
Doing so would realize transistor operates in the subthreshold region to reduce power consumption (Ikeda: para. 0101).
In addition, Kato in view of Ikeda fails to teach the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is the same potential.
However, Matsuzaki teaches the second transistor (Matsuzaki: fig. 15A, transistor MS2; para. 0184, similar to MR1 of Kato) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: transistor MR2; para. 0184, similar to MA1 of Kato) each have a back gate (Matsuzaki: backgates; para. 0184), and wherein a potential (Matsuzaki: negative voltage Vbg1; para. 0178) supplied to the back gates (Matsuzaki: backgates) of the second transistor (Matsuzaki: MS2) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: MR2) is the same potential (Matsuzaki: connect to same Vbg1).
Matsuzaki, Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is the same potential as taught by Matsuzaki.
Doing so would realize a negative voltage can be input directly can be provided and power consumption can be reduced (Matsuzaki: para. 0018).
Regarding claim 3, Kato teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first transistor (fig. 3A, transistor MW1; para. 0061);
a second transistor (transistor MR1; para. 0061);
a third transistor (transistor MA1; para. 0061); and
a capacitor (capacitor CS1; para. 0061),
wherein the first transistor (MW1) is configured (turn off MW1; para. 0070) to retain a first potential (potential of signal D; para. 0070) corresponding to first data (signal D) supplied to a gate (gate connect node FN1; para. 0070) of the third transistor (MA1) through the first transistor (MW1) when being in an off state (off MW1 state),
wherein the capacitor (CS1) is configured (function as a capacitive capacitor; para. 0066) to change the first potential (potential of signal D) retained in the gate (gate connect FN1) of the third transistor (MA1) into a second potential (potential of signal from CL; para. 0066) in accordance with a change in potential (change from potential of signal D to signal from CL) corresponding to second data (signal from CL) supplied to one electrode of the capacitor (terminal of CS1; para. 0066),
wherein the second transistor (MR1) is configured (turn on MR1; para. 0071) to set a potential (potential of s and d) of one of a source and a drain of the third transistor (MA1) to a potential (potential difference correspond to drain current; para. 0071) corresponding to a potential of a gate (controlled by potential of gate from wiring RWL; para. 0071) of the second transistor (MR1),
wherein the third transistor (MA1) is configured to supply output current (drain current through MA1; para. 0071) corresponding to a potential of the gate (potential difference of gate connect FN1 and wiring SL; para. 0071) of the third transistor (MA1) to the other of the source and the drain (source s) of the third transistor (MA1).
Kato fails to explicitly teach one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor and a first wiring.
However, Kato teaches one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (fig. 9, transistors MW2; para. 0115, similar to MW1) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (MR1) and a first wiring (common wiring BL; para. 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor.
Doing so would realize a common BL wiring to simplify manufacturing the device.
Kato fails to teach the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region.
However, Ikeda teaches the output current (Ikeda: consumption current though; para. 0100) is current flowing when the third transistor (Ikeda: fig. 6A, transistor 303; para. 0101, similar to MA1 of Kato) operates in a subthreshold region (Ikeda: subthreshold region; para. 0101).
Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region as taught by Ikeda.
Doing so would realize transistor operates in the subthreshold region to reduce power consumption (Ikeda: para. 0101).
In addition, Kato in view of Ikeda fails to teach the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is lower than a potential of the other of the source and the drain of the third transistor.
However, Matsuzaki teaches the second transistor (Matsuzaki: fig. 15A, transistor MS2; para. 0184, similar to MR1 of Kato) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: transistor MR2; para. 0184, similar to MA1 of Kato) each have a back gate (Matsuzaki: backgates; para. 0184), and wherein a potential (Matsuzaki: negative voltage Vbg1; para. 0178) supplied to the back gates (Matsuzaki: backgates) of the second transistor (Matsuzaki: MS2) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: MR2) is lower than a potential (Matsuzaki: negative voltage lower than potential) of the other of the source and the drain (Matsuzaki: source and the drain connect to ground voltage GND; para. 0004) of the third transistor (Matsuzaki: MR2).
Matsuzaki, Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is lower than a potential of the other of the source and the drain of the third transistor as taught by Matsuzaki.
