DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites in line 6 “the top view shape of each receiving part”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that lines 5-6 recites “a top view shape of the micro device”, which could not provide antecedent basis for “the top view shape of each receiving part”. The “micro device” and the “receiving part” are claimed to be different elements.
Claim 5 recites in lines 6-7 “an overlapping shape”, and then recites “an overlapping shape” in line 8. It is unclear if same or different overlapping shapes are intended to claim.
Claims 6-9 are rejected since they inherit the deficiencies from claim 5 which they are dependent from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 7, and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (U.S. Patent No. 11,302,562).
Regarding to claim 5, Wang teaches a micro device alignment apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising:
an alignment part (Fig. 4, element 200) provided with a plurality of receiving parts (Fig. 45, elements 220) configured to respectively receive a plurality of micro devices (Fig. 4, element 100),
wherein each receiving part is formed in a same shape as a top view shape of the micro device (Fig. 4), and
the top view shape of each receiving part is configured not to be an overlapping shape when folded along an axis of symmetry thereof;
, and simultaneously the top view shape of each receiving part is configured not to be an overlapping shape when rotated 180 degree angles relative to a center point thereof.
Regarding to claim 7, Wang teaches the alignment part is provided in a picker head capable of ascending and descending (Fig. 4, Fig. 7).
Regarding to claim 9, Wang teaches each micro device is a light-emitting device comprising both of two terminals provided on any one surface of front and rear surfaces of each micro device (Figs. 5a-b).
Regarding to claim 10, Wang teaches a micro device alignment apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising:
an alignment part (Fig. 4, element 200) provided with a plurality of receiving parts (Fig. 45, elements 220) configured to respectively receive a plurality of micro devices (Fig. 4, element 100),
wherein each receiving part is formed in a same shape as a top view shape of the micro device (Fig. 4), and
each top view shape thereof before and after inversion of the front and rear surfaces thereof is not the same shape identical to each other,
and simultaneously, each top view shape thereof before and after rotation when
rotated 180 degree angles relative to a center point of each micro device is not the same
shape identical to each other.
Regarding to claim 11, Wang teaches a micro device alignment apparatus configured to perform surface alignment and direction alignment for a plurality of micro devices not aligned with at least any one surface of front and rear surfaces and simultaneously not aligned with any one direction, the micro device alignment apparatus comprising (Fig. 7) comprising:
an alignment part (Fig. 4, element 200) provided with a plurality of receiving parts (Fig. 45, elements 220) configured to respectively receive a plurality of micro devices (Fig. 4, element 100),
wherein the micro devices respectively received in the receiving parts are aligned with at least any one surface of the front and rear surfaces thereof, and simultaneously directions of terminals of each micro device are aligned in any one direction (Fig. 4, Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 12, Wang teaches in each micro device, each top view shape thereof before and after inversion of the front and rear surfaces thereof is not a same shape identical to each other,
and simultaneously, each top view shape thereof before and after rotation when rotated 180 degree angles relative to a center point of each micro device is not the same shape identical to each other.
Regarding to claim 13, Wang teaches one of the front and rear surfaces of the micro device is either a surface on which the terminals of each micro device are provided or a surface opposite to the surface (Figs. 5a-b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent No. 11,302,562), as applied to claim 5 above, in view of Jacobs (U.S. Patent No. 7,774,929).
Regarding to claim 6, Wang is silent as to how the metal is formed. Jacobs discloses an alignment part is composed of an anodized film formed by anodizing a metal (column 4, lines 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in view of Jacobs to compose in the alignment part an anodized film formed by anodizing a metal in order to minimize the recess thickness, thus to enhance aligning process.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Patent No. 11,302,562), as applied to claim 5 above, in view of Sasaki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,242,977).
Regarding to claim 8, Wang does not disclose the alignment part is provided to be movable relative to a temporary substrate. Sasaki discloses an alignment part is provided to be movable relative to a temporary substrate (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in view of Sasaki to configure the alignment part to be movable relative to a temporary substrate in order to increase process flexibility.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-20100186226-A1, US-12119432-B2, US-12230525-B2, US-7662008-B2, US-10418527-B2, US-7727804-B2, US-9281451-B2, US-11469132-B2, US-9305807-B2, and US-20050164485-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The cited references fail to disclose “the top view shape of each receiving part is configured not to be an overlapping shape when folded along an axis of symmetry.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897