DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on October 6, 2025 is acknowledged.
Although claim 14 has been amended to include “the method of preparing the composition of claim 1”, a restriction between Groups I and II is still required. The inventive groups and shared technical feature remain the same. The shared technical feature of the composition of claim 1 is not a special technical feature for the reasons stated below in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1.
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 6, 2025.
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1-16
Withdrawn claims:
14-16
Previously canceled claims:
None
Newly canceled claims:
None
Amended claims:
14
New claims:
None
Claims currently under consideration:
1-13
Currently rejected claims:
1-13
Allowed claims:
None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Tables 2, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are cut off by the edges of the paper.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bourke (WO 98/34499).
Regarding claim 1, Bourke teaches food products comprising a gelled aqueous phase (Abstract) comprising vegetable fat (p. 9, line 15) and a gelling agent mixture comprising agar and guar gum (p. 9, line 24, p. 10, lines 1-2). Although Bourke does not teach that the vegetable fat is a vegetable cream, Bourke does teach that the composition comprises Hymono 8903, an emulsifier (p. 9, line 16, 27). The present of an emulsifier with vegetable fat will necessarily form a vegetable cream. Evidence to support that vegetable fat mixed with an emulsifier forms a vegetable cream is provided by the instant specification ([0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Bourke teaches wherein the gelling agent further comprises locust bean gum (p. 10, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Bourke teaches that the locust bean gum is present in an amount of 18% of the gelling agent (p. 10, lines 1-2), which equates to 0.108% of the total food composition, which falls within the claimed range of “0.1 to 0.5 wt%”.
Regarding claim 8, Bourke also teaches the composition comprising lactic acid (i.e., an acidulant), salt (i.e., a flavoring), a colorant, and lecithin (i.e., an antioxidant) (p. 9, Example 3, Ingredients).
Regarding claim 9, Bourke teaches composition for a gelled food of claim 1 as described above. Bourke also teaches food products comprising a gelled aqueous phase (Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, although Bourke does not teach the compressive strength of the gelled food, compressive strength is a necessary property of the product as claimed. Evidence to support that compressive strength is a necessary property is provided by the instant specification. The instant specification discloses that when agar and guar gum are used in combination, it is possible to control the compression strength ([0036]) and that the compression strength is within a range of 0.6N to 2.5N ([0081]).
Regarding claim 12, Bourke teaches that the food spread is an oil in water emulsion that did not exhibit water separation (p. 10, line 7, 10-11). Although Bourke does not teach the difference in brightness between an upper layer portion and a lower layer portion, it logically follows that because the spread had no water separation, the color at the top and the bottom of the spread would be the same. Thus, the color difference would be 0, which falls within the claimed range of “0.8 or less”.
Regarding claim 13, Bourke teaches the composition of a low-fat spread (p. 9, line 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke (WO 98/34499).
Regarding claim 2, Bourke teaches that the lipid phase (i.e., the vegetable cream) in the food product may comprise at least 0.1% of the food product to no more than 80% by weight of the food product (p. 5, lines 12-14), which encompasses the claimed range of “7 to 14 wt%”. Bourke also teaches that the lipid phase comprises fats and/or fatty oils (p. 5, lines 14-15).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 3, Bourke teaches that the lipid phase comprises fats and/or fatty oils, but may also comprise, or even consist entirely of, emulsifier (p. 5, lines 14-16). Bourke also teaches that the lipid or fat phase may comprise vegetable fat (p. 9, line 15). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the lipid phase (i.e., the vegetable cream) may comprise between 0% and 100% fat and/or fatty oils, which encompasses the claimed range of “25 to 35 wt%”.
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 4, Bourke teaches that the gelling composition may comprise 10-90% agar and 5-80% guar gum (p. 6, lines 24-26) and that the gelling mixture is used in the food spread at an amount of 0.6% by weight (p. 9, line 24). Therefore, the gelling agent in the food spread could comprise between 0.06-0.54% agar (which overlaps with the claimed range of “0.25 to 0.7 wt%”) and 0.03-0.48% guar gum (which overlaps with the claimed range of “0.1 to 0.8 wt%”).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2114.05 teaches that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 5, Bourke teaches that the composition the gelling agent in a total amount of 0.6% of the total weight of the food composition (p. 9, line 24), which falls within the claimed range of “0.5 to 1.2 wt%”.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bourke (WO 98/34499) in view of Masaro (US 2005/0106254 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bourke does not teach the hardness of the gelled food.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Masaro teaches a method of preparing gels for food applications ([0001]) where the gel has a hardness between 0.1 and 100 Newtons ([0072]), which encompasses the claimed range of “8.2 to 11.5 N”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Bourke with the hardness taught by Masaro. The claim would have been obvious because all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP §2143(A).
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793