DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to Application 18/029,853 filed on 05/14/2026. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are pending and examined in the instant office action. The rejections are as stated below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kodama et al., US 20090063000A1 in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000A1 in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kodama and Noguchi, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Kodama discloses a control method for an electric four-wheel drive vehicle including a front drive source for driving a front wheel and a rear drive source for driving a rear wheel independently of the front wheel, the control method comprising (Power-train system having the engine and the automatic transmission apparatus is explained as a power generating device, which applies a positive torque to the vehicle (more exactly, to the driving wheels, i.e. front wheels and rear wheels) in case of acceleration control operation. However, an electric motor may be used as the power generating device (power-train system) – See at least ¶170):
acquiring a driving direction of the electric four-wheel drive vehicle based on an input state of a shift lever (The user interface has a switch for an automatic vehicle travel control, by which a vehicle driver outputs a command for the vehicle automatic travel. Furthermore, the user interface has a direction indicating device (such as a shift lever) for indicating a vehicle traveling direction – See at least ¶60);
acquiring an actual moving direction of the electric four-wheel drive vehicle (The vehicle traveling condition means a condition in which a vehicle is traveling in a direction required by the vehicle driver when the vehicle is required to change to the vehicle traveling condition – See at least ¶8); and
when the electric four-wheel drive vehicle is located on a sloped road surface having an incline and an accelerator position is zero, setting a basic driving force for the front wheel and the rear wheel to suppress rollback along the sloped road surface (A process for setting an acceleration (an acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road), which is outputted from the vehicle start control portion for the sloping (uphill) road. Forces, i.e. basic driving force, applied to the vehicle on the sloping road are shown. As shown in FIG. 9, the force of gravity “Mg”, reaction force “Fry” to the driving wheel 16, (i.e. insufficient to advance the vehicle), in a direction perpendicular to the road surface, reaction force “Ffy” to the driven wheel 18, (i.e. but sufficient to maintain position of the vehicle on the inclined road surface), in a direction perpendicular to the road surface, and the driving force “Fx” are applied to the vehicle – See at least ¶98).
Kodama fails to disclose when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel.
However, Noguchi teaches when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel (A limited slip differential (LSD) control unit 56 compares the wheel speeds of the right and left front wheels Wf with the wheel speeds of the right and left rear wheels Wr. When the front wheels Wr slip because the frictional coefficient of a road surface on which the front wheels Wr move at the start of the vehicle is lower than the frictional coefficient of a road surface on which the rear wheels Wr move, the LSD control unit 56 calculates an LSD torque to be distributed to the rear wheels Wr in accordance with a rotation speed difference between the front wheels and the rear wheels. When the LSD torque is distributed to the rear wheels Wr by the rear differential gear 16, the slip of the front wheels Wf is reduced, and the vehicle is allowed to smoothly start moving – See at least ¶39. FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing the above-described operations. When the target distribution torque of the right and left rear wheels Wr is higher than or equal to 300 kgfm in Step S1, the rotation speed differences of the right and left torque distribution clutches 40 are both more than or equal to 300 rpm in Step S2, the vehicle speed is lower than or equal to 5 km/h in Step S3, and the climbing angle of the road surface is less than or equal to 0.2 in Step S4, the upper limit of the target distribution torque is limited in Step S5. When any of the conditions of Steps S1 to S4 is not satisfied, the upper limit of the target distribution torque is not limited in Step S6. Therefore, durability of the rear differential gear 16 is prevented from being reduced by distribution of an excessive actual driving torque to the rear wheels Wr without reducing driving ability on the longitudinally split μ-road and climbing ability on the uphill road – See at least ¶59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kodama and include the feature of when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel, as taught by Noguchi, to prevent the differential gear from damage (See at least ¶5 of Noguchi).
Regarding claim 2, Kodama discloses wherein the upper limit value is set for the driving force generated in the one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel in the actual moving direction (The upper limiting value (the guard value “ag” for the upper limit) is set based on the information regarding the road surface, and the actual vehicle acceleration is controlled to be lower than the guard value “ag”. As a result, the wheel slips can be also properly avoided when the operation for the vehicle start control is carried out – See at least ¶147).
Regarding claim 3, Kodama discloses driving an other of the front wheel and the rear wheel with a second driving force larger than the basic driving force (On the other hand, when the determination of the step S68 c is NO, the vehicle start control portion M6 determines at a step S68 e whether the manually required acceleration torque, i.e. driving force, based on the acceleration pedal stroke operated by the vehicle driver is larger than the electronically required power-train torque, i.e. basic driving force – See at least ¶115).
Regarding claim 8, Kodama discloses wherein the upper limit value is set in accordance with a vehicle speed (The vehicle start control portion calculates an upper limit of a guard value “ag” (the upper limiting value) for the acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road, based on the formula (c4). The vehicle start control portion reads the actual vehicle speed “V”, and calculates, the acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road based on the actual vehicle speed – See at least ¶119).
