DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 1/22/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 8-18, 20-22, 24-28 are pending in the current office action. Claims 1, 4, 8, 24, 25 has been amended by the applicant and Claims 26-28 are new claims. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Status of the Rejection
All 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claim 5 is obviated by the Applicant’s cancellation.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-18, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US-20210296125-A1) in view of Yu et al. (US-20180240667-A1) and Kanakasabapathy (WO-2021202146-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a method for forming a pattern (Paragraph [0001] methods of forming patterned structures), the method comprising:
(a) forming, on a substrate, a first pattern having an opening and containing a first material (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310)), the (a) forming comprising:
(a1) forming a mask pattern corresponding to the first pattern, on an underlying film provided on the substrate (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light); and
(a2) forming the first pattern by etching the underlying film with the mask pattern (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer etched to form the patterned layer (element 310)));
(b) forming a filling portion in the opening by CVD to create a second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern, the filling portion containing a second material different from the first material (Paragraph [0026] Figure 3B a coating layer (element 312), that can be formed with a CVD process, fills the openings of the patterned layer (element 310)); and
(c) removing the first pattern after forming the filling portion in the opening so that the filling portion remains as the second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern (Paragraph [0028] Figure 3D an etch process is performed to remove the patterned layer (element 310), leaving the coating layer (element 312) as an inverse pattern), wherein
Liu teaches that the coating layer can include metal oxides (Paragraph [0026]) but fails to teach that the second material contains tin oxide.
Yu teaches methods related to semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0002]). Yu teaches that tin oxide is deposited in recessed features with a CVD process during a method for reversing a pattern (Paragraph [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Liu by selecting tin oxide as a material within the coating layer deposited within the method of Liu. With this modification, the claimed second material would contain tin oxide, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select as the material deposited by a CVD process to be the taught coating layer within the method of Liu, tin oxide as taught by Yu since tin oxide is known as a material suitable for deposition with a CVD process within a method of reversing a pattern and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Liu teaches that the EUV photoresist material can include metal oxide, metal nitride, or other suitable materials (Paragraph [0025]), but fails to teach that the first material contains tin. Liu fails to teach that (a), (b) and (c) are performed in a same dry process apparatus.
Kanakasabapathy teaches methods related to photoresists (Paragraph [0002]) for use in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0004]). Kanakasabapathy teaches films that can serve as an EUV resist (Paragraph [0149]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that precursors can form a film (Paragraph [0150]) and that these precursors alone can form an EUV-sensitive material (Paragraph [0179]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that a suitable precursor can include tin (Paragraph [0166]). Kanakasabapathy teaches an apparatus to perform methods (Paragraph [0242]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that the apparatus comprises various modules and is capable of depositing films, patterning and developing a resist layer (Paragraph [0243] apparatus has modules for depositing films and patterning resist layers), conducting dry etching (Paragraph [0246] apparatus has modules for ducting dry development and etching), and conducting chemical vapor deposition (Paragraph [0274]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Liu by using a tin-containing precursor, as taught by Kanakasabapathy, as the photoresist within the method. With such a modification the claimed first material would contain tin and be different than the claimed second material therefore the modified method would meet the claimed limitations.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one photoresist material for another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. In this case the use of a tin-containing photoresist material would have had the predictable result of allowing a pattern formation in the following process steps. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Liu by conducting the method steps taught by the prior art, as outlined above, within the apparatus taught by Kanakasabapathy. With this modification the claimed steps (a), (b) and (c) would be performed within the same apparatus, which can be considered a dry process apparatus as it would have the capability of performing dry processes.