Doing so would realize a negative voltage can be input directly can be provided and power consumption can be reduced (Matsuzaki: para. 0018).
Regarding claim 4, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the first transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MW1) comprises a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0072) comprising a metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer containing In, Ga, and Zn; para. 0072, 0073) in a channel formation region (Kato: region where a channel is formed; para. 0072).
Regarding claim 5, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 4,
wherein the metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer) comprises In, Ga, and Zn (Kato: containing In, Ga, and Zn; para. 0073).
Regarding claim 6, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the second transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MR1) and the third transistor (Kato: MA1) each comprise a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0074) comprising silicon in a channel formation region (Kato: channel is formed with a silicon layer; para. 0074).
Regarding claim 7, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches an electronic device (Kato: display device 8000; para. 0286) comprising:
the semiconductor device (Kato: Abstract) according to claim 1; and
a housing (Kato: housing 8001; para. 0286),
wherein arithmetic of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0021) is performed by the semiconductor device (Ikeda: block; para. 0021).
Regarding claim 12, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3,
wherein the first transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MW1) comprises a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0072) comprising a metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer containing In, Ga, and Zn; para. 0072, 0073) in a channel formation region (Kato: region where a channel is formed; para. 0072).
Regarding claim 13, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12,
wherein the metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer) comprises In, Ga, and Zn (Kato: containing In, Ga, and Zn; para. 0073).
Regarding claim 14, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3,
wherein the second transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MR1) and the third transistor (Kato: MA1) each comprise a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0074) comprising silicon in a channel formation region (Kato: channel is formed with a silicon layer; para. 0074).
Regarding claim 15, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches an electronic device (Kato: display device 8000; para. 0286) comprising:
the semiconductor device (Kato: Abstract) according to claim 3; and
a housing (Kato: housing 8001; para. 0286),
wherein arithmetic of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0021) is performed by the semiconductor device (Ikeda: block; para. 0021).
Regarding claim 16, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the first wiring (Kato: fig. 9, BL) is configured to supply a current amount (Kato: fig. 5, 6, current for RBL or WBL are both in common BL now) corresponding to the first data (Kato: signal D).
Regarding claim 17, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the first data (Ikeda: pulse signal; para. 0086, similar to D of Kato) is data corresponding to a weight parameter (Ikeda: arbitrary weight coefficient; para. 0086) used for product-sum operation (Ikeda: product-sum operation; para. 0086) of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0086).
Regarding claim 18, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3,
wherein the first wiring (Kato: fig. 9, BL) is configured to supply a current amount (Kato: fig. 5, 6, current for RBL or WBL are both in common BL now) corresponding to the first data (Kato: signal D).
Regarding claim 19, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3,
wherein the first data (Ikeda: pulse signal; para. 0086, similar to D of Kato) is data corresponding to a weight parameter (Ikeda: arbitrary weight coefficient; para. 0086) used for product-sum operation (Ikeda: product-sum operation; para. 0086) of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0086).
Regarding claim 20, Kato teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first transistor (fig. 3A, transistor MW1; para. 0061);
a second transistor (transistor MR1; para. 0061);
a third transistor (transistor MA1; para. 0061); and
a capacitor (capacitor CS1; para. 0061),
wherein one electrode of the capacitor (bottom electrode of CS1) is electrically connected to a second wiring (wiring CL; para. 0059),
wherein the other electrode of the capacitor (top electrode of CS1) is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the first transistor (drain d of MW1) and a gate of the third transistor (gate of MA1),
wherein the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor (source s of MR1) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the third transistor (d of MA1),
wherein the third transistor (MA1) is configured to supply output current (drain current through MA1; para. 0071) corresponding to a potential of the gate (potential difference of gate connect FN1 and wiring SL; para. 0071) of the third transistor (MA1) to the other of the source and the drain of the third transistor (s of MA1).
Kato fails to explicitly teach one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor and a first wiring.
However, Kato teaches one of a source and a drain of the first transistor (fig. 9, transistors MW2; para. 0115, similar to MW1) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (MR1) and a first wiring (common wiring BL; para. 0115).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor.
