DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Koshihara discloses a display device comprising: a first light-emitting element (leftmost 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0039]). a first coloring layer (51B [0046]), a first lens (610 [0044]); a first substrate (10 [0044]); a second substrate (9 [0044]), an insulating layer (protective layer 4 [0130]); a planarization layer (7 [0130]), and a resin layer (light-transmitting layer 62 [0044]), wherein the first lens comprises a first flat portion (71 [0131]) and a first convex portion (611 [0074]), wherein the first light-emitting element is over the first substrate (20 on 10 in in Fig. 17), wherein the insulating layer is over the first light-emitting element (4 on leftmost 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the first coloring layer is over the insulating layer (51B over 4 in Fig. 17), the first coloring layer comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of 51B orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps leftmost element 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the first coloring layer comprises a region not overlapping with the first lens ([0136] as seen in Fig. 19), wherein the planarization layer is over the first coloring layer (7 is on side of 51B away from 10 Fig. 17), wherein the first lens is provided (leftmost 610 in Fig. 17), the first flat portion being in contact with the planarization layer (71 contacting 7 as in Fig. 17) and the first lens comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the resin layer is in contact with the first convex portion (62 contacts 611 in Fig. 17), wherein the second substrate is in contact with the resin layer (9 in contact with 62 as in Fig. 17), and wherein a refractive index of the resin layer is lower than a refractive index of the first lens (Refractive index of 610 may be higher than that of 62 [0128]).
Regarding Claim 2 – Koshihara further discloses the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second light-emitting element (center 20 in Fig. 17), a second coloring layer (51G in Fig. 17), and a second lens (center 610 in Fig. 17), wherein the second lens comprises a second flat portion (center 71 in Fig. 17) and a second convex portion (center 611 in Fig. 17), wherein the second light-emitting element (center 20 in Fig. 17) is over the first substrate, wherein the insulating layer is over the second light-emitting element (4 on center 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the second coloring layer is over the insulating layer (51G over 4 in Fig. 17), the second coloring layer comprising a region overlapping with the second light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the second lens is provided (center 610 in Fig. 17), the second flat portion (center 71 in Fig. 17) being in contact with the planarization layer (71 on 7 in Fig. 17) and the second lens comprising a region overlapping with the second light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the resin layer is in contact with the second convex portion (62 contacts 611 in Fig. 17), wherein the refractive index of the resin layer is lower than a refractive index of the second lens (Refractive index of 610 may be higher than that of 62 [0128]), wherein the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer transmit light of colors that are different from each other(51B and 51G in [0069]), and wherein a thickness of the first coloring layer is different from a thickness of the second coloring layer ([0129]).
Regarding Claim 12 – The display device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer is a planarized layer (4 can be made flat [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Ito et al (JP 2015128027 A, hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding Claim 3 – Koshihara discloses a display device comprising: a first light-emitting element (rightmost 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0039]); a first coloring layer (colored portion 51R [0046]); a first lens (rightmost 610, specifically 610R [0046]); a first substrate (10 [0044]); a second substrate (9 [0044]), an insulating layer (protective layer 4 [0130]); a planarization layer (7 [0130]), and a resin layer (light-transmitting layer 62 [0044]), wherein the first lens comprises a first flat portion (71 [0131]) and a first convex portion (611 [0074]), wherein the light-emitting element is over the first substrate (20 on 10 in in Fig. 17), wherein the insulating layer is over the light-emitting element (4 on 20 in Fig. 17), the first coloring layer comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (51R overlaps 23R of leftmost 20 [0070] and Fig. 17), wherein the planarization layer is over the first coloring layer (7 is on side of 51R away from 10 Fig. 17), wherein the lens is provided (610 in Fig. 17), the flat portion being in contact with the planarization layer (71 contacting 7 as in Fig. 17) and the lens comprising a region overlapping with the light- emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the resin layer is in contact with the convex portion (62 contacts 611 in Fig. 17), wherein the second substrate is in contact with the resin layer (9 in contact with 62 as in Fig. 17), and wherein a refractive index of the resin layer is lower than a refractive index of the lens (Refractive index of 610 may be higher than that of 62 [0128]).
Koshihara fails to disclose a wavelength-conversion layer, wherein the first coloring layer is over the wavelength-conversion layer, wherein the wavelength-conversion layer is over the insulating layer, the wavelength-conversion layer comprising a region overlapping with the light-emitting element.
