Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I directed to Claims 10-17 and FIGS. 1-7 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinriki (Patent No.: US 2008/0318417).
Re claim 10, Shinriki, Figs. 7(a)-(f) teaches method for manufacturing a semiconductor device that includes forming a ruthenium film on a conductive film formed on a substrate for manufacture of the semiconductor device,
wherein the conductive film includes a metal that increases an electrical resistance between the conductive film and the ruthenium film by interfacial diffusion between the conductive film and the ruthenium film, and
wherein the method comprises forming the ruthenium film (210, Fig. 7(d), ¶ [0170]) on the conductive film (209, [0167]) by alternately repeating a plurality of times (to reach certain thickness, for example, “repeated for a specified number of cycles (such as 10 cycles, 20 cycles, 30 cycles, 40 cycles, 50 cycles”, [0142]);
forming a ruthenium thin film by supplying a ruthenium raw material gas ((Ru(EtCp)2), [0141]) to the substrate (201) on which the conductive film is formed; and
supplying a boron compound gas (B2H6, [0167]) to the ruthenium thin film.
Shinriki differs from the claim invention by not disclosing “then supplying a boron compound gas to the ruthenium thin film”.
However, the changes in sequence of method steps such as “supplying a boron compound gas after depositing the ruthenium thin film” has a little patentable weight unless it is critical. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Re claim 11, Shinriki, Figs. 7(a)-(f) teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the conductive film is a cobalt film including cobalt [0212].
Re claim 12, Shinriki, Figs. 7(a)-(f) teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein the boron compound gas is a diborane gas (B2H6, [0167]).
Re claim 13 and 15, Shinriki teaches the method of Claim 12, wherein the ruthenium raw material gas is a derivative ruthenium precursor gas (Figs. 2(a)-2(c), [015])).
Shinriki differs from the invention by not showing a dodecacarbonium triruthenium gas.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the above said teaching since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 14, Shinriki teaches the method of Claim 13, wherein the ruthenium thin film has a film thickness of 0.268 nm or more and 2 nm or less (“approx. 1 nm, [0150]).
Re claim 15, Shinriki teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the boron compound gas is a diborane gas (B2H6, [0167]).
Re claim 17, Shinriki teaches the method of Claim 10, wherein the ruthenium thin film has a film thickness of 0.268 nm or more and 2 nm or less (“approx. 1 nm, [0150]).
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893