Regarding claim 9, Kodama discloses wherein the limit is implemented when an accelerator position is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold value, and the limit is released when the accelerator position is larger than the predetermined threshold value (According to a still further feature of the invention, the automatic vehicle traveling means has an upper limit setting portion for setting an upper limit for vehicle acceleration based on the road information, and an acceleration control portion for controlling actual vehicle acceleration to be lower than the upper limit – See at least ¶19. The vehicle start control portion determines whether the acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road is lower than the upper limit of the guard value “ag”. In case of NO, the acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road is made to be an amount equal to the upper limit of the guard value “ag” – See at least ¶120).
Regarding claim 11, Kodama discloses a control device for an electric four-wheel drive vehicle including a front drive source for driving a front wheel and a rear drive source for driving a rear wheel independently of the front wheel (power-train system having the engine and the automatic transmission apparatus is explained as a power generating device, which applies a positive torque to the vehicle (more exactly, to the driving wheels, i.e. front wheels and rear wheels) in case of acceleration control operation. However, an electric motor may be used as the power generating device (power-train system) – See at least ¶170), wherein
a driving direction of the electric four-wheel drive vehicle is acquired based on an input state of a shift lever (The user interface has a switch for an automatic vehicle travel control, by which a vehicle driver outputs a command for the vehicle automatic travel. Furthermore, the user interface has a direction indicating device (such as a shift lever) for indicating a vehicle traveling direction – See at least ¶60),
an actual moving direction of the electric four-wheel drive vehicle is acquired (The vehicle traveling condition means a condition in which a vehicle is traveling in a direction required by the vehicle driver when the vehicle is required to change to the vehicle traveling condition – See at least ¶8), and
when the electric four-wheel drive vehicle is located on a sloped road surface having an incline and an accelerator position is zero, a basic driving force is set for the front wheel and the rear wheel to suppress rollback along the sloped road surface (an acceleration “as1” for vehicle start on the sloping road), which is outputted from the vehicle start control portion for the sloping (uphill) road. Forces, i.e. basic driving force, applied to the vehicle on the sloping road are shown. As shown in FIG. 9, the force of gravity “Mg”, reaction force “Fry” to the driving wheel 16, (i.e. insufficient to advance the vehicle), in a direction perpendicular to the road surface, reaction force “Ffy” to the driven wheel 18, (i.e. but sufficient to maintain position of the vehicle on the inclined road surface), in a direction perpendicular to the road surface, and the driving force “Fx” are applied to the vehicle – See at least ¶98).
Kodama fails to disclose when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel.
However, Noguchi teaches when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel (A limited slip differential (LSD) control unit 56 compares the wheel speeds of the right and left front wheels Wf with the wheel speeds of the right and left rear wheels Wr. When the front wheels Wr slip because the frictional coefficient of a road surface on which the front wheels Wr move at the start of the vehicle is lower than the frictional coefficient of a road surface on which the rear wheels Wr move, the LSD control unit 56 calculates an LSD torque to be distributed to the rear wheels Wr in accordance with a rotation speed difference between the front wheels and the rear wheels. When the LSD torque is distributed to the rear wheels Wr by the rear differential gear 16, the slip of the front wheels Wf is reduced, and the vehicle is allowed to smoothly start moving – See at least ¶39. FIG. 5 is a flowchart showing the above-described operations. When the target distribution torque of the right and left rear wheels Wr is higher than or equal to 300 kgfm in Step S1, the rotation speed differences of the right and left torque distribution clutches 40 are both more than or equal to 300 rpm in Step S2, the vehicle speed is lower than or equal to 5 km/h in Step S3, and the climbing angle of the road surface is less than or equal to 0.2 in Step S4, the upper limit of the target distribution torque is limited in Step S5. When any of the conditions of Steps S1 to S4 is not satisfied, the upper limit of the target distribution torque is not limited in Step S6. Therefore, durability of the rear differential gear 16 is prevented from being reduced by distribution of an excessive actual driving torque to the rear wheels Wr without reducing driving ability on the longitudinally split μ-road and climbing ability on the uphill road – See at least ¶59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kodama and include the feature of when one wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel is positioned on a section of the sloped road surface having a relatively low surface resistance such that a road surface resistance between the front wheel and the rear wheel is different, applying a driving force to the one wheel by implementing a limit for setting an upper limit value based on a zero or less vehicle speed for a driving force generated in the one wheel, while the implementing the limit is not applied to another wheel of the front wheel and the rear wheel, as taught by Noguchi, to prevent the differential gear from damage (See at least ¶5 of Noguchi).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000 A1, in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Sugawara et al., JP2021120254A, hereinafter referred to as Kodama, Noguchi and Sugawara, respectively.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kodama and Noguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein an other wheel is driven with a third driving force larger than the basic driving force by adding at least a part of a reduced driving force of the one wheel to a driving force generated in the other wheel.
