DETAILED ACTION
This office action is written in response to the Applicants Remarks filed 12/1/25. Claims 1-2,4-7,9-11 and 13-23 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-11 and 13 have been examined on the merits. Claims 14-22 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 14-22 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The new claims are an independent grouping of claims that recite NITE BP -02875 as the Streptococcus thermophilus strain of the invention. There is no indication that the Streptococcus thermophilus of the new claims follows the same search as the instantly claimed S. thermophilus.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 14-22 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 1-13 anticipated by Curic-Bawden et al. (US 2019/0082707) have been withdrawn due to the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eyer et al. US 5962046.
Regarding Claims 1 and 4: Eyer discloses a starter culture containing Streptococcus thermophilus and L. johnsonii [Ex. 1; Ex. 2; col. 2, lines 55-67]. Eyer does not require the presence of L. delbrueckii.
Regarding Claims 10 and 13: Eyer discloses a fermented milk containing Streptococcus thermophilus and L. johnsonii [abstract; Ex. 1; Ex. 2; col. 2, lines 55-67]. Eyer does not require the presence of L. delbrueckii.
Claims 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koh et al. (US 2019/0281848).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eyer et al. US 5962046 as applied to claims 1 and 10 above and in further view of Curic-Bawden et al. (US 2019/0082707).
Regarding Claim 2: Eyer discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Eyer does not disclose that the S. thermophilus is a strain carrying a prtSgene.
Curic-Bawden discloses S. thermophilus as having prtS genes encoding a cell wall proteinase [0023-0025].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the S. thermophilus of Eyer to include the S. thermophilus having prtS genes of Curic-Bawden in order to supply proteolytic activity to the milk, hydrolyzing the milk and improving the quality of the fermented milk.
Regarding Claim 11: Eyer discloses as discussed above in claim 10. Curic-Bawden discloses S. thermophilus as having prtS genes encoding a cell wall proteinase [0023-0025].
Eyer does not disclose that the S. thermophilus is a strain carrying a prtSgene.
Curic-Bawden discloses S. thermophilus as having prtS genes encoding a cell wall proteinase [0023-0025].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the S. thermophilus of Eyer to include the S. thermophilus having prtS genes of Curic-Bawden in order to supply proteolytic activity to the milk, hydrolyzing the milk and improving the quality of the fermented milk.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koh et al. (US 2019/0281848) as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of Curic-Bawden et al. (US 2019/0082707).
Regarding Claim 7: Koh discloses as discussed above in claim 6. Curic-Bawden discloses S. thermophilus as having prtS genes encoding a cell wall proteinase [0023-0025].
Koh does not disclose that the S. thermophilus is a strain carrying a prtSgene.
Curic-Bawden discloses S. thermophilus as having prtS genes encoding a cell wall proteinase [0023-0025].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the S. thermophilus of Koh to include the S. thermophilus having prtS genes of Curic-Bawden in order to supply proteolytic activity to the milk, hydrolyzing the milk and improving the quality of the fermented milk.
Response to Arguments
The 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 1-13 anticipated by Curic-Bawden et al. (US 2019/0082707) have been withdrawn due to the amendments made to the claims.
The claims have been rejected under new art as discussed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. International Dairy Journal vol. 23 2012 pages 91-98 discloses cell-envelope protease PrtS of Streptococcus thermophilus 4F44 [abstract]. Chang discloses the rapid acidification of milk using S. thermophilus containing the prtS gene [Introduction].
Kringelum et al. (US 2002/0081712) discloses a lactic acid starter culture added to raw milk [0044]. Kringelum discloses the starter culture containing S. thermophilus and L. helveticus [0105].
Li et al. (CN 106509529) Machine Translation discloses lactic acid beverage containing milk as a raw material [abstract]. Li discloses leaven A comprising Lactobacillus plantarum, bacillus acidophilus, lactobacillus helveticus, one or several in lactobacillus caseiLeaven B includes streptococcus thermophilus, Lactobacillus bulgaricus, lactobacillus casei, pair Lactobacillus casei, bacillus acidophilus, Lactococcus lactis subsp.lactis, lactococcus lactis subsp.cremoris, Lactococcus lactis [pg. 22].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Felicia C Turner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793