This modification would have been obvious because it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The combination would have the predictable result of providing a suitable apparatus for conducting known processes. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy further teaches wherein the first material contains tin oxide (Paragraph [0145] teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include tin oxide).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Yu further teaches wherein the second material contains at least one of carbon, or silicon (Paragraph [0048] Tin oxide can contain small amounts of other elements such as carbon when deposited by ALD, a type of CVD process).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy further teaches wherein the first material contains at least one of carbon, or silicon (Paragraph [0145] teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include an organometal oxide, which would contain carbon. Paragraphs [0146] and [0152-0154] the metal-containing precursor that is in the EUV-sensitive material can contain “R” or “L” groups. Paragraph [0162] the “R” or “L” groups can include a silicon atom).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Yu further teaches wherein the second material contains at least one of carbon, silicon, or metal (Paragraph [0131] the second material, the material that fills the openings, comprises tin oxide). Liu further teaches that in (c), the first pattern is removed by using at least one of a hydrogen fluoride gas, a hydrogen chloride gas, a hydrogen bromide gas, a hydrogen iodide gas, a fluorine gas, a chlorine gas, a bromine gas, an iodine gas, a boron trichloride gas, a helium gas, a neon gas, an argon gas, a xenon gas, a nitrogen gas, a hydrocarbon gas, or a methanol gas. (Paragraph [0035] the etch processes of the method can be conducted as a plasma etch processes that use fluorocarbons, nitrogen, argon, and/or other gases).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy further teaches wherein the first material contains tin oxide (Paragraph [0145] teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include tin oxide). Yu further teaches that the second material contains at least one of carbon or silicon (Paragraph [0048] Tin oxide can contain small amounts of other elements such as carbon when deposited by ALD, a type of CVD process).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 10 as outlined above. Liu further teaches that the first pattern is removed with a dry etching process (Paragraph [0035] the etch processes of the method can be conducted as a plasma etch).
Liu fails to teach that the first pattern is removed by using hydrogen bromide gas.
Kanakasabapathy teaches that the EUV-sensitive material can be removed during a “developing” step (Paragraph [0041]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that the “developing step” can be conducted as a dry etch that uses hydrogen bromide (Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Liu by using hydrogen bromide during the dry etching process to remove the EUV-sensitive material, which is used as the photoresist (where the claimed first pattern is made by the claimed first material, and the claimed first material is considered to comprise the photoresist) within the modified method of Liu.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one etching gas for another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. In this case the result of removing the photoresist material with of hydrogen bromide in a dry etching process would have been predictable. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy further teaches that the first material contains carbon (Paragraph [0145] teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include an organometal oxide, which would contain carbon). Liu further teaches the first pattern is removed by using at least one of an oxygen-containing gas, a fluorine-containing gas, or a nitrogen-containing gas (Paragraph [0035 the etch processes of the method can be conducted as a plasma etch that use a gas containing fluorocarbons, oxygen, nitrogen, and/or other gases).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. 13, Kanakasabapathy further teaches wherein the first material contains silicon (Paragraphs [0146] and [0152-0154] the metal-containing precursor that is in the EUV-sensitive material can contain “R” or “L” groups. Paragraph [0162] the “R” or “L” groups can include a silicon atom). Yu further teaches wherein the second material contains tin (Paragraph [0131] the second material, the material that fills the openings, comprises tin oxide). Liu further teaches the first pattern is removed using a fluorine- containing gas (Paragraph [0035 the etch processes of the method can be conducted as a plasma etch that use a gas containing fluorocarbons).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Yu further teaches wherein the second material contains tin oxide (Paragraph [0131] the second material, the material that fills the openings, comprises tin oxide). Liu further teaches that in (c), the first pattern is removed by using at least one of a hydrogen fluoride gas, a hydrogen chloride gas, a hydrogen bromide gas, a hydrogen iodide gas, a fluorine gas, a chlorine gas, a bromine gas, an iodine gas, a boron trichloride gas, a helium gas, a neon gas, an argon gas, a xenon gas, a nitrogen gas, a hydrocarbon gas, or a methanol gas. (Paragraph [0035 the etch processes of the method can be conducted as a plasma etch that use a gas containing fluorocarbons, oxygen, nitrogen, and/or other gases). Kanakasabapathy further teaches that the photoresist can be formed by a metal-containing precursor (Paragraph [0146]) and that one suitable precursor is trimethyl tin chloride (Paragraph [0166]). Therefore, modified Liu teaches that an oxygen concentration of the second material is higher than an oxygen concentration of the first material (an oxygen concentration of the first material, where the first material comprises the photoresist layer taught by Kanakasabapathy, is zero and the second material is tin oxide as taught by Yu, which contains oxygen and therefore has an oxygen concentration greater than zero).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as outlined above.
Liu fails to teach that the first pattern is formed from a CVD or an ALD film.
