DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18044336 application filed March 7, 2023. Claims 1-26 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Interpretations
Claim 1 recites the term “stimulus responsive polymer (SRP)”. Although the specification discloses in paragraphs 0015-0018] that “(i)n any embodiment herein, the SRP includes a ceiling temperature less than about 300° C. In some embodiments, the ceiling temperature is less than about 60° C., less than about 50° C., less than about 40° C., less than about 30° C., or lower.
In any embodiment herein, the SRP further includes an acid catalyst, an organic acid, a photoacid generator, or a thermal acid generator (e.g., any described herein).
In any embodiment herein, the SRP further includes a metal-binding moiety (e.g., any described herein). Non-limiting metal-binding moieties include optionally substituted heterocyclyl (e.g., an azole), optionally substituted heterocyclyloxy, optionally substituted heterocyclyloyl, thiol, optionally substituted amino, optionally substituted aminoalkyl, carboxyl, optionally substituted carboxyalkyl, hydroxyl, and/or optionally substituted hydroxyalkyl, and others described herein.
In any embodiment herein, the SRP includes a structure of one of formulas (I)-(XIII), (Ia), (Ib), or a salt thereof, as described herein”, and discloses various SRP compounds in paragraphs 0125-0222, these are not considered a definition of this term.
According to Wikipedia, “Smart polymers, stimuli-responsive polymers or functional polymers are high-performance polymers that change according to the environment they are in. Such materials can be sensitive to a number of factors, such as temperature, humidity, pH, chemical compounds, the wavelength or intensity of light or an electrical or magnetic field and can respond in various ways, such as altering color or transparency, becoming conductive or permeable to water or changing shape (shape memory polymers). Usually, slight changes in the environment are sufficient to induce large changes in the polymer's properties”. Since neither the specification nor Wikipedia specifies the amount of the stimuli or the degree of the change; therefore, unless a specific chemical formula is identified, a stimulus responsive polymer is interpreted as any polymer that changes according to the environment it is in.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites the limitation “The method of claim 12, wherein said removing…”; however, the term “said removing” in claim 15 lacks antecedent basis because claim 12 does not recite any removing. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that the limitation is “The method of claim 13, wherein said removing…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-14 and 16-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shih et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10770424), hereinafter “Shih”, in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20210265313), hereinafter “Chen”:--Claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 13, 18, 19, 20, 21: Shih teaches a method of bonding a first semiconductor structure to a second semiconductor structure (Fig. 10), comprising(i) providing a substrate comprising a first conductive pad 131 (Fig. 4; Col. 5, Lines 3-15), (ii) depositing a filling material 160 including benzocyclobutene (BCB) on the conductive pad 131 (Fig. 5; Col. 5, Lines 16-33; Col. 7, Lines 22-45);(iii) removing the filling material 160 to expose the first conductive pad 131 (Fig. 6; Col. 5, Lines 34-67), thus forming a first semiconductor structure;(iv) repeating step (i)-(iii) to form a second semiconductor structure having a second conductive pad 231 (Fig. 8; Col. 6, Lines 1-38);(v) aligning the first conductive pad 131 to the second conductive pad 231, then bonding the first semiconductor structure to the second semiconductor structure (Fig. 9; Col. 6, Lines 39-58; Claim 3). Shih further teaches that the conductive pads may include copper (Col. 4, Lines 35-50). Shih fails to teach that the filling material 160 including benzocyclobutene includes a polymer. Chen, also directed to bonding a first semiconductor structure to a second semiconductor structure, comprising- forming a first semiconductor structure comprising a first conductive pad 172a surrounded by a first dielectric layer 174, wherein the first dielectric layer 174 is a polymer-based BCB material and the conductive pad comprise copper (Fig. 1E, [0026]);- forming a second semiconductor structure comprising a second conductive pad 272a surrounded by second dielectric layer 274 (Fig. 1F, [0029-0032]), wherein the second conductive pad 272a and the second dielectric layer 274 are similar to the first conductive pad 172a and the first dielectric layer 174 ([0033]);- aligning the first conductive pad 172a to the second conductive pad 272a, then bonding the first semiconductor structure to the second semiconductor structure ([0038], Fig. 1F) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a BCB polymer for the filling material in the invention of Shih because Shih teaches that the filling material includes BCB but fails to teach a polymer including BCB, and Chen teaches that a BCB polymer would be effective. It is noted that BCP polymer is a stimuli-responsive polymer that responds to light, as evidence by Wikipedia (see attachment), and that the bonding forms a metal-metal bond between the first conductive pad and the second conductive pad.--Claims 2, 16: Although Shih is silent about the filling material 160 including benzocyclobutene (BCB) on the conductive pad prevents oxidation of the conductive pad, since the filling material completely cover the conductive pad in step (ii), it would have been obvious that it prevents oxidation of the conductive pad.--Claim 5: Since Shih does not teach bonding the first semiconductor structure to the second semiconductor structure in a special environment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to perform the bonding in ambient air as the simplest option.--Claims 8, 9: It is noted that during the depositing the filling material 160, the first portion of the filling material 160 fills the spaces between the conductive pads, and the second portion of the filling material 160 is formed on the first portion.--Claim 10: Chen further teaches that a surface cleaning may be performed prior to the bonding ([0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to clean the bonding surfaces of the first structure and the second structure prior to the bonding in the invention of Shih because Chen teaches that this would be effective.--Claims 11, 14: Shih further teaches that the filling material 160 may be deposited by using chemical vapor deposition (Col. 5, Lines 16-33).--Claim 17: Shih further teaches that the filling material 160 fills a groove between conductive pads, wherein the grove may be a lateral width of 0.1 µm (Col. 5, Lines 12-20). Thus, the filling material 160 may have a lateral thickness of about 0.1 µm.
Claims 3, 4, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shih in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of McConnell et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20120028466), hereinafter “McConnell”:--Claims 3, 4, 15: Shih further teaches that the removing the filling material 160 to expose the first conductive pad 131 is by using CMP (Col. 5, Lines 34-39). Shih fails to teach the removing comprises heat.McConnell, also directed to manufacturing a semiconductor device, teaches that CMP a layer would generate heat ([0002, 0024])Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a CMP process comprising heat in the removing the filling material 160 to expose the first conductive pad 131 in the invention of Shih because McConnell teaches that chemical mechanical polishing a layer would generate heat.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 - 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claims 22 - 26, none of the cited prior arts discloses SRP that comprises the claimed chemical compounds recited in each of these claims
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713