Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The drawing objection is maintained. The applicant has provided a marked up Figure 18 in the remarks filed 6/8/26 but the current drawings do not show the claimed features. MPEP 608.02(d) discloses “[a]ny structural detail that is of sufficient importance to be described should be shown in the drawing. (Ex parte Good, 1911 C.D. 43, 164 OG 739 (Comm’r Pat. 1911).”
The applicant alleges “Applicant respectfully submits that one skilled in the art would not have been motivated to replace the hydrophobic layer (90) of Do with the aluminum oxide layer as taught by Lee because doing so would negate the hydrophobic benefit disclosed by Do. In other words, the Office action's proposed modification of Do in view of Lee would render Do unsuitable for its intended purpose”. The examiner disagrees. MPEP 2145 X D 1. dislcloses “’a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.’) (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009))”. In this case the Do reference cites a preference for the hydrophobic layer but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage the claimed combination. Moreover, the applicant has not provided evidence that Do in view of Lee would render Do unsuitable for its intended purpose. MPEP 716.01(c) discloses “Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984)”. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a thickness of the second insulating layer which is exposed by the first insulating layer is smaller than a thickness of the second insulating layer which is not exposed by the first insulating layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) in view of Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536).
Do et al disclose a light emitting element core comprising a first semiconductor layer (11, 140), a second semiconductor layer disposed on the first semiconductor layer (13, 142), and an element active layer (12, 141) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; a first insulating layer (80, 150) (SiO2 [0076]) formed on a side surface of the light emitting element core to surround the side surface of the light emitting element core and a second layer (90, 160)disposed to surround an outer surface of the first insulating layer (fig. 9, fig 14).
Do et al. fails to disclose the first insulation layer having a first fixed charge; and a second insulating layer disposed to surround an outer surface of the first insulating layer and a second insulating layer containing a material having a second fixed charge different from the first fixed charge.
Lee et al. disclose the first insulation layer (silicon oxide or hafnium oxide)[0058] having a first fixed charge a second insulating layer (aluminum oxide) [0058] containing a material having a second fixed charge different from the first fixed charge.
The combination of Do et al. and Lee et al. would result in the second insulating layer (Lee et al.) taking the place of the second surrounding layer (Do et al.) the outer surface of the first insulating layer.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using a first and second insulation layers), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034].)
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the combination of Do and Lee et al. disclose the first insulating layer is (SiO2 [0076, Do]) and the second insulating layer is (aluminum oxide, Lee [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Do disclose the first insulating layer (80, 150) (SiO2 [0076]) is disposed directly on side surfaces of the first semiconductor layer(11, 140), the second semiconductor layer(13, 142), and the element active layer(12, 141) (fig. 9, fig 14).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) in view of Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ma et al. (US 2020/0185501).
The combination of Do and Lee et al. disclose invention supra.
The combination of Do and Lee et al. fail to disclose the fixed charge is the same polarity as the second fixed charge.
Ma et al. disclose dielectric materials can be created to have positive fixed charges and negative fixed charges [0058] and figure 2 discloses dielectrics that can either have fixed positive charges or fixed negative charges.
Ma could be used to make both the first dielectric (ie silicon oxide or hafnium oxide) and the second dielectric (ie aluminum oxide) have either fixed positive charges or fixed negative charges (i.e. same polarity).
The examiner submits this would mean that one ordinary skill could make the first dielectric layer (disclosed in Do or Lee, silicon oxide or hafnium oxide) have the same polarity (fixed positive or negative charge) as the second dielectric layer (disclosed in Lee, aluminum oxide).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (controlling the polarity of the insulation layer), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034] and the positive fixed charges of the material will repel the mobile holes and the negative fixed charges of the material will repel the electrons [0057, Ma].)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Do et al., Lee et al. and Ma et al. disclose each of the first (positive)(hafnium oxide [0058, Lee]) and second fixed charges (aluminum oxide, Lee [0058]) is a positive fixed charge, and a magnitude of the first fixed charge is smaller than a magnitude of the second fixed charge (Figure 2 of Ma shows the positive hafnium oxide with a lower positive magnitude than the positive aluminum oxide) (paragraph [0059] explains the magnitude).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) in view of Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536) and Ma et al. (US 2020/0185501) as applied to claim 2 above.
