The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejections of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn based upon the amendment and arguments of the applicant. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda et al. WO 2021221123, in view of Tanabe et al. 20190384156, Nam et al. KR 20110120785, Ishibashi et al. JP 2004006798 and Kataoka et al. JP 2020-034666
Goda et al. WO 2021221123 (machine translation attached) in example 1-1, teaches the formation of a (unpatterned) mask blank including a substrate with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a Ru capping layer, a 20 nm SnO layer (Sn:O 1:1.6) and an outermost 2nm layer of TaO. This was then coated with a resist and patterned to form a mask [0067-0073]. Example 1-2 is similar, but uses a 47 nm SnO-SiO layer (50:50) and a 1.5 nm TaO outermost layer [0074]. Examples 1-5 teaches a 35 nm SnO-SiO (50:50) layer and a 1.5 nm TaO outermost layer [0077]. The outermost layer 5 contains 80 atomic% or more in total of at least one type selected from the second material group described later, and the material of the second material group is the above-mentioned material having high radical resistance. It is a material that satisfies the above conditions. The compound material of the outermost layer 5 can be mixed with, for example, another material in addition to the second material group, but the outermost layer 5 is a material of the second material group so as not to reduce the radical resistance. It is desirable that it is composed of a compound material containing at least 80 atomic% or more of. Here, the "second material group" in the present embodiment means tantalum (Ta), aluminum (Al), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), zirconium (Zr), titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn). ), And vanadium (V), and a group of materials composed of its oxides, nitrides, oxynitrides, and indium oxides (InxOy (y> 1.5x)). That is, the outermost layer 5 in the present embodiment is tantalum (Ta), aluminum (Al), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), zirconium (Zr), titanium (Ti), zinc (Zn), indium (In). , And vanadium (V), and one or more selected from the material group composed of oxides, nitrides, and oxynitrides thereof, totaling 80 atomic% or more. In addition to the above materials, the materials constituting the outermost layer 5 include, for example, beryllium (Be), calcium (Ca), scandium (Sc), vanadium (V), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), and cobalt (Fe). Co), copper (Cu), germanium (Ge), arsenic (As), strontium (Sr), molybdenum (Mo), technetium (Tc), ruthenium (Ru), rhodium (Rh), silver (Ag), barium ( Ba), tungsten (W), ruthenium (Re), osmium (Os), iridium (Ir), gold (Au), and rhodium (Ra), as well as their oxides, nitrides, fluorides, borides, oxynitrides. It may be a material containing at least one element selected from a substance, an acid rhodium, and a rhodium oxynitride in a composition ratio of less than 20% [0035-0040]. The absorber layer includes a first material where the "first material group" in the present embodiment means indium (In), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag). ), Copper (Cu), Zinc (Zn), and Bismuth (Bi), and a group of materials composed of oxides, nitrides, and oxynitrides thereof. That is, at least one layer constituting the absorption layer 4 in the present embodiment is indium (In), tin (Sn), tellurium (Te), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), platinum (Pt), silver (Ag). ), Copper (Cu), Zinc (Zn), and Bismuth (Bi), and one or more selected from the material group composed of oxides, nitrides, and oxynitrides thereof, totaling 50 atomic%. It includes the above. Since the material constituting the first material group has a large extinction coefficient k, the transfer performance is improved when at least one layer constituting the absorption layer 4 is formed of the material constituting the first material group. Can be made to. The absorption layer 4 is formed on the capping layer 3 by, for example, sputtering, but the film quality of the absorption layer 4 is due to the roughness of the absorption layer pattern after etching, the in-plane dimensional uniformity, or the in-plane uniformity of the transferred image. It is preferred to be sufficiently amorphous. Therefore, the absorption layer 4 is at least one selected from boron (B), nitrogen (N), silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), and hafnium (Hf), and oxides, nitrides, and oxynitrides thereof. It may be formed of a compound material containing less than 50 atomic% of the seed material [0028-0033].
Tanabe et al. 20190384156 in example 1 form reflective mask blank on a substrate having a reflective multilayer and an absorber layer of a SnTa alloy [0122-126]. Example 3 forms a reflective mask blanks with a SnTa absorber layer and a Ta/TaO reflection prevention layer [0130-0134]. Example 4 forms a SnTa using separate Sn and Ta targets. The sputtering of the Sn was stopped at 520 seconds and the Ta sputtering was stopped at 608 seconds to form a continuous SnTa-Ta bilayer and then a TaO layer was formed on this by reactive sputtering [0135-0138]. The addition of N, B Hf or H is disclosed [0060]. The preventive layer 15 can be formed in an inert gas atmosphere or in a gas atmosphere in which nitrogen is selectively added to an inert gas, by using a publicly known film-forming method such as magnetron sputtering or ion beam sputtering. For example, in the case of forming a Ta film, Ru film, Cr film, or Si film as the preventive layer 15 by using magnetron sputtering, a target containing Ta, Ru, Cr, or Si is used; and as the sputtering gas, an inert gas of He, Ar, Kr, or the like or a gas in which nitrogen is selectively added to an inert gas is used to form the preventive layer 15 [0075].
