DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “similar” in claim 21is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The range encompassed by the term “similar” in unclear. For the purposes of examining, the similar size is understood to be a size range based on a feature described as having features that are on a scale of the product or resolvable by the same tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laske et al. [US 2019/0179231].
For claims 1 and 21, Laske teaches a substrate (118, see Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a target structure (200 and 300, see Figs. 2A-3) formed in at least two layers (206 and 208), the target structure comprising:
a first region (reference pattern feature regions, see Figs. 2A-3) comprising periodically repeating features (212A, 212B, see Figs. 2A and 2B, 224 and 228, see Fig. 2C) in each of the layers, the features of the first region comprising structures of similar size of product structures (device scale pitch, see [0070]) and having a periodic pattern allowing measurement using optical metrology (by tool 102b, see [0066]-[0072]), wherein at least some of the features in a first layer of the layers overlays at least some of the features in a second layer of the layers (see the arrangement in Figs. 2A-2C); and
a second region (device scale pattern region, see Figs. 2A-3) comprising repetitions of one or more product features (210a and 210b) in each of the layers, the repetitions enabling stochastic analysis to determine at least one local variation metric (device-scale feature patterns to correspond to different device structures thereby enabling device related variation analysis, see [0062], [0078], and [0081]).
For claim 2, Laske teaches the periodically repeating features are formed in the at least two layers such that intensity and/or phase asymmetry in a zeroth order and/or corresponding diffraction orders varies predictably with overlay (tool 102b may be a scatterometry based, see [0052] and [0056]).
For claim 3, Laske teaches the first region extends at least across a first area corresponding to a spot size of an optical metrology tool and the combined first region (a swath 230 of an imaging beam 126 by tool 102a, see Figs. 1C and 2C and [0068]) and second region extend at least partially across a second area corresponding to a field of view of an e-beam based metrology tool suitable to measure the one or more product features (particle beam 112 suitable for resolving device-scale features, see [0040]).
For claim 5, Laske teaches the repetitions of one or more product features comprise representative product features which will not form part of a functioning device, but are representative of product structures forming part of the functioning device (device-scale feature patterns to correspond to different device structures thereby enabling device related variation analysis, see [0062], [0078], and [0081]).
For claim 6, Laske teaches the one or more product features are grouped into groups, the grouping being based on one or more selected from: functionality, criticality and/or geometrical properties (multiple sets of different device-scale feature patterns with varying dimensions, densities, and/or orientations, see [0072]-[0078] and Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laske in view of Gurevich et al. [US 2019/0049858].
For claim 4, Laske fails to explicitly teach the repetitions of each of the one or more product features number more than 1000.
Gurevich teaches in paragraph [0056]-[0064] teaches that minimum number of lines of a target for determining uncertainty is based on the critical dimension and the standard deviation. The number of repetitions of a target is a result effective parameter that provides for identifying statistically relevant stochastic error.
Further, there is no evidence showing the criticality of the claimed number.
According to well established patent law precedent (see, for example, M.P.E.P. §2144.05) it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine (for example by routine experimentation) the optimum number of repetitions in order to provide statistically relevant stochastic error.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laske in view of Yang et al. [US 10,809,633].
For claim 7, Laske recognizes forming the pattern with one more lithography steps, Laske fails to explicitly teach a set of at least two reticles comprising reticle features arranged to image the target structure as claimed in claim 1 on the substrate in a plurality of exposures.
Yang teaches a set of at least two reticles comprising reticle features arranged to image the target structure as claimed in claim 1 on the substrate in a plurality of exposures (respective photomasks 16 used to fabricate a semiconductor device, see col. 4 lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide multiple reticles as taught by Yan in the lithographic steps as taught by Laske in order fabricate different structures at different layers of a semiconductor device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on July 6, 2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A rejoinder as described in MPEP 821.04 will be considered upon indication of an allowable claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759