The combination of Do Lee et al. and Ma et al. disclose invention supra.
The combination of Do Lee et al. and Ma et al., as applied above, fail to explicitly disclose each of the first and second fixed charges is a negative fixed charge, and a magnitude of the first fixed charge is greater than a magnitude of the second fixed charge.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Do and Lee et al. disclose each of the first (SiO2 [0076, Do]) and second (aluminum oxide, Lee [0058]).
Ma disclose forming negative fixed charges in an insulation materials [0057]. So one could make the first and second insulation layers have a negative fixed charge.
Ma also discloses using a concentration of negative fixed charges, e.g. greater than 10.sup.12 negative charges per square centimeter [0057]. The examiner submits a lower concentration of fixed charge will result in a lower magnitude of charge.
MPEP 2144.05 II A discloses “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”
Do Lee et al. and Ma et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a magnitude of the first fixed charge is greater than a magnitude of the second fixed charge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the magnitude of the second fixed charge of the second dielectric is less than the first by changing the concentration of the concentration of fixed negative charges in the second dielectric, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In Re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (controlling the polarity and magnitude of the insulation layer), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034] and the negative fixed charges of the material will repel the electrons [0057, Ma].)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) in view of Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Ma et al. (US 2020/0185501).
The combination of Do and Lee et al. disclose invention supra.
The combination of Do and Lee et al. fail to disclose each of the first fixed charge of the silicon oxide (SiOx) and the second fixed charge of the aluminum oxide (AlxOy) is a positive fixed charge, and the first fixed charge is smaller than the second fixed charge.
Ma disclose forming positive fixed charges in an insulation materials [0057]. So one could make the first and second insulation layers have a positive fixed charge.
Ma also discloses using a concentration of positive fixed charges, e.g. greater than 10.sup.12 negative charges per square centimeter [0057]. The examiner submits a lower concentration of fixed charge will result in a lower magnitude of charge.
MPEP 2144.05 II A discloses “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”
Do Lee et al. and Ma et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a magnitude of the first fixed charge is greater than a magnitude of the second fixed charge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the magnitude of the first dielectric fixed charge so that it is less than the second dielectric fixed charge by changing the concentration of the concentration of fixed positive charges in the first dielectric, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In Re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (controlling the polarity and magnitude of the insulation layer), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034] and the positive fixed charges of the material will repel the holes [0057, Ma].)
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0019369) in view of Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) and Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536).
Cho et al. disclose a substrate (100); a first electrode (22)[0055] disposed on the substrate; a second electrode (21)[0055] disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the first electrode (fig. 3); and a light emitting element (40)[0055] disposed on the substrate and having both ends disposed on the first electrode and the second electrode, respectively herein the light emitting element comprises: a light emitting element core comprising a first semiconductor layer (430) (fig. 5a), a second semiconductor layer (440) (fig. 5a) disposed on the first semiconductor layer, and an element active layer(450) (fig. 5a) disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer [0057]; a first insulating layer (470) (fig. 5a) [0063] formed on a side surface of the light emitting element core to surround the side surface of the light emitting element core.
Cho et al. fails to disclose the first dielectric having a first fixed charge; and a second insulating layer disposed to surround an outer surface of the first insulating layer and containing a material having a second fixed charge different from the first fixed charge.
Do et al. disclose a first insulating layer (80, 150) (SiO2 [0076]) formed on a side surface of the light emitting element core to surround the side surface of the light emitting element core and a second layer (90, 160)disposed to surround an outer surface of the first insulating layer (fig. 9, fig 14).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (forming two layers on the side of the LED), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075]).
Cho and Do et al fail to disclose the first dielectric having a first fixed charge and a second insulating layer disposed to surround an outer surface of the first insulating layer and containing a material having a second fixed charge different from the first fixed charge.