Nam et al. KR 20110120785 (machine translation attached) teaches that in conventional 2 layer systems the lower absorber and upper absorber reduces the change in the compositions of the layers to be within 1-50 at% the reduce reflectance at the interface. Changes in the composition ratio, film density and stress result in necking in the pattern formed by dry etching and is attributable to sudden/large changes in the composition of the absorber film which can be solved by using a continuous gradient at the interface [0086]
Ishibashi et al. JP 2004006798 (machine translation attached) in example 11 teaches the formation of an EUV mask including a reflective multilayer, a buffer layer and a graded absorber layer, where a TaB sputtering target was used and the composition of the sputtering gas was initially nitrogen which formed TaBN and then gradually the nitrogen was reduced and oxygen added to form TaBO, so that the composition was gradually changed during the formation to yield a layer which was 65 nm thick.. The absorber was then patterned using a resist and dry etching. The resultant patterned mask was used to expose a resist with a semiconductor device pattern [0076-0078]. The concentration of nitrogen and oxygen in the layer as a function of thickness is illustrated in figure 12.
Example 6 formed a reflective multilayer, CrN buffer layer and a 50 nm TaBN absorber layers as in example 4 [0060], followed by a 12nm TaBO low reflection layer. This was then coated with a resist and patterned to form a photomask from the maskblank. The mask was then used to expose a resist with a pattern useful for forming a semiconductor device [0066-0067]. The layer has at least an absorber layer composed of an absorber of exposure light in a short wavelength region including an extreme ultraviolet region as a lower layer, and a low reflection layer composed of an absorber of inspection light used for inspection of a mask pattern as an upper layer. It has a two-layer structure, the upper low-reflection layer, chromium, manganese, cobalt, copper, zinc, gallium, germanium, molybdenum, palladium, silver, cadmium, tin, antimony, tellurium, iodine, hafnium, tungsten, titanium, Nitride, oxide, oxynitride of at least one substance selected from gold and alloys containing these elements, or a material further containing silicon, or silicon oxynitride A reflective mask blank, characterized in that it comprises at least one substance selected from the object [0011] A thirteenth invention is characterized in that an intermediate region in which the composition continuously changes from the composition of the lower layer to the composition of the upper layer is provided between the lower layer and the upper layer of the absorber layer. The reflective mask blank according to any one of the above [0012]. The alternating use of silicon and molybdenum targets during formation of the reflective multilayer, followed by the Si target for the buffer layer and a Ta target for the (absorber ) layer and a TiSi target for the low reflection layer, where DC magnetron sputtering is used for forming each of these layers is taught in example 1. Where the Ta61N39 layer was 50 nm and the Ta21Si17O47N15 low reflection layer was 20 nm thick. The absorber was then patterned using a resist and dry etching. The resultant patterned mask was used to expose a resist with a semiconductor device pattern [0046-0052]. The thickness of the upper layer is 5-30 nm [0014,0029,0036]. The absorber is preferably 60 nm or less, preferably 30-60 nm [0036].