However, Ito discloses a wavelength-conversion layer (15 Ito [0089] and Fig. 1), wherein the first coloring layer is over the wavelength-conversion layer (14R over 15R Ito [0090] and Fig. 1), wherein the wavelength-conversion layer is over the insulating layer (15 over 16 Ito [0108] and Fig. 1), the wavelength-conversion layer comprising a region overlapping with the light-emitting element (15 overlapping 10 Ito [0032] and Fig. 1).
Ito discloses a similar display device to Koshihara. Ito teaches using a wavelength conversion layer to absorb incident light and emit light of a different wavelength region (Ito [0089]), so that the emitted light going into the coloring layer has sufficient intensity (Ito [0091]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshihara and Ito to use a wavelength conversion layer for the benefit of providing sufficient intensity of the desired color range.
Regarding Claim 16 – Koshihara modified by Ito discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
The combination of Koshihara and Ito further discloses the insulating layer is a planarized layer (4 can be made flat Koshihara [0066]).
Claims 4-6, 9, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Lim et al (US 20190172874 A1, hereinafter “Lim”), and further in view of Aoyama et al (US 20170062528 A1, hereinafter “Aoyama”).
Regarding Claim 4 – Koshihara discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate (10 [0044]); a first light-emitting element (leftmost 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0044]); a second light-emitting element (center 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0044]); an insulating layer (protective layer 4 [0130]); a first coloring layer (51B [0046]), a second coloring layer (51G [0046]); a partition ([0134]); a first lens (leftmost 610 [0044]); and a second lens (center 610 in Fig. 17), wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element are over the first substrate (leftmost and center 20 on 10 in in Fig. 17), wherein the insulating layer is over the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element (4 on leftmost and center 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the first coloring layer is over the insulating layer (51B over 4 in Fig. 17), the first coloring layer comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of 51B orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps leftmost element 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the second coloring layer is over the insulating layer (51G over 4 in Fig. 17), the second coloring layer comprising a region overlapping with second light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the first lens is over the first coloring layer (leftmost 610 over 51B as in Fig. 17), the first lens comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17), wherein the second lens is over the second coloring layer (center 610 over 51G as in Fig. 17), the second lens comprising a region overlapping with the second light-emitting element (Projection of each 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps each 20 as in Fig. 17).
Koshihara fails to disclose the partition is over the insulating layer, the first coloring layer being in contact with a side surface of the partition, the second coloring layer being in contact with a side surface of the partition, and wherein a refractive index of the partition is lower than a refractive index of the first coloring layer and a refractive index of the second coloring layer.
However, Lim discloses the partition (PW2 [0044]) is over the insulating layer (PW2 over 170 (Lim [0040]) as shown in Lim Fig. 2), the first and second coloring layers (181 and 183 Lim [0024]) being in contact with a side surface of the partition (PW2 between 181, 182, and 185 Lim [0044]), and wherein a refractive index of the partition is lower than a refractive index of the first coloring layer and a refractive index of the second coloring layer (Refractive index of PW2 lower than 181, 183, and 185, Lim [0045]).
Lim is analogous to Koshihara because they both describe LED display devices. Lim teaches that providing a partition wall over the insulating layer and separating color filters helps improve light extraction efficiency (Lim [0005]). Setting the refractive index of the partition lower than the color filter patterns as Lim describes causes color mixture in a viewing angle to be prevented (Lim [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshihara and Lim to improve light extraction efficiency and prevent color mixture at a viewing angle.
Koshihara fails to disclose the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer comprise overlapping regions.
However, Aoyama discloses the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer comprise overlapping regions (Aoyama [0089] and Fig. 2A).
Aoyama discloses an analogous display device to Koshihara. Aoyama teaches overlapping coloring regions for the benefit of reducing color mixture between adjacent pixels (Aoyama [0089]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshihara and Aoyama by overlapping adjacent coloring filters to reduce color mixing between pixels.
Regarding Claim 5 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses a planarization layer (7, Koshihara [0130]), wherein the first lens comprises a first flat portion (leftmost 71, Koshihara [0131]) and a first convex portion (leftmost 611, Koshihara [0074]), wherein the second lens comprises a second flat portion (center 71, Koshihara [0131]) and a second convex portion (center 611, Koshihara [0074]), wherein the planarization layer is over the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer (7 is on side of 51B and 51G away from 10, Koshihara Fig. 17), and wherein the first flat portion and the second flat portion are in contact with the planarization layer (71 contacting 7 as in Koshihara Fig. 17).
