DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
A Restriction Requirement was sent November 6, 2025. Applicants responded to the Restriction Requirement on December 15, 2025, canceling claims 1-13 and 15-23, amending claim 14, and adding claims 24-37. Applicants petitioned the Office to make the application special under the Patent Prosecution Highway program. The Office granted the petition. For the record, the effect of this petition is reduced hours for examination, approximately 3.7 hours, leaving a total of 8.05 hours for examination for Non-Final office actions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 15, paragraph 101, line 26: Change “electrode” to “electrodes”.
Pages 44-46: Layers 105B(j), 105G(j), and 105R(j) are left out of the discussion. The following changes are intended to place these layers in their proper locations in the discussion:
Page 44, paragraph 289, line 25: After “the unit 103B(j),”, add “the layer 105B(j),”.
Page 44, paragraph 289, lines 26-27: After “the unit 103B(j),”, add “the layer 105B(j),”.
Page 44, paragraph 289, line 28: After “unit 103B(j),”, add “layer 105B(j),”.
Page 44, paragraph 289, line 30: After “the unit 103B(j),”, add “the layer 105B(j),”.
Page 45, paragraph 293, line 12: After “The ninth step,”, add “the layer 015B(j),” and change “is” to “are”.
Page 45, paragraph 293, line 13: At the beginning of the line, add “the layer 105B(j) and” and change “is” to “are”. (Layer 105B(j) is formed by a vacuum evaporation method. See page 44, paragraph 288, lines 21-22.)
Page 45, paragraph 294, line 16: After “the unit 103G(j),”, add “the layer 105G(j),”.
Page 45, paragraph 294, lines 17-18: After “the unit 103G(j),”, add “the layer 105G(j),”.
Page 45, paragraph 294, line 19: After “unit 103G(j),”, add “layer 105G(j),”.
Page 45, paragraph 294, line 22: After “the unit 103G(j),”, add “the layer 105G(j),”.
Page 46, paragraph 297, line 1: After “the unit 103R(j),”, add “the layer 105R(j),”.
Page 46, paragraph 298, line 28: After “the unit 103R(j),”, add “layer 105R(j),”.
Page 69, paragraph 422, line 9: Change “electride” to “electrode”.
Page 79, paragraph 483, line 29: Place a reference to “518: insulating film” in the main portion of the description. Paragraph 483 may be required to be deleted by USPTO staff prior to issuance of a patent, and this would leave reference number 518 without definition.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 24-27, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0265432, Figures 1-18.
Regarding claim 14: Kato Figures 1-18 disclose a for manufacturing a display panel, the method comprising the steps of: forming a first electrode (118G) and a second electrode (118B); forming a partition (119) between the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layers (117G), Kato specification ¶ 57) over the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G), id.) over the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)); forming a third electrode (116) over the first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)); removing the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)), the first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)), and the third electrode (116) over the second electrode (118B) by a photoetching method to form a first light-emitting device (110G); forming a second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the third electrode (116G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a second light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the second layer (hole transport layer (117B)); forming a fourth electrode (116B) over the second light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)); removing the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)), the second light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)), and the fourth electrode (116B) over the third electrode (116G) by a photoetching method to form a second light-emitting device (110B) separated from the first light-emitting device (110G); and forming an insulating film (114G, 114B) in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)), and a side surface of the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)). Kato specification ¶¶ 45-124. Note: the method does not require that the insulating film (114G, 114B) be formed simultaneously over the first and second light-emitting layers and first and second layers.
Regarding claim 24: Kato Figures 1-18 disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel, the method comprising the steps of: forming a first electrode (118G) and a second electrode (118B); forming a first light-emitting layer (117G) over the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); removing the first light-emitting layer (117G) over the second electrode (118B) by a photoetching method; forming a second light-emitting layer (117B) over the first light-emitting layer (117G) and the second electrode (118B); removing the second light-emitting layer (117B) over the first light-emitting layer (117G) by a photoetching method; and forming an insulating film (114G, 114B) in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer (117G) and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (117B). Id. ¶¶ 45-124. Note: the method does not require that the insulating film (114G, 114B) be formed simultaneously over the first and second light-emitting layers.
Regarding claim 25: Kato Figures 1-18 disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel, the method comprising the steps of: forming a first electrode (118G) and a second electrode (118B); forming a first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G), Kato specification ¶ 57) over the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G), id.) over the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)); removing the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and the first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) over the second electrode (118B) by a photoetching method; forming a second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and the second electrode (118B); forming a second light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)); removing the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)) and the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) by a photoetching method; and forming an insulating film (114G, 114B) in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)), and a side surface of the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)). Id. ¶¶ 45-124. Note: the method does not require that the insulating film (114G, 114B) be formed simultaneously over the first and second light-emitting layers and first and second layers.