Kataoka et al. JP 2020-034666 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to example 8, a substrate with a conductive (CrN) backside layer. The front surface is coated with a Mo/Si reflective multilayer, a Ru capping layer, a 24.1 nm Co2Ta and a 7.2 nm CoTa3 layer which is then patterned. Example 5 is similar, but use a 36.4 nm CoTa layer and a 1.4 nm CoTa3 layer. Example 15 is similar, but uses a 19.6 nm Ni2Ta layer and a 12.7 nm NiTa3 layer (see table 1 at [01564-0176], Examples 3-8 and 10-15 read on at least some of the claims. The use of co-sputtering with a plurality of target or single metals or alloys in the formation of the absorber film is disclosed [0113]
Goda et al. WO 2021221123 in examples 1-2 and 1-5 teach EUV photomask blanks and photomasks including absorption bilayers of SnO-SiO/TaO where the lower layer is (50% SiO), but does not teach a graded transition between the layers. The 50at% SiO is held to have a Si content of 25- 16.7% (SiO1 to SiO2, the first being a suboxide and the second being the stoichiometric dioxide)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify examples 1-2 or 1-5 of Goda et al. WO 2021221123 by grading the transition from the 35 or 47 nm thick SnO-SiO lower layer to the 1.5 nm TaO outermost layer to reduces the suddenness of the transition to reduce reflectance due to the interface between the SnO-SiO/TaO bilayer in a manner similar to the continuous transition in example 4 of Tanabe et al. 20190384156 rather than the abrupt transition of example 3 of Tanabe et al. 20190384156 and reduce necking during etching/patterning as taught by Nam et al. KR 20110120785 at [0086], noting that it is known in the art to transition from one material to another across the interface by lowering the amount of one element while increasing the amount of another as evidenced in the teachings of Ishibashi et al. JP 2004006798,particularly example 11 and figure 12 and the layers of Kataoka et al. JP 2020-034666 which increase in Ta content and decrease in Co or Ni content from the lower layer to the upper layer. The Ta, Si, Sn and O make up 100 at% of the absorber layer. In the SnO-SiO, assuming both are sub stochiometric oxides (Sn/Si)O1.6, In the 50/50 SnO-SiO, the ratio of Sn to O is 0.5:1.6 or 1:3.2.
In the arguments of 3/24/2026, the applicant argues that the prior art applied in the rejection of 1/20/2025 does not teach the low reflective (absorbing) layer is Ta, Sn, Si, O where the Si content is 5-40 at%, the Sn content decreases and the Ta content increases with the increasing thickness of the layer (distance from the substrate). The applicant argues that the claimed mask blank has good hydrogen resistance and (when etched) has good cross-sectional shape.
The position of the examiner is that the hydrogen resistance of the TaO surface layer is inherent to the material and that Nam et al. KR 20110120785 teaches that the use of a graded transition reduces necking during the etch, which addresses the cross-sectional shape argument.
In the response of 7/13/2026, the applicant argues that the references to not teach of anticipate the claims invention with the added embodiment. The examiner points out that in the (Si/Sn)O1.6, the Si and Sn content are each 19.2% and the ratio of Sn:O is 0.5:1.6 which simplifies to 1:3.2 which is within the recited range. The modified rejection stands.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda et al. WO 2021221123, in view of Tanabe et al. 20190384156, Nishiyama et al. JP 2006190900, Nam et al. KR 20110120785, Ishibashi et al. JP 2004006798 and Kataoka et al. JP 2020-034666
Nishiyama et al. JP 2006190900 (machine translation attached) in example 1 teaches a substrate with a reflective Mo/Si multilayer (12), a carbon buffer layer (13), a CrN etch stop layer (17), a 27 nm InSb absorber layer (14) and a 18 nm TiSiO antireflection layer (15). This is then coated with a resist and patterned [0085-0102]. The antireflection film containing tantalum has a reflectivity for EUV light as low as 0.08% to 0.4% and a reflectivity for DUV light as low as 1% to 8% by selecting appropriate film forming conditions. In addition, when etching the light absorbing film containing indium, it can function as an etching mask, and pattern processing of the light absorbing film can be formed with high dimensional accuracy. The antireflection film containing chromium has a low reflectance of 0.1% to 0.6% for EUV light and a reflectance of 2% to 8% for DUV light, and etches a light absorbing film containing indium. In this case, it can function as an etching mask, and the pattern processing of the light absorption film can be formed with high dimensional accuracy. This main component is preferably contained in the antireflection film at 10 at% to 60 at%. If it is less than 10 at%, the absorption of light at the EUV wavelength is small, and the effect of reducing the film thickness tends to be small. If it exceeds 60 at%, the metal property is high and the reflectivity at the DUV wavelength tends to be high. When the antireflection film contains tantalum as a main component, it can further contain at least one element selected from the group consisting of oxygen, nitrogen, carbon, and silicon as a subcomponent . In addition to the function as an etching mask, the antireflection film containing these subcomponents can obtain good contrast in pattern defect inspection using light in the DUV wavelength region. The content of these subcomponents is preferably 40 at% to 90 at% in the antireflection film. If it is less than 40 at%, the content of tantalum is too large, so that the antireflection effect tends to be small. If it exceeds 90 at%, the chemical stability of the film tends to be reduced, and the effect of reducing the film thickness tends to be low due to the low tantalum content. [0064-0070].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify examples 1-2 or 1-5 of Goda et al. WO 2021221123 by forming a 1.5 nm TaSiO outermost layer as is known in the art from Nishiyama et al. JP 2006190900 and grading the transition from the 35 or 47 nm SnO-SiO lower layer to the 1.5 nm TaO-SiO (TaSiO) outermost layer to reduce the suddenness of the transition to reduce reflectance due to the interface between the SnO-SiO/TaSiO bilayer in a manner similar to the continuous transition in example 4 of Tanabe et al. 20190384156 rather than the abrupt transition of example 3 of Tanabe et al. 20190384156 and reduce necking during etching/patterning as taught by Nam et al. KR 20110120785 at [0086], noting that it is known in the art to transition from one material to another across the interface by lowering the amount of one element while increasing the amount of another as evidenced in the teachings of Ishibashi et al. JP 2004006798,particularly example 11 and figure 12 and the layers of Kataoka et al. JP 2020-034666 which increase in Ta content and decrease in Co or Ni content from the lower layer to the upper layer. The Ta, Si, Sn and O make up 100 at% of the absorber layer.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakano et al. JP 2021085998 (machine translation attached) teaches in example 2, a photomask where the Sn+O (1:2.5) is 70% of the composition and Ta is the remaining 30%. [0042,0033].Comparative example 3 uses 70% SiO and 30% Sn+O (1:2.5), but does not have good hydrogen radical resistance.