However, Sugawara teaches wherein an other wheel is driven with a third driving force larger than the basic driving force by adding at least a part of a reduced driving force of the one wheel to a driving force generated in the other wheel (A first driving force source connected to the front wheels and a second driving force source connected to the rear wheels – See at least ¶6. When there is a possibility that a vehicle configured to be driven by different driving force sources for the front wheels and the rear wheels may vibrate, the output torque of one driving force source is reduced. It is configured to increase the output torque of the other driving force source, in other words, to change the driving force ratio from a predetermined ratio while maintaining the driving force of the vehicle as a whole – See at least ¶7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kodama and Noguchi and include the feature of wherein an other wheel is driven with a third driving force larger than the basic driving force by adding at least a part of a reduced driving force of the one wheel to a driving force generated in the other wheel, as taught by Sugawara, to reduce vehicle vibration while suppressing a decrease in a vehicle driving force.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000 A1, in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Takayama et al., JP2008132892A, hereinafter referred to as Kodama, Noguchi and Takayama, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kodama and Noguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein a total amount of the basic driving force is kept constant by driving the other wheel with third driving force, which is obtained by subtracting the driving force generated in the one wheel for which the upper limit value is set from the total amount of the basic driving force generated in the front wheel and the rear wheel.
However, Takayama teaches wherein a total amount of the basic driving force is kept constant by driving the other wheel with third driving force, which is obtained by subtracting the driving force generated in the one wheel for which the upper limit value is set from the total amount of the basic driving force generated in the front wheel and the rear wheel (The rear wheel driving force command value determining unit and the front wheel driving force command value determining unit set the rear wheel driving force output to the rear wheel driving force command value, and calculate the rear wheel driving force command from the total driving force. The value obtained by subtracting the value is used as the front wheel drive force command value – See at least ¶56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kodama and Noguchi and include the feature of wherein a total amount of the basic driving force is kept constant by driving the other wheel with third driving force, which is obtained by subtracting the driving force generated in the one wheel for which the upper limit value is set from the total amount of the basic driving force generated in the front wheel and the rear wheel, as taught by Takayama, to provide a driving force distribution control device for a four-wheel drive vehicle capable of improving acceleration while improving slip convergence (See at least ¶4 of Takayama).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000 A1, in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Masataka Mita, et al., JP2008230465A, hereinafter referred to as Kodama, Noguchi and Mita, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kodama and Noguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the basic driving force is calculated based on a rotation speed of the other wheel.
However, Mita teaches wherein the basic driving force is calculated based on a rotation speed of the other wheel (In the conventional driving force, i.e. basic driving force, distribution device, when differential rotation occurs between the front wheels and the rear wheels in the accelerator off state, the command torque is calculated only by the second torque calculated based on the vehicle speed and the differential rotation speed – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kodama and Noguchi and include the feature of wherein the basic driving force is calculated based on a rotation speed of the other wheel, as taught by Mita, to improve traction performance when the main driving wheel is on a low road surface (See at least ¶5 of Mita).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000 A1, in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Masahito Taira et al., JP5708822B2, hereinafter referred to as Kodama, Noguchi and Taira, respectively.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kodama and Noguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the upper limit value is set within a range in which the one wheel grips all the sloped road surface.
However, Taira teaches wherein the upper limit value is set within a range in which the one wheel grips all the sloped road surface (Grip limit torque can be output under the current road surface condition is estimated according to the estimated road surface friction coefficient. The grip limit torque corresponds to an upper limit value that can suppress the slip tendency of the rear wheels 1RL and 1RR under the current road surface condition, i.e. inclined road surface – See at least ¶24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kodama and Noguchi and include the feature of wherein the upper limit value is set within a range in which the one wheel grips all the sloped road surface, as taught by Taira, to improve acceleration performance of a vehicle by reliably recovering the grip when a slip tendency of a drive wheel is detected (See at least ¶4 of Taira).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al., US 20090063000 A1, in view of Noguchi et al., US 20110035130 A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Leibbrandt et al., US 20090127012 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kodama, Noguchi and Leibbrandt, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kodama and Noguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the limit is released when the one wheel rotates in a direction opposite to the driving direction.
However, Leibbrandt teaches wherein the limit is released when the one wheel rotates in a direction opposite to the driving direction (The method according to the invention provides that in case a rollback action is detected when the brakes of a vehicle are released, i.e. a movement of the vehicle in opposite direction as the predetermined direction of movement, the torque transmission is influenced such that a torque is transmitted via the drive train acting against the rollback direction so that the rollback acceleration is decreased depending on the incline of the road and or the torque is reduced to zero, and finally accelerates the vehicle into the opposite direction, i.e. into the desired direction of movement – See at least ¶7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kodama and Noguchi and include the feature of wherein the limit is released when the one wheel rotates in a direction opposite to the driving direction, as taught by Leibbrandt, to prevent an uncontrolled rollback of a motor vehicle by influencing the torque transmission by the drive train (See at least ¶6 of Leibbrandt).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Han et al., (US 20190176827 A1) discloses “a system for controlling braking energy regeneration step variably and a method thereof, in which driving conditions depending on a road gradient are determined along with a paddle shift manual input of a driver to control a regeneration step variably to thereby minimize unnecessary paddle shift input, acceleration, and braking operations, thereby improving driving convenience and fuel efficiency on a real road.”
/MAHMOUD M KAZIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3665