Lee et al. disclose the first insulation layer (silicon oxide or hafnium oxide)[0058] having a first fixed charge a second insulating layer (aluminum oxide) [0058] containing a material having a second fixed charge different from the first fixed charge.
The combination of Cho Do et al. and Lee et al. would result in the fixed charge second insulating layer (Lee et al.) taking the place of the second surrounding layer (Do et al.) the outer surface of the first insulating layer.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (using a first and second insulation layers), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034].)
Regarding claim 18, Cho et al. disclose a first insulating layer (470) disposed on the light emitting element to expose both ends of the light emitting element (fig. 5A); a first contact electrode (62) disposed on the first electrode (22) and in contact with one end of the light emitting element exposed by the first electrode and the first insulating layer; and a second contact electrode (61) disposed on the second electrode (21) and in contact with the other end of the light emitting element exposed by the second electrode and the first insulating layer (fig. 4).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0019369) Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) in view of Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536) as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Ma et al. (US 2020/0185501).
The combination of Cho, Do and Lee et al. disclose invention supra.
The combination of Cho, Do and Lee et al. fail to disclose the fixed charge is the same polarity as the second fixed charge.
Ma et al. disclose dielectric materials can be created to have positive fixed charges and negative fixed charges [0058] and figure 2 discloses dielectrics that can either have fixed positive charges or fixed negative charges.
Ma could be used to make both the first dielectric (ie silicon oxide or hafnium oxide) and the second dielectric (ie aluminum oxide) have either fixed positive charges or fixed negative charges (i.e. same polarity).
The examiner submits this would mean that one ordinary skill could make the first dielectric layer (disclosed in Do or Lee, silicon oxide or hafnium oxide) have the same polarity (fixed positive or negative charge) as the second dielectric layer (disclosed in Lee, aluminum oxide).
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (controlling the polarity of the insulation layer), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034] and the positive fixed charges of the material will repel the mobile holes and the negative fixed charges of the material will repel the electrons [0057, Ma].)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Do et al., Lee et al. and Ma et al. disclose each of the first (positive)(hafnium oxide [0058, Lee]) and second (positive) fixed charges (aluminum oxide, Lee [0058]) is a positive fixed charge, and a magnitude of the first fixed charge is smaller than a magnitude of the second fixed charge (Figure 2 of Ma shows the positive hafnium oxide with a lower positive magnitude than the positive aluminum oxide) (paragraph [0059] explains the magnitude).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2018/0019369) Do et al. (US 2014/0155237) and Lee et al. (US 2002/0106536) and Ma et al. (US 2020/0185501) as applied to claim 13 above.
The combination of Cho, Do, Lee et al. and Ma et al. disclose invention supra.
The combination of Cho, Do, Lee et al. and Ma et al., as applied above, fail to explicitly disclose each of the first and second fixed charges is a negative fixed charge, and a magnitude of the first fixed charge is greater than a magnitude of the second fixed charge.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Do and Lee et al. disclose each of the first (SiO2 [0076, Do]) and second (aluminum oxide, Lee [0058]).
Ma disclose forming negative fixed charges in an insulation materials [0057]. So one could make the first and second insulation layers have a negative fixed charge.
Ma also discloses using a concentration of negative fixed charges, e.g. greater than 10.sup.12 negative charges per square centimeter [0057]. The examiner submits a lower concentration of fixed charge will result in a lower magnitude of charge.
MPEP 2144.05 II A discloses “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”
Cho, Do, Lee et al. and Ma et al., disclose the claimed invention except for a magnitude of the first fixed charge is greater than a magnitude of the second fixed charge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the magnitude of the second fixed charge of the second dielectric is less than the first by changing the concentration of the concentration of fixed negative charges in the second dielectric, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In Re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (controlling the polarity and magnitude of the insulation layer), and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable (i.e. the insulation layer will minimize surface defects of the subminiature LED element, which improves life cycle and efficiency [Do, 0075] and second insulation layer will protect the first insulation layer [specification 0034] and the negative fixed charges of the material will repel the electrons [0057, Ma].)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817