Kanakasabapathy further teaches that the EUV-sensitive materials, which are used as the photoresist within the modified Liu method, can be deposited with an ALD or a CVD process (Paragraph [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Liu such that an ALD or a CVD process was used to form the photoresist film.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one film forming method for another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. In this case the use of an ALD or CVD process to form the photoresist film would have had the predictable result of provide a film for use in the following method steps. See MPEP §2143(B).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 15 as outlined above. As detailed above, in regards to claims 1, 9, and 15, the film that would be applied by a CVD or an ALD process would be a tin-containing photoresist film.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, 15, and 16 as outlined above. Liu teaches that wherein the photoresist film is a photoresist film for EUV exposure (Paragraph [0025] EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310)). Kanakasabapathy further teaches that photoresist materials taught, which are used as the photoresist material within the method of modified Liu are EUV-sensitive materials (Paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, 15, and 16 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy teaches films that can serve as an EUV resist (Paragraph [0149]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that precursors can form a film (Paragraph [0150]) and that these precursors alone can form an EUV-sensitive material (Paragraph [0179]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that a suitable precursor can include tin and teaches tetraethyl tin as a suitable precursor (Paragraph [0166]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that precursors contain ligands and that ethyl is a suitable ligand (Paragraph [0159]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that when the photoresist experiences EUV exposure ligands are removed from the precursor (Paragraph [0146]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include tin oxide (Paragraph [0145]). When the EUV-sensitive material that is to be used as the photoresist film contains both tetraethyl tin and tin oxide, and this film is exposed to EUV radiation some of the ethyl ligands would be removed from the film. The result of this would be that the concentration of oxygen in the exposed portion of the photoresist film would be higher than the concentration of oxygen in the unexposed portion of the photoresist film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Liu by using a tetraethyl tin and tin oxide containing material, as taught by Kanakasabapathy, as the photoresist within the method.
This modification would have been the simple substitution of one photoresist material for another. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. In this case the use of a tetraethyl tin and tin oxide containing photoresist material would have had the predictable result of allowing a pattern formation in the following process steps. See MPEP §2143(B). Furthermore, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Kanakasabapathy further teaches wherein the underlying film includes at least one of a silicon-containing film or a carbon-containing film (Paragraph [0145] teaches that the EUV-sensitive material to be used as a photoresist can include an organometal oxide, which would contain carbon. Paragraphs [0146] and [0152-0154] the metal-containing precursor that is in the EUV-sensitive material can contain “R” or “L” groups. Paragraph [0162] the “R” or “L” groups can include a silicon atom).
Regarding Claim 26, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the first pattern is a single layer of the same material (Paragraph [0025] EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310), which can be considered equivalent to the claimed first pattern).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kanakasabapathy and Yu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of deVilliers (US-20170148637-A1).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Liu teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Liu fails to teach wherein the filling portion is a first filling portion, and the method further comprises: (d) forming a second filling portion containing a third material different from the first material and the second material, in an opening of the second pattern; and (e) removing the second pattern so that the second filling portion remains as a third pattern corresponding to the first pattern.
deVilliers teaches methods for use in patterning substrates in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0001]). deVilliers teaches methods where patterns have openings that are filled with different materials (Paragraph [0010]). deVilliers teaches using a fill material with different etch resistivity can provide etch selectivity options that allow for controlling pattern transfer (Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have altered the method of modified Liu as outlined above by: after completing the method previously outlined, repeating the process steps of modified Liu, specifically: filling in openings in a pattern (in this case the second pattern) with a material (in this case the third material) and then removing the pattern that had been filled in (in this case the second pattern), except during this repetition using a different fill material as taught by deVilliers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this use of a different fill material would allow for control over pattern transfer by selecting a fill material with suitable etch resistivity properties in relation to the other materials on the substrate (deVilliers Paragraph [0039]). Additionally, this modification would have been the combination of prior art elements. This combination would have the predictable result of creating a third pattern with a different material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Liu teaches a method that meets all the limitations of claim 1 as outlined above.