Doing so would realize a common BL wiring to simplify manufacturing the device.
Kato fails to teach the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region.
However, Ikeda teaches the output current (Ikeda: consumption current though; para. 0100) is current flowing when the third transistor (Ikeda: fig. 6A, transistor 303; para. 0101, similar to MA1 of Kato) operates in a subthreshold region (Ikeda: subthreshold region; para. 0101).
Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the output current is current flowing when the third transistor operates in a subthreshold region as taught by Ikeda.
Doing so would realize transistor operates in the subthreshold region to reduce power consumption (Ikeda: para. 0101).
In addition, Kato in view of Ikeda fails to teach the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is lower than a ground potential.
However, Matsuzaki teaches the second transistor (Matsuzaki: fig. 15A, transistor MS2; para. 0184, similar to MR1 of Kato) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: transistor MR2; para. 0184, similar to MA1 of Kato) each have a back gate (Matsuzaki: backgates; para. 0184), and wherein a potential (Matsuzaki: negative voltage Vbg1; para. 0178) supplied to the back gates (Matsuzaki: backgates) of the second transistor (Matsuzaki: MS2) and the third transistor (Matsuzaki: MR2) is lower than a ground potential (Matsuzaki: negative voltage lower than the ground potential and MR2 connect to ground voltage GND; para. 0004).
Matsuzaki, Ikeda and Kato are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second transistor and the third transistor each have a back gate, and wherein a potential supplied to the back gates of the second transistor and the third transistor is lower than a ground potential as taught by Matsuzaki.
Doing so would realize a negative voltage can be input directly can be provided and power consumption can be reduced (Matsuzaki: para. 0018).
Regarding claim 21, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 20,
wherein the first transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MW1) comprises a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0072) comprising a metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer containing In, Ga, and Zn; para. 0072, 0073) in a channel formation region (Kato: region where a channel is formed; para. 0072), and
wherein the metal oxide (Kato: oxide semiconductor layer) comprises at least In (Kato: containing In; para. 0073).
Regarding claim 22, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 20,
wherein the second transistor (Kato: fig. 3A, MR1) and the third transistor (Kato: MA1) each comprise a semiconductor layer (Kato: semiconductor layer; para. 0074) comprising silicon in a channel formation region (Kato: channel is formed with a silicon layer; para. 0074).
Regarding claim 23, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches an electronic device (Kato: display device 8000; para. 0286) comprising:
the semiconductor device (Kato: Abstract) according to claim 20; and
a housing (Kato: housing 8001; para. 0286),
wherein arithmetic of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0021) is performed by the semiconductor device (Ikeda: block; para. 0021).
Regarding claim 24, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 23,
wherein the first wiring (Kato: fig. 9, BL) is configured to supply a current amount (Kato: fig. 5, 6, current for RBL or WBL are both in common BL now) corresponding to the first data (Kato: signal D), and
wherein the first data (Ikeda: pulse signal; para. 0086, similar to D of Kato) is data corresponding to a weight parameter (Ikeda: arbitrary weight coefficient; para. 0086) used for product-sum operation (Ikeda: product-sum operation; para. 0086) of a neural network (Ikeda: neural network; para. 0086).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Feb. 18th 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to pages 9-11 of applicant’s response of claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103.
Applicant submits "Kato, Ikeda and Matsuzaki alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest at least the feature that one of a source and a drain of the claimed first transistor is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor and a first wiring".
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in fig. 9 of Kato, Kato teaches one of a source and a drain of the claimed first transistor (one S/D of MW2, similar to MW1) is electrically connected to one of a source and a drain of the second transistor (one S/D of MR1) and a first wiring (BL). Here a single common BL wiring is obvious alternative setting for two separate RBL, WBL wiring and simplify manufacturing the device. In addition, in fig. 3A of Kato, S/D of MW1 and S/D of MR1 are also "potentially" or "indirectly" electrically connected. As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Kato in view of Ikeda and Matsuzaki teaches all limitations of claims 1 and 3. Details of rejections are discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ONO et al. (US 20180204118) teaches data corresponding to a weight parameter used for product-sum operation of a neural network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818 /CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818