Regarding claim 26: Kato Figures 1-18 disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel, the method comprising the steps of: forming a first electrode (118G) and a second electrode (118B); forming a partition (119) between the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) over the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); removing the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) over the second electrode (118B) by a photoetching method; forming a second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B), Kato specification ¶ 57) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and the second electrode (118B); forming a second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)); removing the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)) and the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) by a photoetching method; and forming an insulating film (114G, 114B) in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)). Id. ¶¶ 45-124. Note: the method does not require that the insulating film (114G, 114B) be formed simultaneously over the first and second light-emitting layers.
Regarding claim 27: Kato Figures 1-18 disclose a method for manufacturing a display panel, the method comprising the steps of: forming a first electrode (118G) and a second electrode (118B); forming a partition (119) between the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G), Kato specification ¶ 57) over the first electrode (118G) and the second electrode (118B); forming a first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G), id.) over the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)); removing the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) over the second electrode (118B) by a photoetching method; forming a second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) and the second electrode (118B); forming a second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B), id.) over the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)); removing the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)) and the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)) over the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)) by a photoetching method; and forming an insulating film (114G, 114B) in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the first layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117G)), a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (light emitting layer of organic compound layer (117B)), and a side surface of the second layer (hole transport layer of organic compound layer (117B)). Id. ¶¶ 45-124. Note: the method does not require that the insulating film (114G, 114B) be formed simultaneously over the first and second light-emitting layers and first and second layers.
Regarding claim 33, which depends from claim 14: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film is formed by at least one of a sputtering method, a chemical vapor deposition method, a molecular beam epitaxy method, and an atomic layer deposition method. Id. ¶¶ 75, 98.
Regarding claim 34, which depends from claim 24: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film is formed by at least one of a sputtering method, a chemical vapor deposition method, a molecular beam epitaxy method, and an atomic layer deposition method. Id.
Regarding claim 35, which depends from claim 25: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film is formed by at least one of a sputtering method, a chemical vapor deposition method, a molecular beam epitaxy method, and an atomic layer deposition method. Id.
Regarding claim 36, which depends from claim 26: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film is formed by at least one of a sputtering method, a chemical vapor deposition method, a molecular beam epitaxy method, and an atomic layer deposition method. Id.
Regarding claim 37, which depends from claim 27: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film is formed by at least one of a sputtering method, a chemical vapor deposition method, a molecular beam epitaxy method, and an atomic layer deposition method. Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kato.
Regarding claim 28, which depends from claim 14: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film (114G, 114B) includes a first insulating film and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein the first insulating film includes at least one of aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide, and wherein the second insulating film includes silicon nitride. Id. ¶¶ 69-79, 97-100, 105-109, 116-120. Specifically, Kao discloses that insulating films (114G, 114B) may include AlO, TiO, SiN, SiON, and SiO, and may be one or more of these films. Id. ¶ 77. In describing the deposition of insulating film (114G), Kato discloses that insulating film (114G) may be formed of AlO by an ALD method, or TiO by ALD, or SiN, SiO, or SiON by a CVD method. Id. ¶ 98. Thus, a combination of a first insulating film of AlO followed by a second insulating film of SiN is disclosed by Kato. To the extent that Kato does not disclose this arrangement, one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Kato to include a 2-layer insulating film of AlO and SiN because Kato discloses that these films may be used together.
Regarding claim 29, which depends from claim 24: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film (114G, 114B) includes a first insulating film and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein the first insulating film includes at least one of aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide, and wherein the second insulating film includes silicon nitride. Id. The Office incorporates the discussion about the insulating films from the rejection of claim 28.
Regarding claim 30, which depends from claim 25: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film (114G, 114B) includes a first insulating film and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein the first insulating film includes at least one of aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide, and wherein the second insulating film includes silicon nitride. Id. The Office incorporates the discussion about the insulating films from the rejection of claim 28.
Regarding claim 31, which depends from claim 26: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film (114G, 114B) includes a first insulating film and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein the first insulating film includes at least one of aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide, and wherein the second insulating film includes silicon nitride. Id. The Office incorporates the discussion about the insulating films from the rejection of claim 28.
Regarding claim 32, which depends from claim 27: Kato discloses wherein the insulating film (114G, 114B) includes a first insulating film and a second insulating film over the first insulating film, wherein the first insulating film includes at least one of aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide, and wherein the second insulating film includes silicon nitride. Id. The Office incorporates the discussion about the insulating films from the rejection of claim 28.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897