Ishibashi et al. WO 03/085709 teaches the lower absorber layer can include The lower exposure light absorbing layer 14 is made of a material that absorbs light in a short wavelength range such as EUV. Such exposure light absorbers include, for example, chromium, manganese, cobalt, copper, zinc, gallium, germanium, molybdenum, palladium, silver, cadmium, tin, antimony, tenorenole, iodine, hafnium, tantalum, tungsten, tungsten, One element selected from the group consisting of titanium and gold; a substance containing at least one of nitrogen and oxygen and the one selected element; and the element group It is preferable that the material be composed of an alloy containing one element selected from the group consisting of: and a material containing at least one of nitrogen and oxygen and the alloy; For example, in the case of tantalum, tantalum alone (Ta), tantalum nitride (TaN), tantalum oxide (TaO), tantalum silicon alloy (TaSi), tantalum silicon alloy nitride (TaSiN) , A tantalum boron alloy (TaB), a tantalum boron alloy nitride (Ta BN), a tantalum germanium alloy (TaGe), a tantalum germanium alloy nitride (TaGeN), and the like (12/24-13/8). Here, specific examples of the material of the low reflectance layer include oxides, nitrides, and oxynitrides of metals used for the lower exposure light absorbing layer, and metals used for the lower exposure light absorbing layer. Oxide, nitride, oxynitride of alloy with boron, used for lower exposure light absorption layer Oxide, nitride, oxynitride of metal and silicon alloy, used for lower exposure light absorption layer Oxides, nitrides, oxynitrides, and the like of alloys of the metal and silicon and boron. For example, when tantalum is used as the exposure light absorber metal, tantalum oxide (TaO), tantalum nitride (TaN), tantalum oxynitride (TaNO), tantalum boron alloy oxide (TaBO), tantalum Nitride of boron alloy (TaBN), oxynitride of tantalum boron alloy (TaBNO), oxide of tantalum silicon alloy (TaSiO), nitride of tantalum silicon alloy (TaSiN), Tantalum silicon alloy oxynitride (TaSiON), tantalum silicon boron alloy oxide (TaSiBO), tantalum silicon boron alloy nitride (TaSiBN), tantalum silicon boron alloy acid Nitride (TaSiBNO), Tantalum germanium alloy nitride (TaGeN), Tantalum germanium alloy oxide (TaGeO), Tantalum germanium alloy oxynitride (TaGeNO), Tantalum germanium silicon alloy nitride Object (T a GeSiN), an oxide of a tantalum germanium silicon alloy (TaGeSiO), an oxynitride of a tantalum germanium silicon alloy (TaGeSiNO), and the like (14/2-27)
Tanabe et al. 20190086791 in Example 1, teaches a reflective mask blanks including a substrate, reflective multilayer, a protective layer and an absorber layer of 52% Sn and 48%Ta. [0122-0126]. In example 4-1, the Sn content was 70% and the Ta content was 30% [0138-0143]. Example 7 was similar to example 1, but added a 2 nm Ta layer and a 2 nm TaO layer [0153-0157]. The addition of N and O is disclosed [0058]. The absorber layer can include one or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, O, B, Hf, Si, Zr, Ge, Pd, and H, besides Sn and Ta. It is preferable that N, O, or B is contained among these. In the case where at least one element of N or O is contained besides Sn and Ta, the absorber layer 14 can have improved resistance to oxidation and hence have improved long-term stability [0067]. The surface oxidized layer protects the absorber from being etched [0060,063]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 September 15, 2026