DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raaijmakers (US 2001/0024387) in view of Yamazaki ‘835(US 2016/0260835) and Yakubo (WO 2019/145803, wherein US 2020/0401170 is used an English Equivalent for the translation purpose)
Regarding claim 1, Raaijmakers discloses a method for manufacturing a metal oxide comprising :a first step of introducing a precursor and a carrier/purge gas (Fig.5, numeral 107; Fig.4B, numeral 204); a second step of stopping introduction of the precursor and exhausting the precursor (Fig.5, numeral 115; Fig.4B, numeral 206) a third step of introducing an oxidizing gas (Fig.4B, numeral 208; Fig.5, numeral 108); and a fourth step of stopping introduction of the oxidizing gas and exhausting the oxidizing gas to obtain a metal oxide (Fig. 4B, numeral 210).
Raaijmakers does not disclose (1) a fifth step of performing heat treatment after the fourth step, wherein the heat treatment is performed at higher than or equal to 320 °C and lower than or equal to 450 °C, wherein the heat treatment is performed in a mixed atmosphere of a nitrogen gas and an oxygen gas, wherein an amount of moisture contained in the mixed atmosphere is 1 ppb ; (2)wherein the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry.
Regarding element (1), Yamazali’835 discloses a fifth step of performing heat treatment after the fourth step, wherein the heat treatment is performed at higher than or equal to 320 °C and lower than or equal to 450 °C ([0207], wherein the heat treatment is performed in a mixed atmosphere of a nitrogen gas and an oxygen gas, wherein an amount of moisture contained in the mixed atmosphere is low ([0204]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Raaijmakers with Yamazaki’835 to perform heat treatment after the fourth step, wherein the heat treatment is performed at higher than or equal to 320 °C and lower than or equal to 450 °C, wherein the heat treatment is performed in a mixed atmosphere of a nitrogen gas and an oxygen gas, wherein an amount of moisture contained in the mixed atmosphere is 1 ppb for the purpose of reducing oxygen vacancies in oxide films (Yamazaki’835, [0205]).
Regarding element (2), Yakubo however discloses the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry ([0271]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Raaijmakers with Yakubo to have the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry for the purpose improving transistor’s characteristics (Yakubo, [0271]).
Regarding claim 2, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the first step to the fourth step are performed repeatedly (Fig.4B, numeral 215).
Regarding claim 3, Raaijmakers discloses the precursor includes hafnium ([0075]) and further includes any one or more selected from chlorine, fluorine, bromine, iodine, and hydrogen ([0075]).
Regarding claim 4, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the oxidizing gas includes any one or more selected from O3 ([0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the carrier/purge gas includes any one or more selected from N2 ([0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the precursor is HfCl4 ([0075]) and the oxidizing gas includes O3 ([0094]).
Claim(s) 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raaijmakers (US 2001/0024387) in view of Clark (US 2020/0035493) and Yakubo (WO 2019/145803, wherein US 2020/0401170 is used an English Equivalent for the translation purpose)
Regarding claim 7, Raaijmakers discloses a method for manufacturing a metal oxide comprising: a first step of introducing a first precursor and a carrier/purge gas (Fig.4B, numeral 202); a second step of stopping introduction of the first precursor and exhausting the first precursor (Fig.4B, numeral 206); a third step of introducing an oxidizing gas (Fig.4B, numeral 208); a fourth step of stopping introduction of the oxidizing gas and exhausting the oxidizing gas (Fig.4B, numeral 210); a fifth step of introducing a second precursor (Fig.4B, numeral 216); a sixth step of stopping introduction of the second precursor and exhausting the second precursor (Fig.4B, numeral 218); a seventh step of introducing the oxidizing gas (Fig.4B, numeral 220); and an eighth step of stopping the introduction of the oxidizing gas and exhausting the oxidizing gas to obtain a metal oxide (Fig.4B, numeral 222), wherein the first step to the eighth step are performed in a temperature range higher than or equal to 210 0C and lower than or equal to 300 0C ([0086]).
Raaijmakers does not disclose (1) that the metal oxide is hafnium zirconium oxide; (2) wherein the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry.
Regarding element (1), Raaijmakers discloses forming ternary dielectric layers containing zirconium ([0121]). And Clark discloses forming hafnium zirconium oxides by atomic layer deposition ([134]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Raaijmakers with Clark to form hafnium zirconium oxides for the purpose using these oxides in application where high dielectric constants are needed (Clark, [0004]).
Regarding element (2), Yakubo however discloses the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry ([0271]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Raaijmakers with Yakubo to have the metal oxide comprises a region with a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry for the purpose improving transistor’s characteristics (Yakubo, [0271]).
Regarding claim 8, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the first step to the eight steps are performed repeatedly (Fig.4B, numeral 215).
Regarding claim 9, Raaijmakers discloses the precursor includes hafnium ([0075]) and further includes any one or more selected from chlorine, fluorine, bromine, iodine, and hydrogen ([0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the oxidizing gas includes any one or more selected from O3 ([0094]).
Regarding claim 11, Raaijmakers discloses wherein the carrier/purge gas includes any one or more selected from N2 ([0087]).
Regarding claim 12, Clark discloses wherein the first precursor is HfCl4 ([0134), the second precursor is ZrCl4 ([0134]) and the oxidizing gas includes O3 ([0120]; note: ozone).
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (2017/0309732) in view Raaijmakers.
Regarding claim 13, Yamazaki discloses a method for manufacturing a stacked film, comprising the steps of: forming a first metal oxide film (Fig. 24, numeral 230a; [0079])); forming a second metal oxide film (230b) using an atomic layer deposition method ([0239]) so as to be in contact with the first metal oxide (Fig. 24); performing microwave treatment on the first metal oxide film and the second metal oxide film in an atmosphere comprising oxygen ([0222]]-[0224]) and heating the first metal oxide film and the second metal oxide film which are in contact with each other at a temperature higher than or equal to 100 0C and lower than or equal to 400 C ([0228]) ,wherein the second metal oxide film after the fourth step comprises a hydrogen concentration lower than or equal to 5 x 1019 atoms/cm3 in secondary ion mass spectrometry ([0146]).
Yamazaki does not disclose wherein the formation step of the second metal oxide film comprises: a first step of introducing a precursor and a carrier/purge gas; a second step of stopping introduction of the precursor and exhausting the precursor a third step of introducing an oxidizing gas; and a fourth step of stopping introduction of the oxidizing gas and exhausting the oxidizing gas , wherein the first step to the fourth step are performed in a temperature range higher than or equal to 210 0C and lower than or equal to 300 0C,
Raaijmakers however discloses a first step of introducing a precursor Fig.4B, numeral 204)and a carrier/purge gas; a second step of stopping introduction of the precursor (206); and exhausting the precursor; a third step of introducing an oxidizing gas((208); and a fourth step of stopping introduction of the oxidizing gas and exhausting the oxidizing gas (210), wherein the first step to the fourth step are performed in a temperature range higher than or equal to 210 0C and lower than or equal to 300 0C ([0086]).
It would have been therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yamazaki with Raaijmakers to perform the above steps for the purpose of fabrication a metal oxide film.
Regarding claim 14, Yamazaki discloses wherein the first metal oxide film (104) is a semiconductor film ([0206]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamazaki discloses wherein a hydrogen concentration in the first metal oxide film is reduced by the heating ([0263]).
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki discloses wherein the heating of the first metal oxide film and the second metal oxide film using a rapid thermal annealing ([0436]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIA SLUTSKER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891