Modified Liu fails to teach wherein the filling portion is a first filling portion, and the method further comprises, before (a); (f) forming, on the substrate, a third pattern having an opening and containing a third material, the third material being different from the first material and the second material, and (g) forming a second filling portion containing the first material in the opening of the third pattern, and wherein in (a), the third pattern is removed so that the second filling portion remains as the first pattern.
deVilliers teaches methods for use in patterning substrates in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0001]). deVilliers teaches methods where patterns have openings that are filled with different materials (Paragraph [0010]). deVilliers teaches using different materials with different etch resistivity can provide etch selectivity options that allow for controlling pattern transfer (Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have altered the method of modified Liu as outlined above by: prior to conducting the method previously outlined, conducting the process steps of modified Liu, specifically: forming a pattern (equivalent to the claimed third pattern) having an opening using a different material (claimed third material) as taught by deVilliers, forming a filling portion containing the first material within the opening of that pattern, and then removing the third pattern, leaving the filling portion as the first pattern.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this use of a different material would allow for control over pattern transfer by selecting a material with suitable etch resistivity properties in relation to the other materials on the substrate (deVilliers Paragraph [0039]). Additionally, this modification would have been the combination of prior art elements. This combination would have the predictable result of creating a third pattern with a different material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 24-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kanakasabapathy, Yu, and deVilliers.
Regarding Claim 24, Liu teaches a method for forming a pattern (Paragraph [0001] methods of forming patterned structures), the method comprising:
(a) forming, on a substrate, a first pattern having an opening and containing a first material (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310));
(b) forming a filling portion in the opening by CVD to create a second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern, the filling portion containing a second material different from the first material, the filling portion being a first filling portion (Paragraph [0026] Figure 3B a coating layer (element 312), that can be formed with a CVD process, fills the openings of the patterned layer (element 310));
(c) after performing (b), removing the first pattern so that the filling portion remains as the second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern (Paragraph [0028] Figure 3D an etch process is performed to remove the patterned layer (element 310), leaving the coating layer (element 312) as an inverse pattern);
Liu fails to teach that the second material containing tin oxide
Yu teaches methods related to semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0002]). Yu teaches that tin oxide deposited in recessed features with a CVD process during a method for reversing a pattern (Paragraph [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Liu by selecting tin oxide as a material within the coating layer deposited within the method of Liu. With this modification, the claimed second material would contain tin oxide, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select as the material deposited by a CVD process to be the taught coating layer within the method of Liu, tin oxide as taught by Yu since tin oxide is known as a material suitable for deposition with a CVD process within a method of reversing a pattern and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Modified Liu fails to teach that steps (a), (b) and (c) are performed in a same dry process apparatus.
Kanakasabapathy teaches methods related to photoresists (Paragraph [0002]) for use in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0004]). Kanakasabapathy teaches an apparatus to perform methods (Paragraph [0242]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that the apparatus comprises various modules and is capable of depositing films, patterning and developing a resist layer (Paragraph [0243] apparatus has modules for depositing films and patterning resist layers), conducting dry etching (Paragraph [0246] apparatus has modules for ducting dry development and etching), and conducting chemical vapor deposition (Paragraph [0274]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Liu by conducting the method steps taught by the prior art, as outlined above, within the apparatus taught by Kanakasabapathy. With this modification the claimed steps (a), (b) and (c) would be performed within the same apparatus, which can be considered a dry process apparatus as it would have the capability of performing dry processes.
This modification would have been obvious because it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The combination would have the predictable result of providing a suitable apparatus for conducting known processes. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Modified Liu fails to teach (d) forming a second filling portion containing a third material different from the first material and the second material, in an opening of the second pattern; and (e) removing the second pattern so that the second filling portion remains as a third pattern corresponding to the first pattern.