Regarding Claim 6 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses a thickness of the first coloring layer is different from a thickness of the second coloring layer (Koshihara [0129]).
Claims 7,8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Lim et al (US 20190172874 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 7 – Koshihara discloses a display device comprising: a first substrate (10 [0044]); a first light-emitting element (leftmost 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0039]); a second light-emitting element (center 20 in Fig. 17, described in [0039]); an insulating layer (protective layer 4 [0130]), a wavelength-conversion layer (51 [0046]); a partition ([134]), a first lens (leftmost 610 [0044]), and a second lens (center 610 [0044]), wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element are over the first substrate (20 on 10 in Fig. 17), wherein the insulating layer is over the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element (4 on leftmost 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the wavelength-conversion layer is over the insulating layer (51B, 51G, and 51R over 4 in Fig. 17), the wavelength-conversion layer comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of 51B orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps element 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the first lens is over the wavelength-conversion layer (leftmost 610 over 51B as in Fig. 17), the first lens comprising a region overlapping with the first light-emitting element (Projection of leftmost 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps element 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the second lens is provided, the second lens comprising a region overlapping with the second light-emitting element (Projection of center 610 orthogonal to plane of substrate overlaps element 20 in Fig. 17), wherein the first lens and the second lens are provided apart from each other ([0136] as seen in Fig. 19).
Koshihara fails to disclose the partition is over the insulating layer, the wavelength-conversion layer being in contact with a side surface of the partition, and wherein a refractive index of the partition is lower than a refractive index of the wavelength-conversion layer.
However, Lim discloses the partition (PW2, Lim [0044]) is over the insulating layer (PW2 over 170 (Lim [0040]) as shown in Lim Fig. 2), the wavelength-conversion layer (180, consisting of 181,183, and 185, Lim [0044]) being in contact with a side surface of the partition (PW2 between 181, 182, and 185 in Lim [0044]), and wherein a refractive index of the partition is lower than a refractive index of the wavelength-conversion layer (Refractive index of PW2 lower than 181, 183, and 185, Lim [0045]).
Lim is analogous to Koshihara because they both describe LED display devices. Lim teaches that providing a partition wall over the insulating layer and separating color filters helps improve light extraction efficiency (Lim [0005]). Setting the refractive index of the partition lower than the color filter patterns as Lim describes causes color mixture in a viewing angle to be prevented (Lim [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshihara and Lim to improve light extraction efficiency and prevent color mixture at a viewing angle.
Regarding Claim 8 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses a planarization layer (7, Koshihara [0130]), wherein the first lens comprises a first flat portion (leftmost 71, Koshihara [0131]) and a first convex portion (leftmost 611, Koshihara [0074]), wherein the second lens comprises a second flat portion (center 71, Koshihara [0131]) and a second convex portion (center 611, Koshihara [0074]), wherein the planarization layer is over the wavelength-conversion layer (7 is on side of 51B, 51G, and 51R away from 10, Koshihara Fig. 17), and wherein the first flat portion and the second flat portion are in contact with the planarization layer (71 contacting 7 as in Koshihara Fig. 17).
Regarding Claim 9 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses a second substrate (9, Koshihara [0044]); and a resin layer (light-transmitting layer 62, Koshihara [0044]), wherein the resin layer is in contact with the first convex portion and the second convex portion (62 contacts leftmost and center 611 portions in Koshihara Fig. 17), wherein the second substrate is in contact with the resin layer (9 in contact with 62 as in Koshihara Fig. 17), wherein a refractive index of the resin layer is lower than a refractive index of the first lens and a refractive index of the second lens (Refractive index of 610 may be higher than that of 62, Koshihara [0128]).
Regarding Claim 15 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses a second substrate (9, Koshihara [0044]), and a resin layer (light-transmitting layer 62, Koshihara [0044]), wherein the resin layer is in contact with the first convex portion and the second convex portion (62 contacts all 611 portions in Koshihara Fig. 17), wherein the second substrate is in contact with the resin layer (9 in contact with 62 as in Koshihara Fig. 17), wherein a refractive index of the resin layer is lower than a refractive index of the first lens and a refractive index of the second lens (Refractive index of 610 may be higher than that of 62, Koshihara [0128]).
