DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nankawa et al (2011/0086309) in view of Suzuki et al (JP 2018-169548 and its machine translation).
Nankawa et al disclose a method of forming a resist pattern comprising the steps as set forth by the instant claims 15-20, and the element of claim 14:
Wherein the reference also teaches a step of plating ([0127]; instant claim 17).
The resist resin composition used in the method includes a binder polymer (A), polymerizable compound (B), initiator (C) (claim 1), and a sensitizing dye having an absorption max of about 37- to 420 nm ([0094], claim 5), and wherein a preferred alicyclic group for R4 of monomer unit (II) is (II) a dicyclopentanyl group (claims 1 and 3). The sensitizing dye includes compounds such as anthracenes, courmarins, pyrazolines, and also compounds known as UV absorbers, in triazoles and trizaines taught by the instant specification as types of compounds meeting the UV absorber limitations, including the molar absorption coefficient), and two or more compound may be added in combination and are taught by the reference to absorb UV light and when two are used in combination, one of the sensitizing compounds, would meet the limitations of the UV absorber as they absorb UV radiation during exposure to increase sensitivity and improve resolution. Alternatively, the initiator also absorbs UV light to induce photoinitiator at the exposure wavelength, and imidazoles and benzophenone compounds are disclosed, and when two are included, the benzophenone would meet the limitations of the UV absorber (which is preferably a benzophenone; ([0090]-[0096], bis(diethylamino)benzophenone suggested by the reference appears to be known to have a molar absorption coefficient of about 49,000 at 365). The material used in the method is taught by the instant claims and specification to include a UV absorber having the property of a molar absorption coefficient in a range of 500 to 50,000 L/ (mol.cm) at 365, which is not specifically by the reference, however, the compounds taught by the reference include compound absorbing UV light and are in the class of compounds taught by the instant specification as inherently possessing his property and meeting the limitations of the instant claims absent evidence to the contrary.
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to perform the method of Nankawa et al, wherein the material used in the method includes each of an initiator, a sensitizing dye, and one of an additional benzophenone initiator or additional UV sensitizing dye, wherein the resultant method and material would include the components as claimed including a UV absorbing compound as instantly claimed.
Nankawa et al disclose a benzophenone UV absorber, with a non-limiting example of bis(diethylamino)benzophenone.
Suzuki et al disclose a photosensitive resin composition comprising a UV absorber, wherein the reference teaches a bis(diethylamino)benzophenone as suggested by Nankawa et al, and further teach hydroxy-containing benzophenones as newly claimed. The reference teaches benzophenone, 4,4 ′ - diaminobenzophenone, 4,4 ′ - bis (dimethylamino) benzophenone, 4,4 ′ - bis (diethylamino) benzophenone, 4,4 ′ - bis (dibutylamino) benzophenone, 4-ethylamino benzophenone , 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone , 3,4-dihydroxybenzophenone , 2,3,4-trihydroxybenzophenone , 2344 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetramethoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetraethoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetrabutoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′ - dihydroxy-4, 4 ′ - dimethoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′ - dihydroxy-4, 4 ′ - diethoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′ - dihydroxy-4, 4 ′ - dibutoxybenzophenone, 4,4 ′ - dihydroxybenzophenone, 4,4 ′ - dimethoxybenzophenone, 4,4 ′ - dibutoxybenzophenone, and 4,4 ′ - diphenylbenzophenone. Wherein 2,3,4-trihydroxybenzophenone , 2344 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone meet the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 21-23.
Suzuki therefore teaches that suitable UV absorbers include those as suggested by Nankawa et al, and teaches their equivalence to 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone ,2,3,4-trihydroxybenzophenone , 2344 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4 ′ - tetrahydroxybenzophenone, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Nankawa et al, choosing as the UV absorber, that taught by Suzuki et al to be known and equivalent to those suggested by the primary reference.
Claim(s) 14-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nankawa et al in view of Ushijima et al (JP 2007-272138 and its machine translation).
Nankawa et al has been discussed above and discloses a benzophenone UV absorber, with a non-limiting example of bis(diethylamino)benzophenone.
Ushijima et al disclose a photosensitive material and teaches that known benzophenones include diaminobenzophenone, and equates them to the hydroxy-containing compounds as set forth by the newly amended claim 14 and 21-23 ([0013]).
Examples of the benzophenone compound include 2,2′-dihydroxy-4-methoxybenzophenone, 2,2′-dihydroxy-4,4′-dimethoxydisulfobenzophenone disodium, 2,2′-dihydroxy-4,4′-. Dimethoxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 3,4-tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2 ′, 4,4′-tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2′3,4,4′-pentahydroxybenzophenone, 2,2′- Dihydroxy-4-methoxybenzophenone, 2,3,3′4,4 ′, 5′-hexahydroxybenzophenone, 2,3,4,4′-tetrahydroxybenzophenone, 2,3,4-trihydroxybenzophenone, 2, 4,4′-trihydroxybenzophenone, 2,4,5-trihydroxybenzophenone, 2,4,6-trihydroxybenzophenone, 2,4-di Droxy-4′-diethylaminobenzophenone, 2,4-dihydroxy-4′-dimethylaminobenzophenone, 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone, 4,4′-dihydroxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4- (2-hydroxy-3-methacryloxy ) Propoxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4'-dimethylaminobenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-i-octyloxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-n-octyloxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-octyloxybenzophenone, 2 -Hydroxy-4-acetoxyethoxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-octadecyloxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-dodecyloxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-methoxy-2'-carboxybe Zophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-methoxy-5-sulfobenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-methoxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxybenzophenone, 4,4'-dihydroxybenzophenone, 4,4'-bis (diethylamino) benzophenone, 4, 4′-bis (dimethylamino) benzophenone, 4 ′, 6-dihydroxy-2-naphthobenzophenone, 4-dodecyloxy-2-hydroxybenzophenone, 4-hydroxybenzophenone, N, N, N ′, N′-tetramethyl- Examples include 4,4′-diaminobenzophenone. Among these, 2,3,4-trihydroxybenzophenone, 2,4-dihydroxybenzophenone, 2-hydroxy-4-n-octyloxybenzophenone and 2-hydroxy-4-methoxybenzophenone can be preferably used.
The reference teaches each compound as set forth by the instant claims 21-23, and teaches their equivalence to the diamino type benzophenone disclosed by the primary reference.
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Nankawa et al choosing as the choosing as the benzophenone UV absorber, that taught by Ushijima et al to be known and equivalent to those suggested by the primary reference
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-20 (and now 21-23) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722