deVilliers teaches methods for use in patterning substrates in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0001]). deVilliers teaches methods where patterns have openings that are filled with different materials (Paragraph [0010]). deVilliers teaches using a fill material with different etch resistivity can provide etch selectivity options that allow for controlling pattern transfer (Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have altered the method of modified Liu as outlined above by: after completing the method previously outlined, repeating the process steps of modified Liu, specifically: filling in openings in a pattern (in this case the second pattern) with a material (in this case the third material) and then removing the pattern that had been filled in (in this case the second pattern), except during this repetition using a different fill material as taught by deVilliers.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this use of a different fill material would allow for control over pattern transfer by selecting a fill material with suitable etch resistivity properties in relation to the other materials on the substrate (deVilliers Paragraph [0039]). Additionally, this modification would have been the combination of prior art elements. This combination would have the predictable result of creating a third pattern with a different material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 25, Liu teaches a method for forming a pattern (Paragraph [0001] methods of forming patterned structures), the method comprising:
(a) forming, on a substrate, a first pattern having an opening and containing a first material (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310));
(b) forming a filling portion in the opening by CVD to create a second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern, the filling portion containing a second material different from the first material, the filling portion being a first filling portion (Paragraph [0026] Figure 3B a coating layer (element 312), that can be formed with a CVD process, fills the openings of the patterned layer (element 310));
(c) after performing (b), removing the first pattern so that the filling portion remains as a second pattern inverted with respect to the first pattern (Paragraph [0028] Figure 3D an etch process is performed to remove the patterned layer (element 310), leaving the coating layer (element 312) as an inverse pattern); and
Liu fails to teach that the second material contains tin oxide.
Yu teaches methods related to semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0002]). Yu teaches that tin oxide deposited in recessed features with a CVD process during a method for reversing a pattern (Paragraph [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Liu by selecting tin oxide as a material within the coating layer deposited within the method of Liu. With this modification, the claimed second material would contain tin oxide, thereby meeting the claimed limitations.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select as the material deposited by a CVD process to be the taught coating layer within the method of Liu, tin oxide as taught by Yu since tin oxide is known as a material suitable for deposition with a CVD process within a method of reversing a pattern and the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Modified Liu fails to teach that steps (a), (b) and (c) are performed in a same dry process apparatus.
Kanakasabapathy teaches methods related to photoresists (Paragraph [0002]) for use in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0004]). Kanakasabapathy teaches an apparatus to perform methods (Paragraph [0242]). Kanakasabapathy teaches that the apparatus comprises various modules and is capable of depositing films, patterning and developing a resist layer (Paragraph [0243] apparatus has modules for depositing films and patterning resist layers), conducting dry etching (Paragraph [0246] apparatus has modules for ducting dry development and etching), and conducting chemical vapor deposition (Paragraph [0274]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of modified Liu by conducting the method steps taught by the prior art, as outlined above, within the apparatus taught by Kanakasabapathy. With this modification the claimed steps (a), (b) and (c) would be performed within the same apparatus, which can be considered a dry process apparatus as it would have the capability of performing dry processes.
This modification would have been obvious because it would have been the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The combination would have the predictable result of providing a suitable apparatus for conducting known processes. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Liu fails to teach before performing (a), (f) forming, on the substrate, a third pattern having an opening and containing a third material, the third material being different from the first material and the second material, and(g) forming a second filling portion containing the first material in the opening of the third pattern, and wherein in (a), the third pattern is removed so that the second filling portion remains as the first pattern.
deVilliers teaches methods for use in patterning substrates in semiconductor manufacturing (Paragraph [0001]). deVilliers teaches methods where patterns have openings that are filled with different materials (Paragraph [0010]). deVilliers teaches using different materials with different etch resistivity can provide etch selectivity options that allow for controlling pattern transfer (Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have altered the method of Liu as outlined above by: prior to conducting the method previously outlined, conducting the process steps of LIu, specifically: forming a pattern (equivalent to the claimed third pattern) having an opening using a different material (claimed third material) as taught by deVilliers, forming a filling portion containing the first material within the opening of that pattern, and then removing the third pattern, leaving the filling portion as the first pattern.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this use of a different material would allow for control over pattern transfer by selecting a material with suitable etch resistivity properties in relation to the other materials on the substrate (deVilliers Paragraph [0039]). Additionally, this modification would have been the combination of prior art elements. This combination would have the predictable result of creating a third pattern with a different material. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 27, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 24 as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the first pattern is a single layer of the same material (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310), where the patterned layer can be considered equivalent to the claimed first pattern).
Regarding Claim 28, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of claim 25 as outlined above. Liu further teaches wherein the first pattern is a single layer of the same material (Paragraph [0025] Figure 3A EUV photoresist layer is formed on the substrate and is patterned with light and then etched to form the patterned layer (element 310), where the patterned layer can be considered equivalent to the claimed first pattern).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Pg. 1-3, filed 01/22/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 24, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1713 /DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713