Regarding Claim 19 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses the insulating layer is a planarized layer (4 can be made flat, Koshihara [0066]).
Regarding Claim 20 – Koshihara modified by Lim discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Koshihara and Lim further discloses the insulating layer is a planarized layer (4 can be made flat, Koshihara [0066]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Maeda (US 20060214572 A1, hereinafter “Maeda”).
Regarding Claim 10 – Koshihara discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Koshihara further discloses the planarization layer is in contact with an upper surface and a side surface of the first coloring layer and with an upper surface and a side surface of the second coloring layer (7 contacts top and side of both 51B and 51G as in Fig. 17).
Koshihara fails to disclose a refractive index of the planarization layer is lower than a refractive index of the first coloring layer and a refractive index of the second coloring layer.
However, Maeda discloses a refractive index of the glass substrate (19 in Maeda [0072] and Maeda Fig. 3, considered as the planarization layer) is lower than a refractive index of the first coloring layer and a refractive index of the second coloring layer (both considered as color filter layers, 20, Maeda [0072] and Maeda Fig. 3).
Maeda is analogous to Koshihara because they both relate to light-emitting devices. Maeda teaches setting the refractive index of the color filter layer higher than the planarization layer contacting it on the opposite side from the light origination to improve light extraction efficiency (Maeda [0072]). In Maeda’s case, the planarization is performed by a glass substrate, but the layer material is not limited thereto, and the function can be emulated in any light-emitting device stack with a color filter. Therefore, it would've been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to set the planarization layer refractive index lower than the color filter refractive index in order to improve light extraction efficiency.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Maeda (US 20060214572 A1, hereinafter “Maeda”), and further in view of Lim et al (US 20190172874 A1, hereinafter “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 11 – Koshihara modified by Maeda discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
The combination of Koshihara and Maeda further discloses the first lens is adjacent to the second lens (all 610 adjacent as in Koshihara Fig. 17).
The combination of Koshihara and Maeda fails to disclose the first coloring layer is apart from the second coloring layer.
However, Lim discloses the first coloring layer is apart from the second coloring layer (Lim [0006]; Space between color filters shown in Lim Fig. 2, occupied by PW2).
Lim is analogous to Koshihara and Maeda because all three disclose light-emitting devices. Lim teaches that separating color filters helps improve light extraction efficiency (Lim [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Koshihara, Maeda and Lim to improve light extraction efficiency.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Shishido et al (US 20160079333 A1, hereinafter “Shishido”).
Regarding Claim 13 – Koshihara discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Koshihara fails to disclose an electronic device comprising a battery.
However, Shishido discloses an electronic device comprising a battery (Shishido [0370]).
Like Koshihara, Shishido discloses a display device. Shishido presents the battery to supply power to the display device (Shishido [0371]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use a battery with the display device to supply power.
Regarding Claim 14 – Koshihara discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Koshihara fails to disclose a head-mounted display comprising a wearing portion.
However, Shishido discloses a head-mounted display comprising a wearing portion (Shishido [0370]).
Like Koshihara, Shishido discloses a display device. Shishido presents a wearing portion in connection with the display device to mount the display device to the user’s head (mounting portion 8201 Shishido [0370]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use a wearing portion with the display device to mount it to the user’s head.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshihara (US 20200358034 A1, hereinafter “Koshihara”), in view of Ito et al (JP 2015128027 A, hereinafter “Ito”), and further in view of Shishido et al (US 20160079333 A1, hereinafter “Shishido”).
Regarding Claim 17 – Koshihara modified by Ito discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
The combination of Koshihara and Ito fails to disclose an electronic device comprising a battery.
However, Shishido discloses an electronic device comprising a battery (Shishido [0370]).
Like Koshihara, Shishido discloses a display device. Shishido presents the battery to supply power to the display device (Shishido [0371]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use a battery with the display device to supply power.
Regarding Claim 18 – Koshihara modified by Ito discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
The combination of Koshihara and Ito fails to disclose a head-mounted display comprising a wearing portion.
However, Shishido discloses a head-mounted display comprising a wearing portion (mounting portion 8201 Shishido [0370]).
Like Koshihara, Shishido discloses a display device. Shishido presents a wearing portion in connection with the display device to mount the display device to the user’s head (Shishido [0370]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use a wearing portion with the display device to mount it to the user’s head.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898